Puako house rental - Kolea in all its glory at sunset
Kolea in all its glory at sunset
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Kolea (the Hawaiian name for the Pacific Golden Plover) are believed to have been migrating between Alaska and Hawaii for at least 120,000 years, returning to the same spot year after year. Symbolizing the unbroken continuity of nature’s rhythms, the kolea is an “aumakua” or “protector spirit” and figures in many Hawaiian stories, songs, chants and hula. It is an apt name for this seaside home, whose owner first came to the site as a child in 1929. Now one of four homes in this family compound (see also Honu, Ehu Kai and Ulu Niu), Kolea itself represents continuity, with many families returning to it every year—for good reason: it is a rare find: a beachfront vacation home at an affordable rate. Set amid the cooling shade of a coconut palm collection that was once the largest in the state, Kolea’s grassy yard is nearly an acre in size—great for children. Steps away is the white sand beach of Waialea Bay, where you’ll swim, dive, snorkel and sunbathe while enjoying the honu (sea turtles), manta rays and wintertime whale activity.

The two-bedroom, two-bath, two-story home, built in 1969 and recently renovated, offers comfortable beachside living with cool breezes, outdoor dining, ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Kolea is one of only a handful of vacation rentals available on Waialea Bay, a prized location for a Hawaii vacation.

Keywords: beach front house, Puako/Waialea Bay area,

oceanfront house, sandy beach, 2 bedroom beach house, 2 bedroom house

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 334574 in Puako, Hawaii

April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334574vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
5

Wonderful Week at the Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My boyfriend and I spent a week here and loved it. This place was very clean and well-appointed but the best thing about this house is its proximity to the beach. We rented a surfboard, a paddle board, and brought a fishing rod and snorkel gear and we never had to leave the house. The deck feels private but has a great view of the ocean. We loved the little community of Puako, it feels far from the surrounding mega resorts but it was nice to be close to some shopping, spas and the town of Waimea, which we loved.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334574vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Eugene, Oregon
5

Great Big Island Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We recently returned from about a week at Kolea in Puako. Everything about it was just fabulous, from the warm welcome (calls to make sure everything was OK and that we had arrived and a macadamia nut pie in the fridge!) to the fantastic location on the best beach in the area. We agree totally with everything that is said on the review for the property on the 2 Papayas website. It was very clean and had a impressively stocked kitchen. We cooked a lot and found everything that we needed. Loved it!
.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334574vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
San Rafael CA
4

Kolea House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Fantastic lanai - great view of the beach, sky/sunset and water (including the surfers). Wonderful cross-breeze kept us comfortable. We've stayed at this beach many, many times, but the first time in this house. What we liked: great lanai, great ice-maker (kept up with our blender drink needs no problem!), good bird book for identifying our friends. Always have loved this beach, but it has become more populated over the years, especially since a paved parking lot, bathroom and showers were added at the public entrance at the end of the road. Beach is still quiet and peaceful early morning and in the evening, sometimes too many shrieking kids midday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334574vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Conifer, Colorado
5

Our Favorite!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
After 12+ visits to Hawaii, my husband and I agree our 2 weeks at Kolea was our favorite rental. The beach house is well maintained, clean, well stocked, comfortable and situated on a terrific shady beach with wonderful swimming, snorkeling, kayaking and paddle boarding access. The view from the shaded lanai, where we ate every meal, is extraordinary and we had so much fun spotting many whales and spinner dolphins. A few mornings we even saw manta rays gliding in the shallow sandy areas of the turquoise bay. What a sight! When we snorkeled, we saw so many different colorful fish and a lot of turtles too. It was great to be able to grab a couple of the chairs and towels that were provided, head through the back yard gate, be right on the beach and so close to the house to run back for whatever! No need to drive anywhere if you don't want to. This is the type of place you could stock up at any of the nearby grocery stores and just stay at the house, grill up some fish or steak and relax and escape.
But, if you do want to explore, golf, hike, shop and go out to eat, you will find staying at Kolea is an excellent Kohala coast starting point. Head north to Hapuna beach, Kawaihae (which is very close and has a great fish market, lunch wagon, ice cream/shave ice, burger place and the Blue Dragon restaurant with entertainment and a dance floor), Hawi & Kapa'au (for shopping and food), Pololu (great black beach hike) or to Waimea (some of the best restaurants on the island). Head south to the many nearby resorts for lots of shopping and many more restaurants Fabulous golf is nearby too, at Mauna Kea, Hapuna, Mauna Lani and Waikoloa beach resorts. You are also very close to Blue Hawaii helicopter company, which is our favorite. We would love to return to Kolea and would recommend it and definitely feel it would be an equally wonderful rental for romantic couples, a family with kids or a friends getaway vacation. One more thing, the property management is top notch and extremely helpful and reliable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334574vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
United States
5

The best!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My family loved it. Kids running around in yard. Access to beach is unbeatable. QUIET. The porch is marvelous. Great central location on Kohala coast. Why would you stay anywhere else? Check in/out was easy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334574vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Canada
5

A perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I stayed with a close friend, her husband and 19month old daughter. We had an amazing time. We were really happy with how well the kitchen was stocked with cooking tools from blenders to a BBQ to great pots and pans. Make sure you look and see what is already there before you head to the grocery store.

The rooms were lovely and the yard is very private. The lanai is very relaxing with all the pretty birds and whales out in the ocean. At night the stars are amazing and the area is very quiet.

The beach is a bit rocky but water shoes are at the house or the Puako General store has them for $10 and they make all the difference. There is great snorkeling just off the beach at the house.
Hapuna beach is a sandy paradise and just a few Kms away. There are also some pool noodles, body boards and a few other water toys in the garage.

We rented Paddle boards from Kona Boys in the Kona area and had an amazing time in the water. The area is known for great paddle boarding.

Highly recommend a car be rented if you are staying here since it is secluded. You could walk to the Puako General Store in about half an hour though.

We would definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334574vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Honoka'a
5

Honoka'a Resident

Honoka'a Resident
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The Kolea House was the PERFECT place for me to welcome special friends from the mainland, to experience my favorite beach. Mary and Robbie were wonderful to work with.
If you want to experience the flavor of old, authentic Hawaii this is the ideal house. Mahalo to 2 Papayas!
business
April 21 to May 4 just opened up! Hurry while dates are available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334574vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
anchorage, alaska
5

Local Flavor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
this awesome house is right on the beach at the southern end of wailea bay. felt like our own private beach most of the time, especially in the morning and evening. great views of the sunset. super house with a great outdoor deck and huge yard. The house has a charming local character. it worked out well for our family of 5 (kids 7, 5 & 3).

a lot of time spend out on the deck eating meals, drinking fruit smoothies and hanging out. it's well stocked with float tubes, boggie boards, beach chairs, etc.

can't wait to stay there again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1