Huddleston chalet rental - Serenity reins in spectacular views from the patio and fire pit
Serenity reins in spectacular views from the patio and fire pit
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Huddleston Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Private Suite can accommodate up to four adults.

Sans Souci is French for 'care free.' There could not be a more apt description for this very special property. We are located in the most beautiful and pristine corner of the most scenic lake in the mid-Atlantic region of the US.

Sans Souci offers stunning views of Smith Mountain & a 5,000 acre wilderness preserve from a point lot. Porch, patio, beach & dock offer a wide variety of opportunities to relax & take in the natural beauty of Smith Mountain Lake. Swim, sail, kayak, windsurf, fish, ski, wakeboard & wakesurf directly from the property.

The photogenic views, clean air, natural environment and comfort are simply unparalleled. A two or three day stay is like magic for the soul. This is a truly special property!

The Lake offers four waterfront golf courses, more than a dozen waterfront restaurants, frequent weekend events, a well-known art gallery, boardwalk and easy access to hiking.

The luxurious suite, built in a separate wing of the house, offers wood ceilings in the bedroom, radiant floor heat, luxurious rain shower, satellite TV, wireless Internet and an amazing attention to detail. It is decorated with original art by local artists, family members and African craftsmen. There is a king sized bed with 600-count cotton sheets & European comforters in the bedroom provides a great night's sleep. There is also a queen sized futon in the sitting room.

A photo of the patio even served as the cover for the Roanoke Area Visitor's Guide and a May, 2009 article about Roanoke in US Airways Magazine. That same photo has become the iconic symbol of lake living at SML.

The entire home was featured in a Laker Magazine article in Jan-Feb 2011 titled, 'In Harmony With Nature.' Read it online here: http://www.smithmountainlake.com/homes/lakerMagazine/wb/272108

Come see for yourself what everyone is talking about!

More Details
Hide Details

We first met in West Africa when serving in the Peace Corps many years ago. We've lived, worked and traveled around the world, picking up many ideas that have been incorporated into this special place. We open a private wing of our home to B&B guests primarily as a hobby, because we both enjoy meeting interesting people and get pleasure from sharing this special corner of the world.

Anneliese & Bill Piatt purchased this chalet in 1999

This is a luxurious property, tastefully & discretely adorned with original art, that exudes an air of timelessness that is primarily associated with island living in the tropics. We started with a great lot and then spent nearly 10 years perfecting the complete package - from the interior amenities & appointments to the park-like grounds.

This is the only part of the lake that has an unobstructed view of Smith Mountain & the 5,000 acre wilderness preserve. The water is the deepest and cleanest on the entire lake. The dark night sky, unpolluted with neighbors' lights, provides a stunning view of the stars - as impressive as any we've seen anywhere in the US!

42 Reviews of Property 335285 in Huddleston, Virginia

Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
average rating of 4.9761906 based on 42 reviews
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Hampton, VA
5

This place is real!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
These photo wonderfully depict everything. Believe me when I say that it is sooo beautiful no matter when you visit. It was overcast much of this weekend, but the view was so serene regardless. There were the beautiful leaves of oranges and yellows and a clear view of where the cloud began on the mountain. Me and my girls just really needed a break from the everyday hustle and bustle. A place to breathe and slooooow down. Sans Souci was just what the doctor ordered. Bill and Anne were so hospitable that it felt like I was staying with extended family. I really look forward to my next visit to this little slice of heaven.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Excellent retreat on SML!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
San Souci was exactly what my husband and I had in mind for our weekend getaway. A beautiful three hour drive west of Richmond, Virginia, this B&B is perfectly situated on a beautiful, quiet part of Smith Mountain Lake. Our accommodations were in a separate wing of the owners' home with separate entrance, large bedroom, comfortable bathroom, and separate TV/reading space. The home and grounds were immaculate and beautifully appointed. Anna is an excellent and creative cook - we had neglected to let her know about a dietary restriction before arriving and she was able to quickly and graciously adapt her plan to our needs. Be sure to ask for her homemade muesli as part of a breakfast during your stay! Perhaps the best part of the visit was the extensive local knowledge that Bill and Anna shared during our conversations. Since our trip was part relaxation and part real estate exploration, their 14 years of experience on the lake provided us the 'insider' knowledge to help guide future visits. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Little bit of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our stay at Sans Souci was amazing. Bill and Anne have carved out a little piece of heaven on the banks of Smith Mountain Lake. The views were magnificent, their home was detailed perfecting, and breakfast was...to die for. I can not wait until our next visit. If you are looking for a place to simply unwind and let all the stress and preasures from home go away, this is the place to do it.
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Sans souci is a little piece of heaven. The views are intoxicating and the house is beautiful, the pictures don't do it justice. Sitting on the dock with a bottle of wine and watching the sunset, it really doesn't get any better. Anne and Bill are the most gracious hosts; immediately making us feel welcome and comfortable. They are both well traveled and we could have talked to them forever about their adventures around the world. I've told all of my friends to stay here, I can't wait to go back!
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Great B&B, Second to None

Great B&B, Second to None
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Sans Souci is outstanding in its spacious accommodations and impeccably landscaped grounds. Anne and Bill are the most wonderful and gracious hosts, going the extra mile to set a beautiful table and provide sumptuous and delicious breakfasts on their second-story porch overlooking the lake. They are very personable, knowing how to balance their availability and yet give privacy to their guests.

If someone is looking for a great get-away, there are ample opportunities for activities and entertainment in the area, but Sans Souci also provides a perfect setting for rest & peaceful relaxation.
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Gainesville, VA
5

Best Bed and Breakfast there is

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had our 5th year anniversary here and it couldn't be better. Bill and Anne showed us great hospitality. The breakfasts were great on the balcony with a great view of the landscaping and the lake. The boat dock was great for swimming and the owners provided us with details of where to go with a map. All and all we were completed satisfied and surprised of how perfect the weekend was. Wether your going to play in the water all weekend, fish, or go sight seeing then this is your place. I would rather go here again then any big resort for a wonderful, romantic weekend. Thanks again Anne and Bill! I am sure we will be back again.
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Potomac, MD
5

Best B&B experience we have ever had!

Best B&B experience we have ever had!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I returned home today from a 3 night stay at Sans Souci, and oh! how I wish we could have stayed longer. Their home is breathtaking, their kindness is overflowing, Anne's breakfasts are fresh, gourmet, and plentiful, and their location on the lake is absolutely unbeatable.

The B&B portion of the house is completely private, which allowed us to come and go as we pleased. The space is bright, large, impeccable, and has every modern amenity imaginable. The bed and linens were so luxurious, and sleep came easily every night.

Meeting Bill and Anne is reason enough to stay at Sans Souci. They are a generous couple who have traveled the world, and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them and hearing some of their life's adventures.

We had never been to Smith Mountain Lake, but it is definitely a wonderful place to visit. We spent our days playing in the water, enjoying beautiful scenery from their private dock, and re-energizing in the serene atmosphere of Sans Souci.

We would recommend Sans Souci to anyone considering a get-away. My husband and I are already looking forward to a return trip!! Thank you Bill & Anne for such a wonderful trip!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Heaven on earth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Sans Souci at Smith Mountain Lake, the home of Bill and Anna was absolutely the most incredible B&B we have had the pleasure of staying. My husband and I came for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. We were lucky enough to have the hosts help celebrate with great neighbors and life long friends. Waking up and enjoying the incredible view could only compete with a breakfast fit for a King and Queen. The accommodations were just like any 5 star resort and every amenity one could want when staying away from home. We have met some great new friends and plan on returning soon to enjoy another visit to paradise. Thank you both for everything!
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Raleigh, NC
5

Fantastic Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Sans Souci is truly a magical place, very peaceful and serene and although there are neighbors, it feels very private and secluded. We had a fantastic time just doing nothing. Anne is a great cook and breakfasts were superb and plentiful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and well appointed, the pictures don't do them justice. Thank you Anne and Bill for your hospitality, great conversations and for all the hard work you put into your property. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious European Bed and Breakfast - 1000 sf very private suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335285
+1 5402978617
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Boston, MA
5

Simply Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I planned a trip for my wife's birthday to SML where I spent my summers as a child and we couldn't have been happier with Sans Souci. Both Anne and Bill are the perfect hosts and we especially loved all of the amenities they have to offer. From Anne's 5 star breakfasts to letting us use their paddle boats and fishing gear this was definitely the perfect getaway. Our section of the house was completely private and spacious and had everything that we needed. Bill and Anne were great at supplying us with local places to eat (Smokehouse BBQ was amazing!) and trails we should check out at the State Park. Anne even helped us build a fire in the fire pit the last night we were there and we made s'mores (Anne has perfected the technique for roasting marshmallows) and talked late into the night. We couldn't have asked for a better place to visit. This is a must-stay when visiting SML and it truly is a very, very special place. I highly recommend this to both couples and families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2