Roatan house rental - ORCHID BREEZE, MAIN & UPPER DECKS,OCEAN VIEWS, TROPICAL GARDENS
ORCHID BREEZE, MAIN & UPPER DECKS,OCEAN VIEWS, TROPICAL GARDENS
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Roatan House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-8)

Heaven is a home near the beach-in Roatan!

Orchid Breeze is one of seven new Caribbean style homes, in the private, Orchid Beach Village near the beach. Our island style home is situated on a 40 ft hillside, set above the homes, on 1/3 acre, only 50 feet to the dock, . Orchid Breeze provides you with panoramic views of the Caribbean sea,unique wildlife,our beautiful tropical gardens of over 300 plants and unforgettable sunsets. Best of all- our unknown fabulous underwater aquarium at waters edge for snorkeling,swimming,kayaking, and chair raft floating in our calm waters.

LOCATION, LOCATION-THE BEST: Orchid Breeze,located midway between famous West Bay Beach and the tourist town of West End. White sandy beaches,turquoise waters and island style bars,restaurants in West Bay Beach to diverse restaurants/bars,nightlife,tourist shopping,and island tours and activities galore in West End,the best of both worlds. During daylight hours, a 3 min water taxi ride or 15 minute walk on the beach to both areas (WEATHER PERMITTING).

We recommend a car for convenience especially during rainy season (September thru December), but if no car desired, our drivers and regular taxis are available (prices negotiable)

Orchid Breeze is your home away from home. Wake up in the morning to the sounds of wildlife in the adjacent treetops. Enjoy your coffee on our spacious main deck or upper deck relaxing on the lounges or swinging in the hammock. Next, take a short walk to the beach on our private pathway for the delight of your trip-snorkeling in the clear waters of Orchid Beach for the colorful coral formations and multitude of sea life-don't forget the camera. Now it's up to the house for lunch from your gourmet kitchen or maybe barbecue some lobster on your gas grill-Yum!

But again the beach calls you, so off to relax the afternoon hours away on your chair float in our calm waters or have a siesta on the lounge chair/hammock on our deck or at the sandy beach area adjacent to Orchid Beach at the end of our wood pathway. As the day draws to a close, time for sunset. Such decisions-sand chairs on the dock or the panoramic views from the upper deck with your favorite beverage, the best of both worlds. Balinese lights, tiki torches, Caribbean music in the background, set the mood for your dinner on our main deck. Your evening ends, viewing the stars and the moon on the upper deck with a light cooling breeze-Wow! You are on top of the world. An Orchid Breeze experience, a dream come true.

Keywords: Vacation Home, Rental Home, Roatan Vacation Rental, Roatan,Villa, Rental Accomodations

More Details
Hide Details

Orchid Breeze is owned by 2 couples. Eric & Karen Zimmer and Ed & Debbi Herman. We all live in Napa Valley, California. We have been friends for over 20 years and both love the warm tropical weather and beaches. The Zimmer's have 2 boys, both married and 2 granddaughters. The Herman's family consists of 2 happy brown dogs, Bogie & Dixie. Since Eric is the only one retired, he spends more time sunbathing and sleeping in the hammock while the rest of us still work. Karen and Debbi both are employed in the medical field, so their schedule permits frequent visits to Roatan. Ed, working in the busy wine business, comes when he can, but he never misses hearing about all the exciting new changes and new friends around our small island and takes full advantage of the serenity of Orchid Beach when he is visiting . We hope you too, can enjoy some time at Orchid Breeze and see how easy life can be.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

This story actually starts in 1977, when the Zimmer's took their first cruise at the age of 27. They decided then, they wanted a home in the Caribbean. Their search took them thru about 25 islands until one day, Karen met a lady in 2000 who told her to come to 'her island'. Having never heard of Roatan, off they went and 3 days after arrival decided this was 'the right island'. For 5 years the Zimmers vacationed on Roatan at West Bay Beach and invited friends to join them. The Hermans came one year and decided Roatan was also for them and so the plan formulated between the two couples. In 2005, Karen's girlfriend who lived on Roatan showed them the perfect house (Orchid Breeze), the phone call was made to the Hermans and the rest is history. Our love for warm water, sandy beaches, evening sunsets, tropical weather, great food, friendly people, close access to the states and just relaxing on calm clear waters makes Roatan the perfect place for us. We even manage a little snorkeling and diving when we are feeling ambitious. Life just does not get any better than this calm serene life Roatan allows. Orchid Breeze is perfect for us, come see for yourself and you may be living next door!

Location is the best. Orchid Breeze is just a few feet from the ocean via our own pathway but yet private with our surrounding lush extensive tropical gardens. Our home offers 2 large decks for complete relaxation and spectacular views of the ocean during the day and colorful sunsets and star gazing at night. Because Orchid Breeze is located between two hot spots on Roatan (West Bay Beach and West End) you have every activity, restaurant, bar, store available to you in minutes. We have a caretaker, housekeeper, cook if needed, babysitter, property manager or owner available at all times, drivers, 24 hr security, security safe for valuables, contacts to all activities on the island so your vacation can be carefree and safe. Just ask. Our motto and maybe yours-'Life just does not get any better'.

20 Reviews of Property 195780 in Roatan, Bay Islands Honduras

ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
average rating of 4.6 based on 20 reviews
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Minneapolis, MN USA
5

simply wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Well the title really says it all. Everything about Orchid Breeze is exactly how it is listed. The house is beautiful, Karen was a wealth of information, and we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more! The location is perfect- far enough away from the tourist nightmare of West Bay that we didn't feel crowded and close enough to the laid back West End where we spent most of our time. Freddie, the house driver, is wonderful. He picked us up from the airport, made a stop at the grocery store before taking us to the house. We used him for most of our driving needs including a short island tour. He is quite the character and seems to know everyone on the island! There really is nothing more that I can say that isn't said better by the photos and description here. I highly recommend staying here if you want a laid back island experience with out the hustle and bustle of the usual tourist mess. We felt very secure in the house and were very pleased with the safe and security system. While were were on the island, we got PADI certified using Coconut Tree Dive shop located in West End. They were great and knew the house so they picked us up every day with no problem. We are looking forward to coming back....soon....and often!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
puerto viejo, costa rica
5

100% excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We so much enjoyed your house, we did not wane go home at the end of our stay. While we where planning on exploring the island this time, we ended up staying 90% of our time in and around the house. Why going elsewhere when you feel so comfortable where you already are. Eric was really nice to us. He is your best neighbor. Was very helpful to us all the time and nice to know someone keeps an eye on the place when while you are out. When our luggage did not arrive on time, Eric was very helpful to give us a ride to pick it up.
When we first checked out the location of the house on Google Earth, we thought it’s far out and not easy to access the house. In reality it just turned out to be very different. It’s actually very comfortable to be out of West end and West bay crowd. Every 5-10 you can stop a water taxi if you want to leave which dropped you of at $3 each in eighter one of the two communities. Walking to West bay is only 10 minutes and very enjoyable to. Since we did all our shopping on the first day, during our stay we did not need anything to shop for. I can recommend you to do the same.
The big difference between this house and staying at some kind of a cabin elsewhere on the island, is that you feel home. It’s a house with a soul. This makes all the difference. First off all it’s all very complete, I could not mention one thing we where missing. I loved the toasty machine.
The small beach just down the stairs is great. Very private and great snorkeling. We enjoyed it to have it quiet on our beach and not to have to share as in West Bay our beach with lots of others. Just towards the right site in the water are lots of fabulous coral formations and tons of fish. As being a fish in a big aquarium yourself. If you are a scuba diver you will even enjoy better. Roatan is by far the best of all places I dived. We used Anemone divers just on the cliff when you enter West bay. Very professional. Ask for the “ black rock” dive. This was my favorite.
On Thursday don’t forget to eat at Beaches. Wow, together with Eric we enjoyed the fantastic lobster menu. 2 lobster tales +mojito for $16!! Right on the beach at sunset. What else do you need during your vacation.
Al the ingredients to have a fantastic holidays are their. What a place. We look forward to visit again. Thank you so much Eric and Karen for all you shared with us.
Pamela & Edsart
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fabulous time

  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a fabulous time……….great beach, beautiful water, snorkeling, kayaking, great food in both West Bay and West End, lovely and peaceful home!  Thank you so much!  We’ll be back! 

 

Kathi & Steve
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Time

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Wanted to thank you again for being such awesome hosts---the Roatan house was beautiful and our vacation was perfect.
The dive op we used turned out to be very good. It's Coconut Tree Divers and is right next to the roundabout in West End...quite the hub of activity as I'm sure you've noticed driving by. Seems like everyone stops by and hangs out chatting. The owners are Gay and PJ (Brit ex-pats). They've been running the shop for over 10 years. It's very organized. The have a morning 2-tank boat leaving at 8:30 and two individual afternoon boat dives, at 1:30 and 2:30. They charge $30 per dive (35 if you need rental dive equipment) which is a competetive rate. All dives are guided and the sites are close. After more than 1000 dives, I'd give them a solid B+ and would recommend them to independent (DIY) divers. Not so much to the "pampered pets" as they actually expect divers to carry and set up thier own gear.
Two nice restaurants in West End: Monkey Island for Mexican food. Awesome Mexican tortilla casserole and fajitas. Also Carribean Blue (down toward the end) for Tex-Mex, great burgers and steaks (he imports the meat from Texas) and ribs. Owner is Eddie from Texas, cheap prices.
Stay away from Eagle Rays. Expensive and boring cookie-cutter carib menu. But nice deck and very potent Rum drinks.
We enjoyed the laid back pace and people better in West End over West Bay which seemed more "resorty". Had a nice party for Super Bowl at Infinity Bay...thanks for the tip (and thanks Eric for the ride home!) Too bad about the Niners...
Omar was very professional and reliable.
We rented scooters from Vans in WE, $39 for 24 hours. Fun way to see the island.
We walked to/from WB a couple of times without incident.
Anyway, thanks again. Had a great time
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Brookfield, WI
5

Welcoming House - Great Location - Super Snorkeling

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family of 5 was in Roatan from 12-25/1-5 and spent the last 6 night of our stay at Orchid Breeze. The house is situated in a quiet small private community about a miles beach walk either way between West End & West Bay (we were there just after rainy season and to go to West End you did need to do a little rock hoping but it was still doable via beach). West End had nice restaurants with great food/prices. One bad experience dining at the Lighthouse - our quick lunch there turned into a nearly 4 hour ordeal and to make thing worse the food was not good. Recommend Tongs, Monkey Bar, Barefoot on the Beach (right before you hit the street on the beach - great food/service our last night). West Bay in the other direction offered great snorkeling and beach sitting. I suggest trying the Deli in the Market for lunch.
The snorkeling in the shallows right in front of the house was very good and for the strong swimmer you can swim out to the reef (I would gage at 1/4 mile out might be more). We saw fish of all variety including a group a sea turtles and a star fish. My sons 12, 20 & 22 loved it.
The house had everything you good need including great views (it sits above 2 other houses but you still have good ocean views and lush forest around). There was a bottom deck with a hammock, plenty of seating and a table perfect for family games. The upper deck was great for taking in the weather or sun in mid afternoon. Inside had comfortable furniture, fans, ac, large dining table, well stocked kitchen (including basic spices, plastic wraps, coffee filters and other small things that are nice to not have to purchase while traveling). The Eldons store which has everything else you might want was about 20 min drive back toward the airport - not to far.
I would recommend a vehicle for ease on the island. No problem finding things as there is mainly only one road (just take it slow). I recommend Thrifty, they are in the airport. I originally setup with Dollar but couldn't get a person on island to confirm so I switched. I was so happy I did because nobody was at Dollar when we arrived. If you like to fish seak out Captain Clay on West End. He will do fishing, island & snorkeling trips. Originally from Louisiana He was great to deal with.
I would highly recommend Orchid Breeze it is in a great spot and the island Managers Brad/wife Ruth, who watch while the owners aren't there, attended to any ?'s / problems we had very promptly.
MANY THANKS
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Denver Colordao
5

Great, relaxing vacation in Roatan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I stayed at Orchid Breeze for 2 weeks with my son and his girlfriend. Roatan has by far the best reef and snorkeling I have experienced: Tahiti included. The water is clean and reef is healthy. We loved this location because it was half way between two beach towns about 15-20 minutes walking or 5 minutes by water taxi. We utilized the kayaks provided and paddled out to the reef, anchored and had wonderful snorkeling.
I loved the decor and casual comfort of the house. We love to cook on vacation and the house had everything. We were lucky that the owners were present (apt downstairs) and were very helpful and receptive to any of our needs or concerns. The house is a short walk to the beach but I would not suggest this for older people or people who have a hard time getting around. If you are in fairly good health this is the best of all worlds:set over the beach, in the trees, with 2 great big patio decks. We found the island friendly to tourists and the larger grocery stores have great selections of fresh produce and wonderful local coffee. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Awesome Vacation

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had the most awesome vacation staying at the Orchid Breeze! What's not to love about the views from the top deck and sitting out on the lower deck in the hammock reading a good book or eating our meals... not to forget the wine time. The house has everything you need for a good time.



Every morning we did our daily walks to "the Wall at West Bay" and backm enjoying watching the beach come to life. We preferred the quieter non cruise days actually and that is why we also loved the location of the house. Every afternoon at the heat of the day we took out the "floatees" and did the relaxing water watch. We also enjoyed kayaking to the reef and talking with the sailboat owners anchored close by.



We found that one of our favorite parts of staying at Orchid Breeze was how Karen and Eric prepared us for the stay and that included everything from being welcomed by Banjo at the airport along with Karen and Eric and a nice cool brewski from their cooler to the stop off for our groceries. They informed us of all the places to see and do and we found our own favorites along the way. We enjoyed both the West Bay and the West End both for eating and dancing. The little outdoor Catholic Mass at the West End was precious and our favorite West End bar, Sundowners, was quite the place to take in the locals. Another highlight was the hydroponic gardens where we met the owner and enjoyed her story.



We enoyed our 2+ weeks which seemed to fly by. The combination of both eating out and in, while making a point of experiencing all the island has to offer was great! Thanks Karen and Eric and we looking forward to going back with our family.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
bergen county NJ
2

Not what I was lead to believe.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Roatan was great. The house leaked in the rain. The pictures on the beach were of turtle beach not Orchid breeze. Some other photos were from the deck of Pink orchid.. All in all I feel lied to about this house.But I would good back to roatan in a sec. but not here.
Owner's Response: Our property managers have sent 3 people to look at the house in the last week since the Venet departure. They have not found a leak in the house and it has continued with heavy rain the entire week. We have requested more information from the Venet family in order to contain the leak. We have changed the wording on the pictures of the beach and dock area to reflect where the pictures were taken. We show these pictures from the bluff only for a better view so our clients can see what is available to them. It was not meant to mislead. Our deck pictures do show our home amidst trees and our initial description indicates the location of the house to be behind and above the other homes, therefore, not being oceanfront, but with ocean views. We do share the amenities on the beach area with our neighbors and all beach areas in Roatan are public. This beach area area (adjacent to our wood pathway) is much nicer and softer sand than our beach area directly in front of our village, therefore we provide our own amenites in this area for our guests so they can have the most comfortable and relaxing time in Roatan. We are sorry they did not enjoy Orchid Breeze as many others have in the past and we hope they will return to Roatan again, hopefully in better weather..
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Santa Rosa, California
3

One month stay between April and May 2011!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My husband and I rented this house due to good reviews. It has taken some time for us to submit our review as we hoped to refine our thoughts and also did not relish the idea of submitting a less than positive review. Ultimately,since we use this site so much,we felt obligated to write of our experience. Prior to our trip,Karen (owner), was very helpful,informative and prompt in response to questions. When we arrived in Roatan we were met by the driver,taken to the store,and then driven to the house.The house is in a great area, between West End and West Bay and is a very quiet and attractive cluster of homes. Ron and Patricia welcomed us to the home,showed us the ropes,and told us that the AC in the bedroom with access to the deck was not operating. We were told it would be tended to in a few days. The house is nice,has 2 wonderful decks,the kitchen is fully stocked,and the snorkeling right out front is the best on the island. The other renters were friendly and the neighbors below the house were wonderful! About 2 weeks into our trip we called the property managers as the AC hadn't been fixed, the DVD player wasn't working, and the AC in the main area was not cooling the area,forcing us to seek refuge in the bedroom to cool down. Later,the property managers arrived with workmen and we were told that the AC in the 2nd bedroom couldn't be fixed on that visit,they tuned up the one in the main room,although it was noted that it was not sufficient for the space,and there was no mention of the DVD. A new AC was required and would need to be brought from the mainland so we decided we would have to make due and enjoy our remaining time. While we loved Roatan,traveled the island several times,meeting wonderful people along the way,the lack of appropriate AC,which we were paying for,certainly impacted our vacation,comfort and enjoyment of the property. Days before our departure the AC was ready to be installed but that was held off due to the impact it would have on us. When we checked out with Ron we discussed the positives/negatives and toward the end of June contacted Karen by e-mail to share our views. She responded with an explanation and said she had planned to contact us upon our return in May,but would now due so upon her return to CA. That has not happened in over a month and is now a moot point. A missing kayak paddle was to be replaced upon our arrival. It never was.We have happily rented 15+ times;this time was average for above reasons.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Jack & Tammy were wonderful people to have in our home. We had visited our home two weeks prior to their arrival and everything was working at that time. On their arrival they were informed the A/C was not working. Unfortunately, as I sent a lengthy email to them on their return, we were NOT informed of this problem until nearly 3 weeks in to their stay. Roatan is a small island with all manufactured parts needed to be shipped to the island. We were in constant communication with our property managers to get this problem fixed after they informed us midway thru their stay. The maintenance man did not get back to us until 10 days later with price and A/c. We also tried to get other bids from other contractors. We finally got a unit 3 days prior to their departure and would take 2 days to install. We did not want workers bothering them in their last days there, therefore the A/C was installed after departure so as not to have workers bother them during their last days. They did have full A/C in the bedroom and living room that was working at full force in highest heat in May. There was 2 people staying in the house. We were never informed of the dvd not working until after they left and a new dvd player was available the entire stay in our own unit for their use if we had known. The original kayak paddles were lost by previous renters The kayak paddles were ordered by a local business in April and were not received during their stay. We were told they would be there by May 1st. We tried 5 different businesses to obtain these and none were available. On their return, I did call them with no answer and sent a lengthy email explaining our situation in this matter of not being aware and the followup with our property managers on a daily basis once we knew there was a problem.
We treat our clients on a personal basis as they are staying in our home and we want them to feel right at home. Our home is not just a rental, but a home away from home. As all homes have items that break downand need to be replaced, we strive to take care of these things in a timely manner. Island living is a challenge, life is getting better and we will continue to diligently keep up on all maintenance as we have done in the last 6 years. We personally will be on site 6 months in 2012 to manage, so life at Orchid Breeze will be top notch.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
ORCHID BREEZE/2BR HOME/OCEANVIEWS/50 FT FROM BEACH/SNORKELING/WESTBAY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p195780vb
(707) 812-2682 (California, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Petaluma
5

Great location, great owners to work with, lots of fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We just spent 8 blissful days with another couple in Orchid Breeze. The location was convenient to walk or water taxi to West Bay or West End. Karen was so helpful in providing tips and information. It really helped us get more out of our time there. Snorkeling was great. All the water toys were great to have available. We took a short walk down the beach to Gumbalimba Park for Zip lining. It was great having Ron and Patricia meet us when we checked in. They are very nice and helpful. Thank you Karen and Eric for sharing your comfortable, well-equipped home with us! Joe and Lori Chatterton Petaluma, CA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2