Gilbert Condo - A Mixed Review
The central East Valley location, access to freeways, shopping, cultural and sports venues suited our needs well. There are many facilities and resources in the area that meet a wide variety of interests. The condo area is quiet and pleasant, common areas attractive and well maintained, and the pool and hot tub convenient and as depicted on the Homeaway site. The condo itself was adequate for the two of us.
We were very disappointed with some aspects of this rental, particularly where we felt the online description misrepresented some aspects. For example, there is no phone in the unit, there is a dvd player though there was no HDMI cable to connect it to the tv, there is no 'outdoor grill electric, there is a bathtub in one bathroom that is not noted. To suggest the this condo is 'comfortable for 8 people' really stretches my imagination. It is 977 sq ft and there would barely be a way for all to sit down at one time much less move around comfortably. The 3rd 'bedroom' with the sleeper sofa is the small living room.
There were many other issues which, taken collectively, made our stay less than satisfactory: cracked plasticware, unusable pots and pans due to burned and damaged surfaces, very low quality and limited selection of kitchenware and utensils, low quality linens, a rug that was a serious tripping hazard, a vacuum handle that falls off as the screws holding it on were not attached, an unstable bench at the kitchen table, a pair of men's underwear left in one closet, lack of a book or list at the condo giving info on rules and expectations, garbage and recycling, community resources, etc. Individually not deal breakers, but, collectively, yes.
Perhaps of most concern and in ending, was a lack of response from the owners. We have done other Homeaway rentals and have always found owners very responsive to concerns. We did send emails to the rental agent and did get responses, but were told that most of the issues were referred to the owners, we never did hear from them and eventually gave up.
Our opinion is that this condo is seriously overpriced for what one receives and we would not consider it in the future.
Owner's Response: I guess some people are just very hard to please,,,,,I have never had anything but rave reviews on our place,,,,Most of thier issues are just not accurate,,,,One of the issues was no blender,,,There was a brand new one there,,,,The dvd was working,,,,We have a drawer full of arrizona attractions and coupons,,The bench at the dining room table is solid wood construction and stable enough to hold 3 adults when we use it,,I do admit that we didnt have any muffin baking pans as nobody has ever requested them and we never bake on holidays,,,,We do now,,,We use the unit 3 or 4 times per year ourselves and always make sure things are in great repair and well stocked,The throw mat was a bit rolled up so we removed it by picking it up,when we arrived an March 1st,,It is unfortunate that we rented to someone with unjust expectations,,,I responded to all of there concerns Immediately and gave them muffin tins and new frying pans,,,They were dissapointed with my response as they were looking for a discount,,,,,,TED
Helpful votes: 7/8
Did you find this review helpful?