San Diego condo rental - Antique colonnades reflected in ponds of reception area.
Antique colonnades reflected in ponds of reception area.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

San Diego Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, each with TV, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6.

Historic building overlooking the sea, renovated with every modern amenity. Private furnished Roof Garden with breathtaking Sea View, relaxing pool, barbecue, sensational sunsets. State-of-the-art kitchen. Designer and antique furniture. Colonial Dining table seats 12. Full size pool and sauna. Located steps from restaurants, museums, shopping, bars, discos, 10 minute taxi to Boca Grande, close to beaches. Excursions by boat to the Rosario Islands and Baru available by advance booking. Antique and colonial style furnishings and lighting with mix of modern. Grand lobby and reception area in former 19th-century chapel with vaulted ceilings, surrounded by arched colonnades and pools of water cooled by ocean breezes. Personal guided tours available by special arrangement.

8 Reviews of Property 331528 San Diego, Colombia

Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
average rating of 4.857143 based on 8 reviews
business
Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331528
+1 516 982-5170
San Diego Cartagena
5

Incredible Location With Authentic Cartagena Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We spent a week at this beautiful spot with our three children, ages 10, 9 and 7. The apartment is part of an old monastery that overlooks the old wall surrounding the historic part of Cartagena. Just one block away is the Santa Clara hotel, which was an old convent. The location is very safe and perfect for families. Shopping, restaurants and coffee shops are just a block away.

When we were looking into places to stay in Cartagena, we looked at some high-rise condos in the Boca Grande area, which is a 10 minute taxi ride away. Thank HEAVENS we didn't stay there!!! The cement block buildings are dull and dingy. The beach is o.k., but the water isn't the clear water we are used to seeing in the Caribbean or most parts of Mexico. We walked along the beach one day and were immediately mobbed by vendors offering hats, watches, necklaces, massages, hair braiding, etc. It was fine for an hour, but it really started to wear as the entourage followed us down the beach. Needless to say, it wasn't the peaceful experience we had imagined. Taxis are very cheap - $5-$7 USD for pretty much anywhere you'd want to go. We were so happy to be able to visit the beach, but return to our little sanctuary in Casa de Bocatillo!

We also looked at some apartments in other parts of the walled portion of the city. Again, we were relieved that fate directed us to our special location as other apartments, though charming, would have been noisy due to street and pedestrian traffic. Taxi drivers in Cartagena honk frequently! I truly can't image another spot that would yield a better combination of location and quietude!

A description of this property would not be complete without mentioning Clari. She is the housekeeper and also prepares breakfast. Clari is a fabulous cook. We hired her to prepare three other meals. Her chicken dish is amazing! The kids adored her and consider her to be one of the best parts of our trip to Cartagena. To the best of our knowledge, she doesn't speak English, so brush up on your Spanish!

The owners, Thomas and Jim, are accessible via a free Vonage phone line to the U.S. They are also a tremendous resource for restaurant recommendations. Thank you, gentlemen, for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331528
+1 516 982-5170
San Diego Cartagena
Forest Hills, NY, USA
5

Cartagena - Colombia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We LOVED this property, straight out of Architectural Digest. Pictures do not do justice to the spaciousness, high ceilings, airiness and beauty of this triplex apartment. The owners were very pleasant and professional to deal with. The housekeeper was charming, helpful and a great asset. We had a wonderful time in Carta and this beautiful location had much to do with it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331528
+1 516 982-5170
San Diego Cartagena
Columbus, Ohio
5

In a word, "Perfect"

In a word, "Perfect"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
In February, our party of four traveled to Cartagena to scuba dive and we had the good fortune to stay in this home. It is beautiful, exceptionally well maintained, decorated and furnished, private, located in the heart of the "Historic District" and, as noted in other reviews, the pictures do not do it justice. The owners were easy to deal with, very accommodating, and full of helpful information about Cartagena (where to dine, tour, etc.). And, the "daily housekeeping" is performed by a wonderfully friendly lady who could not have been more helpful - a very nice asset to this home. The roof top pool is a terrific place to watch the sunset and provided our group with some views of Cartagena that we will never forget. All in all, this is what you want a vrbo rental to be - faithful to the billing, an easy "rental" process, and with no hidden disappointments. Hard to believe that there are better accommodations in Cartagena than this home. I have rented a number of units thru vrbo and, without exception, this one rates at the top. Our party will be returning to Cartagena again and we will time our visit to ensure that we are able to stay in this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331528
+1 516 982-5170
San Diego Cartagena
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

“Superb residence with absolute privacy"

“Superb residence with absolute privacy"
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
******
A FlipKey verified reviewer
New York
Sep 20, 2010
I was extremely fortunate to be able to stay in this most wonderful residence during March of 2010. The complex is conveniently located, and is quite one of the most prestigious in Columbia. It was beautifully finished, and furnished to the highest possible standard, with everything you would need to be made to feel special on a vacation in a most exotic and charming city. The staff at the complex, which is a converted monastery, were attentive, and prepared to assist you with anything that you needed. The apartment comes with a most charming and obliging maid, who is available to do shopping, and to make meals for you. The owners were charming and delightful, as well. I only met them once to pick-up a key, and get some interesting information about the locale. Otherwise, they left me alone, and were completely unintrusive. The apartment offers the utmost privacy, and you can spend many relaxed hours by the rooftop pool overlooking the sea.

I cannot recommend this residence highly enough to anyone, or my visit to a most beautiful city. I look forward to returning there in the coming year.

My Detailed Ratings
Value: Comfort: Location:
Cleanliness: Check-in: Service:
Additional details about me
Date of Stay: March 2010
I recommend this for
"Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Absolutely!"
Friends getaway: Yes A romantic getaway: Yes People with disabilities: Yes
Older travelers: Yes Families with young children: Yes Families with teenagers: Yes
Tourists: Yes Luxury-minded travelers: Yes
business
Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331528
+1 516 982-5170
San Diego Cartagena
Auckland New Zealand
5

One of my most relaxing, regenerative experiences to date.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
In August, my wife and I and 2 close friends stayed in this supurb casa.
Like one previous reviewer I have to agree that the pictures and the literature do not do it justice.
As far as vacation experiences go this was a complete standout. The house/accomodation had a genuine "old world" feel with all the convenience of contemporary living, and what's more, managed to achieve this with flair and idiosyncratic style.
Cartagena aside, this truely beautiful property is an experience in its own right. That aside we were provided with a treasure trove of local information, which proved invaluable in our exploration of this unique and exciting city.
The house as a facility, and the communal amenities of the "Old Convent" were beyond expectation, as was the inhouse food prepared on our behalf.
As holidays go, I would rate this as one of my most relaxing and regenerative experiences to date.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331528
+1 516 982-5170
San Diego Cartagena
Mumbai, India
5

A memorable experience! Exotic location & Gracious hosts!

A memorable experience! Exotic location & Gracious hosts!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
This wonderful work of art was one of the most fabulous places me and my family have stayed at. We flew all the way from our home in Mumbai as an adventure into a distant culture. It was so comfortable, and to say we felt 'at home' would be an understatement. The interiors were magnificent, each painting and each detail of things like the chairs and the mirrors looked like they has been thoughtfully been put together. The colours were so cartegena! Loved it!

The view from the top floor was also fantastic, and the rooftop barbeque & pool was a delight! Cartegena boasts of wonderful weather, warm people and some of the tastiest and most exotic fruit & cuisine we've ever indulged in. The hosts needs a special mention as they spoilt us with fresh fruits, juices, and some of the most interesting recipes we've enjoyed. They were so warm & gracious, taking us around to interesting spots they thought we would enjoy! They were like family!

Apart from this wonderful home, we must mention the magnificent complex that housed it. It was magical to enter into, with its pillars and stone and water, it was like entering a beautiful painting. We would most definitely return here given a choice, this was one of our most memorable holidays to date!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331528
+1 516 982-5170
San Diego Cartagena
Tarrytown, NY
5

Magical, Elegant and Fantastic Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
The pictures and description of this house does not do it justice. Better than 5! The house is gorgeous, yet comfortable and homey too. We found that we spent most of our time on the rooftop, enjoying the amazing pool, and views of Cartagena, which included the ocean and a panoramic view of the beautiful old walled city. If you've ever been to San Juan, it will remind you of Old San Juan, but better. Cartagena is funkier, less crowded and definitely a place we would go back to. The food is fantastic, the people charming and it is not over run by tourists. We felt completely safe and free to walk anywhere with our 2 teenage girls.
The house is in a converted convent and not only has the roof top pool, but an amazing infinity pool(shared by the complex) overlooking the beautiful wall and next door to Gabriel Garcia Marquez's house. You do not need a car, as everything you need is within walking distance.
The housekeeper/cook was a delight and prepared the most amazing breakfasts with fresh squeezed juices and anything that you would want. The house and interior looks like it's out of Architectural DIgest.
We flew from NY and Cartagena is an easy trip.( wished we had stayed a few days in Bogata too--next time!) The owners make every effort to make your experience there memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury by the Sea! Best location in magic historic center. Old world elegance.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331528
+1 516 982-5170
San Diego Cartagena
Boston, MA
4

Beautiful property, but not for everyone

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
While the property itself is beautiful, well-decorated, and well-maintained, it is very clear that the owners have little experience renting it out. If you are interested in this property, just set some ground rules with the owners beforehand, so you won't have the same issues we had. It is a great house in a great location; it is just unfortunate we just weren't able to feel at home.

We (group of 8) paid a significant amount for a weekly rental in a luxury property, and upon arrival at the apartment, we were very satisfied with what we got. The apartment has a stunning terrace with ocean views, and comfortable living area. Our host (one of the owners) picked us up from the airport, helped serve us breakfast, answered questions, and offered to show us around town (local grocery store, ATM, etc). While we were very grateful for his assistance, we were surprised that he remained at the apartment all day long, doing paperwork at the dining table, having a beer, chatting with the maid, etc. While this was fine for day 1, he continued to arrive at the apartment for the next several days, often staying for 5-6 hours per day. He "scolded" us when fans or a light were left on the night before, as "electricity is incredibly expensive." We were on vacation, and all utilities were supposed to be included in our bill; while we are mindful of energy conservation, we did not these morning reminders.

Our group felt we couldn't be quite at home with the owner constantly in the home with us. He came over to do laundry, eat breakfast, and use the phone/internet, even when we mentioned to him we prefer he let us be on our own. The message didn't seem to get across, as he told us, "This is my house, and I need to have control."

Other than issues with the host, we were disappointed with our inability to cook - one of the reasons we stayed at a house is to cook together, and both the grill and oven did not work. The host did not seem too concerned, telling us it was "so cheap to eat out in Cartagena" and that we shouldn't worry about it. He did later offer to have the cook make us dinner before she left for the day to compensate, but we weren't interested in this offer, as we just liked to cook and be on our own.

Above all, the owners in this house are very particular: no sleeping on the white couches in the living room, no smoking on the (open-air) terrace, etc. Our only warning: just make sure you are ok dealing with very involved owners before renting.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: *From the Owner, Thomas K. Woodard:*

*Privacy guaranteed. No visits from owners.*

Complete privacy is enjoyed by everyone during their stay.

In this, our only less than perfect rental situation, there
were forewarnings. The Lease specified a party of eight. However, it rapidly grew to 10, then 12, mostly total strangers.

We soon received complaints from our neighbors about noise and litter in the building caused by an unruly group in our apartment. Reluctantly, my associate went to the premises to investigate. He found empty beer cans,
cigarette butts, wet towels, and even soaked bed linen strewn about, with other signs of disrespect for the property.

Our long-time Housekeeper reported that she had lost count of the guests, the fridge was missing food intended for breakfast that disappeared during the night, and she threatened to quit because she was embarrassed by their
behaviour during the short periods she was there to cook and clean each day.

The group was genuinely surprised and disappointed to learn that there are a few reasonable house rules (e.g., quiet use of common hallways and large pool area, generally civilized behavior, etc.) and that this is not a "beach party house" where anything goes. They said they had paid "a substantial amount of money", and therefore were entitled to set their own "ground rules."

Illusory claims by the disgruntled group organizer that the owner was hanging around drinking beer and chatting with the Housekeeper may have been made as result of pressure from her unsuspecting, fun loving revelers whom
she possibly had promised days and nights of wild, unrestrained bacchanalia.

News that it is not that kind of place was not well received. At least the unhappy reviewer and I agree on one thing, the place "is not for everyone." Nothing against spring break groups - it's just not the right place. We regret that she did not have a thoroughly enjoyable time.

Since then, the maximum of persons is set at 6. We have had great success renting to families, couples and friends looking for a magical vacation in the unique walled city of historic Cartagena.

*No visits from the owners.*

*Yes, the kitchen and the barbecue overlooking the Caribbean on the private roof garden with the splash pool are all in tip-top working order.*
Helpful votes: 5/6