Taos house rental - Mariposa Ranch with horses steps from your front door!
Mariposa Ranch with horses steps from your front door!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights
 

Taos House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

Available for vacation or holidays, original ranch house on the Mariposa Ranch is conveniently located between the Taos Ski Valley and the town of Taos. The 2800 square ft. modernized ranch house has 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, large den, and a living/dining room. The master suite has a queen bed. The 2nd bedroom has a queen bed. The 3rd bedroom has four twin beds. Views are incomparable and the quiet is deafening. You will hear coyotes, and that is about it. This is an authentic experience for the lover of wide open spaces and world class skiing and snowboarding!

The house is located on 900 acres of private property, surrounded by horses, cows, Llamas and two ponds. Renters may walk, bike, snow shoe, and cross country ski on the property.

There is also a tree house.

Pets are permitted with prior approval.

Our family has lived in Taos for 23 years. We moved to Taos from Louisiana after falling in love with the climate, arts, culture, beauty, world class snow skiing, and unique people. For many years, we have offered our 'Ranch House' to only our closest friends but now offer this incredible experience for you. Staying at the 'Ranch House' you will experience magnificent sunsets, watching cowboys herding cattle, and our own family and friends galloping through the sage brush on horses. You have miles of private property for your leisure and all of us are close by to help make your stay positive. We are in the restaurant business, as well, and understand the importance of local hospitality. We look forward to sharing our spectacular property with you.

Vee Yaccino/ Connie and Nat Troy purchased this house in 1987

My family built their own home in Taos, later purchasing the Mariposa Ranch in order to protect their property from development. It also enabled my family to utilize the property for their leisure, particularly riding their horses without needing to get on a busy road.The 'Ranch House' is the original living quarters on the Mariposa ranch. Most of our family members have lived in it at some point in our lives. My husband, three children, and I spent 8 years in this house. It's very comfortable for young and old, families or anyone looking for a romantic getaway. The Mariposa Ranch is a unique property in Taos. It is protected by Taos LandTrust and American Indian land.

The privacy and original buildings on this ranch make it an incredible experience. We have kept the barns, bunkhouses, pig barns, etc... in their unique, original state. We appreciate the local culture and flavor of Taos and have done our best to maintain that influence on our own property. The unobstructed sunsets, and nearby working cowboys are the highlights for us. And of course, that we have our horses grazing right outside our door. It is conveniently located 12 miles from our ski mountain. We are truly the Land of Enchantment.

Upon arrival we provide a bottle of wine, coffee, tea, chips and salsa, and chocolates.

25 Reviews of Property 330677 in Taos, New Mexico

The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Dallas, Tx
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Ranch house was more than we could have ever expected it to be. My 4 young kids, ages 8, 7, 5 and 3 had the most amazing time and we were all so sad to leave. Cannot wait to return next year for an extended stay...1 week was just not enough!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Fort Worth, Texas
5

Great for summer vacations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family greatly enjoyed staying at Mariposa Ranch! Clean and comfortable, with the best view ever! We loved sitting out on the porch for early morning coffee feeling the cool breezes. We are summer in the mountains people and this was a perfect setting for us. The kids loved the barn cats and other animals. Would return in a heartbeat! Thank you for sharing your home!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
San Antonio, TX area
5

Sad to be home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Just got back from spending 8 nights in Taos and had to write a review as soon as I could get to a computer! We were two families--4 adults and 4 kids--and the Mariposa Ranch House was perfect! It is perfectly located between town and the Ski Valley, making travel in and around Taos very easy. The kids all loved the animals, treehouse, and hot tub and the adults loved sitting around the fire after long days of skiing. The owners were very accessible and keep the house fully stocked with everything you could need. Trying to convince the husband we should return in the summer...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Baltimore
5

Mariposa Ranch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family and I thoroughly enjoy our stay at Mariposa ranch. Beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked, hot tub was delightful, the views were fabulous, house was spacious, and there was plenty to do. We went into Taos, hiked around the ranch, helped feed the farm animals, and went fishing to mention a few things. It was the most peaceful and relaxing vacations we have ever had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Kansas City
5

Great House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and stayed at The Mariposa Ranch for a week in June. We were so pleasently surprised when we arrived! The pictures don't even do it justice! It is an amazing house. Our daughters were in heaven with their bedroom and all the animals on the ranch. It was so much fun sitting on the porch watching the girls "play", with the goats, the donkey, and the mule. The horses in the back of the house was the icing on the cake! The house was clean and stocked very nicely. We were very comfortable and had a wonderful time in Taos. We would definately come back to Mariposa Ranch. Vee was helpful and easy to work with. You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Falmouth, ME
5

Perfect stay for Taos Ski Valley vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Stayed four nights at the ranch house with another couple. Four adults and 3 children, 9 to 12 years old. Perfect location for skiing and going into town. Coming "home" after skiing, sitting on the front porch, looking out on the range and feeling the warm sun will be long remembered as well as watching the kids enjoy being with the horses, lamas and other animals. We've traveled the world and this is one of the best most fun places we have ever stayed. The house was warm and inviting and the pictures do not do it justice. The decorating was great and we liked the exposed beams and master bath design with a big shower and skylight. Beds were extremely comfortable. We enjoyed being off the beaten path (yet still convenient to everything) with no road noise and seeing the Milky Way at night. House was spotless. We look forward to returning next year. Thank you Vee!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Ft. Worth, TX
5

Perfect Place for our vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Spent the week before Christmas here with the kids. The house was perfect! Excellent location between all that we wanted to do. Two living areas was great with teenagers, they could enjoy a little tv, while my husband and I enjoyed the fire in the other room. Cool rustic dining table was perfect for us to play games in the evenings...although I'm sure if we were here under warmer circumstances we would have gone outside and enjoyed the property! Kitchen had everything you would need for any type of meal, but you are also very close to a variety of restaurants. Since the house is pet friendly, I did appreciate the wood/tile only floors. It was spic n span clean top to bottom. The first day we went skiing was the day of the blizzard..I had never been so happy to get back off the slopes into that warm house, take a hot shower and get into the warm cozy bedding! The owner quickly responded to any of my questions and offered some great advice on places to go. Would definitely recommend this place to family friends!
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Ft. Worth, TX
5

Perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Spent the week before Christmas here. I don't think the pictures do this house justice. It was very spacious for the 4 of us and yet very cozy. Kitchen had everything needed if you wanted to eat in, but you are also close to a variety of restaurants as well. With two living areas, the kids could relax after a day of skiing by watching a favorite tv show while the husband and I sat in the other living area and enjoyed the fire. Also liked the rustic dining table, was perfect for playing board games in the evening. Hot showers, warm cozy bedding is always a "want" when staying at a rental and this place did NOT disappoint! I also appreciated the all wood and tile floors. We were thankful to be able to bring our two small dogs, but I have stayed at "pet friendly" homes with carpet, and it's been kind of gross..this house was spotless top to bottom.-- Vee was always quick to respond to my questions and gave us some great suggestions for our visit. Would definetly recommend to family and friends and if we head back to Taos, this is the place we will be renting!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Austin, TX, USA
5

Outstanding Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I stayed at the Ranch House with our 2 young kids last summer for 2 weeks. This property is outstanding in every way. It is impeccably clean. This is the cleanest rental property I have ever witnessed. It is on par with the nicest Ritz Carlton hotels. The home is very well-maintained and well-equipped with things you might need for an extended stay (laundry detergent, paper goods, etc.). The furniture and beds are all very comfortable. The master bath is very spacious and the water pressure is excellent. The property itself is beautiful. The kids were occupied every minute of our trip, fishing in the pond, playing with the animals, playing in the tree house and teepee, etc. The owner is very helpful, reliable and responsive. The location cannot be beat (in between town and the ski valley). I recommend this property to anyone seeking a first class rental property in the Taos, NM area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Mariposa Ranch House : Nothing Like This in Taos!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330677
+1 770-1027
Taos New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Thanksgiving guestbook entry

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Dear Mike and Vee,

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We all agreed that being here over Thanksgiving week was a wonderful way to enjoy our family being in such a gorgeous place, maybe starting new traditions for us. We hope to be back someday.