Coos Bay house rental - View from across Glenn Creek, hammock on the left,
View from across Glenn Creek, hammock on the left,
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Coos Bay House Rental Photos and Description
Lodge, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths

** 10% off remaining dates in March **

Relax and revive in this artistic 'cabin' with wonderful views of historic Glenn Creek from every room. An architectural dream, you enter this lodge style home through a pivoting hobbit style front door with hardware from the 1800's. Highlights of this original home include a gourmet kitchen with labradorite granite counters, 800 year old juniper tree spiral stair case, huge beams and exposed rafters, a sauna, and a romantic wood stove. Also each upstairs bedroom has a hanging bed with three 8 foot skylights above for indoor star gazing. Original artworks from local artists are throughout the home. Many pleasantries await the curious such as embedded fossils in the cracked mud walls.

Nestled amongst towering fir and cedar trees, with windows everywhere, you'll feel and see nature's presence. This home site has a remarkably peaceful way about it.

Check out more pictures at www.belowthefallslodge.com

Recently featured in Southern Oregon Magazine and KCBY 11 TV's ~In Focus~ 'Goin' Green' and Oregon's Solar Home Tour, this is a unique 'green' home. This home was built with environmentally friendly materials. Building with little impact on the surroundings was very important to us during construction. The myrtle hardwood floor in the kitchen and living room was milled on site which came from trees that stood where the house is now. Same story for the beautiful maple flooring in the ½ bath. All of the large beams and fir flooring came from two 4' thick 104 year old douglas fir trees which also stood and were milled where the house is now. The fir trees sprouted after the last forest fire that came through the canyon. One of our neighbors fell a sixty five year old redwood that was over six feet thick! We used some of it as a wonderful wainscot paneling throughout the house. All of the finishes used are no or low VOC. Surrounding the house is native vegetation, huge trees and a few herbs and spices for cooking.

You'll enjoy the fully equipped kitchen with labradorite granite counters. The kitchen island has a new five burner gas stove with a convection oven and warming oven. The island has plenty of granite and wood counter space. Hanging from the exhaust hood are stainless, non-stick, and cast iron cookware. Also included are coffee and a grinder, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, utensils, chef knives, glasses and frosty cocktail glasses in the freezer. The dining room table has a river view and can seat eight. There is also seating for three at the island bar. From the kitchen you can visit with the folks in the living room thanks to the open floor plan. Beside the wood stove are two chairs and the futon couch with reading lamp. A CD changer and TV with a DVD player and VHS machine are in the downstairs bedroom. Bring your favorite videos or browse our selection of movies.

The property has 150 feet of creek frontage with great views of Glenn creek, the forest and distant cliffs. Enjoy wildlife viewing with River Dippers, Chipmunks, Kingfishers, Great Blue Herons, Screech Owls, Pileated Wood Peckers, Elk, an occasional Bald Eagle or River Otter and other wildlife from the house and back deck. Build a fire and have lunch on the nearby picnic table and benches.

More Details
Hide Details

When I'm not crabbing I clam or go fishing.Sometimes a walk on the beach or the trails along the ocean cliffs out by Shore Acres is just right. Don't tell anyone but the surfing here isn't so bad either. I love this place!

Shane Daugherty - Owner/Builder purchased this house in 2005

The narrow canyon valley below Golden and Silver Falls is wonderful. I grew up here moved away, and came back for the natural beauty and solitude of the Oregon rain forest. This area has been a favorite of mine since I was a youngster. In 2005 when the bare land became available I jumped on it and started a three year art project which became Below the Falls Lodge.

One of my favorite things is to take a hot sauna then jump in the creek. It really makes you feel alive. Also during the warmer months the upstream swimming hole has a rock to jump off of. Fall and Winter are great also, following the rain wild mushrooms come then salmon and steelhead. I really enjoy hiking the falls by the light of the full moon. The old growth fir and cedar are so amazing. The lodge was a huge art project, I tried to be unique and creative during the entire construction process. I think you'll appreciate it.

34 Reviews of Property 330000 in Coos Bay, Oregon

Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
average rating of 4.852941 based on 34 reviews
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
Brighton, MI
5

A refreshing and liberating experience for our entire family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Thank you Shane for opening your home to us! It was truly a refreshing and liberating experience for our entire family. Each of us was enthralled with the wondrous setting that "Below the Falls Lodge" calls its homestead. The gentle whooshing of the creek, the calls of the birds, and the sweet swaying of the trees rocked us into a natural harmony filled with happiness and contentment. You've created such a beautiful and imaginative home! It is so in tune with the gorgeous surroundings that it feels like the house itself is alive and growing out of the mountain. What an awesome achievement! You've thought of every detail to make a home that seems to anticipate its inhabitants' needs. We've all been able to really relax and enjoy it, only wish we could stay longer. We can't believe you would want to part with this place! It was difficult for us to leave and we were only guests! Thank you again for sharing and much health and happiness to you and your family. Regards, The Zamplas Family (Bill and Bev - Brighton, MI, Lindsey -Venice Beach, CA, and Nik - Brighton, MI)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
4

Cozy Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My two daughters and I really enjoyed our cozy little getaway in Coos Bay, OR. Below the Falls Lodge was very clean and well-maintained. The description was very accurate. This place was so unique! It was so unique in fact that it made my girls a little uneasy at first : ) After about 1/2 a day they decided it was cool and fell in love with it. We absolutely LOVED having the river right outside the back door. It was so nice to have a short 3 mile round trip walk to the Silver and Golden Falls from the cabin. Once you get to the park the easy round trip hike to the falls are only 15 min. apiece. So peaceful and relaxing!! We enjoyed eating out on the deck for lunch. THANK YOU so much for sharing your home with us.
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
5

Romantic Getaway in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Magical. Fully equipped cottage. Waterfalls walking distance !
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
5

Amazing place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I had a great time staying here! I was a bit anxious driving to it, seeing that you lose all cell service on the way (it doesn't help I can get lost at the drop of a hat), but it was quite easy. Not to mention the drive there is down right beautiful!! (Granted the whole area is beautiful so...). Oh, and if its raining I will say the unpaved road has several pot holes, so be warry if you're in a low rental car (like I was haha).

Once I arrived I was actually a bit early and caught the cleaning lady leaving, she was super nice and even gave me little run down of where things were which I really appreciated! (If she happens to read this - Thanks again!!)

The Lodge itself was just amazing, my dog Lola had a fit trying to cover it all when we first arrived. I loved the swinging beds to relax on (unfortunately sleeping on them with a figety dog - not so great) but the downstairs couches were great too! The sauna was so relaxing and an evening by the fire hit the spot. Being close to the Gold & Silver Falls was amazing as well (I highly recomend checking them out). By then end of my stay I really hated to leave! It was so relaxing and beautiful!! I defintely plan on returning!!

The only thing that took me off guard was the place next door being well so close. I didn't expect it to be right there, and I only worried because my dog is one of those enter the house ask permission later kind of dogs, so it made me nervous when I let her out to roam around. Otherwise I rarely noticed anyone was there.

Overall, Amazing place!! So glad I could stay there! :D
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
Medford, Or
5

Great Escape!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a wonderful time staying in this house, I was less then anxious to come home! It was a nice escape and we had a great time with friends and family without our cell phones and internet! Imagine that! The house was just as described, unique and beautiful. The house was clean when we arrived and well maintained. The first night we stayed we had 6 adults + Pomeranian and there was more then enough room for us all, the second night two people had to leave so the house almost felt empty! The house is so open and feels very spacious! Each room has its own thermostat plus the wood stove so we were able to stay nice and comfortable. We walked from the house up the road to the Silver and Golden Falls Park. The park is a mile and a half up the road and the trails are both about 20min walking round trip. The hikes to both waterfalls were easy terrain and we had fun exploring and climbing around the waterfalls. The waterfalls themselves were so amazing! Have to see for yourself! The sauna was so great!!!!! The guys stayed in the sauna while I was relaxing in front on the hammock, with my dog in my lap, and the sound of the creek rushing by. The guys all run out of the sauna, jumped in the creek, and run back lol. It was fun! We all cooked dinner together in the kitchen and played card games until we all passed out. I could go on and on about this place, it comes highly recommended and highly rated for a reason!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
5

Enchanting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
A beautiful home surrounded by the forest and sounds of the rushing creek outside the backdoor. The home is very clean and well-appointed with a well-stocked kitchen. We cooked a yummy dinner and enjoyed a very relaxing stay. The suspended beds aren't for everyone but there is plenty of other sleeping space downstairs. You will travel up a lovely 21 mile road that is paved and will change to gravel the last few miles. It's an easy drive "by daylight" if you just follow the signs to Golden and Silver Falls and you'll note you follow the river all of the way up.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
5

Excellent vacation with the home as a highlight.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great time relaxing and visiting the towns, falls, and beaches. The home is amazing and very private, and not as far from amenities as we thought it might be (35 minutes driving). Thanks to Shane for a great stay. (If I ever am able to build a vacation home of my own, I hope he'll be available to build it.)
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying, and I am available to build homes especially if they are unique and in a beautiful location. Cheers, Shane
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
5

Perfect setting for a complete R&R!

Perfect setting for a complete R&R!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We just came back from our one-week stay at Shane's amazing lodge, by the creek/river. Absolutely one of the most relaxing vacations we've enjoyed at this lodge and its natural attractions, Falls, trails, and towns. A perfect house, very nicely designed, for us who enjoy cooking together, sleeping soundly, playing in the creek mere a stone's throw from the deck, sweating in the sauna, and listening to the birds and the river flow. Shane's fair and a pleasure to deal with which very much adds to the enjoyment of the house and it's "afterglow."
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
5

One of a Kind - Soul filled place in the woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
You will be so glad you came to this soul filled lodge in the woods. The pictures tell the story of how unique this home is, but it is even more beautiful in person. You feel the love of nature all around, whether relaxing with a book by the wood burning fireplace, ascending the juniper spiral staircase, or sitting by the babbling brook. The drive into the lodge is wonderful as well; as we meandered along the riverside, we were welcomed by a majestic bull elk who stopped in the middle of the road, long enough for us to take in his magnificence, and then he wandered back into the woods. We would have been happy with just the basics in such a place, but Shane included all the amenities to ensure an incredibly comfortable stay. As a fellow rental property owner, I can assure you that Shane's expectations of his guests are simple and completely valid. I can honestly say that of the numerous places we have stayed in our many travels, this ranks in the top two! I promise you, if you come to Below the Falls Lodge, you won't want to leave, we didn't.

Therese Bowler and Jim Cooke,
Renewal Retreat
Ontario, Canada
Owner's Response: I hope I get a chance to go to Canada and visit sometime. I really appreciate your kindness and am glad you experienced the bull elk. I need to spend some more time exploring the great north so I may be that way! Shane
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Below the Falls Lodge - The Trilliums are in Bloom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330000
+1 541 404-9349
Coos Bay Coastal Oregon
Corvallis, OR
5

Special and totally worth the drive

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We came down from Corvallis in early January for my husband's birthday. The drive to get to the house was awesome... the road goes from 2-lane paved, to one-lane paved, to gravel, to (for us) a mix of gravel, mud and snow. But we made it and joined our friends Friday night. Our party was 4 adults, two 2-year olds and my dog and we felt that the house was just a perfect size for us. We had been a little concerned about the little ones and the stairs but with a little extra vigilance, they did great. The kitchen was very well-appointed and nice to cook in. We all loved the feel of having the outside in, with the cactus light, the juniper, the fossils, the open design, the creek's music from outside... The house just has an air to it that is pretty incredible, hard to explain, and must be experienced. We all agreed that we'd return to this absolute beatuy in a heartbeat. The mamas are particularly looking forward to more sauna time and the men are looking forward to the searuns.

And yeah, those falls are awesome.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2