This was our first vacation to Gatlinburg with our two small children, ages 6 and 3. We chose this condo because of the photographs posted (which were true representations of the unit) and its location near the Parkway. The unit was clean, comfortable and functional; and nicely decorated for the holidays. Though small, it had three bedrooms, each with its own bath, which gave us all our own personal space. The fireplace was warm and inviting (though we moved the DVD player off the mantle b/c the fire heated up the bottom of it so intensely we were concerned it might damage it) and the big-screen TV a luxury. We enjoyed being so near to downtown, as we could walk and not drive to all the attractions. Also, the unit was right near a trolley stop, which we took advantage of on the days with inclimate weather.
Our suggestions for improvement would be to offer more kid-friendly amenities, such as plastic plates/bowls/cups (we were nervous about the kids breaking the dishes/glasses), step-stool in bathroom, and a selection of board/card games to share. Also, the welcome book needs updating.
This was a lovely, well cared for home, and we enjoyed staying in it for our holiday vacation!
The only two criticisms we have, though they have nothing to do with the owner's beautiful unit, are: (1) the indoor pool area--the pool and tile appeared clean, but the hot tub lining was visibly dirty/stained (quite unappealing, so we did not go in, and it made us question how "clean" the rest of the pool area really was) and none of the five heaters in the enclosure were operational. Additionally, the common toilet/shower area was absolutely disgusting! Needless to say, we did not stay down there long--the kids were really disappointed; and (2) the HomeAway site--we received so many unsolicited (junk) emails from the site in the weeks leading up to our stay, that it became a nuisance but we were afraid to unsubscribe for fear of missing an important email regarding our rental. This was a much different experience than we've had with other rental sites and has made us reluctant to book again through HomeAway.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your detailed review. Since we manage from out of state, guest reviews really help us improve our service. I will provide more plastic-ware for the children. We did get in touch with our building manager and we were told that a part broke in the Hot Tub right before your arrival. There was a sign but apparently it went missing. The heaters were not broken, the power is usually not turned on unless it's requested since the enclosed area stays pretty warm from the heated pool and hot tub water. Unfortunately your visit was during the Holidays when the maintenance person was on vacation, that was the reason the outdoor area was not well kept. Even the repair of the Hot Tub was delayed due to Holiday closing. We do apologize for the inconvenience. We wish you had contacted us; we would have notified the building manager right away. I am sure their response would have satisfied your concerns. I am glad our condo was to your liking and thank you again for staying with us.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?