Austin cottage rental - Living area
Living area
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Austin Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 BR, 1 BA, Sleeps 2-3, Full Kitchen, Washer/Dryer, Private Deck

The Carriage House is an executive-style apartment for those who want to settle in and feel like they are living in Austin! Fully and stylishly furnished with everything you need, from olive oil to an umbrella. LR, Dining area, Full kitchen, Bedroom and Bath. Private washer/dry, deck, and 1 off-street parking spot. Backyard grill & lounge areas, 6.5' deep pool and 8-person bubbling spa. Bike & Golf Club storage in garage available. Can be booked with or without daily breakfast and maid service. Be alone here or join our ever-interesting group of B&B guests. Questions about what to visit or where to eat? We're on-site and available for you. Let us help make your trip to Austin any and everything you'd hoped! (Please note, this is not the rental of the Main House, this is our Carriage House, a one-bedroom apartment on the property.)

We are innkeepers and owners of the Gateway Guesthouse; a chef and an interior designer. Leo and Louie, our dogs, are here to welcome you as well!

Innkeeper purchased this cottage in 2010

Breakfast by a chef featured on the Food Network! Walk to everything yet feel relaxed here at the property!

4 Reviews of Property 330320 in Austin, Texas

Downtown/SOCO Carriage House with WiFi, Pool, Spa, Gardens and Parking
average rating of 4.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Downtown/SOCO Carriage House with WiFi, Pool, Spa, Gardens and Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330320
+1 512 326-2646
Austin Austin area
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Bess and Blaise are terrific hosts, and the carriage house is clean, comfortable, and convenient. You can't beat the location (easy access to all of South Austin, to Town Lake, to downtown, to I-35, to great food, etc.). The pool is a nice bonus, and Chef Bess' cooking alone is worth the stay (you gotta have the flappers!). I second the previous comment about the TV and the DirectTV menu, but I didn't watch much TV while I was there so it wasn't a huge problem. Overall, a great and very special place to stay while you're in Austin! I would certainly stay here again.
Owner's Response: Hi Dena and thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here. Stop by and see us when you are back in town!
B&B
business
Downtown/SOCO Carriage House with WiFi, Pool, Spa, Gardens and Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330320
+1 512 326-2646
Austin Austin area
Boston
5

Best Mini-Moon Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My now-husband and I stayed in the Carriage House for nearly a week after our wedding – a trip that we called our “mini-moon” as we hope to take our big European honeymoon sometime next year. This place was perfectly suited for our getaway from Boston to Austin. The Carriage House is new, clean, and well-stocked (e.g., basic cookware and utensils, laundry and cleaning supplies). The latter part probably sounds weird (who cooks and cleans on their mini-moon? – apparently, we do).

Not that we did all our own cooking. Wanting to take advantage of the difference in March temperatures between home and Austin, we arranged for a wonderful outdoor meal prepared by Bess. She’s such an amazing, attentive chef; and Blaise is an excellent sous chef!

We also took full advantage of the location and walked to South Congress as well as took the bus into Downtown almost daily. While I can see that people who may want to travel to Barton Springs or other Austin or outside Austin destinations may choose to instead rent a car, we decided to use public transportation (much like we do at home) and the bus conveniently stops directly in front of the main house.

Bess and Blaise were generous with their time and available to answer questions about transportation, what sights to see, etc.

We would absolutely go back and stay at the Carriage House or one of the three beautifully decorated rooms at the Gateway Guesthouse.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Shannon and Jason and our sincere congrats! It was a pleasure to have you here. Send us a postcard from Italy!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Downtown/SOCO Carriage House with WiFi, Pool, Spa, Gardens and Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330320
+1 512 326-2646
Austin Austin area
Fremantle, Australia
5

Excellent property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
The ladies who run this place were fantastic, very welcoming and prepared to go above and beyond to make our stay great. The place itself is excellent, very private, brand new and well-equipped. The couple of very small complaints we had were taken on board and acted on. Someone has a garage full of tools and equipment underneath the apartment which created a bit of annoying noise occasionally but was generally fine. Location is excellent, very close to downtown and great proximity to I35. Couple of things to be wary of are the lack of full separation between lounge/kitchen area and the bedroom, making late night TV watching when your partner wants to sleep a bit tricky. Also the TV is altogether too small for it's placement and the Direct TV menu set up was the most user-unfriendly thing I've seen in the cable world for some time, but you really have to blame Direct TV for that! Generally an excellent stay - we got it at a good price due to it being discounted when we were there which helped.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate the feedback and will take it into account without delay. Thank you and it was a pleasure to have you both here. All the best.
business
Downtown/SOCO Carriage House with WiFi, Pool, Spa, Gardens and Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330320
+1 512 326-2646
Austin Austin area
Austin
5

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
The carriage house is new and the location is close to everything Austin. Owners are very sweet (home made bread if you are very nice) and took great care of us. A very nice stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks! It was great having you in the Carriage House!