Windham chalet rental - The firepit (and my dog)
The firepit (and my dog)
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Windham Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 8+

Cozy & secluded log-built chalet on 15 private acres in the Northern Catskill Mountains. Enjoy scenic mountain tranquility, or be active and hike, camp, fish, golf, ski or explore!

Close to area ski centers- it's 11 mi.(18 min) to Ski Windham, 17 mi.(28 min) to Hunter, 23 mi.(35 min) to Plattekill & 32 mi.(42 min) to Belleayre. Similar distances to Castkill Mtn. camping and hiking. Minutes to Schoharie Reservoir & Creek for great fishing and to Mine Kill State park.

Inside, enjoy a fire in the fireplaces, some down time to read or play games. Satellite TV included in each bedroom, WiFi internet, large DVD library, XBOX.

There's a full kitchen, dishwasher, washer & dryer. Linens are included. The basement is carpeted and finished with a few spare mattresses for extra guests to sleep.

Outside, enjoy the new hot tub (additional fee required), wrap-around deck and nearby firepit BBQ area with picnic table make it easy to have a cookout and enjoy the fresh air and starry skies.

NEW improvements for 2012-2013 :

-New Inground Swimming Pool!

-WiFi Internet via satellite + PC & Printer

-Newly constructed fenced Dog run/play area (over 1500 sq feet outdoors!)

-Newly surfaced private driveway to house

-New quality wood Adirondack chairs for outdoor seating

-New kitchen appliances: Wall oven, cooktop/range, and fridge

-More DVDs in the movie collection

-New cozy den area in the basement with large-screen TV, xbox360 w/ rock band and Kinect

-Outdoor patio heater.

-and more!

*Guests must be 25 years of age or older, unless accompanied by an adult or guardian.

More Details
Hide Details

I have always wanted a place to escape from the city, but a place that wasn't too far away driving so that it could make a nice weekend possible. I also wanted a place that could be used all year 'round. This place was the perfect combination of all the criteria I wanted and hopefully you too can benefit from that!

This is my house too, I rent it out only when I am unable to come up myself, so I keep it in good condition always and with all the perks and toys you will want to use too!

19 Reviews of Property 330463 in Windham, New York

Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
average rating of 4.5625 based on 19 reviews
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
Rockland County, NY
5

So much fun!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
What a winter! With all the snow this was the perfect home base for a weekend of great snowboarding - we went to Windham on Saturday and to Plattekill Mountain on Sunday. Afterwards we relaxed by the fireplace, drank hot cocoa and watched the stars from the hot tub.
I cannot recommend this place more highly for a nice, cozy home with all the amenities you would want (stocked kitchen, tv, wifi, dvd collection, washer/dryer etc.).
I look forward to coming back next year, or perhaps in the summer to hike some of those Catskills peaks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
5

Amazing fall getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Every single square feet of this home is incredibly ideal. As soon as we arrived it looked like the homes you (by you I mean us city people) only see in movies and TV shows. It's versatility of providing that woodsy, outdoor experience yet maintaining its modern features we are all used too made all of us had an amazing time. The hot tub felt amazing even in the freezing cold mountain weather definitely a feature that made this experience a thrill. Overall this vacation home deserves every star for it's decor, well-keptness, cozy-feel and never ending list of appliances and ameneties.
Thanks Adam!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
Boston, MA
5

You have a great place there!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great stay. Aside from some rain on Friday the weather was great. Everybody had a lot of fun in the pool and exploring in the woods. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
5

Super time in a Super house.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The whole experience was much better that expected. The house is clean, spacious and comfortable. Stayed here for 2 nights with 2 other couples and 4 kids, all of whom enjoyed throughly. Windham is 30 mins away. We bought in all the supplies we might have needed so did'nt really realize the location of the nearby town and groceries. The kitchen is fully eqquiped and the basement was fun.

Will most definately visit again this summer. Noticed a river nearby. Hope river tubing, kayaking and other river activities are available.

Adam was a pleasure to work with. Everything was done via email and did not have to speak to him ever, not even for the deposit refund. His detailed instructions and suggestions made the trip much easier. We paid for the hot tub, and did not use it. Adam was kind to refund it instantly.

P.S: the pictures don't to justice the house. Adam, you should update the pics.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
NYC
5

Nice!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Oh man, we had so much fun! Everybody wants to go back.. Thank you for the amazing movie collection and kitchen and everything else, it really ruled!!
-Jeff
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
New York, NY
5

We had a GREAT weekend at the cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a GREAT weekend at the cabin! It was quit the weekend, especially with all the snow:) I know we had paid for the hot tub, however, due to the extreme weather conditions, we did not use it, so we were wondering if we could be weaved these fees?

Thanks again for everything!

Happy New Year,
Mikel
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Re: hot tub fee no problem
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
Astoria, NY
5

Great times, snow!! skiing!! sledding!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Got up here after a big snow storm dumped 14" of fresh snow in the Catskills, skied for 2 days at Windham Mountain (about 17 miles away) came back to the house made hot cocoa, made a fire in the fireplace, crashed on the couch. Fun times! Everything was in good order, tidy and would definitely return. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We had a great time at the cabin!

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a great time at the cabin, it is gorgeous and everyone was really pleased. We already have a few other friends who inquired about possibly wanting to rent from you as well!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
1

The cleaning lady is against the customers

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We booked the house for the weekend from November 2 till November 4. Adam was very helpful and even allowed one person from our party to stay one additional night at no charge, due to the hurricane Sandy. The first time we stayed at this house, one year ago, everything was great. However , this time when we arrived on Friday night house was a mess. It was uncleaned and there were lots of hairs and even a full garbage bucket in the bathroom. There were no clean towels for our party of 8. The bed linens didn't seem to be fresh. We stayed in the house for two nights and upon departure we cleaned everything , put the dirty linens into the laundry machine ( add to this the laundry machine , and the dryer was full of towels and linens, which also didn't seem to be clean , that we have to removed and put away in order to wash ours), cleaned the bathroom a little bit, and vacuumed the floor..After all the work we done, the owner of this house decided not to return our security deposit for HOT TUB ( hot tub is actually is not the part of the house) because according to his housekeeper the house was a mess after us and the the heater wasn't turned off ( me personally check it twice before the checkout).
SUGGESTION TO THE OWNER!!!
CHANGE YOUR HOUSEKEEPER, OR AT LEAST CHECK HER/HIS WORK TIME TO TIME, BECAUSE SHE/HE IS OBVIOUSLY CHARGING YOU EXTRA FOR SOMETHING THAT ISN'T DONE.
Owner's Response: I am very upset by this review and it is coming from a place of anger in you and not reason.
First, I did indeed offer up a free night to your party in a charitable way which was above and beyond anything I had to do.
Second, upon arriving to the house you did NOT indicate to me that the house was unclean or in any way unsatisfactory.
Third, upon leaving the house you did NOT mention that when you arrived the house was unclean.
Fourth, your group did leave the house a mess. You clearly had a holiday party with alcohol involved. Not only did my housekeeper find the mess you left, but when I came up myself a few days after it was cleaned I still found rubber eye balls stuck the walls.
Fifth, the hot tub was left uncovered, or not securely enough as it did become removed. This is why I retained your hot tub deposit as this is clearly stated in the signed rental agreement.
Sixth, when you emailed me one week after you stay and asked where the deposit was, I informed you of all of the above and you did NOT reply to me. IF you had replied to me we could've worked it out easily and the deposit and cleanliness issues would have been resolved person to person.

I have had hundreds of groups stay at my place with the same housekeeper, who is a local woman and not some service. I trust her and have no reason to think otherwise. I have many positive reviews from people and I consider this a blip on the radar, because as I mentioned above all you had to do was at ANY point contact me directly and this would be a non-issue.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Cozy & Secluded Catskill Ski Chalet Perfect For Every Season
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330463
Windham Catskills
Auburn, NY
4

Nice Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed at this house for the warrior dash this past weekend. This was the perfect location. It is very quiet and secluded. It is a nice home and was large enough to accommodate 8 people easily. It is also well equipped. It has a full kitchen with everything needed. Adam was also a pleasure to do business with.
Helpful votes: 5/5