Comfortable, spacious desert home
We are frequent users of vacation rental properties. We recently chose to rent this property in rancho Mirage for a family reunion thanks, in part, to all the five star reviews. We had a very nice time, however found that the rave reviews were somewhat misleading.
The plusses: the house is located in a quiet, residential neighborhood and the outdoor area has a beautiful, unobstructed view west towards the mountains. As described in the listing description, the house and property are extremely spacious and comfortable for a party of eight. There is plenty of comfortable seating and table space both inside and out. The kitchen is better equipped with utensils, dishes, and appliances than any place we have ever stayed and there is no shortage of paper products, cleaning supplies and bath/pool towels. The beds are comfortable.
The minuses: the owner is civil and responsive (to email, not phone) but no more. Online secure payment was not possible, despite this being offered on the website. Unlike many vacation rentals, there was no welcome basket, no information about things to do in the area, not even a list of the nearest restaurants and grocery stores. When we arrived as scheduled both the pool and the house were dirty (hair on all the bathroom floors, crumbs under the dining room table and broken glass in one of the bathrooms). The pool cleaner arrived shortly after we did and, at our request, the owner arranged for the house to be cleaned later that afternoon. The general condition of the home is: in need of update. For example, it is necessary to run the water a full five minutes in the kitchen before it gets hot (what a waste of water in the desert!) We ran into plumbing problems during our stay for which the owner had to arrange for the plumber to come in on Sunday. There were two pool nets for removing debris from the pool, both of which were torn and unusable. Some of the chairs are in need of repair or replacement.
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you did not have a wonderful stay. The suggestion about leaving tips for nearby grocery stores and restaurants is something I have been meaning to do and I will implement.
As I recall we did speak several times on the phone- I gave you detailed information on how to work the spa and I arranged for the pool cleaner and house cleaner to come over the day of your arrival.
We have rented our home for 3 years and often get praise on the cleanliness of it. We go the extra step and instead of bedspreads we use freshly washed duvets so that every guest will have a comfortable experience. We keep the house stocked with toilet paper, paper towels, tissues, body wash, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryers, trash bags, laundry detergent, and dishwashing powder.
I understand that you were not happy with the cleaners job (and I have spoken to her), but I hope you appreciate that we did send her back the day of your arrival.
The pool man cleans the pool twice weekly, and as I granted you an early arrival and late checkout, you beat the pool man by an hour. He also came an within an hour the day of your arrival.
On Thursday when you checked in, the sink was working well, as it did until Sunday when it plugged up. I am not sure what was put down the sink but when you informed me on Sunday that is was plugged up I arranged for a plumber to go on Sunday to fix it. We could have waited until Monday and paid 1/2 the price for the plumber but we did it on Sunday evening to ensure that you were not further inconvenienced.
We have many satisfied guests and I apologize that you were not one of them.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?