East End condo rental - Cowpet Bay Beach with plenty of sun and shade.
Cowpet Bay Beach with plenty of sun and shade.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

East End Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)

Welcome to East End Eden I, our 1 bedroom, 2 bath luxury beachfront condominium just steps from the beach at the Elysian Beach Resort on secluded Cowpet Bay. See Our Property Website Link Below for rate details and more information. The only true one bedroom condo at the Elysian available for rent, it has a fully equipped kitchen and two full baths. Whether you're looking for a romantic getaway or a family vacation with 1-2 young children, the condo has everything you need for that special trip. The condo comfortably accommodates 2-4 guests. Located only 100 yards from the white sand beach on Cowpet Bay, the condo’s two private balconies offer spectacular views of the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. The bedroom has a king-size bed with Tempur-pedic mattress, full bath with tub/shower, a private balcony, flat screen LCD TV and DVD player. The living room has a queen-size Murphy bed with a comfortable mattress, a private balcony, TV, DVD player and a stereo with iPod dock. There is a second full bath off the kitchen and a laundry closet with full size washer and dryer.

As our guests, you have access to all of the amenities at the Elysian including the pool with its grotto, waterfall and hot tub, tennis court, and water sport rental shack. There is wonderful snorkeling on the reef immediately offshore in Cowpet Bay. We have several sets of snorkeling equipment in various sizes for our guests to use. Other sets may be rented at the Elysian beach shack. Lounge chairs are provided at no charge on the palm-lined beach, which also has ample shade for those who need it. Beach towels are also provided at no charge from the Elysian. There are two restaurants on the resort property. Sangria's Beachside Bistro offers a more casual menu. Caribbean Fish Market offers a more upscale dining experience.

More Details
Hide Details

We live outside Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. We first visited St. Thomas in March 2007 and immediately fell in love with the Island. After two more trips, all of which were spent at the Elysian in a colleague's condo, we decided we needed our own place. We purchased a 2 bedroom unit in 2009 (VRBO # 231249) and we've had so much fun meeting new guests (if only by phone or email)and helping them have a great Caribbean vacation, that we decided to buy a one bedroom unit in 2010. Eventually we intend to spend large portions of our retirement years in our condos, but for now we enjoy frequent vacations there and helping create memorable vacations for our guests.

Sue and Bruce Davis purchased this condo in 2010

From the moment we set foot on Cowpet Bay Beach we could feel the tensions leave us and we knew that this was the place we wanted to own a vacation home. St. Thomas is a US territory and easily accessible from the East Coast and most of the mainland US. The seclusion of Cowpet Bay and the gentle waves make it ideal for relaxing and recharging! But if you want a go-go vacation there are so many great beaches on St. Thomas and nearby St. John and the variety of restaurants on St. Thomas is amazing for an island that is only about 38 square miles. In short, we found our East End Eden so we decided to buy a condo or two!

31 Reviews of Property 332486 on East End, Virgin Islands

Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
average rating of 4.967742 based on 31 reviews
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
Long Lake, MN
5

Beautiful Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed at this condo for a week and were absolutely thrilled with all its amenities. The views from both decks are beautiful, the beds are comfortable, the kitchen is well stocked with all the necessary cooking utensils, both beds are very comfortable and the overall condo is beautifully decorated. They also provide beach toys and snorkeling equipment. The Elysian Resort offers two very good restaurants, one more upscale and the other casual. The beach is picture perfect-we saw sea turtles while kayaking around it. We are definitely going back! Thanks Bruce and Sue!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
Bethesda, MD
5

Christmas in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
To celebrate Christmas as well as our 20th anniversary, we took our two kids (12 & 18) to stay in this terrific condo for the holiday week. I've stayed at the Elysian before but it was the first time in this unit and we made ourselves at home immediately. This place is super comfortable, wonderfully outfitted, and the location simply can't be beat! It's convenient to everything, full of amenities (but not the crowds), and laid back in a way that makes you stretch out on one of the hammocks with a frosty drink in hand, a beautiful vista in sight, and a contented "ahhh" filling your soul... best nap *ever*. Thank you once again for creating such a cheerful "home" to return to after each happy day in paradise! It was so hard to leave... :0)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
Washington, DC
4

Great condo, great location and very nice renters

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
East End Eden is a great condo and a great value. For the price we paid, it definitely exceeded our expectations. To our surprise, the condo was nicely stocked with a bunch of items we'd otherwise have to buy like sunscreens, sugar, cooking spices, etc. Also somewhat to our surprise, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and we slept extremely well every night. I've stayed in a lot of rental properties with uncomfortable beds and rock hard pillows so this was a really a pleasant surprise. We also took advantage of the washer/dryer and those were great.

The Elysian/Cowpet Bay property is great and the beach area is really nice. There are tons of beach chairs and I saw staff out there cleaning the beach and raking the sand every morning. Plus, there are two restaurants and a bar, so it's easy to spend the whole day there if that's what you want to do. We traveled down for our wedding and had a number of guests staying in different condos throughout the complex. Having a good beach area for everyone to get together really made things fun.

It also can't be overstated that if you don't rent a car while you're on St. Thomas (I drove but driving is not for the faint hearted there), you need to be able to get a taxi easily. Either of the restaurants at the beach can call you a cab, which usually showed up within minutes. This is definitely NOT the experience some of my other guests had who stayed at more out-of-the-way locations.

Although it's a bit of a hike from the airport, being near Red Hook was really great, not only because there are always cabs in the area to take you places, but also because it makes it easy to jump over to St. John on the ferry or head to any of the other islands in the area.

There were only a few minor things that caused me to give less than a 5-star review and I think they're really very minor. First was that there was very little toilet paper. Neither bathroom had a full roll when we checked in and there were no spares. Although there was lots of nice beach stuff including coolers, there were no beach towels, only the bathroom towels. The final thing was that the internet (WiFi) was really spotty and usually very slow when it did work. Since we were coordinating our wedding, we needed to get online and that was a bit frustrating.

But overall the condo was great and I would recommend it to anyone! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of East End Eden. We certainly get a lot of positive comments about our Tempur-pedic beds and feather pillows! However we are disappointed that you did not have a 5-star stay at East End Eden like all of our other guest reviewers. As we note in the guest information packet provided to all of our guests, the Elysian Resort provides beach towels free of charge to our guests at their front desk. We provide a starter supply of paper products, including an extra roll of toilet paper for each bathroom. We apologize if our housekeeper forgot to leave extra rolls for your stay. Finally, we are pleased to provide free internet access to our guests, which many owners do not. Unfortunately, those familiar with St. Thomas know that the local internet service provider is sometimes short of reliable. We hope you will stay with us again in the future so we can provide you with our usual 5-star experience!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
Myrtle Beach South Carolina
5

What a wonderful way to spend our 10 year anniversary!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had been to the Elysian a few months ago and decided to go back for our anniversary. The resort is perfect for us, with everything you need right there. This was the first time staying in this unit and will definitely make it again. The unit is very well equipped, down to the high quality snorkeling equipment which you can use right in the cove. We stayed on the beach everyday as the cool eastern breeze made if very comfortable. Tons of shade too as the sun can get pretty intense. This is a 2 unit rental, one unit contains a VERY comfortable king size bed, a small fridge, full bath and a balcony with gorgeous views of the ocean. The other unit is a full size kitchen, living area with Murphy and another full bath. It was only the 2 of us but you can fit either another couple or kids as there are double lock out doors between the units and access to the outside from both so you have your privacy. The main unit also had a great balcony too, big enough to eat dinner on if you choose to cook, as there is a very well equipped kitchen. Just a few steps away outside is an ice machine and drink machine. There are steps to go down to the beach and pool but not a deterrent, you need a little exercise! The 2 restaurants on the site, Sangria's, where we ate twice, and the fancier one, are so convenient, you don't have to leave. They also have a sports hut where you can book trips to other islands or snorkel. This resort is on the east side of St Thomas within a few miles of Red Hook and the ferry to take you to so many places, I would never want to stay any where else on the island. My favorite restaurant in Red Hook was Pesce's, also XO's for their appy's. There is a pizza place above the American Yacht Club stores that is local and comfortable. Don't forget Bubba's Fish Shack for a really fun time. Loved all the food here! One of the best parts of this trip was our hosts. When you travel for the first time to a place, you worry what it will be like but Sue and Bruce were so gracious and communication was awesome, information was provided to make our trip so much better. October is a fantastic month to go, high 80's during the day and high 70's at night and NOT busy at the airport. In Spring PLEASE leave time to get through customs and though we rented a car, please be careful as you drive on the left side of the road and it is a very hilly island. You will notice everyone has dents on their cars!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful week celebrating our anniversary at East End Eden Condo I! The unit is cheerfully decorated and incredibly well stocked. They thought of most everything! The bed is a nice surprise: Tempur-Pedic! The Elysian itself is very inviting with two restaurants, plenty of chairs on the beach and an amazing pool area.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
5

John

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The one bedroom with murphy's bed was ideal for three of us visiting St. Thomas. Well equipped, clean, and exactly as advertised, the condo met our needs in a beautiful site on Cowpet Bay. Sue and Bruce were readily available to us and did everything they could to satisfy us. I would certainly entertain the idea of a return stay at EastEndEden.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had 4 adults and a 3 year old for a week at the condo. It was the perfect set up for us. We particularly loved the location on the property - we had a wondeful view of the pool and the bay. It was a short walk to both. The condo was clean and updated. We were so pleased that we are considering renting it again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
Jacksonville Fl
5

Great way to start the New Year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had a great week Jan10-17. The condo is so comfortable and well stocked and we used the snorlke gear and visited Maegans Bay, Secret Harbor, and Frenchmans Cove on St Thomas.We also had a great day of snorkling right at the Elysian. We also visited St Francis Bay and Caneel on St John. I had a great massage at the Sea Grape Spa at the Elysian. We loved the fiddle show at Latitude 18 and the sunset at Secret Harbor. We loved Sangrias and The Carribean Fish Company at the Elysian. We also walked over to the Ritz one evening for drinks. East End Eden is in the perfect location to take advantage of the best that St Thomas has to offer. We also spent some wonderful time on the beach reading and drinking delicious smoothies.
Making arrangements with the owners is a breeze and we even got to meet Sue on this trip. She is a pleasure to deal with.
We hope to return soon ---Vacationing at East End Eden is sooo EASY and RELAXING!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
Leesburg, VA
5

Thanksgiving 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We have stayed in this condo three times and find that the property ammenities get better each time we return! The condo description is accurate and the owners are a pleasure to work with. We can't wait to vacation here again since it has become a home away from home for our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Exceptional One Bedroom Beachfront Condo at Elysian Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332486
+1 610-783-0693
East End St. Thomas
Milwaukee
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My daughter and I stayed here while the remainder of our family was next door at the Ritz for my brother's wedding. My other siblings were envious and wished they'd opted for the Elysian! This unit felt like it was custom designed for me and my daughter - we loved the colors, the furniture, the art on the wall, and the pottery! It felt like home, but with a better bed... memory foam, awesome.

The photos are accurate, the view is priceless, the place was spotless. We really just wanted time on the beach or at the pool, good food, and tropical beverages. We found it all here. We had wonderful meals at both restaurants and beverages at the pool bar. The beach was clean and quiet. And we were close enough but far enough from the Ritz to both get time to ourselves and spend time with family. (Perfect.)

Sue and Bruce provide a very good packet of getting started information, which was greatly appreciated and helpful. The only thing I'd add to it as that there is no ATM on the property and cabs are cash only, so plan ahead. And you can buy sunscreen and bug spray at the beach shack, since most of us arrive with just carryons and those items are hard to pack. We found there were items left by previous visitors, including some sunscreen and plenty of kitchen staples. Definitely enough to start off with until you can obtain your own.

I hope we'll be able to vacation here again in the future, and would do so without hesitation!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway