Honaunau house rental - Living Room Area
Living Room Area
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Honaunau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Relax, feel at home the minute you walk in our spacious comfortable Hawaiiana Plantation Style home. You will be on your own private acre of tropical landscaped beauty with many varieties of seasonal fruits and exotic flowers.

The house is tastefully furnished inside and out. With a huge covered lanai complete with outdoor dining and a gas BBQ you will enjoy searing Ahi and cooking steaks. You can relax in the evening on the deck serenaded by mauka breezes through the palms. Drink your morning Kona coffee with the beautiful yellow Finches, bright red Cardinals and neon Geckos so close you could almost touch them. In the yard you will find avocados, citrus (lemons, Tahitian limes, tangerines, oranges, grapefruit), mango, papaya and bananas, just to name a few. Fill your basket with these and more for a great breakfast. You can even make your own fresh squeezed orange juice while they're in season and pick all the bouquets you want.

The large great room upstairs is wrapped with windows. The kitchen, dining and living room are open and light. Our master bedroom has a comfy king size bed and TV with its own door to the back lanai that leads to the hot tub. The other bedrooms all have big full size beds. The downstairs has two bedrooms, den and one bath with an additional entrance to the yard.

You will be conveniently located 1/2 mile below the main road that will take you around the entire Big Island. South Kona's finest beaches are so close you will be at the waters edge of Kealakekua Bay, the Historic City of Refuge, Manini, Keei beach, snorkeling, swimming, exploring tide pools all in minutes of leaving your driveway. Our location is so great without going very far you can be at the grocery store, great restaurants, a fresh fish market, excellent bakeries, local coffee shops, mac-nut farms with gift shops and tours daily.

The place has some toys for your stay; boogie boards, some snorkeling gear, beach towels, grass mats, an ice chest, DVDs, games, cards, small library, a basketball and hoop to list a few.

After your day of adventure on the Big Island is sinking-in and your relaxing in your home away from home, you'll be glad your staying at your own 'oasis' in beautiful Hawaii.

If you're like us, you will already be figuring out when you can come back or at least a way to stay a little longer!

Keywords: Large Hawaiian Plantation Style Home on a beautiful private acre

More Details
Hide Details

Private. You will have the entire place to yourselves. No studio, No apartment.

Make it your own while your here.

7 Reviews of Property 331907 in Honaunau, Hawaii

Your Oasis in Kona, Hawaii Above Kealakekua Bay
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
business
Your Oasis in Kona, Hawaii Above Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331907vbi
(541) 482-1532
Honaunau Kona Coast
Edmonton, Alberta
5

Relaxing in the Hawaiian Countryside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our first trip to the island of Hawaii was made truly enjoyable by our week long stay at the Oasis in Kona. The house provided lots of space for our family which consisted of four adults, a toddler and a month old infant. The house’s two stories and huge wrap around lanai allow for both privacy and gathering together as a group in a variety of settings with plenty of room to stretch out and relax. Many little extras that you won’t find in a hotel or timeshare have been provided with the house to assist in making your stay a delight.
The location is ideal in that it offers a glimpse of Hawaiian countryside living yet within easy driving distance of Kona all that it has to offer. The property which is covered with a huge variety of plants including numerous fruit trees provides for a very private setting. The house is somewhat dated but is clean and comfortable and very quickly makes you feel at home letting you focus on exploring the island and all it has to offer. The location is particularly suited to exploring the area south of Kona (Two Step, coffee plantations, etc.).
The hospitality and assistance provided by Kerwin, the caretaker was fantastic. He was there if you needed him but was very respectful of your privacy. Becky, the owner, was very accommodating and helpful making the rental process easy and painless.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Your Oasis in Kona, Hawaii Above Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331907vbi
(541) 482-1532
Honaunau Kona Coast
Mountain View, CA
5

Lovely Hawaiian vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The house and location are amazing, and it's a great base for day trips to other areas of the island. As long as you have a car, you'll love this place. Becky and Kerwin were very helpful and made the whole booking and arrival process very easy. The fruit in the garden was an added bonus, as were the geckos and other native wildlife and fauna. The guidebooks had warned us about the coqui, but we didn't have any problem sleeping through the nightly coqui chirping and early morning rooster calls. We also enjoyed making use of the extras provided, like the beach towels and bodyboard. It was definitely one of my favourite vacations and we hope to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Oasis in Kona, Hawaii Above Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331907vbi
(541) 482-1532
Honaunau Kona Coast
Bellingham, WA
5

Great place with a great Hawaiian feel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this home. The owner was very accommodating and easy to work with. The rent was fair. The home was clean, everything worked fine and the arrangements suited us well.

We took advantage of the avocado trees, the kitchen, basketball hoop and especially the great hot tub. Thanks to Kerwin for his help and for providing Fuji, our vacation pet dog who always welcomed us home with his little tail wagging. The birds were a pleasure as well.

We knew the home was a drive from town and the beach so that was expected.

Thanks again
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Your Oasis in Kona, Hawaii Above Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331907vbi
(541) 482-1532
Honaunau Kona Coast
North Olmsted, Ohio
4

First Island Visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We did not want to leave. We loved the large living area, kitchen and large lanai. The birds, geckos, roosters and falling fruit off the trees was wonderful! We did so much the first week with family there, we needed the second week to kick back and relax. The only thing I did not like is that we did have to drive anywhere we wanted to go, even if it was a 10 minute drive away. We spent a lot of car travel the first week, seeing Hilo, the volcano, black sand beach, zip lines, water falls, swimming beaches, snorkeling, kayaking...whew!! We loved the fruit trees and avocados. The house was clean and neat with gear available for use. The acreage surrounding the home needed a bit of clearing with lots of fruit, limbs and leaves covering a lot of the land...We would defintely come back again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Oasis in Kona, Hawaii Above Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331907vbi
(541) 482-1532
Honaunau Kona Coast
Not Specified
4

Enjoy it all Hawaiian Style

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a great stay at this Hale and really enjoyed the lush gardens with heavily laden avocado and citrus fruit trees. Coming home in the evening from a cold snorkel with the manta rays, it was lovely to dip into the hot tub. We really appreciated the home being fully stocked with all the basics, lots of towels, extra blankets and snorkel gear. The owners and caretaker, Kerwin, are wonderful people to deal with, and maintain this property well. You may want to bring ear plugs for the wild roosters running free all over the island...they do grow on you though. Highly recommend the manta ray & dolphin snorkel and fishing for tuna. We highl
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Your Oasis in Kona, Hawaii Above Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331907vbi
(541) 482-1532
Honaunau Kona Coast
Tucson, Arizona
5

Would love to stay here again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
When we left to fly home, my son said, "This really felt like a home." Indeed, this house seemed to wrap us in a hug the whole time we were there. Not only did it feel like home, but it functioned like it, too: it had everything we needed during our stay--and more! We were delighted to find boogie boards and snorkeling gear, and we appreciated the library of movies and books. The house is conveniently located near good beaches and sightseeing attractions, but we loved just staying in the house, too. There was plenty of room; we had our two teenagers and our pre-teen with us, and we all had plenty of room to hang out and do our own thing if we wanted to. As far as the amenities, we especially liked the wrap-around porch, the hammock, the hot tub, the gas grill, and the one acre of lush fruit-bearing plants. We enjoyed fresh-squeezed orange juice and homemade guacamole from the trees on the property. We even had multiple flower arrangements greet us when we arrived; they were placed both inside and outside, and I believe they were from flowers grown on the property. Another reason I can highly recommend this house is the caretaker and the owners. The owners are great to deal with, and the caretaker was fabulous! He lives next door and he's a wealth of knowledge and information about the area and the plants on the property. On several days he picked ripe produce for us (from both his property and the home's property) and presented them to us in a basket. He also grows and sells the most delicious Kona coffee!!! And when we had questions or issues with something in the house, he was *very* prompt and responsive. At the same time, he kept his distance and we felt we had total privacy while we were there. If you're wanting space, privacy, lush vegetation, and a comfortable and delightful place to come "home" to while on vacation, choose this house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Your Oasis in Kona, Hawaii Above Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331907vbi
(541) 482-1532
Honaunau Kona Coast
santa monica, CA USA
5

A Place to Call Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Only a 25 minute relaxing drive from Kailua-Kona and well worth the peace and quiet, this property was a hidden gem. At first glance one remains wary, however, once inside there is a pleasant air of casual elegance and a cozy atmosphere that almost immediately welcomes you "home." The kitchen might be from another decade, but it has every amenity availabel for a quick meal or an elaborate dining experience. We chose to enjoy the wonderful outdoors, and dined on the expansive verandah/deck, preferring to grill local favorites such as mahi mahi and swordfish. In the distance, one can view Keleakakua Bay and the mighty Pacific beyond. The enormous grounds have numerous fruit trees and a magnificent avocado tree that grows the largest avocados I have ever seen and enough to make guacamole for your whole stay! Plenty of bedrooms for the largest of families and lots of room so everyone has there privacy and space. All in all, it was a great location, and a peaceful, restful and memorable vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/7