Laupahoehoe cottage rental
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Laupahoehoe Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)

Secluded Ohana (1/1 Cottage) with Superb Ocean Views on Gorgeous Hamakua Coast Estate – The Garden House Hideaway

Newly constructed of Indonesian hardwoods, this fully furnished Studio Ohana sits on the beautifully landscaped grounds of an estate overlooking the beautiful Hamakua Coast. Just 25 minutes from Hilo, the property enjoys sweeping views across fields and trees down to the ocean with spectacular sunrises and sunsets. A variety of organic fruits, vegetables and exotic plantings fill this 3-½ acre property, and a small flock of sheep resides, picturesquely, in the pasture. A relaxing, aesthetic & truly Hawaiian experience, perfect for anyone seeking privacy & nature.

This is a rare opportunity to enjoy the splendor of one of the Big Islands premier – and most sought after – locations. . The estate is completely off-grid but with all amenities available for a luxurious ‘living green’ experience.

28 Reviews of Property 331581 in Laupahoehoe, Hawaii

Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
average rating of 5.0 based on 28 reviews
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
Chicago, IL, USA
5

Wonderful Honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I am in a long distance relationship (Sydney-Chicago) and Hawaii is half way. So I searched for a nice opportunity for me and my boyfriend to spent two weeks in Hawaii, after over 8 months apart. We also planed on getting married during our stay. So we stayed with Mary for two weeks and its been amazing! Her property is beautiful, her pets are super cute and Mary is a wonderful person! There was no distraction (no phone reception- at least with T-Mobile) and no Wifi or anything. It was just perfect to spent lots of time together and to relax. Everything is available in the cottage, like towels, beach equipment, left over foods from past people etc. The cottage itself is super cute and romantic. The frogs didn´t bother us at all, it was super quiet. It was just perfect and we had a wonderful time!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
5

Wonderful Eco-Friendly Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This cottage was a wonderful find on the Big Island of Hawaii. Mary is a very gracious hostess and greeted us on our arrival. She gave us time to unpack and get comfortable before taking us on a tour of her beautiful estate. The description of the property and cottage is perfect. The views are spectacular, especially from the Tea House. The cottage is absolutely charming and spotless with every available amenity. The bed gave us the best night's sleep of our trip! This is a most relaxing, friendly retreat. Mary was a wealth of information about the most interesting sites to visit. We were disappointed we had not booked a longer stay but if we go to the Big Island again, this wonderful cottage and hostess will be first on our list for a longer stay. Mahalo Mary. Trev and Rose-Ann
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
5

Beautiful property with view of the ocean.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is such a special cottage! We were met at the gate by the owner, Mary after navigation a long driveway. She enthusiastically showed us around her immaculate property and clean cottage.
The sweet cottage is decorated with Mary's personal touch. The bed area is surrounded by a lovely hand carved partition. It would be a tight squeeze for a larger person. The kitchen was well appointed and there is even a charcoal grill right outside.
We enjoyed leisurely evenings in the yard and room. The only sounds were the birds and raucous frogs. More comfortable seating in the living area would be nice. We loved the beautiful private outdoor shower - what a treat! And there was plenty of solar heated water.
Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer! Thank you Mary!
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
5

Sunrise at its best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Off the grid and beyond our expectations of a beautiful homebase for our island adventures...thank you for an amazing experience, Mary. We had a totally wonderful time. Loved fresh eggs and fruit from the orchard. Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
Sacramento
5

Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I agree with all the previous reviews with the added surprise of watching the Super Bowl at the neighbors......complete with a roasted pig, Hawaiian style! What a wonderful way to complete our vacation. Mary added that special touch!

While the screened-in tea house is just 75 feet away and has stunning ocean views, it should be noted the view from inside the cottage is primarily a garden view.

The Garden House Hideaway is the perfect "Hideaway"! We WILL be back!
Mahalo Mary!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
Newberg
5

A secret little hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I just returned from a trip to the big island. We were fortunate enough to find this wonderful little gem on the east side of the island, north of Hilo.
Mary was there to greet us upon our arrival and gave us a tour of her beautiful property. The cottage contained all of the comforts of home. We enjoyed five very peaceful and relaxing nights. For us, this was the perfect location for exploring Hilo, Puna and the Hamakua coast. We purchased groceries in Hilo as there are no grocery stores near by. At night we enjoyed the Coquie frogs that now abound on the big island. Mary was a wonderful host and shared many of her fruits from her gardens and those fabulous fresh chicken eggs for breakfast. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone wishing to get away from it all and enjoy living off the grid. The outside shower was fabulous.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights after Christmas.We arrived in the afternoon after driving on the 4-mile scenic highway (must-see) which begins at 7-mile marker of Hwy19. The owner, Mary, is very friendly and gracious. She greeted us upon arrival with a tour of her property. Her cat is really cute and made herself quite comfortable with us during these days.

The cottage is running with solar energy and recycling rain water. Taking a shower outside with fresh air and sound of the nature is a special experience for us. Since restaurants are a little far away from the cottage, bringing some food and making dinner here is also a good idea. This is a peaceful, quiet, and natural place for the people who are thinking of getting away from big cities and looking for a private space to stay.

Thanks for hosting and we will stop by if we are on the Big Island again.

Shuluo&Yizhen
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
5

Garden Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Garden Hideaway was the perfect cottage for us during our visit in May 2013. Mary greeted us upon arrival and gave us a tour of her property. She was a gracious hostess throughout our stay and shared her homegrown papaya and a fresh pineapple with us. The listing on VRBO was very accurate. The cottage is very inviting & provided the perfect place to relax after a a busy day out & about. Mary's cat "Trouble" made herself quite comfortable with us during our stay. The property was easy distance from Hilo and sightseeing spots, such as Akaka Falls, Umauma Falls, Kolekole Beach Park, & the Hawai'i Tropical Botanical Gardens. I think we saw all the waterfalls there and in Hilo. We also visited Waipio Valley to the north & travelled to Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park & Punalu'u Black Sand Beach to the southwest. We had enjoyable meals at Hilo Bay Cafe, Cafe Pesto and Ken's House of Pancakes. We enjoyed local food at Cafe 100. Every place we visited is a "must see." If you don't mind being off the grid, then Mary's Garden Hideaway cottage could be the right place for your stay. We definitely were able to unwind & de-stress there!!! Thank You, Mary for providing us with a lovely cottage & grounds to relax & enjoy!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
5

Sweet cottage, lovely host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Mary's warm welcome (complete with papaya and avocado) is a big part of what makes this cottage such a good find. It's easy to get into conservation mode re water and electricity use and to slow down and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. The cottage is thoughtfully appointed and comes complete with beach gear: chairs and towels, which is a nice extra. Mary offers conversation if you want it but doesn't intrude--a rare talent! I love all the animals on the place.

It's an easy drive to nearby Hilo, and there's plenty of hiking and/or beach access within an hour's drive.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lovely garden cottage, Hamakua waterfall district, 100% solar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331581
+1 808 987-7549
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
Portland, OR
5

Wonderful Place to Stay!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I stayed at this wonderful cottage for two nights. It was such a peaceful experience. It was so nice to do something a little different and this off the grid cottage really fit the bill. I was 6 months pregnant during our stay at the cottage and it was very relaxing and accommodating. You really start to fall into a routine of wanting to conserve power and water and connect with your surroundings. Rain water is used as the main water source for the cabin but drinking water is available in the kitchen.

The cottage is in a great location and we could quickly drive into Hilo. Also the botanical gardens, a must see and where I saw my first whale off the coast, is close by as well.
Mary is a wonderful hostess and met us at the gate upon our arrival. She gave us a tour of the property introducing us to all the animals and gave us great descriptions of the various plants on the property. After our initial introduction we had a lot of privacy and the whole experience was very peaceful.

We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3