Mount Desert cottage rental - Ebb Tide Waterfront
Ebb Tide Waterfront
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Mount Desert Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (sleeps 6)

This breathtaking property is located on Somes Sound, the only fjord on the East Coast, which is the prime rental location on Mount Desert Island, and home of spectacular Acadia National Park. Guests can walk, bike, hike and swim right out the front door. Guests who choose simply to relax and luxuriate in the glories of nature and lose themselves in the peaceful, restorative surroundings may just want to read a good book, listen to the seagulls and and take in the ocean views. If Ebb Tide is unavailable, you may want to check our other VRBO listing, VRBO# 566599, also on Somes Sound.

My wife and I have been summering on Mount Desert Island all our lives. Along with way, we built both Ebb Tide and High Tide to house our children and grandchildren. We love this part of Maine for the terrific boating, sailing, hiking, picnicking, island exploring, kayaking, tennis, golf and cold water swimming, among other things, that have brought so much joy to us and our family. We are happy to share our little paradise with those who might appreciate the natural world, outdoor activities and raw, wild beauty as much as we do.

My family has been summering in Northeast Harbor on Mount Desert Island since the end of the 19th century. Ebb Tide and High Tide are located on a portion of the same waterfront property my great grandparents purchased in 1895.

We travel often, but always look forward to returning to our home in Northeast Harbor, which is where our kids grew up in the summer and where our grandchildren are now discovering all the wonder and magic I knew as a kid. The village and surroundings are relatively untouched since i was a child, and the national park, right next door, has remained completely wild since the last Ice Age 12,000 years ago.

7 Reviews of Property 332659 in Mount Desert, Maine

Spectacular Somes Sound, Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Spectacular Somes Sound, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332659vbi
+1 9144148773
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Sacramento CA
5

Sublilme properties, lovely owners and an enormously satisfying experience.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family, consisting of three generations, had the extraordinary good fortune of spending ten days occupying High Tide and Ebb Tide. The two houses are situated on a large parcel of wooded land which also has a grassy lawn and flower garden which complement the view of mountains and Somes Sound. Working lobster boats and other watercraft plying the waters were a source of constant interest.. The homes evidence the eye of an artist in the d├ęcor and ambience and we could have spent the entire ten days enjoying the properties had it not been for the wealth of nearby activities awaiting our attention. We hiked, kayaked, experienced the local gardens, toured Acadia and enjoyed the communities of Northeast Harbor and Southwest Harbor in addition to a boat trip to observe puffins and other sea critters. There are resident loons and we all came away with that music in our memories.

It was a bonus that a wide array of newspapers, good coffee and gelato, sea-fresh lobster and freshly baked and high quality bread and pies were to be found just a short drive away, in Northeast Harbor..

The owners are a talented and engaging couple who are models of hospitality. I hope the reader of this review will have an opportunity to enjoy this part of the universe in these accommodations. The photos and descriptions cannot begin to capture the magic of this place.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Somes Sound, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332659vbi
+1 9144148773
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

extraordinary privilege

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It has been an extraordinary privilege to have the use of your lovely homes! My heart belongs to High Tide but I would change nothing in either of them. We have enjoyed our time beyond expectations. Thank you so much for sharing!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Somes Sound, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332659vbi
+1 9144148773
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Richmond
5

Doesn't get better than High Tide!

Doesn't get better than High Tide!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The property is just beautiful -- the pictures do not do it justice. The owners were just a pleasure to work with and I would highly recommend High Tide to anyone. The view from the deck is just spectacular. Every detail was considered inside the cabin as well - all linens, extra towels, well stocked kitchen (paper towels, wraps, detergent, etc) bathrooms had soap, shampoo etc. This rental cottage is like staying at a high end hotel as far as its amenities, but it has the privacy of a beautiful lot and charm that is found in very few hotels - - only in small boutiques. Should be return to Acadia, High Tide will be our only choice of where to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Somes Sound, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332659vbi
+1 9144148773
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
"My family and I were very fortunate to have found such a treasure. After a day of hiking and exploring the island, it was such a joy to come home to High Tide and a lobster dinner on the terrace under the stars. Now with the days short and the weather cold, I often close my eyes and pretend Im back in Northeast Harbor. Thank you."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Somes Sound, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332659vbi
+1 9144148773
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
"I think some of the happiest moments of my life were watching my children play on the beach while the boats sailed up the Sound on those wonderful Northeast Harbor summer afternoons."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Somes Sound, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332659vbi
+1 9144148773
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
"One of the most magical and relaxing holidays we've ever had. I just wish we could have stayed all summer."
business
Spectacular Somes Sound, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332659vbi
+1 9144148773
Mount Desert Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
"Our vacation was a dream. It was so hard to drag ourselves away from Ebb Tide. But when we did we discovered so many wonderful adventures in Acadia National Park."