Sea Ranch house rental - Fox Ridge Retreat
Fox Ridge Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Fox Ridge is a secluded, 40 acre property for experiencing a retreat from the world with giant redwoods and no houses in view. Seldom a car passes by. As you travel the 4 mile, well maintained dirt road to get to the house, you pass by two small, beautiful vineyards and fantastic houses tucked away in the trees. This is an area where people cherish their privacy… a rare commodity these days. This is what Fox Ridge is all about. We are close to 1,000 ft. elevation which means the temperature is usually 10 - 15 degrees warmer than the 55 degrees when the fog is in at the coast. And when it is hot in the valley to east, we are 10 degrees cooler because of the sea breezes giving us beautiful weather most of the time.

Our two story, 2000 sq. ft. house, sitting on top of Brushy Ridge, among other 40 acre properties, has two master bedrooms with king beds and large picture windows. One bedroom has a balcony. There is a third smaller bedroom with a trundle bed (2 singles). There is a large bath with shower with a half bath downstairs. The downstairs has a large open living/dining and kitchen area with sliding glass doors opening to a 600 sq. ft. deck overlooking the rolling hills and valley of redwoods, pines, fir and oaks. We also have a backup generator which comes on automatically in case of power outage.

You can hike around on the trails of our land at your leisure and experience the serenity of nature undisturbed. There is excellent mushroom hunting and you may catch a glimpse of deer and fox. Or play Petanque (like Bocce Ball) out on the meadow. Or simply sit on the spacious deck or lie in the hammock and read to you heart’s content. Better yet, take a leisurely nap under the redwoods, listening to nothing but the birds singing and the wind blowing through the trees. This is also the perfect place for those of you who love to write or practice yoga. There is plenty of space indoors or on the deck. We also have a massage table. As you can tell this is truly a place of retreat, relaxation and rejuvenation.

And yet only 20 minutes away are fabulous beaches. Park at one of the many access lots and within a short walking distance you will be at the magnificent Pacific Ocean where you can hike one of the many trails available to the public. To get to the ocean you will have gone through Sea Ranch. It has a golf course which is open to the public. You can also go kayaking on the Gualala River which is just another 10 minutes away. If you need groceries, organic if you prefer, the town of Gualala is only 35 minutes away from Fox Ridge. There are art galleries or enjoy one of the many wonderful restaurants such as St. Orres. Gualala also has a local airport that accepts private plane.

In the evening enjoy one of your favorite beverages out on the deck as you watch another spectacular sunset and don’t be surprised the next morning when you wake up if the valley below is filled with the mysterious fog that quite often sneaks in during the night. Be sure to look at our Photo Gallery – the pictures say it all!

Keywords: Country House, lots of privacy, 4 acre fenced area to let your children play or your dogs run, 20 minutes from the ocean

More Details
Hide Details

Cynthia & Brad, Owners of Fox Ridge Retreat

We found Fox Ridge in 1997. We were looking for a spacious piece of land with lots of privacy. Our home is in Oakland and, like many of us, we have very busy lives. The first time we saw Fox Ridge it reminded us of a beautiful park where you could stroll around, not only that, it had rugged trails where you could hike. It was a dream come true. We have spent these past years clearing the land, opening up the views to the beauty of the breathtaking sunsets and the fog coming in through the valley. The serenity of the land, with the majesty of the redwoods, always gives us the opportunity to disconnect from our hectic pace and simply rest and enjoy this special place with what is naturally here. We hope if you find yourselves at Fox Ridge you will have a wonderful experience of this magnificent land.

The Owner purchased this house in 1997

23 Reviews of Property 330138 in Sea Ranch, California

Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 23 reviews
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Berkeley, CA
5

A lovely retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My partner and I were in search of a peaceful property where our dog could run around and not even realize she was fenced in. We found it at Fox Ridge. Note, there is an adorable blue-eyed neighbor dog that likes to come visit (she apparently can climb fences). She even went on a walk with us along the road.

The deck was amazing: stunning views by day and stargazing by night. The property is lovely and a perfect place to just relax in the hammock. It doesn't take long to get to Gualala and have some beach time, too. There's a great little game store in town that's nice to check out, and we found delicious lunch fare and views at Trinks.

We would love to visit again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Santa Rosa
5

Relaxing get-away destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I had one of the most relaxing weeks of our lives at Fox Ridge. We enjoyed the sun, wind in the trees, and fantastic view of the canyon from the deck. Our dogs enjoyed the fenced-in and safe property for little excursions.

This house is spacious and well-stocked with essentials. The bed is soft, and plenty of linens are provided. The location is nice, close enough to The Sea Ranch, but we didn't feel the need to leave the property for the full week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Francisco
5

One word: Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Since my friend had been here before with her husband and had only good things to say, a group of us stayed her over this past Memorial Day weekend. We found ourselves spending most of our time on the property because the deck, BBQ and spacious acreage was perfect for lounging and lawn games.

Even though the house is removed from the hustle and bustle, it makes for a fun trip into town to eat at the local roadhouse or spend time on the beach. We found the place to be comfortable, clean and full of all the amenities we were looking for.

If you want a comfortable getaway that provides plenty of opportunities for stargazing, unwinding and hiking, be sure to put this house on your list. I'd recommend it to all my friends. Oh, and the dogs loved it too! So much space to run around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Napa, Ca
5

QUIET RETREAT WITH A VIEW

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
A wonderful property with gorgeous views...forest as far as the eye can see & no houses in sight. Spent a few days with my mom and 3 year old. The home was comfortable & clean with lots of windows, making it bright and sun filled all day long. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cooking items. There was a plate of cookies waiting for us when we arrived! The huge deck off the kitchen was a great place to relax and enjoy the magic of the forest...to listen to the wind "speak" through the trees & feast the eyes on the hills and valleys below. The surrounding property was fun to explore as was walking on the road (an old logging road) that leads to the home.
If you want a place to experience serenity & peace in a pleasant home...this is it. Wish we could have stayed MUCH longer !!!
Cynthia was a pleasure to deal with throughout the booking process. And the neighbors are the caretakers, so help is close by if needed .
A WONDERFUL & TUCKED AWAY HOME.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Houston, TX
5

Beautiful, peaceful comfort in the redwoods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Looking for a peaceful vacation? This house is perfect. My family of four stayed for a week over the holidays. For a house that has as many windows looking over the beautiful scenery, it was very comfortable not drafty despite outside temps in the 30s.

The owner is very helpful and responsive answering questions.

There's a number of hikes on/near the property, and then also at the coast 20 minutes away. Not miss attractions nearby? Point Arenas lighthouse, Fort Ross, and any number of places to see seals. Many pocket beaches up and down the coast. But it was also nice just staying at the property to cook, relax.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Belmont, CA
5

Great place to relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We spent an amazing Thanksgiving weekend at Fox Ridge. We arrived late at the evening when it was already dark and when we woke up next morning we could not believe our eyes - canyon view from the deck was stunning!
House is very private, super comfortable, kitchen has everything you need.
Large windows through the house let you see the beautiful forest.
Cynthia is great host. She was ready to answer all our questions almost immediately.
We wished we could have stayed longer and hope to return one day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Belmont, CA
5

Relaxing, inviting, home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were so pleased with how amazingly clean and welcoming this home was. Even better than our expectations! The view was incredible, the kitchen was well appointed, the beds were comfortable, the deck was so relaxing. Lots of fun amenities, like a massage table, and yard games. We felt like we had everything we needed at our fingertips. And with no internet, we were finally able to unwind! Just remember - stop at the Whole Foods if you need to do a grocery trip!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Francisco, CA
5

Lovely Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Fox Ridge is exactly the "retreat" we needed. So peaceful and quite we could actually hear the flapping of the wings of birds as they flew by the back deck. Nice enclosed space for your dog to have safe freedom to explore. Better weather than staying right on the coast yet a reasonably short drive to beaches and other local activities and attractions. Its remoteness was a little jarring to our system in the very beginning (no issue with the place, just that we are personally addicted to modern stimuli), but after a couple of hours in nature, the quiet and tranquility was well needed food for the soul and my husband and I actually reconnected. The owners were very helpful and very pleasant to deal with. The listing was accurate. The home was well maintained. And we've already recommended the place to others. The last bit of road to get to the property is a little rough, so something to perhaps consider for those brand new Mercedes owners, but don’t let it deter you. Fox Ridge is absolutely worth a bit of dust and gravel!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Lees Summit, MO
5

a little slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed in this lovely home for a week-long retreat. It was absolutely everything we could have asked for and more! Cynthia was very accomodating and helpful! When you are in the house, all you see is trees...everywhere!!! We spotted a wide variety of birds and we were able to identify them with the handy books in the house! We spent two days in our pjs! Just a short drive takes you to the breath-taking cliffs and bluffs on the coastline. It looked like we were in Ireland, sheep farm and all! The beds were comfy, the kitchen very handy, the views spectacular and the silence very welcomed! Definitely take a jacket! The cool breezes coming up from the ocean will give you a chill (which was a far cry from the 100+ temps back home!). If you are looking for peace, quiet and relaxation, this is your best bet!!! A great bargain, too!!! We will definitely return someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Reno, NV
5

Relaxing and Remote

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Very remote cabin in the forest. Incredible views from the deck and bedrooms. Great place to get away from it all and relax. The only things you'll hear are the wind and the wildlife. Great for any age. Great place for stargazing too. Fantastic little winery right down the road with free tasting. If you venture out of the hills to the beach, go to Gulala--best beach is the Gulala state park beach. Owners were responsive and easy to work with. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway