Bryson City cottage rental - Welcome to Retreat in the Sky...the vacation home to fall in love with...
Welcome to Retreat in the Sky...the vacation home to fall in love with...
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps2
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Bryson City Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2) with Beautiful Mountain Views

A recent guest wrote in our guest book....'this place is beyond beautiful'....

Retreat in the Sky is an unforgettable place to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and all those special times.

Come to the Smoky Mountains and Retreat in the Sky for an unforgettable vacation! Whether you're sport enthusiasts wanting to be located in the hub of all the Smoky Mountain activities... or second honeymooners celebrating your wedding anniversary and hoping for that very special place... or vacationers/seniors looking for rest and relaxation at an incredibly beautiful vacation home....we offer it all.....

Sitting close to the top of Bear Cove Mountain, our guests enjoy our wonderful, like new, very private luxury mountain home...and its great location...in the very heart of the Smoky Mountain activities!!! Special features include a breathtaking view of the Smokies from most rooms including the screened porch and deck, a large deluxe hot tub on the screened porch (where you're safe from all the outside critters), a log burning fireplace, a beautiful cathedral ceiling in the Great Room, and an outdoor fire pit for those wonderful campfires.

In addition to the hot tub, the large screened porch has a teakwood table and chairs and comfortable furniture. The deck is great for relaxing with your loved one on the swing and enjoying the spectacular short and long range views, grilling out and dining on the umbrella table or rocking and enjoying the wonderful feeling that comes with being in the mountains.

But...the master loft bedroom, with it's queen feather 4-poster bed, and its incredible view...will make your Retreat in the Sky and mountain experience a vacation you won't forget!!!

Retreat is centrally located for ALL of the Smoky Mountain activities!! We offer a great location. Just minutes to Bryson City, the Gateway to the Smokies... the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad... Fontana Lake, a beautiful mountain lake where you can swim, fish, and rent a pontoon boat for half or the entire day... the Nantahala Outdoor Center for whitewater rafting, ziplining, horseback riding, biking, and fun restaurants... Cherokee, you can try your luck at Harrah's Casino... Deep Creek for tubing, hiking, and picnics...the Smoky Mountain Country Club which is a beautiful mountain course and open to the public....the Blue Ridge Parkway...where is there a more beautiful drive??? And maybe best of all... Ingles Supermarket is only five minutes away.

But...if you're looking for complete seclusion, getting totally away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life...and doing nothing more than relaxing, reading a good book and enjoying being alone together...You will love Retreat in the Sky...the view is majestic and the only neighbors are the birds and occasional wild turkeys that come to visit...

ADDITIONAL RENTAL INFORMATION:

* Check-In after 3:00 pm and Check-Out by 10:00 am.

* Signed Rental Agreement Required

* No smoking in house or screened porch

* No pets (and no exceptions!)

* Be sure to bring your cell phone; there is no longer telephone service at the cottage...

* Hot Tub is available March 15th through October...adults only

* Firelog burning fireplace; (firelogs not provided)

* Not suitable for children...

* 3 night minimum...except June, July and October which are weekly only...

* Our road association does not permit motorcycles or trailers...

Please e-mail us with questions or telephone us to make your reservations. Be sure to visit our other vacation home on vrbo #7436... A Log Heaven. It might be available if Retreat in the Sky is not.

We are celebrating the 14th anniversary since we built and opened our vacation home to guests. We have learned a lot (and are still learning) about what makes a great vacation and what we need to do to help insure that you have one! Ty and I have talked with and met many wonderful new friends who have stayed with us from all over the USA, plus England, Germany, Brazil, Canada and Finland. We thank you for looking at our web page and we hope you have an opportunity to vacation with us at Retreat in the Sky.

Ty and Sandy Nelson

Keywords: Mountain retreat, mountain getaway, mountain chic, mountain cabin, mountain chalet, mountain cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Ty and I have been sharing our vacation home, Retreat in the Sky, with guests for over fifteen years. It has been fun, sometimes very challenging...but most of all...a rewarding experience. Our goal is... and has always been ....to provide a wonderful vacation experience for our guests..

Sandy Nelson purchased this cottage in 1998

We fell in love with Bryson City the first time we visited. It is quaint, friendly and surrounded by beautiful mountains. We found the perfect spot to build our second home. It's close to the top of Bear Cove Mountain in the Smokies. Our view is outstanding. Retreat has a privacy that is hard to describe. Our first home is three hours away and fifteen years later, with our car packed with all our stuff, heading for Bryson City and our Retreat in the Sky, we're still excited.... after all these years, we still can't wait to get there.

Sitting on the swing on our deck...enjoying the beautiful view...is the ultimate in relaxation. Retreat in the Sky can only be reached by driving up the private road and then you drive up some more on our paved driveway. We are not on the road so no one can see us or drive by us. So you see, we also have the ultimate in privacy. We not only have a beautiful deck filled with flowers and a wonderfully landscaped setting, but a large screened porch complete with hot tub and a great place to hang out. We're only five minutes from Ingles Supermarket, the quaint town of Bryson City and only ten minutes from just about everywhere else.

23 Reviews of Property 3362 in Bryson City, North Carolina

Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
5

WHAT A PLACE...Retreat in the Sky is an understatement

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
It's tough to come up with things to say that are just not redundant to what's already been said about the Retreat in the Sky...but we'll try. First is the location. You are nearly 3,000' up Bear Cove Mountain...via a one-way, one-lane, partially paved, partially graveled road. Not as bad as it sounds, but the first time up in the daylight and the first time up in the dark will be interesting. It is safe, just be careful. Of course, once you reach the Retreat you'll know it's worth the trip.

This is just a lovely home. It's obvious Sandy and Ty have put a lot of love into it. It's just very homey and warm. Frankly, it was difficult to get motivated to leave to go out and see things. Just sitting on the deck looking out across the Smokies was so relaxing. And of course, the hot tub made for more relaxation. If your blood pressure doesn't go down 10 points while you're here, something's wrong.

We were here the first week in Nov. so we were past the high point of the fall colors, but there was still plenty of color to see. And it hadn't gotten real cold yet so it was still comfortable being out and about. Bryson City is a very nice little town with several good
restaurants. We enjoyed the Fryemont Inn the most I think. It was the middle of the week in early Nov so it wasn't crowded. We had table right up by the fireplace...with a glass of wine and dinner. Doesn't get any better than that.

As for who should come here, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic location with plenty of privacy. Husbands, your wife will love it! A honeymoon...a second honeymoon, her birthday, a way to get you out of the doghouse. Any excuse will do.

The bottom line is...we're looking forward to being back again in 2014!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ken and Rosalinda for your wonderful, wonderful unsolicited review of Retreat in the Sky. You were terrific guests and we are so lucky that you enjoyed the whole mountain experience and are returning next fall. We agree, the Fryemont Inn is warm and charming and the food quite good. In fact, the whole town of Bryson City is charming and we are so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you again and we are looking forward to your next visit!! And, one last thing. Our road in Bear Cove. A well maintained, one way road, with lots of it paved is as good as it gets in the mountains! As Ken said, just be careful!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
5

CLT Couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved the cabin the moment we saw it. We arrived in the afternoon and directions sent to us were perfect. We had no trouble climbing up the mountain - even in our convertible! The cabin is furnished to the max - making us feel right at home! Our favorite?! The screened in porch with the hot tub! The property is well kept and you can tell the owners have taken great care in making everything as perfect as possible. Secluded, yet so convenient to Downtown Bryson City, NOC, Fontana Lake, Cherokee...we enjoyed our stay and the view from the cabin was spectacular! Thanks, Sandy and Ty for sharing your home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Terry and Dawn...you were absolutely wonderful guests and we would love for you to visit us again!! So glad you liked the screened porch and hot tub the best because I do too! My husband and I went around and around about where we were going to put the hot tub. He wanted the screened porch and I didn't....but you see, he was right all along. Thank you again!!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Feast for the Senses!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Retreat in the Sky is a feast for the senses! The interior of the home is filled with artistically arranged collectibles and plants that provide a treat for the eyes in any direction. The flower-laden deck is wonderful alone but combined with the amazing view of the mountains takes your breathe away. The candles and comforts provide a romantic ambiance and the overall effect of a week here was very soul-soothing. All this and the amazing variety of hikes, views, activities and waterfalls (our favorite) made for a fabulous vacation---we loved it!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Shreveport, La. US
5

A piece of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
wonderful home in Bryson City on top of the mountain. Fabulous views, very cozy, warm home. Loved the hot tub on the screened porch. Plants everywhere. All creature comforts have been provided by the owners who take great pride in maintaining a beautiful home. If you are looking for a relaxing experience, look no further!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Kate. You were wonderful guests and we are so happy you especially enjoyed the hot tub. We like it being inside the screened porch so it's there for you to relax in all kinds of weather and you don't need to go outside. It is always a pleasure to have such special guests like yourselves that make Retreat their home away from home. Our housekeeper said not only did you take great care of Retreat but you watered all the plants and flowers. We hope you'll return someday!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
5

A Charming Getaway in the Sky!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I booked a stay at the Retreat in the Sky as surprise for my boyfriend's 26th birthday! When we arrived, he was speechless. The pictures of the cabin online do not do it justice! The outside is beautifully landscaped with a variety of flowers which creates a 'park-like' feel right in your front yard! Not to mention the cute firepit in the yard and the beautiful bench for a relaxing pit-stop. Every nook and cranny of the cabin is decorated perfectly. I felt right at home (and what a GORGEOUS home it was!) in the spacious, country-themed cabin. It was a great mixture of homey, romantic, country-chic. We got the best sleep of our lives in the firm 4 posted bed located in the main bedroom. I slept like a log every night and woke up to the most amazing view each morning. I won't even begin to describe it. Also note-able is the hot tub, which I soaked in on all 3 nights of our trip! The temperature was just right, the jets gave a wonderful massage, and it was the perfect size for two people. The location of the cabin is the perfect distance from just about everything- we were 15 minutes from the Nantahala Outdoor Center where we whitewater rafted and 20 minutes from Harrah's Casino where we gambled our pennies away! I can't really say enough about how wonderful our vacation was, but I can say that we will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Shaquera and Brandon..we cannot thank you enough for being guests at Retreat. We are so excited for you Shaquera, that you were able to surprise Brandon and that he had such a wonderful birthday! You were certainly the perfect guests and we hope you will return. Thank you too for taking your time to comment (unsolicited) and say such wonderful things. Thank you...thank you....thank you!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Jacksonville, FL
5

I would give it ten stars if I could....perfect place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Stayed here over Thanksgiving holiday 2012 (four nights). I can not imagine a more romantic, picturesque place for a couple. We fell in love again every day and night. The photos in the listing are accurate, but don't do the home justice. The views of the mountains are incredible. The sunsets are indescribable. The decor is warm and cozy, the hot tub just right, the fire pit wonderful and the opportunity to create memories of a lifetime every moment with the one you love.....priceless.

The drive to the home is very beautiful along the Great Smoky Mountain Expressway. The final mile to the home is a thrill ride...in a good way.

Bryson City is lovely. Downtown, Jimmie Macs has the best burgers anywhere. There is a large grocery store 5 mins from the home. The hiking within 10 minutes of the home is superb. An abundance of streams, waterfalls and great views. Hikes from 1/2 mile to 11 miles. Asheville is an easy 45-60 minute drive. Beautiful scenery enroute.

Dealing with the owners was easy and enjoyable. They are very attentive and have created a perfect retreat in the sky. The home was very clean and everything worked as advertised.

We will be back to discover what every season has to offer many times!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Luke, and his special lady Kendal, are very lucky indeed. You just have to know that this happy couple see beauty everywhere they look. But the truth is, we were the lucky ones because we got to have them as guests at Retreat and we got to see our vacation home through their eyes. This happy couple who love life, nature, the great outdoors and each other! Thank you Luke, a million times over for your wonderful comments. Next time you and Kendal have to try the ziplining...everyone seems to love it.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Maumee, Ohio
5

An absolute "retreat in the sky"

An absolute "retreat in the sky"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We have stayed at Retreat in the Sky for our anniversary week twice, last October and this October. We have stayed in multiple cabins on the Tennessee side of the mountain and even one other on the NC side and this one is our very favorite!! First, the location is wonderful as far as being close to Bryson City, not far from other small towns, as well as close to the National Park and Blue Ridge Parkway. Second, the location is beyond wonderful as the cabin is positioned perfectly on the mountain with gorgeous views of the distant mountains, beautiful sunsets, morning clouds hanging in the mountains, etc.........stunning!! We appreciate the one way road up to the cabin and back down, as we've stayed in cabins where meeting someone on the curvy, mountainous road is not a fun experience! It's amazing to wake up, sit up in bed and see mountains for miles and miles! The cabin is clean, well furnished and creatively decorated and we feel comfortable making ourselves right at home for the week! Sandy always makes sure we made it there safely and is attentive to any questions we may have. Our week is spent hiking most every day so our main time in the cabin is from dinner time on for the night, though a rainy day would be wonderfully spent just staying at the cabin! We love the mountains and love our long day hikes and it's nice to come back to a hot tub for our weary muscles! We were happy to utilize a NC hiking, waterfall, etc book in the cabin this year that told us about a few hikes off of the Blue Ridge Parkway that we hadn't done. We are working ourselves through a "Great Smoky Mountain Hiking" book that we bring each year. We enjoy the quaintness of Bryson City and the sweet shop owners of various shops that feature NC crafts/art. We ate at the Mexican restaurant this year and enjoyed it and always enjoy "Cork and Bean", a darling coffee/wine shop! I would totally recommend this lovely cabin and it's location to anyone looking for a real get away from life and the real world and it's craziness!!! It truly is our "retreat in the sky" even if it's just for one week each year!!! Thank you Sandy and Ty!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Roger and Bonnie....we cannot thank you enough for all your kind words regarding Retreat in the Sky. You guys are the kind of guests that we dream about....we are so thrilled that you love Retreat and treat it as your own. Can't wait for the day when we get to meet you. We already feel like we know you...thanks again...please come visit us again. P.S You're right, the hiking is terrific in the Smokies and especially the Bryson City area.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Charlotte
5

Best weekend vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Retreat in the Sky is exactly that a "retreat". The location is amazing and the views are breathtaking. Josh and I had a wonderful time relaxing in your beautiful home. We will definately be planning another trip and hope to stay there again soon.
Thank you to Sandy and Ty for the wonderful directions, care and love they showed us by opening up their home to us. If you want to get away and enjoy book Retreat in the Sky.
Until next time, Kathleen and Josh
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kathleen and Josh, What can I say? You were wonderful, thoughtful guests who wrote this wonderful unsolicited review of Retreat in the Sky. We hope you will come back soon. Thank you a million times over.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Miami,FL
5

Diane (Miami)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time at Retreat in the Sky. The cabin was beyond our expectations, the owners have equipped the cabin with everything you could possibly imagine. We so enjoyed the views, relaxing in the hot tub, the decor and homey feel of the cabin, the beautiful plants and the visiting hummingbirds. The location of the cabin is also a plus. It is very close to a nice supermarket, the wonderful town of Bryson City, and many recreational activities. We look forward to coming back and staying in Retreat in the Sky.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Diane...thanks for being such terrific guests. Sounds like you had a great vacation and we loved having you. Please come back soon!!!!! Take care, Ty and Sandy
business
Retreat in the Sky 'An Unforgettable Getaway For Two'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3362vb
(803) 732-5826
Bryson City Bryson City Area
iowa
5

relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband I and I just got back from Retreat in the Sky. The view was absolutely breath taking! And talk about relaxing... the only sounds were heard were the chirping of birds:) I would highly recommend this retreat. If we are ever back in that neck of the woods, that is definitely where we will stay.
Connie and Terry (Iowa)
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words, Connie. Hopefully, you guys will come back someday to our neck of the woods! You were great guests and you're right...we offer as much relaxation as one can imagine!