Northville cabin rental - Mother nature at its best in this charming, comfortable river front cabin with loads of amenities!
Mother nature at its best in this charming, comfortable river front cabin with loads of amenities!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Northville Cabin Rental Photos and Description
comfortable king bedroom, gas fireplace,view of river, dish tv, wifi, snow shoes

This charming, comfortable, cozy cabin is located in the southern Adirondacks in the town of Benson. It has a great location and overlooks the Sacandaga river.

Leave the stresses of life behind and enjoy the tranquil river and nature all around you. Stay right here or use as a base to see the many sights and activities the Adirondacks has to offer.

The quaint village of Northville is only 4 miles away for all your basic needs, including restaurants, groceries, gas, shopping..etc.

Lapland Lake cross country ski resort is only 6 miles away.

Oak mountain downhill is 35 minutes from the cabin. Gore mountain is 1 hour away.

Saratoga Springs and Lake George are only 45 minutes away.

The cabin is furnished with a full kitchen, a wonderfully comfortable king bed, a pretty gas fireplace, central heat, air conditioned, flat screen satellite HD TV with over 200 channels,dvd player, dvds, stereo, Internet access,land line with complimentary long distance (USA only), Verizon cell service, washer ,dryer, gas grill or charcoal grill, love swing, and an outdoor fire pit with plenty of free wood.

Enjoy the peaceful river views from the big comfortable rocking chairs on the covered porch.

Get away from the hectic lifestyle for awhile and explore the beautiful and adventuress Adirondacks!

The cabin is so cozy, comfortable and inviting. You may chose to stay in, unwind and relax as you enjoy the beauty of the river and nature right outside your window

It's truly a very special spot, and would make a wonderful gift to give to that 'special person' in your life!

If you are picky about your comfort and like all the amenities, this is the place to come to.

Call now and we'll be happy to book a reservation for you!

More Details
Hide Details

The love of nature and desire to be near water with peaceful surroundings has always been a dream of mine. After living in Ma all my life, I moved here to the beautiful Adirondacks in 2009 with my husband Doug.

Cheryl purchased this cabin in 2006

Doug and I have always had this crazy notion to find the most undesirable properties in dire need of rehabbing. We somehow have seen their potential, where most would have run away..fast!

When we first looked at this overgrown property with a very neglected, poorly laid out, run down cabin, we excitedly began brain storming on how to transform this ugly duckling into the peaceful, charming beauty it is now. The bigger the challenge the greater our motivation. With a lot of ideas, hard work and some hired carpenters, when the tasks were just too much. the dream was complete.The final result..a cozy,rustic, yet updated cabin with an exceptional view of the Sacandaga River.

We did all that while our home, and jobs were in MA. We lived in MA, but our hearts longed for the day we could make Northville (Benson) NY our home. Well...long story short, in 2009 we sold our home in MA and moved into the cabin while our home next door was being built. Ten months later we moved out of the cabin into our new home.

The cabin was just too special to not share with others so we decided to offer it as a vacation rental. Now into it's 4th successful year, our many very pleased, happy guests long to return. The numerous comments left in our guest book along with the rave reviews on the Home Away site speak for themselves.

We strive to make vacations for each of our guests special, while creating wonderful memories, which will leave our guests longing to return again! The many amenities along with it's appealing, comfortable furnishings, peaceful river views with nature surrounding the cabin make this a unique vacation destination.

We welcome you to experience this wonderful exceptionally cozy, romantic cabin as so many guests have already!

36 Reviews of Property 329835 in Northville, New York

peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 36 reviews
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Sacandaga River Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Well, where to start,
My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to stay around these parts and happened upon this Cabin on your site. Had some questions/concerns but were just going to wing it and see how it worked out. I have never made a better decision to purchase something in my entire life. Period. This Cabin is amazing, you're cozily set up next to the Sacandaga River and you have EVERY amenity of home provided for you, down to the measuring cups. The house is great and well put together, nice appliances in the kitchen, great living room with birdhouses directly outside your window for close up bird watching, and they supply cable and movies on an LCD T.V. It's like your grandma's house with proper electronics. The bedroom supplies a bed that I would rate as one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. It was a hassle to get out of bed to go hiking around the area. "Ohhh do we have to go do something fun? I really don't want to get up." was a familiar saying this weekend. First world problems.

Doug and Cheryl are about the nicest and accommodating hosts that you will ever find. From our arrival to our departure they were always a phone call or a walk to the mainhouse away from answering our questions to what to do in the area, Doug pointed us to a restaurant on the lake that was absolutely fantastic, also hiking trails around the area and anything else that we needed. I really am serious about the accommodating, I wish that they had rental properties all over the country because I would never stay with anyone else. Period.

The price is a steal, the place is awesome, people are great. What more would you want? You can be like us and make a great homemade meal and then sit around and drink beer while having a fire in "your" yard and watching the river flow by. Talk about relaxation, it was the first time in a while that coming back to reality was a pain because I had lost all knowledge of stress as soon as I stepped foot in that place.
Owner's Response: WOW!! We can not thank you enough for that wonderful review. Doug and I say all the time how we miss living in the cabin. We stayed there for almost a year while our home was being built. There is something magical about it and I'm glad to know that our guests feel it also. We are truly blessed to be able to live in this beautiful area. It does bring us joy to share it with others and makes it worth while when we get rave reviews like yours. Thanks, and we hope you'll be back again.
Doug and Cheryl Gregor
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Another wonderful visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is our fourth year renting from Doug & Cheryl and I think my husband most looks forward to his discussions with Doug. The place is beautifully furnished by Cheryl who has the magic touch when it comes to comfy cosy. Lots of snow for skiing, lots of deer to watch. I can't think of a better more relaxing place to stay.
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
Victor
5

The Perfect "Cabin in the Woods"

The Perfect "Cabin in the Woods"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a wonderful weekend - the place was as cozy as could be. Furniture was comfortable, kitchen adequate, bed and bath were great! We took the drive around the north end of the lake - it was just lovely. Winter landscapes can be so dramatic.

We'd love to come back in the summer to see how the other half lives!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
Oneonta
5

Best Winter Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This wonderful Cabin is so cozy and perfect! My partner and I stayed for the weekend to just get away and relax. We could not have asked for a better place to stay than this fabulous cabin.

We went snowshoeing behind the property on many trails which was a total bonus to not have to drive anywhere but just put our snowshoes on and trek.

Cheryl and Doug, the owners, are the best hosts and really make you feel like this is a "home away from home." We will definitely be returning!!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review and so glad you mentioned the nice hiking/snow shoeing trails. They do make one more great reason, among many, to vacation here at our very warm and cozy cabin. We'd love to have you back. Any time of year is a good time with all kinds of outdoor activities close by. We hope to see you again!

Doug and Cheryl
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

The place was beautiful...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I had a wonderful time...the cabin was perfect...the area perfect....Doug and Cheryl were at my beck and call and offered help on directions and things to see as well as wood for my fires and good company. Would love to go back at a better time of year...the weather was a little fallish...lol..imagine that...in the fall...lots of things to do, even at this time of year and the place just demands peace and quiet...than you so much for a much needed break from my life!!
Owner's Response: You are welcome back anytime! We are so glad that you got that very needed time and rest. Please do come back and I'll be sure to get you to that "secret spot". Sorry the path was covered up by the leaves but grateful you found your way back! All our warmest wishes go out to you and we look forward to your return someday. Doug and Cheryl
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Quaint, inviting, and peace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My boyfriend and I were trying to figure out a place we can go to get away from our busy, hectic lives so we decided to go upstate to relax and unwind. Doug and Cheryl's cabin was the perfect place for us to stay. They were both so kind and helpful and made our stay that much better. The cabin is so clean and decorated so nicely and my boyfriend and I enjoyed every minute we spent there. Lake Algonquin is gorgeous and I recommend going kayaking down it if you go in the summer. The scenery was breathtaking and we took so many great photos. Thanks so much Doug and Cheryl for opening your cabin doors to us. We had a great time and got the relaxation we needed.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Wonderful Sacandaga Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a fantastic time during our week in Doug and Cheryl's cabin. All the amenities they provide certainly made our packing for the trip easier. The cabin is so comfortable-yet maintains it's vintage charm. The kayaks are a wonderful treat-make sure you take advantage of them while here! We paddled all over Sacandaga Lake and caught fish every day. The waterfalls and hiking is fantastic, but coming "home" to the cabin at the end of each day's adventures was so nice. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary while here and are hoping to come back for 21st!
Thanks so much to Doug and Cheryl-we enjoying getting to know you and Bo and Molly.
Chris and Deirdre Pifer
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Perfect for a weekend getaway or much longer stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I stayed here for a weekend to spend quality time after a very hectic work and family schedule. We could not have picked a better place.

Cheryl and Doug were extremely friendly and accomodating. We had originally reserved the studio, but since they cabin had not been rented out during our stay, they allowed us to choose. We took one look at the cabin and instantly fell in love. Even though we were here for only 2 nights, the cabin has plenty of storage room and space for 2 that a week or longer would not have been a problem. There was not a signle thing that I needed, that was not already provided.

Doug took the time to show us how to use everything within the cabin from the satelitte tv to the wireless internet and more. It was nice to have all the modern touches in such a quiet and relaxing setting. We especially loved the fire pit and enjoyed a steak dinner around it the first night.

The bird feeders were all filled so we could watch the numberous birds (and squirrels) right from the couch. Early evening we had left the cabin to head into town and traveled only about 50 yards down the road and saw a bald eagle on the river. What an amazing sight!

The cabin is located on pituresque Rte 30 which has many oppurtunities for hiking and sight-seeing with multiple lakes, rivers and trails. We spent one entire day just driving from spot to spot. Some of our favorites was Auger Falls about 3 miles north of Wells and Rock Lake, just south of Blue Mountain Lake. Unfortunately, the weather was chilly and windy so we did not have an oppurtunity to kayak on the lake, even though Doug had been kind enough to bring the kayaks down for us.

This is the perfect location for all seasons with the river right across the road for summer time fun and the numerous snowmobile trails make us want to return in the winter.

Thank you Cheryl and Doug for making our weekend so enjoyable!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this awesome review. I would just like to clarify that our cabin is one mile off of route 30, which makes it very quiet and peaceful. The proximity to route 30 make travel to so many great areas in the Adirondacks a plus, but you will not have the traffic noise while staying at our "cabin by the river!" Again, thank you for pointing out all the wonderful things you enjoyed while staying here. I welcome you back anytime! Each season is beautiful and worth experiencing! Our Best, Doug and Cheryl
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Exactly as described

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I spent our honeymoon here. It is a lovely cabin that is well equipped with everything needed. The kitchen has all the basic cooking supplies including spices and things like that. The setting is very peaceful and relaxing. There is plenty of hiking and outdoor activities within a few miles. The Gregors are wonderful hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. We would definitely like to return here someday.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

CHARMING!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
RAY AND I STAYED HERE THE FIRST TWO WEEKS OF JULY-WEATHER WAS GREAT!THE CABIN IS JUST SO ROMANTIC AND RUSTIC-PICTURES DO NOT EXPRESS ITS COZINESS AND PEACEFULNESS -DOUG AND CHERYL ARE GREAT!!!THE CABIN HAS EVERYTHING-AND IS SOOO CLEAN-AND THE BED-IT WAS LIKE SLEEPING ON MARSHMALLOWS!IT WAS A GREAT START FOR CELEBRATING OUR 40TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY-THANKS AGAIN-DIANA
Helpful votes: 3/3