Ocean View cottage rental - Ocean View from 4500 feet in the sky.
Ocean View from 4500 feet in the sky.
 

Ocean View Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

The “Yurt in the Sky” is above and away from the bustle of civilization. Here you have wide open spaces – ocean, sun, sky and the contrast of the rich lava rock with the delicate red Ohia flowers. Here you can live simply but very comfortably -- off the grid but with almost all the conveniences of home. Stock up on your favorite foods and enjoy meals on the deck gazing out at sky and sea, feeling the cool breezes from across a thousand miles of unobstructed ocean. Then, you can descend from your 4500 ft. retreat to Big Island’s beaches, botanical gardens, volcanoes (30 beautiful miles away) snorkeling, adventure attractions or entertainment spots. South Big Island Beaches are about 30 minutes away, greatest snorkeling in the state is about 45 minutes and Kona with all its beaches and activities is about one hour.

When you come back, sip some wine or some freshly brewed tea as the sun sets, cook up your favorite meal on the propane stove or microwave oven and get ready for the best show on the Island: the stars! You can lie on the deck or view them all night inside through the circular skylight. If the air is chill, just turn on the romantic fireplace. You will be warm in minutes. Curl up with a book, or stay in touch with the distant world with high speed internet. (Ask about our fully loaded netbook computer.)

Why stay in one more conventional resort room, when you can experience first-hand a whole new way of life – off the grid? Why not give it a try?

Keywords: Yurt

More Details
Hide Details

Hi future guests! I’m a retired community college teacher from Wisconsin in partnership with my son David, who fell in love with these islands as a student at the University of Hawaii. Designing and building our “Yurt in the Sky” has been a fun joint project. This year David is going back to school in Hilo, so we’re happy to share our new retreat with you. About me? I keep busy here in Wisconsin with outdoor sports, movies and playing music. My son David is a kind of “Techie guru” so he's at the phone to answer techie questions. I'm always here to answer all the other questions. Also we have several local “helpers' who will be there for you.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2007

We looked at many lovely lots on the Big Island and at first were drawn to the lush jungle atmospheres of the lowlands. But when we visited the exhilarating height of this little-known area, with its spacious views and friendly, laid-back people, we decided within a day.

This “Yurt in the Sky” is very different from other rentals. First, we can offer you a low price because we have little overhead. This frees up your vacation budget for more fun. Second, in contrast to other yurt rentals, we offer total privacy and independence. There is no sharing of any facilities. Third, we have NO bugs or other pesky creatures. Just leave the door open all day! Fourth, although we are 'away from it all,' it’s easy to get around. The paved roads to the yurt are excellent and from down in the nearby village of Ocean View there are free busses around the entire island! Finally, our 150 degree view of the distant ocean below is spectacular.

14 Reviews of Property 258300 in Ocean View, Hawaii

Yurt in the Sky
average rating of 4.071429 based on 14 reviews
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
2

Great views but you get what you pay for

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Pros - Interesting experience staying in what is essentially a big tent but with a flush toilet and regular bed. The views are amazing. Cheap price. Cons - This yurt is very well used and really needs some maintenance and a good cleaning. For example, rain poured through the skylight. Also, the yurt is further away from Volcano National Park than advertised. It's 52 miles to the park, not 30. We did not use the propane cook stove because the instructions clearly stated that it was not to be used indoors.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Oh, dear. It's true that the skylight leaked for the first time ever. But our handy local person came right over and was able to obtain special materials to fix it. Now it is fine!

As for the distance to Volcanos National Park, I was measuring to the entrance off the main highway, but there is a long scenic drive from there to where you pay to get in. The scenery is great and you can listen to Hawaiian music all the way on the radio. We weren't trying to fool anyone.
Since the yurt is "off the grid," the little propane stove is the best way to warm things up and there is quite good ventilation in the 700 sq ft, lofty structure. No one in four years has had any worries about it. But opening one of the doors would be possible, or simply substituting with the microwave oven. This is an adorable place with quite a few amenities and most people love it, but it really is not "the Hilton." Come enjoy it if you'd like a nice change.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
5

Yurt in the sky

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Fun place to stay, very reasonable, unique experience, comfortable
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Duluth, MN
5

We loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
An interesting an economical place to stay on the Big Island is just what we were looking for, and we really enjoyed the yurt. At least one other reviewer compared it to camping, and I disagree with that. It is more like staying in a cabin than a house, but it's fun and has everything you need. Ocean View is an unusual area -- I guess you'd call it a residential neighborhood but houses are far apart, and vary widely in type and quality. It's quiet and dark, no street lights and not much going on. A great way to get away from the crowd, but within range of everything on the island. Owner was excellent to work with and provided good information ahead of our visit.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Lubbock
5

Yurt review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Great place. Everything owner described was as stated. Would do this again in a heartbeat. We were on our honeymoon and my wife loved it, and so did I.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
4

Fun little adventure!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a few challenges with the hot water, but the owner (who resides outside the state) was very helpful and made sure that things were taken care of quickly enough. There isn't much around there, but with a car it was a great central location for day trips to both Kona and Hilo, and many other parts of the island. Chilly at night, but the fireplace heats the place up quickly! Next time we go to Hawaii we'll stay there again! Great value for the price!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Bedford, Tx
4

Biggest Bang for the Buck!!!!!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Yurt in the sky was excellent for the money! It had a kitchen with a refrigerator, a livingroom with two sleepable couches, a California King size bed, a mattress in the loft, a bathroom with a hot water shower and a nice large deck for viewing the ocean and stars! What more could you ask for for such a reasonable price in Hawaii! We considered it better than luxury camping! The location was great; half way between Kona and Hilo and close to SouthPoint! Intriguing landscape, high enough up so you don't need airconditioning. Not for people who like to stay in fancy resorts but better than camping or RVing or hostels. A unique experience! Stayed 5 nights and wish it had been longer. Had such a great time may even buy a lot and build a place in OCEANVIEW and become neighbors!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Victoria, BC
5

Highly Recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We LOVED it. It was perfect for us. We loved the location on the Island being close enough to Kileaua, but not in her perpetual rain. We loved the quiet... a true retreat. The deck in the morning was a highlight as well as the fireplace at night.

An amazing value! Marilyn was so kind and accommodating. Thank you for everything.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Aptos, CA, USA
4

A week in the sky

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I used the Yurt-in-the-sky for a week of personal retreat; and I would happily return for another week. The view was vast, the stars were amazing, and it was very, very quiet. It is not a complicated place, and I soon adjusted to the various protocols (solar, water, stoves) for running the place.

That said, it is indeed like camping (I’ve done lots) and it is quite funky. It has the sense of a work in progress. If you are looking for luxury and utter perfection, it is not your place. If you are happy enough with simplicity-- it’s great.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
DeForest, WI
5

Wonderful secluded getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stayed here 5 nights and could have definitely loved to stay longer. Everything was nice and clean and the views at night and during the day were spectacular. We loved being away from anyone, yet close enough to easier to a day trip to lots on the island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yurt in the Sky
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258300vb
(608) 669-4902 (Wisconsin, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Bend, Oregon
3

Great potential, some disappointments

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We loved the beauty and solitude of the yurt, high in the lava field. It's definitely a cross between camping and a little condo. The big bed was comfortable, and we were able to figure out the shower and the gas stove. It's cold up there, but the stove is adequate. The place is not very clean. Granted, it's a yurt and we expected some dust. Much of the corners are filled with layers of dirt and dust evidently not touched by a vacuum in quite some time. It's rustic, but it didn't have to be THAT rustic, considering they pay a cleaning person. The bathroom light did not work, and there was only one iffy flashlight in the place. We weren't there to watch TV all day, but it would really have been nice to be able to use the huge TV after a long day of Hawaii adventures. It didn't work, and nobody got back to us when I left messages as instructed. The tangles of extension cords were kind of a mess, and probably a bit of a fire hazard. This place could easily be a 5/5 if it were better maintained and if they fixed that gorgeous TV.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that folks enjoy the great view and the cozy warmth of the yurt. We intended the beautiful large screen to be used for DVD's but not TV since reception in our area is almost non-existent. I'm sorry to say that the screen has been seriously damaged, but feel free to view our DVD's on your laptops etc. Or just enjoy the peace of the fire and the stars at night. It a good idea to bring your own small flashlight (as we suggest in the "helpful hints." ) Do come ready for an interesting experience,.... off the grid.
Helpful votes: 2/2