Lake Pepin chalet rental - View of Great Room from the Loft
View of Great Room from the Loft
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Pepin Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Chalet, 1 Bedroom + Loft + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 1-9)

A beautiful cabin style home built in 2005 that is quite unique. It has a large great room with red oak floors and knotty pine cathedral ceilings. The oak wrapped roof beam is more than 17 feet above the floor! A stone fireplace really creates a cozy and romantic atmosphere during the winter months. Don't worry, a gas furnace will insure that you never get cold.

The spacious living room and kitchen are all open which creates a wonderful Great Room space for entertaining family & friends. There are beautiful views of Lake Pepin from the kitchen and living room. There is a 26' TV, entertainment center with DVD/VHS video player and selection of movies, & fireplace. The living room features a queen size futon, Prairie style loveseat sofa w/ottoman in front of the fireplace as well as a Prairie style rocking chair. The large 16 ft by 27 ft cedar deck offers space for entertaining and great views of Lake Pepin. There are a flight of stairs to negotiate as the garage is below and living quarters above.

The perfect vacation rental place to spend quality time vacationing, family gatherings, or a romantic get-away! Note: We are located less than 2 blocks from the Villa Bellezza Winery!

Keywords: Lake Pepin, Pepin, swimming, boat, rent, rental, vacation, eagle, deck, fish, fishing, beach, resort, cabin, cabins, mississippi, valley, mississippi valley, skiing, snow, snowmobile, snowmobiling, ice, ice fishing, snow shoe, snowshoe

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I bought the property in 2000 and built the cabin in 2005.

We enjoy spending time here with our 6 children.

Tim and Jane purchased this chalet in 2005

We love Pepin! The people are friendly, the scenery is awesome, and we are always reluctant to leave.

The quiet and peacefulness reign. Seeing eagles is definitely more common than not seeing an eagle, especially Oct - Apr. During the these months the quiet calms frazzled nerves and there is nothing like a fire in the fireplace throughout the weekend.

38 Reviews of Property 334678 in Lake Pepin, Wisconsin

Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 38 reviews
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
5

Valentine's week at the Eagles Nest

Valentine's week at the Eagles Nest
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a incredible week at the Eagles Nest the owners are great host.They had wonderful tips on what to do and see while we were there. Every thing was just as expected for a relaxing week and adventure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
4

Great location - nice place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a great time here. It's right in Pepin, close to adorable Stockholm, walking distance to town and a bar, across the street from the lake. Also there's a random winery in Pepin, WI (who knew?!?) that has totally decent wine worth drinking and is right across the road from this house. Sort of a nice surprise.

Main room is nice, we were a group of 8 adults. Fireplace, kitchen, two baths - great! We mainly just sat around the fire playing games and cooking for each other - and the space was perfect for that.

I will say that the place only comfortably sleeps 6 adults (that's 2 on a bed, 2 on a futon in the living room and 2 in twin beds in the loft). After that you've got people on couches or flip-out things or one person futons in the loft (they make those?!?) that I'm pretty sure only kids can wake up from without a neck crick. If kids were in the mix I would say up to 8 or 9 is probably doable. But the place was great and location, too. Bring your own paper towels.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Rochester, MN
4

Memorable New Year Eve with family

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at the Eagles Nest New Years Eve. It was very cold, -13 below, but the cabin was very cozy and warm. Tastefully decorated, the kitchen was stocked with all the cookware one would need, plenty of games and DVD's to keep us occupied for our three night stay. There was plenty of wood for the indoor and outdoor fire places. A very well taken care of place to stay. The listing says it sleeps 7-10, but I think comfortably it sleeps 7. We visited Ralph's downtown Pepin for burgers. Would recommend eating there. I would recommend this place and would love to go back in the summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
5

Retired couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a wonderful two nights at this lovely chalet "cabin"! There was plenty of space and it is decorated beautifully. We especially loved the wood burning fireplace with plenty of wood! We moved back to Minnesota about seven years ago and have looked for a rental with a wood burning fireplace since moving back. This was exactly what we wanted! The only drawback was that there was no TV service since we were there on a Thursday night and I could not watch Parenthood. I got over that disappointment quickly after the fire started and we watching movies! There were plenty of movies to watch and games to play. We hope to get back for another visit soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
4

Relaxing Weekend!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed at the cabin for a long weekend at the end of Nov. and had a great time. It was cold out so, we really enjoyed time in front of the wood fireplace. This cabin is really cute and cozy. We also, went to the winery (walking distance) or a tasting which was fun. The cabin has plenty of games, movies, and books to keep you entertained during a relaxing get away. During our drive to the cabin we saw so many eagles - 8 at one time soaring above us. Very beautiful area. I hope to come back for another long weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
La Crosse
5

Cabin by the lake Perfection.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a fabulous girlfriends weekend at this beautiful cabin. We happened to stay during Laura Ingalls Wilder Days and other local fall festivals around the area. The quintessential? Midwest fall weekend. Pumpkins and mums were in full swing along with caramel apples and people dressed in their costumes for LIWdays. The area is perfect, and we were in walking distance of Villa Bellezza Winery & Vineyards which we had an amazing tasting there. After we went to The Pickle Factory and had appetizers and a cocktail, then continued to walk the Marina looking for heart shaped rocks to add to the widow sill collection at the cabin. Later we had wonderful laughter around the indoor fireplace while there was a calm beautiful rain storm that we watched out the windows and skylight. It really was perfect. This cabin is fully stocked with everything. All we needed to bring was food and ourselves. They even had a condiment we forgot! They also have little touches likes spices we needed for cooking and a few candles to make the ambiance even more comfortable. We were pleased to find a lot of wood for the fire and all the tiny things we needed. This was the perfect location right in the middle of La Crosse, WI and The Twin Cities where all the girlfriends could come together, just a bit over an hour drive for each of us. What a great weekend, and we are hoping to return soon! Thank you again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Minnesota
5

Pepin Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This worked beautifully as a second spot for our family. We have a condo nearby and needed a few additional beds.
The location is ideal to the marina, vineyard, and the town of Pepin.
We love the area for boating, biking, and hiking. It is as delightful in the winter as it is in the summer. The autumn art tour is fabulous.
We will definitely hope to stay with you in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
North Prairie, Wisconsin
5

Wonderful Lake Pepin home, great location, beautiful retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Wow! What a great weekend we had at this wonderful place in Pepin! We rented this property for 7 adults (plus two dogs) for a present. We had a great time. The property was clean, well kept up, had all the amenities we needed and more! We loved the location (it was easy to get north and south to visit other towns, plus Pepin kept us entertained). We were here for 4 days and did the following:
Day 1: Stopped in Nelson on the way in, enjoyed winery and ceramery.Arrived and enjoyed dinner on the deck and a fire in the yard. Also explored the private beach.
Day 2: Checked out Pepin. We had lunch at the Pickle Factory, did some shopping and found some treasures and then went to the winery in town, which is right behind the house. Another great dinner and enjoyed games at the wonderful dining table.
Day 3: We went up to Red Wing and then also visited the cidery in Maiden Rock, had pie in Stockholm and watched the sunset while swimming at the public beach (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED).
Day 4: We went back to Maiden Rock and hiked the bluff in the morning, then went to Wabasha after packing up. Visited the National Eagle Center, walked along the river and had lunch at Reed's Landing Brewing.

Pros- Lots of space, all the living space is on a second floor so you're very secluded. Property is set back from the road and train noise was minimized. ! The public beach was really nice! We did not swim at the private beach, and I wouldn't plan on it if you are looking at staying here. The public beach is walkable and very clean.
They are dog friendly which was awesome. Our dogs loved the balcony deck and watching squirrels. We loved that they were safe in kennels (that are provided) while we were gone.
Fire pit, grills, etc. were all wonderful. Very cute country style decorations.
Amazing location. We loved staying in Pepin and we loved where it was in Pepin!

Cons- The trains here are VERY active (locals said this summer has had the most in the past 7 summers). The house did shake when they went by, but many other rental properties are even closer to the trains-they run parallel to the water. We also found a few things to be missing (enough pillows, hand towels in the bathroom, hot pads,etc) but nothing that impacted our trip. Loft ladder is steep and twin beds up there are small. We had 3 adults up there and it was crowded.

We are already talking of a return trip in winter! Tim is great at communicating and providing suggestions and information before the trip. Great hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying! You really were very active during your stay! Thank you for your suggestions. we hope you will be able to come back this winter.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Outside of Chicago
5

Beautiful, wooded cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Definitely will be coming back to this lovely cabin in quiet Pepin! HUGE deck and impeccably clean two-bedroom, but also ideal for families! Hosts were very accommodating. Great place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Natalie! Thank you also for your kind comments and shared thoughts in the guest book. We hope you will be able to come back soon! Tim & Jane
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Come to Where the Eagles Soar! Special! (see rates below)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334678vbi
952-237-5210
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Minneapolis, MN
5

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and friends with their little girls spent 4 days at Pepin Eagle's Nest and had a total blast! The cabin is beautiful - super clean with a fantastic, laid back feeling from the moment you walk in. Not only did we feel very accommodated by the supply of needed items (appliances, utensils, towels,etc) but Tim was very welcoming and helpful in providing information on the area and things to do. We brought our 20' Boat - kept it at Dan's Marina down the road, and spent most of every day on the Lake which is just gorgeous. Pickle Factory is always a blast and Grilling and hanging out at night by the campfire and on the deck made for perfect evenings. Even our Golden Retriever LOVED this place - I always appreciate pet friendly places that are this nice - very hard to find. The only thing I would do different next time is to come supplied with more groceries - we had to boat over to Lake City to hit the super market since the store in Lake Pepin was closed and also didn't offer a wide enough variety for meals.

I highly recommend staying here - any time of the year, really.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely comments Suzanne! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! It sounds like the experience we have everytime we are at the cabin 9except for the groceries part).
BTW - there is a SuperValu grocery in Wabasha that is only 15 mins by car. we will add it to the documents that we send to guests before they stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1