Sayulita house rental - There is no better location than right on the beach!
There is no better location than right on the beach!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
 

Sayulita House Rental Photos and Description
Private Beachfront House, 5 Bedrooms including Living Room, 4.5 Baths, Sleeps 12

Set amid palm trees at the edge of a white sand beach flecked with gold, stands a gracious Mexican villa with a broad shaded veranda, offering an unobstructed view of the warm Pacific Ocean only steps away.

This grand hacienda is private and peaceful, within walking distance of the center of the charming village of Sayulita. Complete with housekeeper at no additional charge and the option of having a private cook prepare meals at your request for a nominal fee, this is the perfect vacation home for a luxurious but uncomplicated beachside holiday.The villa consists of a main house with 2 master bedrooms, a living room (which can be configured as a 5th bedroom), a dining room and a large fully equipped kitchen, plus a separate 'casita', or guest house, just a few steps across the small courtyard, consisting of 2 non-connected bedrooms.

The waves are often gentle enough for leisurely swims right in front of the villa, because of the smooth sandy bottom in our choice location. However, because on other parts of the beach, the ocean bottom changes to cobblestones, we are fortunate to have within sight of the house, two surf breaks that have some of the best and most consistently ride able waves along Mexico's Pacific Gold Coast. Down the beach, about 7 houses south of our villa, is the fast and exciting, left hand surf break. The more forgiving and fun, right hand break, which was the site of the Mexican National Surf Contest, is only a short stroll beyond that. Sayulita is becoming internationally known as an excellent spot for the experienced surfer as well as an ideal place for those eager to learn.

MASTER BEDROOM #1 features a king-sized bed with a carved stone headboard, an exceptionally spacious bathroom and a fabulous view of the ocean including the surf break.

MASTER BEDROOM #2 is even bigger than Master #1. It has its own private entrance, private bathroom and also has the option of being connected by a common door to Master Bedroom #1. It is spacious enough to easily accommodate a king sized bed and two other single beds. It can alternately be provided with 4 single beds. It is light and airy and like all the bedrooms, it has a fabulous view of the ocean. Master Bedroom #2 has built in Air Conditioning.

The HIDEAWAY BEDROOM has its own separate entrance, and it normally comes with two single beds which can be configured as a king if requested. It also has a toilet in an alcove of the room behind a shell curtain and a hot water sink “ensuite”. Its window provides a view of the ocean, shaded by mature tropical trees. Because of its situation, this room is ideal for teenagers or others seeking privacy.

The upstairs EAGLES NEST BEDROOM was originally designed as an artists’ studio by the owners. It is accessed by an outdoor stairway covered with hand painted Mexican tiles. The Eagles Nest has unmatched views of the ocean and jungle as it is the only bedroom which has some windows facing in all 4 directions. This spacious, light filled, room comes furnished with a king sized bed to provide a very romantic and very private nest with a sweeping view of the beach and jungle below. The room is ample enough that, as an alternative, it can easily accommodate a king and 2 single beds or 4 single beds if arrangements are made in advance. This art studio/bedroom now contains its own brand new bathroom, with toilet, shower, glass sink and granite countertop. All bedrooms have ceiling fans, plus this bedroom and Master Bedroom #2 both have built in Air Conditioning.

BEDROOM #5: Because the spacious living room is a mirror image of Master Bedroom #1, and it too has an exceptionally large bathroom of it’s own, it can be used as 5th Bedroom, with single or king bed, if specifically requested. Guests generally use the broad shaded veranda as their living room and dining room, because the weather is usually so inviting that everyone wants to spend as much time as possible on the veranda with the beach spread out before them only steps away.

On the beach, close enough to easily stroll into the center of town yet just far enough to be private quiet and peaceful. We can see both surf breaks from the house and easily walk right to them. We are on the desirable north side of Sayulita, but we don't need to climb any hills and we are still so close to the restaurants and shops and surf breaks, that we don't need to get in car to easily participate in everything the town has to offer. There are many great restaurants in Sayulita and we have a large, fully equipped kitchen, so sometimes we take advantage of the fact that we can hire our sweet and trusted housekeeper Delia to cook us an authentic Mexican meal for a very reasonable price.

More Details
Hide Details

Be sure to click on 'Hybrid' view on the map below. For many years I was an editor of motion pictures and television in San Francisco, Los Angeles and New York. My wife is a fine artist/painter who grew up outside of New York City and spent her summers at their beach house on the Jersey Shore. My wife's family are Canadians who live all across Canada from Montreal to the Canadian Rockies to British Columbia. Our daughter Heather grew up in California, loves to swim and now that we have a house on the beach in Mexico, she became fluent in Spanish and she even does a little surfing.

Owner purchased this house in 2001

Although we have traveled all over the world to places like Bali, Hawaii, Guatemala, Europe, Canada, both coasts of the USA and many places in Mexico, we didn't get to Sayulita until 2000. It was the perfect little fishing village that we had been looking for, where the food is good, the local people are friendly, it's a quick easy flight from the USA, and it was the prettiest curve of beach we had ever seen. By 2001 we went back to buy a vacation home and found this perfect house right on the beach. My wife Sharon loved the classic hacienda style of the house and all the elegant antiques that came with it. My daughter Heather loved the fact that it was right on a soft sand beach where she could swim and play, and I loved that I could see two fabulous surf breaks that I could stroll down the beach to surf, within sight of the house. Less than a year after we purchased it, we loved it so much that we decided to live there full time, which we did for a year and a half to seize the opportunity to immerse ourselves in the culture, learn Spanish, and really get to enjoy this fabulous spot. We now live in Santa Barbara and visit the warm tropical waters of Sayulita as often as we can, but since we can't be there year round, we like being able to share it's pleasures with others.

14 Reviews of Property 333441 in Sayulita, Mexican Riviera

Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
average rating of 4.75 based on 14 reviews
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
5

Stunning retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Upon opening the wooden gates to enter the property we were in total awe! The waves of the ocean were rolling onto the golden sand only just a few meters from the Casa. I was so releived and happy that I had chose this place! With so many Casa's to choose from it was a sweet relief that I chose the absolute best location! If you want to be close to the plaza and yet be in a tranquil location, this is the place. My favourite thing about this Casa is that we were able to avoid sitting in lawn chairs amongst the masses on the main beach. We could enjoy the main beach, go surfing, eat fish tacos, buy handmade jewellery and then stroll to our private beach within a few minutes. We would all smile so big every time we arrived at the Casa from the beach. We would joke at how awesome our Casa was compared to all the others! We felt pretty grateful!
Sayulita is a very safe, funky, alternative community. The people are healthy and happy. As well, I was happy to see how well the dogs, cats and horses are cared for. Kudos to sayulita on being an example to other communities on how to live harmoniously with our furry friends.
A thank you must go out to Delia the housekeeper. Thank you for making us smile and cheer!
Thanks to the home owner Richard for arranging a few more nights! So awesome! We are sitting on the veranda right now feeling very lucky that we don't have to leave tomorrow!!! Thanks for the 5 extra nights!!! We don't want to go anywhere else! Casa Aguila is an authentic Mexican Casa in the very best location with comfy beds, fully equipped kitchen and magical sunsets. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
5

Three generation family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My family of, 3 generations, spent two weeks at Casa Aguila and it is everything that the description and and photos describe. Ages of our family ranged from late 70's (me) down to 4yr's old..11 in all including 4 children. the only drawback was that surf was too much for the youngest, and even the others ages 8,11,13 had to be with an adult while in the water. The beach is magnificent, and a walk down the beach to the village area provides a shallow, sheltered place for the youngest to play safely. All of my family had a wonderful time. Accommodation, food, sea, sunsets, safety, privacy....all first class, no complaints at all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
5

Thanksgiving week on the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had family and friends for a relaxing week on Sayulita beach. We used all 4 bedrooms with 8 of us. The house is beautifully situated with a constantly changing beach front view. It's so fun to walk to town or just down the beach for guacamole and margaritas. The house is well cared for and well appointed. The house keeper made us a perfect welcome dinner for our arrival night and we ate leftovers for several days! The owner communicated well everything we needed to know for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
London
5

Awesome spotin Sayulita. Ideal location great owner to deal with a++

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I hope that this message finds you well. I just ended my vacation in California and have made it back to Europe. Was amazing to be back home, but it was even more incredible to be at your amazing house in Sayulita. I really want to say thank you. We had an incredible time. The house was really as described and perfect. Your location is great. The house was perfect size and setup for us. I can't wait until my next trip down there, we will certainly be looking to stay at your place.

This was a great call. Richard is a very friendly and reliable guy everything worked our perfectly. Book with confidence.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am of course pleased that this gentleman who lives in London and who I had never met, and who had never been to Sayulita before was clearly so thrilled with our house and found it to be perfect. It is heartwarming to know that guests appreciate our endeavors to help them in any way we can and they certainly apparently love the house and it’s ideal location.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
Grants Pass
4

Old World Charm

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our time spent at Casa Aguila. Upon arrival it took us some time to check out all of the interesting niches and the art work. The antique furniture was an added treat. Casa Aguila exudes old world charm. And as they say in real estate circles - location, location, location. Casa Aguila is just far enough from town to feel like the beach is private but close enough to stroll to the store for groceries or to a restaurant for dinner. We had dinner catered in a couple of nights. What better place to enjoy the wonderful sunsets than from the verandah at supper time. The services of Delia and Carlos were an added bonus and their acquaintance gave us a chance to practice our rusty Spanish. The on-line pictures do not due this place justice. Our recommendation - go now and enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
5

WE LOVE CASA AGUILA !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR LETTING US STAY AT YOUR BEAUTIFUL HACIENDA!

Hello Richard and Family,

We just want to say thank you very much for letting us stay at your beautiful hacienda on the beach. We had an absolutely fabulous week in Sayulita and we love Casa Aguila! It was everything we hoped it would be and more...While we were there, the weather was gorgeous, the water warm and the view, from the porch, spectacular! Delia is great. It was so nice to have her come each day. She does a really nice job.
We would definitely like to return again someday. There is something truly about Sayulita Life...

Thank you again,
Sally and Kent McKay
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
Orondo, WA
4

Busy Easter Week

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We went down our Spring Break which also happened to land on Easter this year. The first part of the week was just as described with the ocean the loudest noise at night. Unfortunately, the peaceful atmosphere ended there. The tent campers were at times four deep and all along the beach front. The crazy loud music and partying lasted till 4am. Yes, 4 in the morning. I was told this was not normal. However, no compensation was offered. We spent a lot for the week. The houses around us had some one handling the tent campers, but we were left on our own.

Even with the huge number of people drinking till the wee hours, we didn't feel in danger. More uncomfortable and unable to sleep would be how I would describe it. The people of Sayulita were wonderful, nice and welcoming.

The housekeeper and grounds keeper we friendly and did their jobs well.

The beds were satisfactory, but it seemed that some of the furniture needed to be replaced. The lay out of the house is perfect for a group and the setting, minus the 40 tents in front, is beautiful.

Our favorite place to eat was an Italian restaurant with a different fresh menu each night. I can't remember the name, but it had a bar with swings, and a bar with bottles hanging all around. The pizza was the best, no really, it all was great. We went horseback riding on the beach and that was a fun adventure too. We walked to town each night and got home in the dark all without a hitch and without fear. We even had four children under ten. The town square had music after 8 or 9 and families were everywhere. We were the minority white people in town, but that was nice. Bring lots of pesos from the States as the exchange rate wasn't great in town. We got our best rates in our home town.

Be careful on the beach right out front of the house. I broke my clavical there in the high waves. I think to the left towards town is gentler. My bad, but I do think you should be warned. I spent a day going to Puerta Vallarta for an expensive x-ray, but didn't let it ruin my vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It is nice to see that the house received a 4 star review out of 5, even when these guests booked their week to include the busiest few days of the year in Sayulita. As they described, the beginning of the week was totally peaceful but near the end of the week, leading up to Easter Sunday far more people came to Sayulita than have ever come before, for the Semana Santa celebration. The campgrounds became full and therefore apparently people camped in tents all along the beach. The crowds departed on Easter Sunday and I was glad to note that our guests experience didn’t ruin their vacation. They said that they had 4 children under the age of 10 and that they walked to town each night and got home in the dark all without a hitch and without fear. It is gratifying to read that they felt that the layout of the house was perfect for a group and that the setting is beautiful. The housekeeper and groundskeeper were friendly and did their jobs well. The people of Sayulita were wonderful, nice and welcoming. These are clearly comments from seasoned travelers who know how to enjoy themselves.
Thank you so much for your review.
Best wishes,
From the owners of this beachfront home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
Portland, OR
5

A superb vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I've just returned from a week at this beautiful home with my entire family, three generations, nine of us in all. This was a special time for which I felt that it was important to find just the right place, so I did a lot of research and planning. We could not have been happier with our choice. The house is situated just a few steps above the beach and perhaps a hundred feet from the ocean. The kitchen and dining room open onto a very spacious covered veranda which flows seamlessly onto a vast stone patio with a magnificent big shade tree at its far edge. The bedrooms are spacious, with ample fresh air, and the beds are extremely comfortable. Daily housekeeping is provided and the housekeeper is an excellent cook, available most evenings. The kitchen is excellent and efficient. The living room is very comfortable, although we used it very little because the weather was so good and the outdoor spaces so inviting. The owner is a very nice man who is exceptionally helpful in providing a wealth of useful information not only about the house but about the town and surrounding area. The town is small, quaint, and charming, with an abundance of good restaurants and nice shops. It is an easy 10-minute walk from the house to the center of town. One of my sons-in-law is a surfer and he found the surfing enjoyable but not overly challenging. The younger children had plenty of room to play and loved being right on the beach. I would take my family here again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Richard , just a late note to let you know that everything at the house went great during our stay. Delia was very helpful. As you said, the location is fantastic and town is convenient. The whole family had a wonderful time and we are hoping we get another chance next year.
business
Best Beachfront House in Sayulita: Hacienda right on the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333441
Sayulita Nayarit
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Hi Richard
Thank you for renting us your place !! We had an outstanding time !!
I would highly recommend your Casa Aguila to everyone that wants to have fun times right on the Beach !!
FYI. We didn't need to use the AC at all! The nights were quite comfy!
Bashir
Helpful votes: 1/1