Opihikao house rental - .
.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Opihikao House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Beautiful Mango wood floors, custom made furnishings from Bali and exceptional art combine to create an experience that is truly unique in the world of vacation rentals. The residence is nestled into a very private botanical garden with extensive palm, bamboo, orchid and bromeliad collections, all staged within the context of manicured sweeping lawns and ocean vistas.

A property manager is onsite, comfortably situated away from the main residence to ensure your utmost privacy.

Fresh tropical floral arrangements, all gathered from our exquisite garden, will greet you throughout the entire house. Beautiful linens, comfortable beds and a complete gourmet equipped kitchen await your arrival.

8 Reviews of Property 330486 in Opihikao, Hawaii

World Class Garden Residence
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
World Class Garden Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330486
+1 8089657511
Opihikao Puna District
5

we'll be back!

we'll be back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Hale Mohalu surpasses... more than House of Rest and Relaxation... idyllic Bali-influenced gardens and structures... truly a tropics paradise... can't imagine a better spot to call home on the Big Island... "off-the-grid" done right... well-tended and ripe for enjoying. Constellations are eye-popping on the lanai... and greet the sun in nearby volcanic hot pools. Mike and his staff are friendly and super helpful... a real gem on the Puna coast... more please... can't wait to book our return! Mahalo Mohalu
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
World Class Garden Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330486
+1 8089657511
Opihikao Puna District
Victoria, B.C. Canada
5

Why Go Anywhere Else?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thank you Mike and Mango. Our stay was perfect but too short. We had it all - immersed in floral beauty ,sun, rain, walks,or drives to lava lagoons, community markets with lilting Hawaiian music, geothermal pools, funky towns and volcano craters. I just wanted to stay on the lanai and worship the green. Next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the beautiful review. It was wonderful to have you stay with us, please come back and see us again if you can.

Aloha
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
World Class Garden Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330486
+1 8089657511
Opihikao Puna District
Cupertino, CA
5

Even better than the pictures

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Spent a wonderful week here with my daughters. The lanscaping is stunningly well done and the house perfectly arranged. As an "off-the-grid" house, everything was quite comfortable. Big Mike kindly shared some fresh picked lychee and we picked some local bananas as well. We cooked or barbequed each night and found the kitchen well stocked with most basics. Whatever was missing we picked up at the nearby grocery (as well as some movies). Several adventures out to the tidepools (you gotta go!) and wander the roads to see scenery and beaches. Very peaceful, private, and relaxing. On our last nite, the sky cleared and we enjoyed a fire out under the stars. THis is a beautiful place to stay and I hope to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
World Class Garden Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330486
+1 8089657511
Opihikao Puna District
North Texas
5

Perfection !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Every window frames a perfect view of plantings in every color, shape and texture. Every walk was a new adventure. Who knew there were so many varieties of palm trees, bamboo and ginger? It's like living in a piece of art.

The kitchen is well equipped even for preparing a complicated Christmas cake. Comfy bedrooms and nice bathrooms. Great place to spend time just hanging out.

We appreciate the kindness of Mike, the caretaker, and the peace of viewing this lovely property from the lanai. Picked avocados that were mighty tasty.

It's an enchanting place. The photos on the website are lovely but it's even more so in person. Hope to come back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
World Class Garden Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330486
+1 8089657511
Opihikao Puna District
Greenbrae, California. USA
5

We never wanted to leave!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This secluded, serene and exquisitely landscaped estate has something for everyone! The main house is a three-bedroom Southeast Asian-style home, and there are several smaller units to rent, all of which overlook beautifully manicured lawns, 24 acres of palm trees, orchids, flowering exotica, (and even a section of old growth rain forest), and the ocean beyond.
The main house is a design masterpiece: exotic wood floors, a fun kitchen to cook in, (equipped with a Wolf range!), and 3 uniquely styled bedrooms with furniture imported from Bali, each of which opens out onto an expansive deck where a hot tub awaits with pure collected rain water to relax in under the stars. Easy access to beaches, town life, and island adventures. The property manager responded to our every whim, knew the island intimately and suggested many fun activities that will never be found in a guide book. The gardens on this property put the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens to shame. We had so many opportunities to travel all over the island, but the property was so peaceful and allowed for so many of it's own adventures, we never wanted to leave! The property is easily accessible to wonderful snorkeling, swimming and yoga classes, just 5 minutes away, a short trip to Volcano National Park, downtown Hilo and more. We would go back in a minute!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
World Class Garden Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330486
+1 8089657511
Opihikao Puna District
Montebello, Quebec, Canada
5

Perfect retreat and location for East Big Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed at Hale Mohalu for 6 days and didn't want to leave! This house is absolutely gorgeous, the gardens are five times better than the pictures. Very well maintained, super clean and great kitchen. Complete privacy, top quality furnitures and the manager is a wonderful person, very helpful and available. We cannot urge you enough to discover this hidden paradise. 15 minutes from grocery, 1hour from Hilo, 1h15 from Akaka Falls and wonderful other botanical gardens. Beach is very close too (10 minutes) and Volcano national park (45 minutes). Everything is well thought for and you will feel very privileged to stay there. It is very quiet, would not recommend if you are looking for nightlife and action necessarily. To recharge, walk around gorgeous orchids, visit east of the island and meditate, than it's the perfect spot! Enjoy and Aloha to you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
World Class Garden Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330486
+1 8089657511
Opihikao Puna District
Kentfield, CA, USA
5

Heaven in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We had the most magical of weeks at this beautiful home. Although the closest we'll ever get to feeling like we own a home in Hawaii is staying on some else's estate, I can't imagine feeling more comfortable and at home. The lush and lavish surroundings of the property together with the serene and well-appointed house itself provided us with all the amenities but none of the sameness of a 4-star hotel.
The property manager was incredible in every way. We can't wait to return. It's heaven!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
World Class Garden Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330486
+1 8089657511
Opihikao Puna District
Hawaii
5

Superb Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
This vacation home is absolutely perfect in every way! Clean, comfortable house with gorgeous surroundings. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to see the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1