Darien house rental - Aerial view of Eagle Island and surrounding marsh
Aerial view of Eagle Island and surrounding marsh
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Darien House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 12)

Thank you for inquiring about Eagle Island. My name is Andy Hill. I am the owner and director of Guest Services for Eagle Island, and I am honored that you have chosen us as a potential vacation destination. At Eagle, we specialize in customizing our private island into your private island. I will work with you to provide a simple relaxing weekend or a full-blown extravaganza. It is all in what you want your secluded paradise to be. Upon arrival on Eagle Island, Guest Services will conduct a brief orientation and then depart, leaving you and your guest(s) alone to explore and enjoy your very own private, ten-acre island! After all, privacy is our priority. Eagle Island is accessible only by boat and boasts all the modern conveniences and accessories including a state-of-the-art chef's kitchen stocked with kitchen wares, Direct TV, wireless internet, bed and bath linens, a commercial ice machine, and an outdoor fire pit.

A six-person hot tub is ingeniously located in front of an outdoor fireplace on the 1500-square-foot, wraparound, screened porch. Eagle Lodge comfortably sleeps twelve guests. There are two bedrooms with a queen bed in each; the loft has two twin beds that can be converted to a king. There is a 700 square foot master suite located on ground level with a queen bed and two sets of bunk beds (four beds total).

Activities : Kayaking, Boating, Horseshoes, Hiking, Shelling, Wildlife Viewing (active bald eagle nest), Ping-Pong, Fishing off dock, Charter Fishing Trips available, Crabbing, Our most favorite activity is simply relaxing and enjoying the company you are with on your own private island!

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 330305 in Darien, Georgia

Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
5

Had a fantastic honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We really were the only humans on the island. Because of this the local animals were all over the place and it was fantastic. Everywhere we looked was great and saw some amazing sunsets. When we left town we visited the town of Darien which has some amazing history behind it as well.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Brian & Deanna,
Thank you for being a guest at the Private Islands of Georgia. You are correct when you say you were the only humans on Eagle Island. When you stay at Eagle Island only you and your invited guests are on the Private Island. Eagle is the perfect destination for a honeymoon. You can relax and enjoy each other's company after all the planning and wedding details over the past several months. I hope to see you on a wedding anniversary in the future. Best of luck to you both. Capt. Andy
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
Florida
5

Great place and hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a great propery for privacy, fun and boating. One of the only places that allows my three large dogs. The house is very nice. Note that main floor bedrooms share a bathroom and rooms are nice but small. The water did have a strong sulphur smell. We did not say anything until will left. I have no doubt capt. Andy will look into it. The hospitality and service is second to none. I would stay again
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay and for your comments. When you told us about the problem, we immediately began to troubleshoot and found that the float switch in the aerator had gone bad. It was repaired immediately. Thanks for letting us know about it!

We are looking forward to your return to Eagle Island.

Captain Andy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
Brunswick, GA
5

Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 1970
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This weekend had been planned for several months and at the last minute all of the plans imploded. So what was to be a couple’s weekend, ended up being a girl’s weekend. From the moment we arrived, we were just in awe of the spectacular entry onto Eagle Island. The setting is exquisite and so natural. You are transformed in a matter of minutes from the hustle of day-to-day reality to one that is tranquil and peaceful - - not a sound of civilization only nature. You truly don’t know that you are only minutes away from Darien. The landscaping is creative and artistic. The accommodations are rustic looking from the outside but modern on the inside. From the fireplaces to the hot tub to the outdoor showers (yes, there is indoor plumbing as well). You have to try the hammock and swing on the porch, one of guests ended up snoozing there for a nap. We took advantage of every aspect the island had to offer including wondering around looking for hogs, deer and any other wild life.

Lastly, I have to mention the ease of working with Andy Hill and his team, Patti & Jane, and let’s not forget Ryan. They are amazing and ever patient, especially because of all of our last minute changes. What a true joy and an excellent display of customer services. I would not hesitate one second to recommend a stay at the Private Islands of Georgia (Eagle Island)!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
Warm Springs, GA
5

Best Family Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband & I came to the island with our 3 adult children, their spouses and 4 grandchildren ages 8 months to 5 years. This was the most wonderful place for us just to relax and reconnect!! We ordered our groceries online and it was all there with the drinks iced down when we arrived. The guys loved cooking the oysters & blue crab in the outdoor kitchen. The kids played outside without the distractions of the our normally so busy life. Only time we watched TV was the UGA football game (can't miss that!!) All of us loved this place and hope to return in the future...Nothing else like it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
Jacksonville, FL
5

Two Families from Jacksonville

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We were utterly charmed by the Eagle Island and look forward to returning. Captain Andy was extremely gracious in showing us various spots to take our kids. The house was very well furnished with a beautiful view of the marshes and river. Our kids had a blast and are begging to go back. Thank you Andy for a fabulous weekend.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
5

Ah-Mazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Just spent a long weekend here with 9 of my closest girlfriends. This place was spectacular! There was plenty of room for us all. We could either all hang out together or spend time alone. Most days were spent kayaking on the river or fishing from the dock. A lot of time was spent on the porch swing in the HUGE screened in porch. The view of the night sky is remarkable. I haven't seen shooting stars in forever!

Captain Andy and his team went above and beyond to make us comfortable. They even iced down our tasty beverages immediately upon arrival AND got all of our bags from the dock to the house. They wouldn't let us touch anything. They even had our groceries packed away when we arrived.

If you're looking to relax and literally not worry about the time on the clock, book this now! You won't be sorry.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
Marietta Ga
5

Nirvanna

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family loved our vacation at Eagle Island so much so we are ready to book for next year. The house is clean, comfortable and well equipped. The views are gorgeous. The owner was attentive and checked on us during the week.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
Grosse Pointe Park, MI
5

The most magical, first class experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Captain Andy Hill offers the most bang for your buck! We highly recommend Eagle Island and neighboring Sapelo Island.

It is truly amazing BUT not for everyone. One must be adventurous and ready to go with the flow. We experienced the hottest week on record with frequent thunder and lightening storms but journeyed everyday to neighboring Sapelo, skirting the storms to find some of the best shelling (conch) and sand dollar beaches anywhere. On top of that there was hardly a soul to be found on the beaches... There is an outdoor, screened in hot tub with a fireplace...one night in the midst of a torrential downpour with the rain dancing on the tin roof and every frog, cricket etc singing to the pounding rain, we fired up the hot tub, lit the fire and sipped cocktails! Heavenly!

Andy goes above and beyond and is reachable by phone... we even had a leak under the kitchen sink and within an hour, help was there and the leak fixed. I highly recommend Eagle Island, who knows, you may even see the eagle, like we did... Worried about biting flies...just stay on the cleared land around the house and you are safe! Even though we had a boat (rented from Andy), we ordered all our groceries and Andy picked them up and had the house stocked with our order!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
fayetteville ga
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Andy, the house, the boat - everything is amazing. A perfect place to get away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Island with Active Bald Eagle Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330305
+1 912 222-0801
Darien Coastal Georgia
Savannah
5

Cathy and Dave Lyons

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Cathy surprised me with a trip to Eagle Island for our Valentines Day wedding anniversary. I had no idea where we were going until Captain Andy picked us up at the dock in Darien. We were delivered to the magnificant Eagle Island by boat, unloaded and said goodbye to the Captain for the weekend. This was without doubt the most relaxing weekend that I can remember. The cottage has everything you could ever need and is mega comfortable. We spent the first day exploring the island and sitting on the dock fishing, reading, and watching the many birds out in the marsh. That night we grilled steaks on the more than adequate BBQ grill, drank some wine and retired to the oversized hot tub. After a late morning we had breakfast out on the inclosed deck, showered in the outdoor shower downstairs, and began another relaxing day. (see above). At the pre arranged time Captain Andy picked us up for the trip back to Darien. On the way he took us by another property that he is rehabbing. I cannot say enough about Eagle Island and Captain Andy. The property is magnificant and is about as private as one can get. The only thing that you need to bring is a tired body and food. Andy will even bring the food if you tell him what you want. We considered an oyster roast but opted against it as we had plenty of food with us. But the option is there for you. Bring plenty of wine or your favorite beverage and enjoy peace and quite like you have never imagined. We are looking forward to another trip to Eagle Island and are talking to relatives about a family reunion there. I strongly recommend this property to anyone who wants an adventure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3