Gulf Shores house rental - Front of The Southern Cross with two decks overlooking the Gulf and beach
Front of The Southern Cross with two decks overlooking the Gulf and beach
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps11
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-11)

The Southern Cross. It may not get any better than this! Seriously! What are you looking for in your vacation home? Play time on the beach? Okay, that would be less than 100 yards from the front door by way of your deeded boardwalk beach access. Fishing in Little Lagoon? Okay, that is only 50 yards out the back door. Swimming? Try the pool to the back of the house. Quiet, peaceful relaxation? Try awakening in your bed to a view of the gulf, or sitting in your living room looking out on the gulf, or hearing the waves crash at night from one of your decks with total unobstructed views of the gulf. This house has it all! Located 3.7 miles from the intersection of Hwy 59 on West Beach Blvd, you are close to the great restaurants and shopping but yet in a very quiet part of Gulf Shores.

This house has great unobstructed views of the Gulf of Mexico out the front door. It also has great views of Little Lagoon out the back door where you can fish (spotted trout, red fish, flounder, stingrays and many other fish all call the lagoon home) and crab day and night. Of course, you can clean your fish at the fish cleaning station at the pier, which goes out into the lagoon. Have your own boat? Launch it using our boat ramp. The kids will also enjoy the shared swimming pool. This is NOT a condo ... this is your own house. Very hard to find a 3 bedroom, 3 bath house with unobstructed gulf views, lagoon fishing, swimming pool and in a quiet area!

This home features 3 bedrooms, all with queen size beds plus bunk beds in the downstairs bedroom. There are also 3 full baths. Two bedrooms and two baths are upstairs and both have incredible views of the gulf and open onto a large deck. These bedrooms also have sitting areas. The third bedroom and bath is downstairs and looks out onto the lagoon and also opens onto a deck. There are tables and chairs on all of the decks. Also on the first floor are a kitchen, eating area, living room, and laundry room. Sliding doors take you from the living room onto a first floor deck overlooking the gulf. The living room has ample sitting options, plus both a queen sleeper sofa and twin sleeper loveseat. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need. Eating options include a decorative table and chairs with a great gulf view or pull a stool up to the bar separating the kitchen and living room. There is a 37' high definition TV in the living room and 26' high definition TVs in each bedroom. Plus, there are 4 DVD players and an X-Box with game for the kids. Speaking of games, there are lots of games, books, puzzles and toys for everyone to enjoy. Finally, don't worry about your vehicle since you can park up to three vehicles under the house.

What else can we tell you? Did we mention the full size washer and dryer in a separate downstairs room? Or that the living room and master bedrooms have sliding glass doors onto decks overlooking the gulf? Or that this is a very quiet location where you can really relax? Or that the house has a colorful beach decor? Or that you can sleep as many as 11 in the home? Come see for yourself. As the song says 'when you see the Southern Cross for the first time, you understand now why you came this way.'

Is The Southern Cross booked the week you need it? We have 3 other properties. If you have kids then check out Fun In The Sun, vrbo number 332813. This is a 3 bedroom, 3 bath townhouse on West Beach Blvd less than 50 yards from The Southern Cross. This unit sits right on Little Lagoon and is perfect for those with small kids wanting to play in the water! If you want to be right on the gulf then look at A Whale Of A View, vrbo number 398689. This is a 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo (5D) at The Whaler on East Beach Blvd. This unit may have the best gulf views of any unit in all of Gulf Shores with gulf views from every room in the house! If you have a big family reunion, go to Sweet Dreams, vrbo number 291114. This is a very large house with 8 bedrooms, 5.5 baths and a very large, private pool on West Beach Blvd.

Keywords: house, beach view, pool

More Details
Hide Details

We are Mark and Janet Binkley from Starkville, MS. Janet works at Mississippi State University and I am retired from MSU and manage four properties in Gulf Shores as well as 168 mini storage units in Columbus, MS. We are looking forward to an early retirement in a few years and moving to Gulf Shores. We have a son who just graduated from MSU and a daughter who is a senior in college. With the kids 'normally' out of the house, we discovered that we enjoy being at the beach. After looking at literally hundreds of homes along the coasts of Alabama and Florida, we decided on this home in Gulf Shores. To us, it is the perfect spot, complete with the beach and gulf, fishing in the lagoon, shopping and great restaurants, and all in a quiet location. We would love for you to visit our home and have a great vacation!

Mark & Janet Binkley

Starkville, MS

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

We feel that The Southern Cross (we know, you can't see it from here!) is the perfect vacation home. Here is a typical day for us at our home ... see if this works for you. First, I tend to be up at sunrise while my wife likes to sleep in. I walk less than 50 yards out the back door of the house to the pier on Little Lagoon. There I fish and enjoy watching both the sunrise over the water and the wildlife. Feeding the bait fish to the herons who stand patiently behind you as you fish is always fun. When my wife awakes, she walks across the street on the deeded beach access to enjoy a morning dip in the gulf and catch some rays. Later, we meet back at the house to have lunch while sitting on one of the three decks (two facing the beach, one facing the lagoon) all of which have great water views. After lunch, we head to the pool at the back of the house for some swimming and relaxation. That evening, we leave the peace and quiet at our house and drive 3 miles into Gulf Shores to have seafood at any of the great restaurants or do a little shopping. Returning home, we take a moonlite walk on the beach looking for sea turtles and go to the lagoon to set the fishing poles out for the night in case a fish decides to have a midnight snack. We then sit on the deck and listen to the waves crash on the shore. Talk about peaceful! To finish the day, we watch a favorite TV show or a DVD on the 37' HD TV in the living room or on the 26' HD TV in our bedroom. Sound like a perfect day? It is to us too!!! And should the kids join us? Well, in addition to the fishing, swimming and playing on the beach and in the gulf, they can relax in their private rooms, each with TVs, one with DVD player and X-box, or play some of the games we have in the house for everyone to use. Oh, and if you just have to get on your computer to check email or that dreaded facebook account, then you can use the wireless high speed connection anywhere in the house or on the decks.

47 Reviews of Property 257393 in Gulf Shores, Alabama

Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
average rating of 4.893617 based on 47 reviews
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Appleton, Wi.
5

snowbirds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I decided to take our first extended vacation and we heard a lot of good comments about Gulf Shores so we thought we would give it a try. I went on the web site VRBO and found the Southern Cross. We were very glad we did. Everything was just the way it looked in the pictures Mark had on his web site. He and his wife Janet stopped over a couple of times to make sure everything was working properly for us. We found them both to be very friendly and helpful.
We spent a the month of February at the Southern Cross and we were very happy with our accommodations. It was just my wife and me for the first couple of weeks so three bedrooms might have been a little much but we did have a neighbor couple come down for the a week. They also thought the accommodations were excellent. In fact since he was retired and his wife still works and only had a week off he wanted to send her home on a bus while he stayed with us for the rest of our stay. His wife vetoed that suggestion so they both headed back to the snow of Wisconsin.
It was great to have our lunch or dinner on the deck or just sit and relax in the sun. The beach was just across street so we had a great time walking the beach and finding sea shells for our grandkids.
We are thinking about when we can go back there again. Hopefully in 2016 since we have other commitments for next year. We are thinking of staying six weeks. That would give us more time to hit some of the restaurants and to do more sightseeing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Atkinson, IL USA
5

Snowbirds at Southern Cross

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a delightful time at Southern Cross. The owner, Mark, was very flexible and responsive to our questions. He was available by phone for several questions we had about how to work the TV, internet and access code to the property. The house fit our group well. We had 2 couples and we each had our own bathrooms. We all had good access to both decks that overlooked the gulf with no houses blocking our view. The white sand beaches are clean and right across the street. The street was not very busy with traffic. We had a great time visiting the USS Alabama in Mobile Bay. We ate at many of the restaurants that the owner recommended. We discovered a new place, Cosmos, in Orange Beach where we had great appetizers and Cosmos martinis at Happy Hour. We would recommend this property and would love to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Louisville, MS 39339
5

Southern Cross Will Spoil You!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Prepare to be spoiled. After spending a week in the spacious Southern Cross vacation home, you will never want a high rise again. My husband, grown children, and I have just completed a week's stay at this luxury home at Gulf Shores where we reunited our extended family. With grandparents, parents and children, we were able to stay together in our own house, not a duplex or complex. The whole house was ours. Eight adults and young adults and small children too. There was plenty of room to get away and rest in the same house. The spacious front deck provided a beautiful view of the gulf. This deck was our meeting place and a wonderful place to rest, visit and eat.
There are three large bedrooms and three full baths. Each bedroom has its own deck and sitting area to privately enjoy views of both the gulf and the small lagoon. There are also two pull out beds in the living area if you need more space. A fully stocked kitchen gave us every utensil and cooking device we needed to cook the fish that we caught in the gulf and the lagoon. Both of these fishing places are just steps from the Southern Cross.
We enjoyed TVs and DVD players in every bedroom and the living area, cable, wireless internet, a full laundry room and dishwasher. With all of the restaurants and places to see, there just isn't time to do it all. While the children went to the zoo at Lulu's, the adults enyoyed a sight seeing trip to historical Fort Morgan. We wnt deep sea fishing where we caught king mackerel and spanish mackerel. At the lagoon, we caught flounder, reds, crabs, sea bass and lots that I couldn't identify. The pool there provided a relaxing end to each day.
The Binkleys, who own the home, were great to work with. If something isn't right, they will make it so. We had no problems. I hope we can stay at the Southern Cross again. It was the perfect beach vacation house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Watauga, TX
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We took our first family vacation since the kids have grown up and now have their children. We had 7 adults and two children and their was plenty of room for all of us to be comfortable. The Southern Cross was exactly what was on the web site. The property was clean and well maintained. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook and we enjoyed everyone taking a turn to cook a meal.


We had rain for the first couple of days, but that gave us time to go to the store and explore the area. When the sun came out we hit the beach that was right across the street and then enjoyed the pool later in the day. We had the pool almost entirely to ourselves everyday except for some very nice people that we met from Wisconsin.

My husband and son's went to the Aviation Museum in Pensacola on Wednesday and enjoyed meeting the Blue Angels.

My daughter-in-law left a jacket she had bought at the outlet mall and Mark was kind enough to mail it to us. We hope to visit Gulf Shores again and stay at the Southern Cross or one of Mark's other properties.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Kansas City, MO
4

Perfect Girls Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had the perfect girls vacation at the Southern Cross. The beach was beautiful, quiet and easy to access. The lagoon was a fun place to catch hermit crabs and relax. The little girls loved going to the the pool at the end of each day. The home was nicely stocked with everything we needed and more. Mark was very easy to work with and quickly helped us out when we accidentally locked ourselves out of the house. The house is within easy driving distance to dolphin tours, allegator alley, shopping, parks and restaurants.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Ohio
5

Needed a relaxing week away from work with family and got it.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We took our first full family vacation in YEARS and it was well worth it. Mark's property is as you see in the pictures and the location is great. I'd advise anyone to rent this house just for the view of the Gulf from the deck. We spent nearly every evening out there enjoying the view and the adult beverages. We had six adults and three kids in which two of them are under four years old and we were all comfortable.

Our normal days just involved the beach and the pool when it wasn't too crowded with the occasional trip mixed in. The guys drove over to Fort Morgan and took the tour and were glad we did. Some great Civil War history there. We took our little girl to the zoo one afternoon and she loved feeding the animals. We also took our son to the big Go-Kart track one day and had a blast. My sister and BIL took their son to the Foley Railroad Museum and had a good time.

The restaurants we hit were all very good. I must add if you're looking for some great shrimp, gumbo or fish to go try S & S Seafood Market right down the road next to the small Waves Store. Very good and handy if you want to have a big meal at the house or on the deck. Big portions and they're ready in 10-15 minutes. We ordered twice from there. Desoto's was good. LuLu's is cool but it's a zoo. Be prepared for a 2 hour wait if you want a table.

As far as the house goes, as I said earlier there's no surprises from what Mark has listed on this site and shown in the pictures. The deck is where you'll spend a lot of time. We even bought a small kiddy pool for the two young ones and having a faucet up on the deck was a nice option to fill it up. They really enjoyed playing up there since they're not really big enough for the real pool. It was nice having a newer fridge with an ice-maker as well. We brought a couple coolers so we didn't overload the fridge with a week's worth of food and usually made an ice run every morning.

There's really not many cons and nothing to get excited about. There weren't many bath towels but with a washer / dryer there no big deal. The only thing I mentioned to Mark worth watching was a wet spot down by the storage closet that's very slick...both young kids fell on their butts there once or twice.

Overall a great trip and would recommend this property and owner to anyone.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Indiana
5

Simple, Relaxing and Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Southern Cross was everything it was advertised to be! The house was excellent with everything you need, the area was A1 and their service was second to none. We went with a party of 10, had plenty of room and lots for everyone to do! We highly recommend using them to anyone! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home!
The Coryell Family, Indiana
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
ohio
5

Relaxing Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a great time at The Southern Cross with 4 adults and 2 kids. We cooked a ton of seafood in the kitchen and highly recommend stopping at one of the fresh seafood markets and picking up some Royal Reds.

So much to do here whether it was digging for buried treasure on the beach,catching fish on the dock, deep sea fishing, cruising for dolphins or holding an alligator. Far enough down that the beach wasn't crowded but it was just a quick trip to go to one of the restaurants or markets.

Mark was a pleasure to deal with and goes out of his way to make the process smooth. I would rent from Mark again anytime!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Jefferson City, MO
4

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We really enjoyed this property. This was a family vacation with 3 couples and 5 children. We found that this property had plenty of space for the whole gang. We loved being so close to the beach. Everyone had an opportunity to bring home plenty of shells! The kids enjoyed the pool. It was the perfect ending to a day at the beach. We even fished in the little lagoon. It was fun. We loved the huge deck on the front. Spent lots of time just watching the sea and listening to the waves. Close proximinity to stores, restaurants and fun.

Would like to make another trip to this area again!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Direct Beach View! Pool! Fish in Little Lagoon! Best of all worlds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257393vb
(662) 312-2402 (Mississippi, USA)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
St. Louis, MO
5

Great place to stay at the beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The Southern Cross was a great house for our trip to Gulf Shores. As described, the beach access via boardwalk was right across the street, and the dock on the lagoon was only steps away from the back of the house. The sleeping accommodations were perfect for our group of 5 adults, and the house itself was well appointed and very clean. The house was very accessible from Hwy 59 (just a couple of miles), along which most of the restaurants/ shopping is located. The house has a great view of the gulf from the deck, which we enjoyed when we weren't down at the beach. We played several great golf courses in the area, with Rock Creek in Fairhope being the best in our opinion. The weather was great all week (80's and sunny) and perfect for both golf and the beach. It was great doing business with Mark, and I'd highly recommend the Southern Cross for anyone looking to vacation at the beach!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1