Kittery house rental - Deck overlooking perennial garden and vista river views
Deck overlooking perennial garden and vista river views
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Kittery House Rental Photos and Description
Four bedrooms, two bathrooms, sleeps 8

Enjoy your vacation in the oldest town in Maine, across the river from historic Portsmouth, NH.

Sit in the living room with the wood stove and watch the birds, look at the beautiful perennial garden and watch the Moran Tugboats escort ships through the Sarah Long Bridge. Raptors, ducks, song birds and swans frequent our inlet, all right outside your windows. Walk into historic Portsmouth, visit sights York County Maine, or relax on one of the many near by beaches. Great shopping is to be had in Portsmouth or the famous Kittery Outlet Malls.

10 Reviews of Property 332913 in Kittery, Maine

Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
average rating of 3.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
5

This is such a wonderful property beautiful..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed here for thanksgiving & could not believe how wonderful the house & the view of the water . The kitchen was amazing & we absolutely loved the room with the woodstove & all the windows facing the water..And the master bathroom with the steam shower made me feel like I was at a spa! Best vacation we have had in a good long while. We cant wait until this Thanksgiving. We already have it booked!!!
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
5

Active Senior

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife, son & daughter, couldn't have had more fun. Not having driven here , we enjoyed picture perfect New England neighborhood walks to "Kittery Foreside" the quaint down town area. You must sample the fare @ Anneka Jans a gourmet bistro style restaurant & pub.. Fresh off the boat seafood, a specialty.. You have a brisk 15 min. walk to spark your appetite, then the same on your short stroll home. Cars are for sissies.. A little farther, and you're availed of a host of fine eateries & shoppes in Portsmouth NH, just over the new Bridge.. Maybe total 20 min walk, we did it in 15 min. but that was on the way over, & hungry.. Don't think you have to go out to enjoy this cozy home.. The kitchen is well equipped & stocked w/ spices & cooking basics.. A weber grill allowed us to BBQ just out the slider to the "Wedding Deck" according to Janie,( the manager) the owners husband built the deck & they were married there, some years ago.. All in all a restfull & enjoyable stay. I'll never forget the River View of the mighty Piscataqua
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
4

Home Away From Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I was looking for a quaint New England home where my girlfriend and I could have a "girl's week" away from work and husbands. This lovely home was the perfect fit for us. It was walking distance to Portsmouth where there are some wonderful shops and very close driving distance to the outlet stores. The house was quaint and the yard is lovely. The view of the bridge is great and it is so relaxing to sit on the deck or be in the dining room to see it when it goes up and down. We enjoyed cooking our own seafood picked up from the docks just off the boats! How much fresher can you get than that? I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this great "home away from home".
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
5

Captains Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Great House, Great Views, Great time, in town but close to nature. My dog loved the doggie door we loved the fenced back yard garden. We'll be back!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
3

A Great Treasure

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful time, although too short! When we arrived home from our trip there was a message from Janey, the manager of the property, thanking us for leaving the house in such good condition. Unfortunately, we are still waiting for our deposit and have had no luck getting a response from the owner. Very disappointing, as we would love to return.

Kari S.
Owner's Response: Sorry out of town for two weeks and unable to respond. The refund will be handled today!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
1

Disappointing rental experience

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We were very disappointed in this property. The house was dirty and poorly maintained, and it smelled of mildew. The refrigerator had not been cleaned from the last renters, there were cobwebs and dusty empty soda bottles under the beds, and owners' shoes under bureaus, as well as clothes inside the closets and many of the drawers. There was no railing around the narrow deck outside the sunroom, despite a drop to the ground. On the positive side, the location was good and the view from the house was lovely. In spite of the this, I would not recommend this property to anyone, and especially not to renters with allergies or with children.
Owner's Response: Our "Homeaway" rental is exactly that "our home" therefore all of the closets are not void of clothing. There is however ample closet space and drawer space that is empty for renters. Before these tenants moved in we paid our manager over $250.00 to clean the house. The tenants complained and she returned and cleaned some more. Everyone has a different idea of what clean really is. Ours is an old Maine cottage with old wide pine floors, lots of personality and I assure you, cleanliness. Our manager fielded daily complaints and we are very sorry these tenants did not have the same type of enjoyment and many tenants have reported in the past. Oh, we always warn tenants with children about the property, it is very vertical and not good for toddlers or people with handicaps, but it is a little piece of paradise for most vacationers.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
Laval, Quebec
5

Amazing house, fantastic views, great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have been renting from Homeaway for years, and we were never as happy with our choice as when we rented this gem of a house.

The woman who welcomed us (Jane, I believe) couldn't have been more gracious. She was very helpful, answered all our questions about the house, showed us around and gave us tons of useful information (what to see, where to shop, etc.). It was our first stay in Kittery so it was more than welcome!

The house was impeccably clean (and we are quite hard to please!), well maintained and spacious. It is a beautiful property, artistically decorated and spacious. I particularly loved the kitchen and dining room. Wish mine were as nice!

The garden charmed us. Sipping our morning coffee on the terasse, watching hummingbirds and all sorts of sea birds fly by, while the kids played in the yard... Paradise! The views of the river and bridge were impressive, from many rooms of the house.

The location of the house couldn't be better. Close to route 1 and the Kittery outlets, and a short drive to many great beaches : Ogunquit, Long Sands and Short Sands in York, and Wallis Sands in Rye, NH (we visited them all!).

We recommend taking a stroll to Portsmouth, NH. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk, and the historic town is well worth it. The kids loved to cross the bridges. Again, beautiful views.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this house to family and friends. We are looking forward to renting this property again. One week is not enough!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
5

Wonderful Stay in Kittery

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful stay in this magical property so full of character.
This house lived up to all our expectations and then some!!
I would heartily recommend this property to anyone wishing to stay in this area.
The property is accessible from main routes and we quickly became familiar with how to get there, both by car and on foot from Portsmouth town - a very pleasant, short walk to all pubs and restaurants.
We felt privilidged to have stayed in this comfortable, well appointed, friendly property with beautiful, relaxing views across the river and natural and interesting garden with lots of wildlife activity to add to the special atmosphere provided by this property.
The area and the local people are friendly and polite and it was a pleasure to meet them.
The property manager was friendly, polite, welcoming and helpful.
In short, I felt that this was a very positive experience and great value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
5

Romantic, fun, relaxing and very friendly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband and small dog, Lucy, had an fantastic week at this artsy abode. The combination of birding, fenced in yard and garden, steam shower, and gorgeous view made this feel like a vacation paradise for us. Margaret, the property owner was very prompt getting back to our questions via e-mail before we came to stay. We never met the "sister" referenced in another review, but the property manager (can't remember her name) wasn't related and was very helpful showing us around before we got settled in. They must have a new cleaning service too because, we found the house in excellent condition and very clean. We look forward to coming back next summer with another couple we bird with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lovely reno of artists' home w/ vista views of Piscataque River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332913
+1 617 312-7754
Kittery Southern Coast of Maine
1

Kittery rental experience

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The house is located right off the Rte. 1 bypass in Kittery, ME. Consequently, access is really easy from any highway in the area. The historic town of Portsmouth, NH is right across the river and beaches are just a short drive. The house is very interesting and unique on the inside. It has beautiful hardwood floors throughout, and is filled with all sorts of great arts and crafts. The view of the river and the bridge is really nice and relaxing to take in. There is a narrow, but very cool, spiral staircase between the first and second floors. Bathrooms are remodeled and fantastic, including a steam bath upstairs.
After settling in, it was clear that this house was lived in – all closets and dressers were full, making this more like a house swap than a rental. We did have a number of questions about where things were, how they worked, etc., and this is where the difficulties began. Although the caretaker – the owner’s sister – lives next door, she insisted that any questions had to be asked by leaving a note on her door! The one time I knocked on her door to ask a question, I was met with an angry response. I’ve stayed in a lot of places and some were warm and welcoming, others were just professional, but I’ve never been greeted with such overt hostility.
There had been little cleaning done at the house. The kitchen floor was very dirty and the carpets were filthy and full of dog hair. We looked for a vacuum or carpet sweeper, but couldn’t find one. We looked and looked for the switch to the garbage disposal in the kitchen – but we just couldn’t find it, so we did call the owner and left a message with our question, but our call wasn’t returned.
There is a narrow deck over the back yard and there is no rail or anything to prevent about a six-foot drop to the ground. We had 3 small grandchildren with us at times during the week and we were constantly concerned about them.
Bottom line: Good location, good price, unique décor and floor plan, and flexibility in scheduling. On the other hand, I have never been treated in such a hostile manner by someone who I just paid rent to, and it won’t happen again. We did have a good time, in spite of the hostile treatment, but it could have been much better.
Helpful votes: 11/14