Roatan house rental - The Caribbean as your front yard! St. Mac's West Bay Beachfront villa
The Caribbean as your front yard! St. Mac's West Bay Beachfront villa
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Roatan House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Look No Further! Why be steps or minutes from the beach when you can be right on the sand? St. Mac's is a traditional stand alone Caribbean style villa (3 bedroom unit upstairs, 1 bedroom unit downstairs) with loads of charm and a spacious, open floor plan. Remodeled and updated in 2009, the well stocked gourmet kitchen features granite counters, new stainless appliances, microwave and dishwasher. All the modern equipment and conveniences, plus an incredible ocean sound track--Cooking with a View! A large dining table area off the kitchen will be a perfect place to serve your fresh local fish, and a guest bath completes the space. Outside, your private Beachfront Garden awaits, lined with palm trees and lounge chairs. Float, swim and snorkel to your heart's content in the clear, warm waters in your front yard. One of Roatan's finest technicolor snorkeling experiences is located just steps away!

Let the sound of waves lull you to sleep in the large King Master bedroom, with sliding doors opening onto the large veranda with ocean view. Soft pillows and nice sheets add to the total sleeping experience. The master bath has twin sinks and a shower/tub, as well as another deck off the back with door to provide cross ventilation. Large Bedroom Two has a King size bed and a lovely wraparound veranda off the back. Fish themed Bedroom three features two twin beds with thick mattress pads, a large veranda, and a Jack-and-Jill bathroom with twin sinks shared with Bedroom Two. The Lower Unit has one bedroom and a spacious living/dining area, with sliding doors that open up onto your private beachfront patio.

The Upper Unit's light and airy open living area has floor to ceiling windows, vaulted ceilings and expansive wrap around views of the glorious Caribbean. Enjoy outdoors in, or dining al fresco on the oceanfront covered veranda with the waves as your soundtrack. Lounge the day away reading in your twin hammocks, watch the boats come in, or if you feel like it, do a cannonball off the dock to the left of the villa. All your favorite TV channels are available for your viewing pleasure on our new 50' flat screen TV, as well as a DVD and CD player. Wifi is available at no charge throughout St. Mac's. There is also a separate area with two overstuffed reading chairs and a computer work table area should you need to check in with the world. All rooms have ceiling fans as well as central air conditioning, but you will find the gentle Caribbean trade winds will keep you cool as well.

24 hr Security is on the grounds, a full time landscaper and twice weekly Housekeeping service is also included. Provisions can be gotten down the street at the local deli at West Bay Mall (not really a 'Mall'!), and there is good local food, a popular coffee shop as well as an intimate Sushi bar. Many other dining options are also steps away, and numerous great dive shops are located nearby (we like Bananarama). Don't miss the weekly visits of the man selling fresh local seafood when he comes to St. Mac's! The villa is located right next door to Infinity Bay Condominiums, with popular outdoor Sports Bar and restaurant. Taxi boats can take you from the public dock right out front to funky West End with its happening nightlife, and taxis are readily available to drive you back. Enjoy World Class snorkeling and diving just a short stroll down the beach!

St. Mac's is the Oceanfront part of West Bay Village, a small private enclave of Caribbean style homes that have retained their traditional Caribbean character in a concrete CondoWorld. If you are looking for charm and True Beachfront, Look No Further!

We are happy to arrange for our driver, Marty, to meet your flight at RTB airport, then bring you to St Mac's. He will stop at our local well stocked grocery store along the way for provisions for your cooking pleasure. Marty charges $25 (up to 4 people; $40 for more than 4), and you pay him directly. He can also help with any other transport needs you may have during your stay.

Refund policy: for cancellation 90+ days before arrival, full deposit refund. 50% of your deposit is refundable upon cancellation within 60 days or more of your arrival. If you cancel in 59 days or less, your deposit is non refundable. All non refundable deposits may be used towards another St Mac's booking within 6 months of cancellation, based on availability.

Keywords: Villa,house,bungalow,casita,cabin,cottage

More Details
Hide Details

St. Mac's Villa is owned by two couples who have a longtime love affair with Roatan, and West Bay Beach. We are lucky enough to live in Lake Tahoe in the summer, and Roatan is Home as often as we can make it down here. St. Mac's is a great place for family gatherings! Nothing says relaxation like a good book, the sounds of waves in the background, a dip in the warm water of the Caribbean, and a beautiful sunset....

Kasey Petersen purchased this house in 1999

We started coming to Roatan 25 years ago, in the Wild West days before there were real roads out to West Bay. An ongoing love affair started with West Bay Beach, and St. Mac's was always the best house on the best beach--a true traditional Caribbean style charmer. Time has passed, and we are thrilled to be co-owners with another couple who feel the same way we do! We've been all over the world searching for the perfect white sand beach with world class diving and snorkeling and crystal clear warm water...it is here at West Bay Beach. Despite West Bay's growth and new concrete condo construction, St Mac's is STILL the best house on the best beach, just with more dining options!

Why be 'steps to the ocean' or a '7 minute walk' to West Bay Beach? Be True Beachfront, right on the sand! This is the charming yellow house many people stop to take pictures of while walking down the beach. 24 hour Security Guards on site, plenty of parking, and a private Beachfront garden with swaying palms, lounge chairs and beautiful sunsets provided. Incredible snorkeling steps away!

11 Reviews of Property 332971 in Roatan, Bay Islands Honduras

Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
California
5

The Ultimately Wonderful St. Mac's

The Ultimately Wonderful St. Mac's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I just had the lucky opportunity to stay at St. Mac’s for a week, and now get to share the wonder of this place. St. Mac’s sits right on the blue-green Caribbean sea. We walked out of the house and into the sea for swimming, snorkeling, and floating. The beach is lovely, and full of the warm colorful culture of Roatan. There are great restaurants along the beach where we ate fresh lobster, or drank coconut water, or snacked on local baskets of food offered on the beach. St. Mac’s is the ultimate vacation spot; it lends itself to warmth, relaxation, and pure enjoyment. The house is airy, light, and with wonderful views—it could not be more comfortable, easy, or spacious and is set up for stress-free enjoyment. St. Mac’s has all the amenities needed for a laidback vacation, and the owners provide great help and ideas for any kind of needs you might have. The kitchen is fully equipped and lovely, the balcony is divine for eating and viewing, and the casual comfort permeates St. Mac’s.
This is such a pleasant spot, and it seemed, the nicest place on the western end of the island. Water taxis were everywhere so you never need to rent a car. And the gorgeous reef right outside of St. Mac’s is a truly magical place. We were transported everyday into beauty, color, and the natural wonders that are available right outside your door! I can’t wait to return to this lovely place that is kept up beautifully and designed for the ultimate vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Nebraska
5

Best Place on the Beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family and I stayed in St Mac's upper level during Christmas week of 2013. This was by far the best vacation we have ever taken together. The house was beautiful inside, just like the pictures show and the deck was fantastic, especially in the morning. We sat out there every day having our morning coffee and watched the waves and beautiful beach. My sons would always grab the hammock's (two of them on deck with large table and 6 chairs). Brad and Sam, who checked us in were so friendly and helpful with any questions we had. If we needed a taxi we just called them and they arranged it. We had to cancel our golf the last day and I couldn't get through to the golf course. I called Sam and she cancelled it for us. Wonderful people!!! The locals are so friendly and food is good also, though some places were a little pricey. Our favorite hangout was the Thirsty Turtle, good drinks and food, especially the chicken bacon pizza. Amazing how many pizza places there are in Roatan. West end favorite was Sundowners, good drinks and very reasonable.
The house has everything you need to cook and the maids came twice during the week. Our coffee pot quit working the second day there and Brad brought us a brand new one that day. Sam left us a phone to use in case we needed to get a hold of them, which was very helpful. My boys were able to get wifi on their phones so life was good for them.
Kasey, who I rented through was very helpful with the renting process. She gave us all kinds of information about Roatan, things to do, etc and answered any questions we had.
We can't wait to go back and are already planning our next trip. We will definitely be staying at St Mac's again. We love it and the people we worked with, they are part of our family now.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Lincoln Nebraska
5

Nebraskans LOVE St.Mac's

Nebraskans LOVE St.Mac's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Spending 7 days a few feet from the sand and ocean was wonderful! I normally love to sleep in on vacation but was up at sunrise to drink coffee on the deck with my friends and watch the beach workers and strollers begin their day. I invited 18 of my friends to spend the week after falling in love with Roatan 5 yrs ago. 14 adults and teens occupied the entire St Mac house plus the lower level of Satori Beach house right behind us. Another family of 4/friends rented a house next door. The location is perfect, with restaurants a few minutes walk down the beach, delis and coffee shops to walk to, and water taxis to West End village for more food and shopping. The teen-agers were free to stroll the beach on a whim and we all snorkeled multiple times. (Go in groups for safety, as there are no life guards!). We golfed, zip lined, swam w dolphins, paddle boarded, para-sailed, and sailed on the Stray Cat Catamaran. Our wonderful driver Marty came on a moments notice to drive us if needed, and we scheduled an island tour with him and saw the Iguana Farm and went on a Man Grove boat tour! We visited some villages and he told us all about the island, where he was born and is raising his family. His wife cooked 2 meals for us at the house, which was wonderful! We also enjoyed wonderful food at several restaurants and our kids sang Karaoke at the Thirsty Turtle. We enjoyed a few evenings of music from next door while relaxing on our deck.
Many people in our group have been to the Honduran mainland several times for mission trips and our hearts go out to these people who work so hard to make a living with such limited opportunities. Going to Roatan is such a win-win situation because we are able to help support their economy while having a blast!
The St. Mac house upper and lower units and the brand new Satori Beach house are in an ideal location. The accomodations are wonderful and the owner, Kasey, is so helpful and prompt in aswering questions. I hope to return soon and will definately recommend this my friends!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Kay, for your lovely review! I am so glad you enjoyed all of the activities, including swimming with the dolphins. We are so close to everything Roatan has to offer, and it sounds like you made good use of every moment (like my favorite, coffee on the deck in early morning). Marty's wife, Blackie, does indeed do a wonderful job of cooking and serving local lobster and fresh fish right at the villa. Thank you again for choosing St Mac's, and we look forward to welcoming you and your group for a return visit!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Nashville, TN
5

Tennessee beach girl finds the perfect place in Roatan!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is my first visit to Roatan and St. Mac's is THE place! It is on the beach and you can walk out with snorkel and fins to the coral reefs anytime and with no fuss or hassle. The view is beautiful and the community of West Bay Beach is friendly and convenient to restaurants, deli stores, etc. The property is very safe and charming. The living area is quite large and comfortable and the deck unbeatable...large with two hammocks and dining for 6...PLUS an unimpeaded view of the gorgeous Caribbean. Have checked out the other two apartments and they are delightful, cozy and would return to this property in a second! The listing was beautiful as described and the property clean and neat and appropriately and comfortably appointed. The owner, Kasey, was extremely helpful and is a delightful person. I would definitely recommend St. Mac's! Beacher's was a GREAT restaurant!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Tennessee
5

A Vacation to Remember

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I have visited Roatan 4 or 5 times before and always stayed at a condominium complex. This was our first time to stay at St Macs Upper Level. We love Roatan because our main activity is snorkeling and on West Bay we can snorkel from the beach whenever we want instead of having to book a trip with a boat snorkeling tour. Also, the snorkeling was so easy. No waves or current to fight. We had seen St Macs before because it is right next door to where we ususally stay. We stayed at St Macs because we had 6 people going and wanted something right on the beach. The deck was the most used area of the home for our family. We loved being able to see everyone walking the beach and know when the sun was about to set so we could run out to the beach with our cameras right at sunset. We loved early morning coffee/tea on deck looking out over the calm waters. The kitchen is fully equipped and the owner provided us with a few essentials to start out with. (coffee, butter, eggs, muffins). The air conditioning worked great but seemed like it always struggled to keep up in the afternoon when the sun was hottest but in August what can you expect. The master bedroom is luxurious. All staying said their beds were very comfy. There is an outdoor shower at the back of the house which was nice to rinse off the saltwater. The security guards were great at keeping watch over everything and keeping vendors from approaching. There is a vegetable/fish truck that comes weekly. There were lounge chairs we could pull out to the beach or to our back yard. It was a great location and the vacation and home fit our needs perfectly. Ruth and Brad (property managers) were very helpful as we had a medical problem and called in the wee hours of morning and got help immediately. When we reported a leak under kitchen sink the repair man was there that day. Communication with owner was excellent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Salt Lake City, UT
5

Utah Beach Bathers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The house was exactly as stated in the rental agreement. There was plenty of space for all of us. The front deck facing the beach was our favorite hang out. The beach was really crowded the first day due to many Hondurans from the mainland coming for Easter weekend, but the following days were much nicer with few people on the beach. There weren't too many people from the cruise ships either. The sand flies weren't too bad. We enjoyed buying the local foods such as banana donuts & empanadas. We really enjoyed our stay in Roatan & St. Macs was perfect for us. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Corpus Christi Tx
4

In love love love with this house!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My family and I stayed at this home in July. It was easy to get to the reef (about 100 yards off the porch)
There are water taxis right in front of the house. The house it self was clean, well decorated, and beachy. I found help whenever I needed it. Vendors came by the house to sell us fresh fish and fruit. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. The six of us say we would love to go back to this beach. Way end bay is the best beach on the island. Make sure to go the Gumbalimba park (walking distance and take a water taxi to tour around the island.

Thanks so much for the very relaxing, yet active vacation.

The ski's
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Calgary, AB Canada
5

A slice of Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We were lucky enough to rent the St. Mac;s beachfront Apartment the week after Easter 2011. We have stayed at a few places on Roatan over the years and St Mac's was definately the best. It has a lovely casual beachy feel and we wanted for nothing. The kitchen is well equipped and it was really wonderful to be able to prepare breakfast and enjoy it on our own little patio. The location can't be beat - close enough to the beach to be entertained by the comings and goings but private enough to not be bothered by any of it. Mention must be made of the great staff - Ruth and Brad the property managers were very helpful - great transportation to and from the airport with a stop at a super market on our way to the house - security made us feel very safe while being quite inobtrusive and the maid service was fantastic - everything kept so nice and clean. Our only complaint about St Mac's is that it isn't available for the week we wanted in 2012!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Katy Texas
5

St. Mac's of Roatan

St. Mac's of Roatan
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We just returned from a week at St. Mac's lower beachfront level. The listing description is very accurate! However, it did not do justice to the reef. The beach is just steps away from the apartment. The reef is less than 200 yards from the beach. The snorkeling was tremendous, the best of many vacations in the past 10 years! We went out twice a day. The owners have maintained the property and is was very clean. We met one of the owners while we were there, Rico. He was the loveliest man, very friendly, accommondating and full of information about the island. I would recommend this property to both friends and family. We were within walking distance to a small grocery store and many restaurants.This was not high tourist time so there was not allot going on at night. This was a very quiet and relaxing vacation. Note to all, the sand flees are HORRIBLE, take an insect repellent with deet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Look No Further! St Mac's..Charming Beachfront Caribbean Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332971vbi
(775) 790-1941 (Nevada, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
New Brunswick Canada
5

Wonderful spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Stayed for 2 weeks in St. Macs upper level. It was everything the pictures show and more. Sitting on the deck you had a beautiful view. It was clean and the staff who looked after the place were awesome. Everyone was happy and willing to help. Walking distance to some really nice places to eat. Could not possibly find fault with anything. We loved the place. Would highly recommend this lovely spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review! We are very happy you enjoyed all that St Mac's has to offer, and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Helpful votes: 5/5