Taos house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Taos House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Nestled on a quiet tranquil tree lined street off of Kit Carson Road, Simpson House awaits you. The territorial style house sits behind a totally enclosed fence featuring an antique gate from India. Our well appointed and uniquely decorated home is your oasis in town yet just a walk around the corner to El Monte Sagrado Resort and a short stroll to the Plaza with Galleries and shopping along the way. All new high end furnishings are yours to enjoy. Custom details include architectural elements from around the globe, plaster walls, aspen ceilings, hardwood floors, quality art & rugs and premium bedding. Truly a four star experience, the down pillows, luxury linens, robes and custom toiletries will enhance your Taos experience. Relax on the covered front porch, grill and dine on the Patio ,and later soak in the the Spa on the deck.

The Taos night sky is indeed amazing! This romantic getaway features a wood burning fireplace, central heat and air conditioning and a well equipped gourmet kitchen. We love to travel in comfort and style and know you will appreciate this cozy retreat...

Why the Owner Chose Taos: We fell in love with the location of this property. The elms and cottonwoods tower over this little dead-end street that is just off of Kit Carson Road. It is quiet and the end of the street is actually all Pueblo Land up to the base of the sacred mountain. You can here the coyotes there at night. It is also convenient to El Monte Sagrado's famous Anaconda Bar and a short walk to the Plaza

The Unique Benefits of this House: We love morning and evening on the front porch watching the magpies that live in a tree about 50 feet away. We like the view of the mountain from the patio where we dine in the summer. In the winter we like the fireplace and the smell of pinon pine in the air. Most nights we are there, we soak in the spa with a night-cap and enjoy the marvelous night sky in Taos

More Details
Hide Details

As your hosts, Lance and Holly pride themselves on making your stay as luxurious and comfortable as possible. They love to travel and have rented on VRBO around the globe. As full time professionals they are starting to slow down and take more time off. They especially love Taos and plan to retire to their second home someday.

Lance McIntosh purchased this house in 2007

We fell in love with the location of this property. The elms and cottonwoods tower over this little dead-end street that is just off of Kit Carson Road. It is quiet and the end of the street is actually all Pueblo Land up to the base of the sacred mountain. You can hear the coyotes there at night. It is also convenient to El Monte Sagrado's famous Anaconda Bar and a short walk to the Plaza

11 Reviews of Property 332150 in Taos, New Mexico

Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
5

Believe all of the glowing reviews!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
It would be hard to add something new to the wonderful reviews that have been written about this beautiful home. We had such a wonderful time enjoying the thoughtful details that made this vacation delightful. The kitchen was well-stocked, the dishes and linens lovely, patio (and the entertaining magpie!) perfect in the early evening, and even the movie selection made this a home-away-from-home. We are so glad we chose to stay in this comfy home. Our friends from Maine were treated to a memorable introduction to Taos.
Owner's Response: We are so appreciative of guests such as you and your friends from Maine. Your warm articulate review delights and inspires us. It was kind of you to comment on our movie selection....most we're filmed in or around Taos. We thank you for this fabulous review and hope you will return to stay with us again. Warmest Wishes, Lance and Holly
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
5

An Oasis In Taos

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This property is an Oasis: private, quiet and with the most artful decor. Truly this is a five stare place to stay. The kitchen was so well appointed with beautiful dishes, spices and copper pots; everything you would need to really cook. We used the BBQ and it was very convenient. Every detail is provided for you to cook, sleep, relax and enjoy. The full moon was amazing from the very private hot tub right off the master bedroom. The beds are so comfortable and with highest quality linens. A pleasant walk to the plaza only took us about 15 minutes. Having the locking gate to the yard was perfect for having our dogs and feeling safe. A perfect art town getaway. We will be back for more. Oh and one more thing… we loved the Love Apple restaurant. ;-)
Owner's Response: Thank You Holly, I really enjoyed working with you on this rental for your birthday weekend trip. I am so glad you enjoyed the house. I appreciate the well written review. And yes, the Love Apple is one of our favorites also. Hope to hear from you again. Best Regards, Lance
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
Colorado
5

We couldn't have made a better choice.

We couldn't have made a better choice.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The minute you walk in the gate you know you are in for a treat. It is a peaceful setting within walking distance to the heart of Taos Plaza. The remodeling is a superb mix of historic charm meets modern
convenience. The grounds are wonderful. The hot tub was a treat and the beds are so comfortable you
just have to sleep in late. We enjoyed coffee on the front porch every morning and wine in front of the fireplace at night.
Thank you so much! This is our new favorite place to stay in Taos.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
5

Great Easter weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The first thing my husband and I said when entering the house was that the online photos don't do it justice! You instantly feel the warmth and charm of the house in the entry and it carries throughout the rest of the house. Very well appointed from the kitchen, baths, and books/DVDs, etc. We didn't have nearly enough time to enjoy all that was available, especially the nice patio areas which would be great for a BBQ or soak in the hot tub. Location was great - quick walk to the plaza, short drive to Taos Pueblo, and easy drive to the ski valley. We were just one family staying this time (two kids under 5 and our dog) and the size was perfect. We could also see how the layout is great for two couples - living space in between with two bedrooms on either side. Lance was very quick to respond and very available to help as needed. Would highly recommend when in the Taos area!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
New Mexico
5

Anniversary Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We have used VRBO listings in the past and this one proved to be another excellent choice. The communications with the owner were timely and helpful. They went out of their way to give us tips on where to eat and what to see. The setting of the house was charming. We quickly felt right at home. The bedding was excellent, providing us with a comfortable sleep. We can recommend it highly to those who want comfort and many extra amenities. Our anniversary dinner at Grahams was also top of the line. Excellent service. They offer an excellent menu, and wine list. The Gorge was another restaurant we highly recommend and we enjoyed the tour trolley visits to the Hacienda and the M. Rogers museum.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
New York, NY
5

New Taos favorite - charming decor, gorgeous artwork, and great outdoor space!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My sister and I have been visiting Taos for 12 years now. We've stayed in several vacation houses over the years, with both big and small groups. The Simpson House is by far our favorite and I highly recommend it for 2 couples or a group of 4-6. It seems larger than it is, and the two bedrooms are on either side of the house, offering great privacy. It's well designed and gorgeously decorated. We couldn't get over the interior parlor room doors, the bathroom sinks, and the artwork all around - there are such great whimsical touches throughout!

We were blessed to have the Simpson House be a part of something extra special on this trip as my boyfriend and I got engaged on our drive up to meet my sister at the house! My now fiance surprised me when we stopped to take in the view at the County Line Gorge turnoff along the river south of Taos. It was so special, and a gorgeous day to boot! He proposed with his grandmother's engagement ring, over 70 years old, symbolizing the 50-year-long happy marriage his grandparents had. It was very romantic, and the Simpson House was the perfect sanctuary to celebrate!

After we got over the initial celebration with my sister when we arrived at the house, we had dinner at the El Monte Sagrado Resort. The house is in walking distance of the plaza, which is very important to us, and so we were able to enjoy daily walks into town for shopping, eating, and more celebrating.
This was my fiance's first trip to Taos, and he loved it too, so I know we will be back for more! I'm sure an anniversary trip to Simpson House is in our future...

Thanks to Lance for being an attentive owner, from reservation through departure, and to Andy, for being an accommodating caretaker!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! This is what the warm fuzzies are all about! I'm so delighted that people enjoy our house. It makes all the hard work and effort do worthwhile. Thanks so much! Lance and Holly
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
Lubbock, TX
5

Spring Break Ski Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Loved the house and the location! Walked to the Plaza twice for delicious dinners, and relaxed in the hot tub after a day of skiing. The house is fully equipped which makes you feel right at home. A quick stop by the grocery store for some extra snacks is all you need. Beautiful decor, and peaceful surroundings. We had a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much ..this is the customer response we strive to achieve with each of our guests. You have made our day!
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
Lubbock, Tx
5

loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We have never stayed in a home before for our vacations and now we will be totally spoiled!
Everything was wonderful and we are hoping to go back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
Boulder, CO
5

Cozy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
5 of us stayed here and had a great time. The house was clean, cozy, and well kept. We really enjoyed the kitchen that was central to the enitre living area and the fireplace. It was a short walk to the square, but was very quiet! Highly recommend to anyone planning on a trip to Taos!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Plaza, Luxurious House with Spa, Great for Two Couples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332150
+1 806 773-5011
Taos New Mexico
Denver, Colorado
5

Thanksgiving Get-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We had a wonderful four days over Thanksgiving at Lance and Holly's lovely home. We especially liked the layout of the house and its close proximity to the Plaza. We cooked, read, played games, walked around town, visited museums and enjoyed the hot tub. It doesn't get any better. Lance was a delight to work with, even when we asked for an extra day. He made it all very easy.
Thank you,
Pat, Jeff, Gary & Sherry from Denver
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway