Joshua Tree cottage rental - Living room view from Entry, HDTV, DVD Player, TWC Cable, Wireless Internet
Living room view from Entry, HDTV, DVD Player, TWC Cable, Wireless Internet
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Joshua Tree Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

A private cozy getaway light and bright during the day and dark and silent at night with bamboo floors, heat and air conditioning, a full kitchen including Nespresso espresso machine. Living room with stereo, TV and High Speed Internet.

Patio for outdoor enjoyment....wildlife comes to you if you feed it (birds, rabbits, squirrels, etc.).

Local markets, library, museum, art galleries and restaurants.

Joshua Tree National Park visitors center 6 miles

Black Rock Hiking Trails of JTNP 2 miles

Joshua Tree Retreat Center (Mental Physics) 2 miles

Palm Springs and all it offers is only 30 minutes away.

Keywords: Guest House separated by 150' from the Main House with ample privacy on 1.25 acres 10 minutes from Joshua Tree National Park

15 Reviews of Property 334614 in Joshua Tree, California

Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
Waukegan, Il.
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This casita is comfortable, clean, and well outfitted with basic needs and more. The location provides quiet, yet is close to shopping and the Joshua Tree park. The owners were friendly, helpful and interesting to chat with. We hope to return to this area to further explore. Would hope to also return to this casita...it suited us .
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
New Orleans, Louisiana
5

Perfect retreat and minutes to the park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, scenic retreat at any age. The descriptions don't do it justice. It was just a short drive to Joshua Tree N.P. and several quiet hiking trails (near Black Rock Campground), but also down the road from conveniences like groceries (Vons or Food 4 Less), coffee shops, restaurants (we loved Natural Sisters Cafe), etc. We also went to the Joshua Tree farmer's market, which pleasantly overlapped with our stay on Saturday morning. If you didn't want to do a lot of walking/hiking, the house and property were sufficiently restful and lovely that you wouldn't have to leave. The porch was great for lounging and reading a book.

The house was beautifully clean and well-maintained (great shower, fast internet, cappuccino machine, full kitchen, gas grill, firm and comfortable mattresses), with a lovely front porch for bird watching (hummingbirds were everywhere!) and taking in some of the sunshine or stars at night. The place was definitely big enough for four people, although it was just the two of us for the weekend. We especially enjoyed the large gas grill, which allowed us to load it up with veggies and steak and cook under the stars. Oh, and the chocolates upon arrival were a sweet treat and the cappuccino machine helped us get an early start!

The owners, Anja and Sandy, have been incredibly resourceful and responsive. They answered all our questions quickly and were extremely flexible in all our travel needs. They accommodated for a very late arrival from LAX airport and my constantly changing work schedule (which delayed the trip on several occasions).

We're so happy that we stayed at Anja's and Sandy's place. You won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Home away from home..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I just left this wonderful place last week; stayed for three weeks. Mostly because I stayed for five weeks last year and found it to be perfect. As it was again this year. And I will be going back next year. The guest house is cozy, super clean, wonderful light and color, convient to everywhere, and a birders paradise each evening. Anya and Sandy are the best hosts, you never see them and yet if you need them, they are right there. In fact they are just a couple of the perks you get staying at the guest house. All the conviences are there, easy to find and get to and from, close to town but far enough away. It's a great "home away from home" each evening after touring the areas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Arthur, for your great review.
We missed you after you left and are already looking forward to your next stay and the wonderful times we spent with you.
Good luck and till we meet again,
Sandy and Anja
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
Keene, CA, USA
5

Anja and Sandy's Guest House was Fantastic!

Anja and Sandy's Guest House was Fantastic!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My fiancee and I just got back from 4 very fun days in Joshua Tree NP, hiking and enjoying the scenery. We loved the park, but we loved where we stayed even more, here at Anja and Sandy's guest house. It's fully furnished, complete with all the kitchen equipment you could ever want, including a N'espresso machine with lots of coffee capsules. The bed is very comfortable and had a really nice comforter that kept us plenty warm while it was below freezing outside. The TV and DVD player were great additions to our evenings, and they even had a few movies to watch that we liked! We're looking forward to coming back and getting to know Anja and Sandy better, they were really gracious hosts and super nice people. We loved their restaurant recommendations too, Sam's for Indian food and Pappy and Harriet's saloon in Pioneertown for dinner on my birthday (neither of which we'd have found out about otherwise). I really can't say enough good things about this place! I had previously made a couple of visits to the area and stayed in a couple of the big motels along the main highway, which were both so noisy, cramped, uncomfortable and expensive! This is an excellent value and a wonderful little home away from home. We're looking forward to our return visit in a major way!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, Dave, thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful and inspiring review. We also are looking forward to seeing you and Brenda again and listen to your music! You were lovely guests.
Thank you again.
Anja and Sandy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
Brisbane, Australia
5

Wonderful and Eclectic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What a wonderful, cosy and comfortable getaway in the high desert! The pictures are spot-on and a microwave has appeared in the extremely well-supplied kitchen. The decor is fun and eclectic and gives some insight into the fascinating backgrounds of the hosts. We came to have a few days of private holiday in the midst of a family Thanksgiving marathon and the cottage, hikes in Joshua Tree Nat'l Park and Black Rock Canyon, and Nespresso on the front patio while feeding the local wildlife made this the perfect choice. Anja and Sandy are warm, informative and unobtrusive. Outstanding value and highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review; it is great to read how much our guests enjoy the guesthouse, because it is our goal to provide guests and/or friends an unforgettable experience
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Lovely Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This lovely Guest House Getaway is a cozy, comfortable and relaxing home away from home. The integrated living and dining space flows into kitchen and is bright and spacious where you can easily spend a calm and peaceful day. Minutes away from Yucca Valley's shopping, restaurants and entertainment, the house is centrally located and offers easy access to Joshua Tree National Park, Palm Springs, and Desert Hot Springs.

We strongly recommend this Guest House Getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
Laguna Niguel, California
5

A Haven in the high desert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I was fortunate to spend two peaceful days relaxing in this little slice of heaven in Yucca Valley. I haven't had such a great night's sleep in a long time. It was absolutely quiet, dark, cool and a perfect sleeping environment. The bed was fantastically comfortable, warm and cozy. The kitchen was well-equipped with everything needed for cooking purposes with some lovely decorative touches. The owners have gone out of their way to create an artistic haven for those seeking solitude, tranquility and a blissful night's sleep. There are lovely hikes, a day trip to Joshua Tree National Park, Harriet and Pappy's restaurant (great fun) and some of the best Indian food east of LA at Samy's. Overall, a great find at a terrific price for a relaxing vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles, California
5

Quiet environment, accomodating host and a warm home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house was clean and well equipped. The porch was the main attraction though. Birds, squirrels and rabbits frequented the front porch both in the morning and evening. My husband saw around 12 to 13 varieties of birds on the first afternoon itself! We spent quite a lot of time sitting in the porch at night too star gazing. Full kitchen of the house made it easy for us to make dinners at our convenience. What we loved the most was the tranquility of the place. We would definitely recommend this getaway to anyone seeking a peaceful retreat among the desert rocks.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles, CA / USA
5

A Peach in the Desert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My boyfriend and I rented this guest house for our anniversary weekend and it proved the ideal desert retreat. The location was the first attraction as it was perfectly situated between all the stops we wanted to hit: Pioneertown, the Integratron, Joshua Tree, and just across 29 Palms Hwy from the Sky Village Swap Meet (highly recommended, for the people and visual aesthetic if nothing else... good breakfast at the Sky Cafe, too).

The price was right, too, especially considering all the amenities: full kitchen with cooking utensils (even a Nespresso machine that Sandy showed us how to operate), a private patio with a grill (which we didn't use), DVD and cable TV (which we also didn't use), strong shower pressure and nice bath towels, blazing broadband internet (with 30-foot cable), resident wildlife that show up every morning in the front yard for breakfast (quail, rabbits, chipmunks, other assorted birds we couldn't identify... the chipmunks came right up next to our feet!), and best of all, the peace and quiet of a stand-alone house, as opposed to a hotel, where there's always a good chance of rowdies next door. Not to mention, the whole place was spotlessly clean.

Anja and Sandy were warm and gracious hosts without being the least bit obtrusive. We had complete privacy, but it was nice to know they were around/available if we needed anything. Lovely folks. Great getaway. Definitely a weekend to remember.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Guest House Getaway in Yucca Valley Only 6 Miles from Jtnp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334614vbi
(760) 365-8589
Joshua Tree California Desert
Tallahassee, FL
5

Perfect Interlude

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I was looking for a place to be by myself for a few days to hike, think, rest and relax. This was the perfect rental! The pictures online were accurate, the place is welcoming and peaceful. The wildlife is abundant, and the locale is great! It's an easy drive to hiking, shopping, the hot springs, and more things to do than I had time for! There are 2 undeveloped lots (filled with plants, chipmunks and rabbits) on either side of the property and a huge backyard which allowed for quite a lot of privacy and great star-gazing. My hosts were friendly, helpful, and quite knowledgeable of the area and had great suggestions of places to visit. They allowed me all the privacy I wanted and although their home is in front of the rental, the space and landscaping between the homes makes each seem to be on their own lot. As a woman traveling alone, I wanted a rental with the owners close by in case of any emergency. Anja and Sandy provided several nice touches like an espresso maker, french press coffee maker, a colorful dish of purple wrapped chocolates in a heart-shaped candy dish, a thoughtfully draped afghan on the couch, up to date maps and brochures of local attractions, and best of all A DELICIOUSLY COMFORTABLE BED. The bed and the linens were so comfortable! I had driven 37 straight hours from Florida to get there, and then spent every day hiking or sightseeing. It was pure joy to take a hot shower (plenty of hot water!) and slip into such comfort at the end of a long day.
The coat I had brought was too light for the cool weather and Anja graciously lent me a wool jacket that saved the day.
I hope my schedule allows me to revisit this area soon. I would happily stay here again. One thing to be aware of though: when I stayed there in Feb. 2012 I don't recall seeing a microwave. I didn't need one, there is a full stove and oven and fridge. If that's important to you, you might want to inquire ahead of time if one is available. There are lots of outside seating areas where you can hang out or have a meal. The tv reception was fine and there was internet available too although I didn't use it. My cell phone worked perfectly. Have a lovely stay, I did!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3