St. Simons Island house rental - Making Memories Cottage
Making Memories Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

St. Simons Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Whether you're looking to spend time with your family, friends or by yourself, this cottage is for you. We are located one block west of the Crab Trap, Crabdaddy's and the Saltwater Cowboy, 2 blocks from the beach with access through the King & Prince Resort and about a 10 minute walk to mini golf, the brand new public pool, lighthouse and the downtown village.

Recently renovated and decorated, this cottage is comfortable and cozy with 3 bedrooms, 2 with queen-size beds and the bunk room with 2 sets of bunk beds. The master bedroom has a private bath. The hall bathroom has a huge shower. The kitchen is open with a large island and living room with a fireplace. There is also a game room in the back with a stackable washer and dryer for your convenience. Enjoy your morning coffee on the front porch swing as walkers and bikers wave 'hello' as they pass.

Please see photos to get a better idea of this wonderful, charming, easy little cottage.

Google the address, 1137 Ocean Blvd, St. Simon's Island, GA 31522!

Keywords: Cottage, Beach house, home, beach home,

More Details
Hide Details

We have always loved coming to St. Simons to visit family and have dreamed of owning a home here. In the spring 2010 we stumbled upon a little cottage that needed help. After months of renovations and collecting furniture we moved in! It has become a retreat from our crazy everyday lives. Jim's Grandmother, Nannie, used to look around at a family gathering and say, 'Look, we're making memories.' We hope to spend many happy years 'Making Memories' here. We hope to to share it with others as well.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

We have always loved the simplicity of this sweet island, the ablity to walk to the beach, ride bikes, eat wonderful seafood and just hang out.

20 Reviews of Property 335400 in St. Simons Island, Georgia

CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
5

Great for a family getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We truly enjoyed this home. It was beautiful and really close to everything...restaurants, beaches, and shopping. We would definitely return to this home!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We'd love for you all to come back any time! We named the cottage "Making Memories" because Jim's grandmother would always look around at the family and say, "Look at everyone making memories" and that's really what St. Simon's Island does. It helps us all make our own memories with our families. Thanks for staying with us. :-)
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
5

Simply Adorable in St. Simons

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This darling cottage had all the elements for a great vacation--ideal location to walk to the beach and restaurants, spotless throughout and decorated with great style for a beach cottage. Spacious great room with comfy furniture and a well-equipped kitchen for cooking in. Jennifer was helpful in providing recommendations for restaurnts. Loved the sunroom off the kitchen; perfect for setting up my easel for painting. Definitely a "return to" in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I thought the sunroom would be good for painting. There is so much natural light back there. I would love to see photos of the painting you did in St. Simon's and hope the painting workshop was everything you hoped it would be. We'd love to have you both back soon.
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Georgia
5

We can't stay anywhere else...

We can't stay anywhere else...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our second stay at this cottage in St. Simons, and I can honestly say that there is nowhere else I would rather stay on the island. It's close to the beach, but not too close; it's close to the village and the airport area, but not too close. The cottage is beautiful and peaceful and fits eight people very comfortably even on rainy days when we are stuck inside.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
5

Jill

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The pictures can't portray how sweet this beautiful cottage is! We had plenty of room for our party of 5 (could have had more!). The decor was so charming and such a nice change from a sterile or cookie-cutter condo. The owner was helpful with information and answered our questions in a timely manner. St. Simons is just as charming as I remember it. Took a ghost tour - nice way to spend the evening and not too scary for the kids. Riding bikes around the island is a must. Everything we needed (except large grocery) was within a reasonable walking or biking distance. Making Memories cottage is an A++ in our book!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for nice comments. We have worked so hard to make the cottage a unique place for not only our family, but especially for our guests. I love the recommendation of a ghost tour. We have never done the ghost tour before, but will definitely try it next time we are there. Thank you for staying with us and please come back soon. :-)
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Athens, Ga
5

Excellent Cottage with great location and plenty of space!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great Cottage with an excellent location. Had a great long family weekend with plenty of space. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and look forward to staying here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Colby! Come back anytime. We would love for you all to stay with us again. :-)
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
5

First time visitor to St Simon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Had a fabulous week making memories during our first visit to St. Simon. The cottage is exactly as described. Great location, charming details, well appointed kitchen and comfy beds!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We love that you all had a wonderful time in St. Simons. It really is a wonderful little island with so many things to do for everyone. Please consider coming back and staying with us again soon.
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
United States
5

St. Simons

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a very nice house. It met or exceeded all of our expectations. Great location. Short two and one half block walk to beach. Great air conditioning. Spacious living area with well equipped kitchen.. Very comfortable beds. No complaints. Ice Maker was not working. Owner was notified.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We are so sorry about the ice maker. Thank you for letting us know. We really rely on our guests to let us know if something is not working, because as well as we check during the cleaning process, we miss some items. We are so glad everything else was good. Please come back again soon. :-)
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Toronto Ontario
5

Delightful roomy house with cottage charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This home is as delightful as the photos suggest with a layout which maximizes light, space & function. Set back from the road on a corner lot with lots of parking, it has great shade trees. It's decor evokes seaside charm, with original windows, gleaming wooden floors, comfy beds & an open renovated kitchen. Everything is well maintained, organized & clean. And timely assistance is available with just a phone call. We enjoyed seafood in local eateries, trips to Little St Simons & Jeckyll islands & a day in picturesque Savannah. The local trolley tour provides a good general orientation to St Simons. For Northerners in winter, it is a tonic- our week went too fast!!

Sherry & Paul Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your patience with the TV problem. I'm glad Direct TV was able to fix the problem quickly. I know it's quite a drive from Ontario, but we do hope you come back again soon. :-)
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Saint Paul, Minnesota
5

Utterly charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We stayed at Making Memories cottage last year on a visit to SSI to see my grandmother. We have two small children and the cottage was perfect for us! It is beautifully updated, well appointed, and in a fantastic location. Thanks for making our vacation so special. We hope to be back in a few months.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you all enjoyed the cottage. It is perfect for kids. Our kids love it. Please come back soon. :-)
business
CUTE BEACH HOUSE in a GREAT LOCATION!!! Short stroll to beach and village!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335400vbi
+ 770-354-5835
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Atlanta
5

Favorite Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Quintessential beach cottage with a renovation in keeping
with the character of the house. This house has a great kitchen,
living area combination. Also a small back porch that is cozy
and sun-filled, just perfect for an isolated TV room. Great mattresses
and sheets, this always makes a difference to me. A nice bike ride or
short walk to the beach, also a good walk to the Village. We will
definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1