Russian Hill condo rental - Street View of Property
Street View of Property
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Russian Hill Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

2949 Larkin is a beautiful, completely remodeled, 2 bedroom, 2 bath flat in a two unit Edwardian building on Larkin near Ghirardelli Square, Aquatic Park, Fort Mason and Marina. Originally built in 1913, with many period details including crown molding and fireplace. Recently renovated with remodeled bathrooms and kitchen, Brazilian walnut floors upstairs, and new carpet in bedrooms. Master bath has marble counters, double sinks, heated floor. Private laundry room off of kitchen. Parking available in adjacent garage. Convenient public transportation to all parts of city.

Keywords: San Francisco, Russian Hill, Water View

We have lived in the upstairs flat for 7 years and love living in San Francisco. San Francisco is one of the world's most beautiful cities and we enjoy every minute of it. We walk the neighborhoods, eat in fabulous restaurants and attend all of the many exciting events this city has to offer.

Dede purchased this condo in 2003

The downstairs unit was original remodeled and lived in by family members who have now relocated. We want to share this lovely space with people who would like to have a real San Francisco experience.

When you stay here, you will be just a cable car ride away from Union Square in San Francisco and a bike ride away from the Golden Gate Bridge. Take a trolley to the Ferry Building to visit an amazing farmer's market on Saturday morning. Catch a cab on the corner to the best restaurants in the world. You will be a 15 minute drive to Sausalito and an hour away from the the Napa and Sonoma wine country. From the roof deck you will be able to see ships sailing by Alcatraz and Angel Islands

51 Reviews of Property 332096 in Russian Hill, California

Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 51 reviews
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
Lafayette, Co
5

Perfect home in the perfect location!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Dede and her home are both very special. It is immediately obvious that she is a very warm and inviting person, who takes pride in providing the best accommodations for a superb adventure in San Francisco.
The home is astonishingly beautiful with slab granite surfaces, stainless appliances, numerous windows to let in natural light, comfy beds, large dining area, spiral staircases, spacious wardrobes, and the BEST rooftop patio!
The kitchen is very well stocked and the laundry room even had Shout, so I could get the stain out of my daughter's white pants.
The location was perfect. We only needed our car when we travelled to Muir Woods. We were steps from Ghiradelli's, a block from the beach-- yes, we got in and swam!, a 5 minute walk from numerous seafood restaurants along the wharf, a 1 minute walk to the cable car station, a 5 minute walk to the best breakfast place around (Hollywood Cafe), 2 minute walk to the Maritime Museum, I could go on and on!!!
I enjoyed running from the house along the bay and marinas several mornings, and the bike rental shop was 1 block away. Do not miss out on riding bikes across the Golden Gate Bridge!
You must also visit Alcatraz during your stay. The tour is really well done, the evening tour is the best. The pier from which you catch the ferry across to Alcatraz is also just a short 10 minute walk from the house.
Lastly, Safeway and Trader Joes are a short 5 minute walk.
Gosh, we will miss Dede and 2949 Larkin, but we hope to be back again to visit!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
Baltimore, Maryland USA
5

PERFECT lodgings!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Dede's apartment is a SPECTACULAR find....simply perfect. From our family of four's perspective, this was a win/win/win/win. Dad's opinion first: too-good-to-be-true parking arrangements. This for me is key in San Francisco, but this is like parking in your own driveway it's so amazingly convenient. Easy in/easy out...I have never had this experience in SF; no need to make the decision to lose a great on-street parking spot. From Mom's perspective: a washer dryer. Easy to keep the packing light and the boys clean and presentable. From the boy's perspective: screamingly fast wifi, a shower that's like standing in a warm thunderstorm (a good thing) and THE ROOF DECK.

Several things worked for all of us: the location is key for getting to just about any place in the city fast...Bay screams you down to the Embarcadero and easy access to downtown...up Green to a great neighborhood necessities at the corner of Polk, the locale just WORKS.

The apartment is clean, bright, with all needed conveniences...larger than the pictures show. The only drawback might be the circular stairs for some...it was just another cool feature for all of us.

Finally, Dede was WONDERFUL. She stayed up late to welcome us to the apartment when our connecting flight was delayed, and sent us off with a warm farewell on our last day.

As I said.....PERFECT!!!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Best Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This townhouse was a gem!!! What a find on VBRO. We stayed here 5 days and this townhouse was a great to relax when we finished our daily trips. the owner is great and always a phone call away for any questions. Having 2 beds and full baths that had the best water pressure was awesome because we has 2 teenage kids with us . The rooftop is an escape for relaxation Views are amazing and at night a great place to catch up with the days events with family. Parking garage next door included was a super plus because parking without paying 40$ is unheard of The corner has a great deli and coffee shop, of course Ghirrideli sq 20 steps away from front door Tasty restaurants and cafés steps away from door Fisherman's wharf exactly 18 min walk and you'll pass tons of shops and restaurants along the way. I could go on and on.. Thank you for taking good care of us by providing welcome choc and having all the towels and extras in the house
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Amazing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
What a wonderful place to stay during our San Francisco vacation. This was our 1st time using vrbo and all of our expectations were exceeded. The apartment was much larger than we thought, and very we'll decorated- the owner's beautiful artwork is a very nice touch. The beds were very comfortable. The included secure parking, amazing views from rooftop deck, and awesome location made this the perfect home for our vacation. We were able to walk to most places, and the cable car was very close. The only thing we needed was to have more time to enjoy.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
Dysart, IA USA
5

What a view! What a location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Everything you could want! Pictures are right on. Lots of room, great kitchen & baths. Beds are very comfortable. The rooftop deck is awesome & the view of Alcatraz is... Wow! Cable car stop is one block away & Pier 39 maybe 5 blocks. Great, great location. Owner is nearby if needed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Fabulous Accommodation in Unbeatable Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was the perfect accommodation for our first family holiday in San Francisco - so good to arrive somewhere which meets or exceeds expectations on every level. The flat is in a brilliant location and is more spacious than the pics indicate - very well appointed with great character. The owner (Dede) is a talented artist and lives next door. She was very welcoming and helpful in an unobtrusive way. The only issue was having to leave after 6 days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
Cherry Hill, NJ
5

Best location, best owner, best vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was our first trip to San Francisco and Dede's home helped make it a wonderful vacation.
Walk down the street 2 doors to meet the bus, another block or so to the trolley stop. You can practically touch the Ghirardelli tower from the roof deck (yes, all the pictures are real). Stop at the market on the corner for unique sandwiches and anything else you may need. The included parking garage is right next door and a major convenience. Walk to the water front, restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf, and easy driving access to major roads.
The home was spotless and very well equipped including washer and dryer. Very comfy beds in both bedrooms. The two full baths sold us on this home. Dede's paintings of local scenes decorate the walls and plenty of nature light from all the windows. To be honest, here is some bus noise in the morning, so if you're a light sleeper or your body is still on East Coast time as mine was, put a little cotton in your ears. Do not skip this house because of it - you'll be missing out. The inside steps are a spiral staircase so consider your accessibility needs.
Dede meets you upon arrival by opening the parking garage, handing you the keys and gives you a thorough tour, all the way to the roof. She encourages you to contact her by phone or email with any questions or concerns and responds quickly. She had plenty of excellent restaurant and activity suggestions that greatly enhanced our stay.
If you want a fantastic location for your San Francisco vacation, this is it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Fab property - an eviction order was almost needed...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
After a little difficulty finding the address (the numbers are behind the front grille) and being helped by the super helpful neighbour Tony (thank you!), we arrived at this lovely property and were greeted by the very friendly owner, Dede who showed us around. One of our party had broken her foot since we booked, and due to the spiral staircase which goes down to the bedrooms and second bathroom, it could have been difficult for her but Dede straightaway offered the very substantial sofabed as an alternative to save her going downstairs at all as there is also a bathroom on the main floor. The apartment is in a fabulous location, with a deli/grocery/liquor shop literally steps away on the corner. A small local café (Black Point) is across the road and great for snacks and coffees and for a more substantial breakfast, there's a diner in Gharardelli square which is also only a few hundred metres away. Plenty of eateries and watering holes in easy walking distance (even with a broken foot!) and great public transport with Hyde Sreet tram on the next street to get you to Union Square and loads of regular, easy-to-use buses which announce each stop and stop right on the corner of Larkin Street to get you everywhere else for under $30 a week!
Very comfortable and high spec property and nothing is too much trouble for Dede - when the flush stopped working on the toilet, we had a plumber within the hour. Highly recommended and we hope to be back some day - thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
CT
5

Excellent place and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Highly recommended. Very clean and nicely remodeled. Great place and location in the city with free and secure off street parking. Can't beat the roof top deck.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Edwardian Flat Near Ghirardelli in San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332096vbi
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Perfect home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We absolutely loved staying at this apartment during our recent stay in San Fran. What a beautiful home in a wonderful location with amazing views from the rooftop terrace. We spent 4 weeks travelling around California and this was our favourite stay of the trip - 3 nights wasn't long enough! This was our first time using VRBO & it was a winner! It was lovely to meet Dede who makes you feel right at home. We would highly recommend this property for anyone visiting San Francisco.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4