Ocracoke studio rental - View of the property from the road. The studio is the tall building with gate.
View of the property from the road. The studio is the tall building with gate.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Ocracoke Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

This building was constructed in l993 and used for 15 years as a working art studio. It is set back off the road, amidst giant live oak and cedar trees, and sits alongside my home, one of the islands designated historic houses. The two buildings are joined by an open breezeway behind the main gate, but when guests are in residence in the studio, we both have separate entrances on opposite sides of the property. The Studio provides all the comforts of home in a private, quiet and tree shaded setting, with lots of attention to detail. I have tried to make the Studio somewhere I would want to stay, well cared for with lots of personality.

You enter through a totally enclosed courtyard space complete with hot/cold out door shower and grill. There are outdoor chairs for lounging and a dining table for mealtime. The courtyard is also perfect for your furry traveling companion as it is totally closed in, allowing your pet a bit of leash free time without worry. Your parking is right outside the gate, so getting in and out is a breeze. Inside, the studio is colorful, unique and furnished for your complete comfort with two antique double beds, sofa, chair and ottoman, flat screen TV, free NETFLIX stream, IPod dock, DVD player, fully equipped kitchen and bath with tub and shower. Up the captains ladder is a sleeping loft featuring a second double bed. Both beds are made with 600 thread count sheets, down comforters and pillows. All towels are provided except beach towels.

This is the perfect romantic and private getaway for two. The Studio is located within walking distance of the Coffee Company, Zillie's, the harbor front and all downtown shops and restaurants. Books, board games and limited video library are included.

Keywords: private, convenient, beautiful, historic district

More Details
Hide Details

I accidently wandered onto Ocracoke more than 30 years ago and have been here ever since. A chef and artist by trade, the island has been an immensely satisfying place to live and work. I love to start my day with a swim and see where it goes from there. The studio is adjacent to my house and I love taking special care of this unique vacation rental.

The Owner purchased this studio in 1980

18 Reviews of Property 332656 in Ocracoke, North Carolina

Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 18 reviews
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Asheville
5

Perfect OffSeason Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
After a hectic several months in Asheville, my wife and I were searching for a quiet retreat before the holidays. Ocracoke and this rental both fit our needs perfectly! The pet friendly nature of both the island and the house were a big draw. Weather in December was far better than we would have hoped. Spent hours on the beach every day with the dogs, biked for miles wandering about the island, and walked everywhere else. Rented kayaks one day for paddling in the sound, ate lots of oysters, drank good beers, and even played pub trivia one night at Gaffer's.

Not a lot of amenities on the island this deep in the off-season, but it was paradise for us. Walked for hours and miles on the beach without seeing a soul.

Deb was a great host. We overlapped with her for just the first few days, but she made it clear she was available.

The accomodations were quite comfy, very pleasant decor, well-stocked kitchen, good beds.

My only regret is that the seafood market wasn't open for us to do more of our own cooking. That's the flip-side to all the peace and quiet!

We will definitely be back again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

WOW!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Arrived and walked into patio and said "Wow"! Here a week and love coming "home" after a long day of playing on Ocracoke. On Wednesday, we took ferry to Hatteras and drove to Currituck, saw the lighthouse and started the drive back to see all four lighthouses on the Outer Banks. It's a great day's drive and ferry is only 1/2 hour and free. On Ocracoke we hiked, beached and shopped. Had great weather. Meeting Debbie was great, very caring and lots of knowledge of the island. Loved the outdoor shower, too. Will be back! Bri, Di and Dewdrop (our dog).
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Easton, MD
4

Great stay at The Studio!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed in The Studio for 8 days at the end of August. Everything was exactly as described: the apartment was the right size for two people to spend a week comfortably, the kitchen was great for cooking all that fresh local seafood, and the property was clean and well maintained. The arrangements were easy to make and Debra was a pleasure to communicate with. We were especially amazed at the solitude and privacy we enjoyed even though we were in a residential neighborhood! It was our first trip to Ocracoke and we enjoyed every minute.
We took advantage of the seafood market and did a lot of cooking while we were there. We also enjoyed meals at the Back Porch restaurant and Dajio. Each day we explored a different part of the beach or the town and read a ton of books. Zillie's was a nice happy hour treat too.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to a return visit!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfect for a Couple

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I had this place recommended to us from some friends..we were originally only coming for a few nights, but decided to make it a week, best idea ever!! We enjoyed our week in the studio sooo much...This place is absolutely perfect for a couple! This was also our first experience on Ocracoke, we were worried the island would be too small, and not have enough things to do, this turned out to be exactly what we needed from this island. We will definitely be back and will be hoping the studio is available. Debbie, you have decorated this place perfectly and made it feel so very comfortable.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
North Carolina
5

First family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We just returned from our first family vacation with our 5 month old daughter, our dog and the two of us. The studio was a perfect place for our small family and a great place to retreat to at the end of the day. The outdoor courtyard made the living space seem bigger when we needed some extra space while our daughter was sleeping and for our dog. The outdoor shower and small charcoal grill were also lovely and we used both. Perhaps the best part about the studio is the location. We enjoyed walking to Ocracoke Coffee in the mornings and Zillie's in the evening. Overall it was very cozy, well decorated, felt private, and a lovely place to stay. Love that it is pet friendly!! As our daughter gets bigger we will need a bigger place to stay but if it is ever just my husband and I (and our dog) again we'd be happy to stay in the studio again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Blacksburg, VA, USA
5

Couple's (plus dog) retreat heaven.

Couple's (plus dog) retreat heaven.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I cannot say enough about our time spent staying in this property. It was absolutely wonderful. The moment we walked in we were in awe of how clean and welcoming the studio was.... and with such personality! The pictures do not do it justice. We were very thankful that this property was dog friendly as it made our vacation all the more enjoyable. The studio is walking distance to food, coffee, drinks and entertainment. We could not have picked a better place to stay on Ocracoke Island! We will absolutely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Gainesville, GA
5

Perfect Private Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was the most abosolutely perfect place for me and my adult daughter with autism!! The space is beautifully decorated and offers the seclusion and privacy needed to rest and decompress. My daughter loved claiming the loft as her sanctuary!
Thank you for opening your home to us...I hope we can visit again soon!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Central KY
5

Perfect Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The Studio should be your next vacation home away from home on Ocracoke Island. Enough can't be said about it, everything was perfect! As the listing describes, attention is in the details here. Beautiful, inviting, relaxing and private place in residential area of Island, allowing for a truly "Local" experience. The owner has designed The Studio for you to have an incredible experience. Highly recommend and plan on staying again within the year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Beaufort, NC
5

Off the beaten path and centrally located....plus the most comfortable beds ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I love Ocracoke; to me this oasis is a perfect example of the artistry inherent of this community. This cottage is decorated with imagination and done beautifully. I have to mention the beds, I have never slept on anything more comfortable in my life. The best sleep ever. That alone would have been great; the rest was just some pretty spectacular icing on the cake. The exterior is your own private sanctuary complete with a canopy of trees. My dogs loved it. The owner was very willing to help with anything I may need; from assisting with reservations, info during my stay and even asking for input and observations before I left, Thank you for sharing your studio and I hope to return again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful and Private, Historic Property, Couples Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332656vbi
2529286080
Ocracoke Outer Banks
Washington DC
5

Better Than Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
For 18 years we have been coming to Ocracoke and have stayed at more places than I can remember. The Studio is our new favorite. If you know the Island, this is a terrific location where most everything is a short walk or bike ride away. It is set back from the road which gives great privacy with which to enjoy cocktail hour or coffee mornings on the beautiful deck. I also can't say enough about the decor--magic, calming, romantic. We will be back to stay for longer next year!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2