Oshkosh house rental - Lake home with large new lake view deck
Lake home with large new lake view deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Oshkosh House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms (Sleeps 2 -5)

Prime lake front location, on a private dead end lane with very little traffic. The 1600sq. ft. home is located on Lake Butte des Morts, with 75 ft. of private lake frontage. Sandy bottom for swimming and a private pier with bench, swim ladder and a boat lift. There is a fire pit at lakeside for your evening camp fire. Also a boat house that contains, lawn chairs, and a two person kayak for your use. There is also a 12ft aluminum row boat with a trolling motor. The house has a large lakeside deck, with a gas grill. The deck is great for sunning, eating, and entertaining. There is a two car attached garage with a washroom, great for changing swim suits. Off street parking for R.V. and boat trailer. Separate garage size club house, with heat and air conditioning, large bar, mini frig, T.V.,stereo cd,tape player, card table, and sofa/futon. Great place for playing games and entertaining.

Lakes Butte des Morts, Poygan, and Winneconne are up river lakes of the vast Winnebago system. these 'upper lakes' cover 27,466 acres, Lake Butte des Morts has 8,857 acres. Great for boating and fishing. The annual spring run of walleye and white bass are famous nationwide and draw thousand of anglers. The lakes also contain large & small mouth bass, northern pike, perch, croppie, catfish and bluegills.

10 min to downtown Oshkosh

20 min to Fox Vally Mall, largest in Wisconsin

45 min to Green Bay, home of the Packers

80 min to Milwaukee

90 min to Madison, home of the U.W. Badgers

Keywords: Lake Butte des Morts, Oshkosh, South East, Wisconsin, U.S.A.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a retired couple who use our lake home as our second home, and hope our guest will do the same.

Steve Griffin purchased this house in 2004

17 Reviews of Property 335777 in Oshkosh, Wisconsin

Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Beloit, Wisconsin
5

Packer weekend with friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I tend to have pretty high expectations about most things, and it's not often those expectation are exceeded. This property surprised and pleased us. The house was in great shape, very homey and relaxing. Everything we could need was there, and then some. The deck and grill were really nice, and the water view....,awesome. Steve, the owner met us @ the house and explained where everything was, and how things worked,, Thanks, Steve! Having all the light switches marked was helpful. We had a great weekend, and staying here was a big part of that. One more thing....GO PACK GO!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Milwaukee
5

A great place to chill!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I and our kids (8 and 11) loved absolutely everything about our stay at this great house. Except for a brief time exploring some nearby geocaches we basically stayed at the cottage the whole time. We loved hanging out under the shady trees next to the lake and the kids had a great time on all the tubes, boats, floats available. We also enjoyed kayaking. This summer we traveled as a family to GA, MI, CO and various places in WI ... but this was our favorite by far. And it was less than 1 1/2 hours from Milwaukee. Because this trip was for just the 4 of us - we really reconnected and had fun together. We love tent camping but this was soooo much more relaxing. We are eager to come back next year. Landlord is welcoming and the house is very well kept. We love VRBOs!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Washington, DC
5

Vacation Results: Decompressed and Relaxed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house was perfect for our family vacation and just what we needed to catch up on our R&R! I got up every morning to watch the beatiful sunrise on the dock and wait for mama loon with her chick riding on her back to cross by while huge fish jumped on the glasslike water! The house is a spit from a major shopping store and is stocked with anything one could need to spend a week of enjoyment. (and that is a period) Mr. Griffin showed us all we needed to know to enjoy the house to the fullest! He was such a gracious host...people could go to school on his hospitality! One perk for the house was there were comfortable gathering areas for when we wanted to be together, but also ample space for us to rest when we needed alone time! I would head back out to the dock as the sun set while my hubby fished to wait for mama loon to swim back by...I could set a clock on how timely she was! There was also a bald eagle nesting right around the corner and was a spectacular visitor to the lake front as well! My only regret is that this lake house is 15 hours away or we would be booking our family vacation here annually! One thing is for sure, we will be booking again the next time we head to Wisconsin! (Note: Culvers, home of the butter burger, does not have fried cheese curds on their drive thru menu, but you can get them on request...a new family fav!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Atlanta, GA/USA
5

Great Family Reunion On Lake Butte des Morts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Great property and location for our recent family reunion over Memorial Day Weekend. Excellent lakefront location convenient to all Oshkosh has to offer. Superclean and modern. Has all the lakefront cottage amenities you would want and more. Owner is very responsive and welcoming. This was our second stay here and we have already reserved some more upcoming dates. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Don't sleep, this place is so great that it books 'way in advance. Act now---you won't be sorry!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Lynwood, WA
5

Lake house - perfect rain or shine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I spent 5 days in Oshkosh to attend a wedding reception. We made a family reunion out of our stay by renting the lake house and inviting everyone to come see us.
The first two days were rainy and cold - we enjoyed the living room, playing cards, reading, and the view out to the rain on the water.
The final days were sunny and were just perfect for a walk through the neighborhood, time sitting by the water with family, and a barbeque and dinner on the deck. Steve was a great host and even patiently awaited our arrival even though we were over an hour later than expected.
I'd highly recommend the lake house for an Oshkosh local mini-vacation or if visiting from out of town.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Rochester, MN
5

What a weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
First off, the pictures and description do not do this property justice!

Interior: The home has a large kitchen with a dishwasher, coffeemaker, breakfast bar, and everything you could need. It has a nice dining area, an additional sitting area, and a large family room with a wood burning stove/fireplace, TV, DVD player, etc. Plenty of seating area, and you'll never feel cramped. 3 Bathrooms, one being a master suite (with bath and walk in closet), washer/dryer, etc. This is a clean, well put together home with a nice owner.

Exterior: The garage is attached and has a stall just for you, and although you feel like you are miles from anyone else you are just a mile from Festival Foods grocery/liquor. He allows use of his gas grill which you can pull out on the driveway to cook. There is a nice deck overlooking the lawn and lake. The lawn has plenty of room for lawn games, and also has a fire pit down right on the water. Had it been summer, we would have swam the sandy bottom area of the lake right off his shore.

Bonus: Not listed is "The Clubhouse." This is the perfect hangout spot as a separate heated building with a built in bar, darts, card table, classic radio/record player with nice sound, TV, etc. We spent an evening here before going to the Green Bay Packer game (Hwy 41 to Lambeau is about a mile and a half away, then a 50 minute drive... very easy), and it was a highlight of our stay.

The owner is a nice guy who is prompt, gives you the highlights and answers any questions, then leaves to allow you to dictate your vacation. The next time I do a Green Bay game, I will check with Steve before choosing the game based on his availability. Between cooking for yourself and sharing the cost of the rental between 3 other guys, we saved a ton of money and had a better bonding experience than we ever could have had staying in 2-4 hotel rooms and meeting in the lobby.

Needless to say, our entire group highly recommends this property and this owner!
-Jim
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
New Bloomfield, PA
5

Just What We Needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Just spent the weekend in this beautiful lake house. We were looking for a nice place to meet our son who is away from home attending college. This home is just what we needed. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook some of our sons favorite meals and the living room was very comfortable. It rained almost the entire weekend and we still enjoyed the water views from the living room and master bedroom. Our only complaint was that we were not there long enough. Steve was very helpful and can tell you where to get everything you would need for a great stay at the lake.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Springfield, Illinois
5

Quiet Time on the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The location, photos, and description are very accurate. This is a very clean and well maintained rental with some great amenities. We enjoyed this rental in late summer and recommend it as a great place for quiet rest and relaxation. The area has a lot of great places to visit in Oshkosh, Fond du Loc, Sheyboygan, and Appleton. We enjoyed great meals at The Roxy, Fratello Riverfront, and Brisco County Wood Grill; art and history at the EAA AirVenture Museum, Paine Art Center and Garden, Oshkosh Public Museum, and John Michael Kohler Art Center; great dairy at Widmer's Cheese Cellars, Kelly Country Creamery, and Henning Cheese Factory; local foods from The Little Farmer, Miesfield's Brats, and Victorian Chocolate Shoppe. We enjoyed fishing in the lake and sipping wine by the fire in the evening. We hope to come back in the spring for some great fishing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Westmont, Illinois
5

Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Have stayed at many VRBO listings and we can truly say this listing was 100% accurate in reflecting this vacation home. Beautiful lake view, comfy patio furniture, bed, pillows, etc. The owner answered any and all questions we had and made us feel like special guests. Having a garage to park in with remote also enhanced our stay, nice touch. Had dinner at Kodiak Jack's, ( 5 min dr.), excellent food, get there between 4 & 6 for dinner specials, otherwise a bit expensive. Best recommendation I can give is, my wife and I will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Year Around Lake Front Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335777vbi
(920) 233-5382
Oshkosh Southern Wisconsin
Fond du Lac, WI
5

Scrappin' girls

Scrappin' girls
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We loved it! It was clean, neat, and well maintained. The amenities were awesome! There was plenty of room for us to set up a few tables for our scrap booking weekend. We plan on booking again for next year if this week hasn't already been taken. If you want a quiet get-away for a few days or longer I would strongly encourage you to rent this home. Grocery stores, restaurants, and shopping, are located within a 15 minute drive. Many thanks to the owner for making this home a comfortable retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2