Sayulita house rental - Casa Soleada from the Ocean Side
Casa Soleada from the Ocean Side
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Sayulita House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-3)

Our romantic, colorful home, Casa Soleada ("Sunny House") with its salt water pool, surrounded by bougainvillea and hanging vines, is the perfect escape for a couple searching for a fun filled vacation.

Casa Soleada is nestled into a hillside above the Pacific Ocean and offers you a modern Mexican design, great comfort, stunning ocean views, and a lush tropical garden with two decks and a dip pool (2.5 meters x 3 meters). Our home is a splendid place to watch migrating humpback whales, vivid jungle birds, and dazzling sunsets.

We built Casa Soleada in 2001, with the help of an imaginative local architect who has now added the pool and decks among the palm trees and bougainvillea. Placed at the north end of Sayulita Bay, among other beautifully designed homes, and facing west, we're about a 15 minute walk to the village of Sayulita. From our home you'll benefit from the serenity, superb views, and easy access (three minute walk) to the north end (quiet end) of the beach.

Casa Soleada offers outdoor living with security. The living area and palapa (coned shaped palm roof) dining area are open to the ocean breeze, but safely placed high above the garden. Since we began renting Casa Soleada in 2003, no guest has ever lost anything from this house. Not once!

Our large air conditioned bedroom, with a firm queen-size bed and beautiful wooden closets, has screened and barred windows, and unbreakable glass doors and windows.

Features you will love about Casa Soleada include our mosaic outdoor shower off the main bath, and our bougainvillea surrounded balcony, perfect for margaritas or moon gazing.

The pretty blue tiled kitchen has an island, good cookware, and all major appliances. And Casa Soleada's colorful art and furnishings are of Mexican and South American design, enhanced by photographs of Mexico.

Sayulita is still a charming fishing village, but becoming discovered by tourists; that means we have all the services you'll be searching for. Very good shops, dozens of restaurants, cafes, excellent artists, and a wide variety of activities from Spanish lessons at the bookstore, to surfing lessons on the beach, to zip lines, horse back riding, and eco-tourism in the jungle.

If you reserve Casa Soleada for more than one week (8 nights or longer) we will send a driver to Puerto Vallarta airport to meet your flight. He'll put you and your bags in the van, take you grocery shopping, and delivery you to Casa Soleada, FREE.

Keywords: House, Casa, Casita, private home

More Details
Hide Details

We are a retired English/American couple who "found" Sayulita in the late 90s when Cynthia ran a photography workshop in Mexico. In the year 2000, we came to Sayulita to spend the winter ~ before we left we'd bought property, contacted a wonderful local architect, and drew up plans for Casa Soleada. We spend much of each winter here ~ otherwise we travel or live in Bandol, France, where this photo was made. We also rent our house near Aix-en-Provence.

Cynthia Gillespie-Smith purchased this house in 2001

In 2000, Sayulita was a quiet and almost unknown fishing village north of the resort town, Puerto Vallarta. While we've seen a lot of changes in Sayulita, most of them are positive, and in our neighborhood, the far north end of town, life remains peaceful. We have the choice of joining in the activity of Sayulita or remaining in the calm, tropical atmosphere of our home.

We love walking in the jungle and along the beach, especially the quiet north end. From our balcony we watch humpback whales, exotic birds, and admire the extraordinary sunsets Mother Nature gives us. Then we can walk or drive into town for dinner. Evenings are busy in Sayulita ~ many shops are open and there's a special positive energy not found many places.

22 Reviews of Property 33485 in Sayulita, Mexican Riviera

Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Denver
5

Fantastic Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is a dream house designed with artistic skill. Casa Soleada is charming and romantic, and all five senses are entertained here. The moon shinning on the sea and the outrageous sunsets are spectacular to behold. The morning breeze brings sounds of birds to begin the day, and the sounds of the waves send dreamy thoughts of nighttime. The beautiful jungle plants and flowers float sweet smells into the house and patio. Sitting under the palapa and sipping tequila is a favorite delight! It was a fabulous vacation and even after a week, it is with great difficulty that we are adjusting to showering inside, with four walls and a ceiling. Where are the banana trees and palms overhead? and the sunshine and views? Thank you Ian and Cynthia for sharing your home with us. Ernesto and Emelia are wonderful and very helpful as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
California, USA
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We absolutely enjoyed our stay in Casa Soleada. Perfect spot for a long weekend. The sunset that greeted us upon arrival was amazing. The house was comfortable and clean. We felt at home the minute we arrived. Ernesto the caretaker was there to answer all of our questions. We rented an electric golf cart which was a big help going to and from town, especially at night as the walk up the hill is very steep and dark. We tended to stay out late enjoying after dinner festivities in town. Thank you Cynthia for sharing your slice of paradise with us, for such a reasonable rate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Santa Cruz, CA
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
One always wonders whether the reality will live up to the promise. Casa Soledad did and much more, from the drop-dead gorgeous view when you walk in the front door to the intimate and very private salt water pool. The grounds and the house are beautifully maintained. The beach and the center of town are an easy walk, yet far enough away to make for enjoyable solitude. We cannot recommend it more highly and are already plotting our return. Thank you Cynthia for a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Los Angeles, CA
5

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I can't say enough about Casa Soleada... the view is stunning, the indoor/outdoor layout spectacular, the private pool so very relaxing, etc... All in all, we couldn't have asked for anything more! If ever we return to Sayulita (which we surely will as it's the most adorable town) it's the only place we'd want to stay.

Thank you for everything, Cynthia!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Chico, Ca, USA
5

Beautiful Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We really loved your house. The sunsets were stunning, it was quiet, secluded , the grounds clean and well kept and the pool was perfect for a cool dip. We enjoyed the walk to town, great people, awesome food and the waves were perfect for surfing, begginer to advanced. We also really appreciated Cynthia's quick responses to questions we had...she rocks! Planning to return soon! Thanks again!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am SO PLEASED that you appreciated Casa Soleada and that your time in Sayulita was so very good. Thank you for your kind words, and come again. You're awesome!
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Seattle, WA USA
5

Amazing location and hospitality.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
When you walk in the door at Casa Soleada the first thing you will say is WOW! The view is amazing and even though you are up the hill, you can still hear the sounds of the wave crashing on the beach. There are so many things to love about this place it is hard to pick a favorite... the outdoor shower, the saltwater pool, the amazing view, the great location, the artsy decor... who is to say what you will enjoy most.

Cynthia was great to work with and her property manager Ernesto made sure we were taken care of and felt at home. He arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport and also made great recommendations for massages and restaurants. I would highly recommend Casa Soleada to any of my friends and hope to return there myself in the near future.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am thrilled that you loved Casa Soleada and that your trip to Sayulita met your expectations. Yes, the view is stunning, the outdoor shower a treat, and the pool is a spectacular place to spend some down time. We love our house and are always happy to share it with nice guests such as YOU! Thanks very much for coming.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Seattle
5

Sayulita Bungalow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a perfect place for us – we loved it. The open air living was gorgeous; lots of bougainvillea and green palms full of butterflies and hummingbirds, before looking off onto the ocean. We loved that we were up high on the hill, yet could still hear the waves break. The house is decorated very authentically with bright colors and wonderful art. We cooked in a couple times, but were also close enough to town to enjoy some great meals out. There were so many cozy places for hanging out both inside and out that take advantage of the view. I especially loved the private outdoor shower off the main bath. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Berkeley, CA USA
5

Excellent location for peace and privacy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
As a couple, this house was spectacular. We enjoyed the fresh open air living space in the jungle, with excellent views of the ocean and sunset. Great food was prepared by us each day as the kitchen was well equipped. Walking into the town was enjoyable along the beach or by way of the cobblestone streets. We loved the quiet north side beach that we spent lots of time on with few others. We hope to return soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Denver, Colorado
5

Wonderful Casa!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Casa Soleada was everything we thought it would be and much more! The views are breathtaking as soon as you walk in the door. The owners have taken great care designing their home from the inside to outside with such vibrate colors. Even though the house sits high on the hill, you can still hear the ocean waves while sipping a margarita from any location in the home. We love this place and cannot wait to return!!! I highly recommend staying here (very romantic for a couple) and Cynthia was helpful with everything we needed to know prior to our arrival. There are many places to stay in Sayulita, but I have to insist Casa Soleada is one of the best because of the private/peaceful location, knockout views and the beauty and comfort of the home itself. Thank you!!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33485vbi
+33 494 74 21 07
Sayulita Nayarit
Chicago
5

Casa Soleada we miss you!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
One month later and we still miss Casa Soleada. First off Cynthia was more than helpful to all our needs and questions in regard to the casa and Sayulita. The casa has a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean from every room. We felt the location was perfect, far enough from town for peace and quite but still walkable to all the restaurants and the beach. We loved the pool area for late afternoon cocktails a swim and a nap. The casa and grounds we feel are way above average for a vacation rental and a lot of pride was taken in decorating the house. The only difficulty we had was renting a car that was a bit hard to park in the parking spot so if you plan on renting a car the smaller the better. We are looking forward to spending more time in Sayulita and hopefully a second visit to Casa Soleada.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that you appreciated and enjoyed Casa Soleada and Sayulita. We also feel that the view and location are just perfect ~ quiet and detached, but still close enough to the restaurants and nightlife of Sayulita. The pool, new this season, has been a huge hit and a quick dip is a wonderful way to end the day. Dinner by the pool or on the terrace above is so romantic. Please come again!
Helpful votes: 4/4