San Luis Pass house rental - View from beach looking across dunes showing wide
View from beach looking across dunes showing wide
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

San Luis Pass House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

We have the best views and direct access just steps to the beach. We are on the front of the dune with the beach a stone throw away and the front deck looks directly down on shore. We have the best reviews ever - check them out. Newly built with a large covered deck 180 degree uninterrupted view of the beach directly in front and Pass and Gulf; front room overlooks the broad and beautiful San Luis Pass and the kitchen and dining areas overlook the Gulf. An entire bank of windows in the kitchen provides great views of sunrise over the Gulf while preparing breakfast.

Kayaks can be launched directly in front or across the way in the back bay. The far side of the bay is a huge birding and wildlife park that can be boated or kayak/canoe accessed. San Luis Pass and the bay here are known for their championship fishing.

Extensive beaches for shelling and walking and volleyball. Really blue clear water is often coming into the pass from the Gulf and we have some of the best water quality around.

Wonderful breezes blow all summer long. Great view of sunrise over Gulf and a view of the sunset over the back bay. All bedrooms have stone countertops with large vessel glass sinks in the room. Granite countertops throughout kitchen and bar area. Enjoy dinner on the deck looking out on the beaches and lights across the pass. Stone floors throughout entire house with intricate ''rug'' stonework. Great birding route with lots of pelicans, herons, and shorebirds. Beach has limited access to cars and is in process of becoming a pedestrian beach for shell collecting and kids play areas. House has ramp and stair access. Three flat screen TVs with satellite/HDTV living room. Quality kitchenware, linens, towels, etc.

Owner Description: Blake and Diane built this house just before Ike and the house had no real damage. It is the most beautiful location on earth. Blake is an exploration geologist with the 7th largest oil company (no not BP) and Diane is a Speech Pathologist. We have two girls at University (one at St Edwards and one at U. of Montana Missoula). Diane specializes in adopting special need greyhounds.

Why the Owner Chose San Luis Pass: Clear waters of the offshore Gulf come into the Pass giving the area especially clear blue water and lots of shells/sand dollars accumulate on this end of the barrier island. The ends of barrier islands are great places for fish, birds, and beautiful sand dunes. The far away lights across the pass are beautiful at night and provide a view that other areas do not have at night. We built within a community but it is quiet because we have no immediate neighbors.

The Unique Benefits of this House: This house is in a quiet family area. It is the last house on a dead end road that stops at the beach and we have a couple of empty lots one either side of the house so no one needs to listen to neighbors. The beach has limited access so there are never lots of people on the beach. Sunrise comes up across the Gulf and is a beautiful sight from the kitchen, dining room, and front porch. Patches of yellow and orange flowers cover dunes around the house.

More Details
Hide Details

Blake and Diane built this house just before Ike and the house had no real damage. It is the most beautiful location on earth. Blake is an exploration geologist with the 7th largest oil company (no not BP) and Diane is a Speech Pathologist. We have two girls at University (one graduated from St Edwards and is applying to medical school and one at U. of Montana Missoula). Diane specializes in adopting special need greyhounds.

Blake Blackwelder/Diane Blackwelder purchased this house in 2008

Clear waters of the offshore Gulf come into the Pass giving the area especially clear blue water and lots of shells/sand dollars accumulate on this end of the barrier island. The ends of barrier islands are great places for fish, birds, and beautiful sand dunes. The far away lights across the pass are beautiful at night and provide a view that other areas do not have at night. We built within a community but it is quiet because we have no immediate neighbors.

45 Reviews of Property 331174 in San Luis Pass, Texas

On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
average rating of 4.977778 based on 45 reviews
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Tucson AZ
5

Perfect Family Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
First, this home has everything listed...and more. Beautiful, modern, clean, new appliances at TV's, kitchen equipped beyond our expectations. It felt like we were at home. The location is great, quiet and calm but close proximity to tons of entertainment in Galveston. We stayed a week with family (four adults, five kids under the age of 6, and our dog) and had plenty of room. Diane and Blake made sure we were well prepared BEFORE we arrived, with lists of things to bring and do. We fished from in the beach in front of the house, and there were other beautiful beaches, docks, piers and parks within walking distance. This home is everything it says it is, had everything we needed. You can get away from it all, or take a short drive and enjoy Galveston. And, if you have a sweet tooth, visit La Kings Confectionary on the Strand in Galveston. Can't wait to bring our family back soon. Thanks Diane and Blake!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
5

Healing and Rejuvenating Heaven on the Beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is what we think of when we look back on the wonderful six weeks we just spent in Diane and Blake's beach house. We were so lucky to be able to enjoy everything that was promised in the write ups and reviews, not once but many, many times. Dolphins and pelicans everyday were our favorites. Or was it the Little Blue Heron that lives in the area, and the Egrets that visited everyday? I know rocking on the deck, walking the beaches, looking for shells, letting the dogs run the beaches were high on our daily activities. Since we spent such a good amount of time there, we were able to spend time in Galveston, going to Schliterbaun Water Park, awesome; took a trolley tour, so informative; took an Art/Kayak tour on a bayou, so fun; shopped, did sight seeing, ate at some great places. We loved this home, the owners, and the area so much, we are planning our 2015 vacation to come back for another month long stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Texas
5

Can't wait to return!

Can't wait to return!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Absolutely perfect. Serene. Diane and Blake have made sure that you have every comfort Of home. Everything is well made, not the cheap make- do items that you find at most rentals. Nice linens and towels, cookware, glassware, furniture, etc... Love the location, private and soothing, but close enough to everything in Galveston with a 25 min ride. I am so proud to have found this jewel, and will soon return. Diane and Blake are so helpful and truly wonderful people.
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Texas
5

I can't say enough!

I can't say enough!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Absolutely perfect. Serene. Diane and Blake have made sure that you have every comfort
Of home. Everything is well made, not the cheap make- do items that you find at most rentals. Nice linens and towels, cookware, glassware, furniture, etc...
Love the location, private and soothing, but close enough to everything in Galveston with a
25 min ride. I am so proud to have found this jewel, and will soon return.
Diane and Blake are so helpful and truly wonderful people.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
5

Relaxing Week at Beautiful Beachfront Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a wonderful vacation on San Luis Pass in this beautiful, well-maintained beach home! Diane and Blake were friendly and easy to work with when planning our stay. We enjoyed cooking a few meals in the well-equipped kitchen and watched a full week of colorful sunrises from the huge, wrap-around deck overlooking the Pass. Beds were very comfortable with soft, fresh linens. Three flat screen TV's ensured everyone could watch an evening show of their choice. Shell collecting, walking our dog Murphy on the beach and bird watching were some of our simple, relaxing activities. We enjoyed eating out at Nate's Westend and Pirate's Alley, and bought red snapper at Allex's Seafood -- all within 10 minutes of the home. Saw several fisherman catch red fish right in front of our beach. I would highly recommend Diane and Blake's vacation home for those who love the ocean and privacy.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Omaha Nebraska
5

Quiet beach vacation in a real home - with terrific hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Treasure Island felt like home. We brought our family of 8 down from Nebraska and really wanted a beach home to get away from it all. Treasure Island delivered. The house felt like home with well appointed furniture and appliances. The house felt like home because of the owners. The house felt like home because we loved to just sit on the deck and watch the parade of birds. It felt like home as we were able to walk to an isolated beach that was big enough to play and kayak yet small enough to feel private. We've used VRBO for the last 6 summer vacations (mostly mountains) and have been pleased by renting directl with the owner. But Diane at Treasure Island topped them all. I felt like I was dealing with a friend. She even wanted to know when we got back home safely to Nebraska. When we asked about beach toys she found a way to get just what we wanted.

If you are considering Treasure Island and want to get away from Galveston (but be close enough to visit - 20 minutes) you won't go wrong with this beach house. Thank you Diane for sharing your home
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Round Rock, TX
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I almost don't want to write this review, as I'd love to keep this house and location as my own little secret! This is a lovely and comfortable home in a terrific location. My family had a wonderful time during our spring break week at this quiet beach area. The home is nicely appointed, with nice furniture (no tacky wicker furniture that is the norm at most beach rentals), plenty of lighting, and comfortable seating. The kitchen is fantastic and large, with new appliances, nice dishes, glassware, cookware, all kinds of gadgets, and even lots of spices. The outdoor propane grill is clean! The whole house is clean and very well maintained. The master bedroom is large, all beds are extremely comfortable and have nice linens, each bedroom has its own sink and vanity and a toilet in a separate room, There are plenty of towel racks and hooks to hang towels, clothes, bathing suits, etc. It's just the little touches like this that make you feel right at home.
And I haven't even mentioned the location! It's in a perfect and quiet little section of the Texas coastline. You won't find a lot of crowds, but you will find wildlife and lots of seashells. The expansive deck has four comfortable rockers where you can watch the sunrise and then watch the pelicans eating their fishy breakfast and the dolphins cruising by. You are literally just a few steps away from the beach.
You'll have about a half hour drive in either direction to get to restaurants and shopping, but there's a few small eating spots in Surfside Beach and a decent grocery store in Freeport. We, however, had most of our meals at home just because we didn't want to put on shoes and leave the beach. ;-)
Lastly, the owners are extremely nice, responsive, and wonderful to deal with. They take meticulous care of their home and were just wonderful to work with. We will definitely return here on our next trip to the beach!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, TX
5

Great Long Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Three of my friends and I spent a very relaxing long weekend at this newly renovated beautiful beach front home. The house has a perfect 180 degree view of the gulf from the living room and kitchen along with a huge wrap around porch. You're only about 40 yards from a virtually private beach that's blocked off on each side by rocks so there's no way for vehicles to come over and park. Everything about the experience was enjoyable and the owners were very helpful in getting everything set up and ready for us. I will definitely be planning a trip back there in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas
5

We LOVED this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is the perfect vacation place.

If you are looking for a place where you can get away from the crowds but still be close enough to restaurants and attractions then you should stay here. Treasure Island does just that for you.

This home provides everything that we could possibly look for in a vacation rental. It is right on the beach. It is beautifully laid out, meticulously maintained and the beds are as comfortable as those in our home. Without a doubt this was one of the most relaxing few days we have spent in a very long time.

Here are some of our favorite things about this property. You can sit in the rockers on the large deck overlooking the beach and watch the dolphins. It is so quiet out here and so close to the beach that you can really listen to the waves rather than boom boxes and traffic. The beach is at your door......you can go shelling in the mornings and evenings and unlike Galveston Island, the beaches are thick with seashells. Some of the best fishing on the Gulf Coast is right in front of you at San Luis Pass, and the bait shops are a short walk or even shorter drive from your door. And because my wife fell in love with it-------the kitchen is HUGE and appointed with everything you could possibly want or need to cook any sort of meal you want.

The house is only half the equation though. It's the people that make this such a nice property. Blake and Diane are accommodating (and just downright nice) people who want to deliver a great vacation experience and they do that in spades. Michael, their property manager, is accessible and can not only answer any concerns, but can point you any direction you want to go for things to do. They are all just wonderful.

For those who think you need to stay "on the island" to enjoy Galveston......not so. This is a 20-30 minute drive from the restaurants and attractions and actually seems shorter than that. It's an easy drive and at this property you won't be hemmed in by crowds when you don't want them.

If we had any complaint at all, it's that we only stayed three days. Next time it'll be a week. We're thinking in the spring. And then maybe again next XMAS. And then next spring. And then..... catch the drift? Great place to go spend time.

Thanks Diane, Blake and Michael.

We'll be back.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
On the beachfront dune with Incredible View of Beach, Pass and Gulf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331174
+1 713 503 4033
San Luis Pass Texas Gulf Coast
Alvin, Texas
5

Thanksgiving on the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Everything was as advertised. The house was immaculate, and everything worked. Could not have asked for better landlords, either.
It was myself and my wife and two dogs, joined later by one of my sons, from Iowa, and his wife and daughter. Plenty of room. It was a first time on the beach for our dogs and granddaughter, and they loved it.
Fabulous sunrises, and the weather was good the whole time. What a memorable week.
If you are looking for a place that is away from the madding crowd, in a great setting, I would highly recommend it.
Thanks, Diane and Blake for sharing your home!
Helpful votes: 5/5