West Tisbury house rental - House and Yard
House and Yard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

West Tisbury House Rental Photos and Description
Classic historical home , 4 Bedrooms+Sunroom,2 Baths,1 half bathroom.

Beautiful restored 130 year old Sea Captain's House on historic Music Street in the heart of West Tisbury. The home was lovingly restored to it's original splendor by the owners, keeping all the architectural features. The working fireplace is a delight on chilly evenings, the candle light dining room is wonderfully cozy to entertain friends. A spacious screened in porch allows al freco dinning, a quiet location to read the book you have been meaning to read for the last year but never had time. The bedrooms are bright and airy with shutters and ample closet space. The outdoor shower is great for when you return from the beach. The yard has area for outdoor dining. Ample parking.

Minimum 2 week rental

Keywords: 150 year old Traditional Clapboard Sea Captain's House, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard.

International fashion photographer moved to the Island in the early 80's after finding the wonderful serenity of Martha's Vineyard. The Isanders are such wonderful creative people, always willing to stop and chat.

Bob purchased this house in 1984

The Vineyard is a microcosm untouched by the outside world, it still has the old world values sadly disappearing from our lives. The quality of light and scenery are hard to beat, the beaches are magnificent. Not to mention the abundance of fish and bird life.

Quaint historical village situated in the center of Martha's Vineyard first settled in 1669. A rural setting, wonderful for country walks, scenic bike trails to most of the down island towns. The biweekly farmer's market, Artisans show and antique market at The Grange Hall are great fun and a fabulous source for the Island's best organic produce and an introductions to the local year round artists. The charming West Tisbury Public library has a marvelous selection of books both for adults and children, DVD of the latest films and documentaries. The pristine Lambert's Cove Beach belongs to the town which allows access to residents and renters for a small fee. Alley's General store in the heart of the village is an institution, first opened for business in 1858 has all the old world charm of another era where one can buy anything from local produce, coffee and pastries, newspapers to drill bits and light bulbs. The village is equidistant from Vineyard Haven, Oak Bluffs and Edgartown.

13 Reviews of Property 329587 in West Tisbury, Massachusetts

Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 13 reviews
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Washington DC
5

Great holiday, perfect setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved our stay at Bob's pretty, cosy and comfortable house on Martha's Vineyard. We found it to be ideally located and really well set up for our week long stay. It worked really well for two families and Bob was very helpful sourcing the various baby items we need ie baby seats, cribs etc. Whilst there may be newer properties available to rent, this house definitely had a warmth that added to our stay on the island. We have all agreed we would love to return and the house is a big part of that sentiment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
new york
5

wonderful vacation on Martha's vineyard

wonderful vacation on Martha's vineyard
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
i rented that lovely house on Music Street and i stayed with family and friend.
the house was wonderful ,every room was a delight with wonderful antiques.
we spent so many hours under the porch listening to the music from the Church next door.
the house is well located next to the farmer's Market and the general store ... being close to the beaches and still on the most scenic part of the island was amazing .. we were in a ver yquiet town but it was easy to go around to the main towns ..
i will come back next year ..
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Duxbury, MA
4

In the heart of the Vineyard...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Old sea captain's house in the center of the Vineyard…great location for getting either Up Island or to any of the down island villages. Conveniently located within walking distance to Alley's General store, 7A cafe, playground, Ag Hall, Middle Road, bike trails, bus line, State Rd. restaurant and Fiddlehead Farm. Well-equipped kitchen and dining areas, especially outside porch where we spent a majority of our time. Upstairs bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, as are baths. House is well-kept and clean. Outdoor shower is most functional and useful. Yard is pretty with flowers. Bob is a responsive landlord and owner and very available should you need help with anything regarding the house or the island. WE are exceptionally frequent travellers to the island and loved the location of the house - near our relatives but still afforded privacy. The floor plan is excellent for entertaining guests: lots of rooms and dining options. Sheets, towels, beach chairs and toys are all provided. We would want future renters to be aware that the house IS quite old and lacks in some modern conveniences: air conditioning, shower is second upstairs bathroom, two attached bedrooms, etc. However, the charm and the warmth of the place more than compensate for this.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Washington, DC
5

Fabulous experience!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Two magnificent weeks August 2013. Fabulous location at the epicenter of everything Vineyard...art, events, beaches, hiking, cycling, annual road race, Artisans fair, Agricultural fair, farmer's market, antique fair, restaurants, etc. Beautiful home meticulously decorated home away from home. The back porch is to die for as a whimsical living space for a vacation! Beautiful art and furnishings that inspire our own home. The owner was very attentive before during and after the rental. Great experience we will always remember. Great history including the original sea captain and Marilyn Monroe!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Rhode Island
5

Great End of Summer on the Vineyard

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family spent two wonderful weeks on Music Street. The house is large, well appointed, with comfortable beds, a well equipped kitchen, and perfect location in West Tisbury. Our family of four (two adult children with mom and dad) found the gigantic screened-in porch to be the best feature of the house. 90% of our awake time was enjoyed in this space, which also proved a great place to spend our rainy day on the Vineyard as well. Being in Central Vineyard provided great access to Tennis, bike paths, and beach. We are long time Summer visitors, and enjoyed most of our beach time at 'The Trustees of Reservation' beach at Long Point this year. Having the farmer's market, art fair, antiques fair across the street was a real plus. Bob G, the owner, went out of his way to accomodate us in the renting process with a low key approach to allowing us into his home. The Vineyard is a magical place and this home provides a great space to de-stress from your life off the island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Belmont, MA
5

August in West Tisbury

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We love this house! The property is every bit as beautiful as the pictures. The rooms are spacious and the furnishings are lovely. The large, well-furnished, screened-in porch which has a large table for dining was a great spot for meals and hanging out. We were a party of 6 adults; we love to cook and the kitchen was extremely well equipped, better than we have found in any of the many rentals where we've stayed in the past. We also loved the West Tisbury location. We usually stay in Vineyard Haven, but found West Tisbury to be more centrally located and a bit closer to our favorite beach at Long Point. To note: the town of West Tisbury (like many on the island) is a 'dry town' so you'll need to travel to Edgartown or Oak Bluffs for wine, beer, etc. so one needs to plan around that. We'll be back to this lovely, tranquil spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
5

Beautiful home in the center of West Tisbury

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This wonderful home in the center of West Tisbury was everything we were seeking this summer and more. The house is so spacious, we spent different times of the day in different rooms. The kitchen, with washer and dryer included, is a perfectly working kitchen to whip up any meal, and then enjoy it on the totally awesome screened in porch. As a family we spent most mornings and evenings sitting on this porch. A private back yard garden provided a place for us to play, and the outdoor shower was perfect when returning from the beach. Sitting in the center of West Tisbury we were a direct shot to all of our favorite destinations - Edgartown, South Beach and Menemsha. The street is walkable and bikeable, and the offerings of the various daily markets across the street made life even better. Alley's General Store and the bakery 7a behind us, as well as the library and art galleries, playground and an island bus stop and gas station, provided for everything we needed. The buzz of this local town was so fun to be a part of on a daily basis. Wonderful yoga studios are near by, as well as some relaxing drives to pick up some local honey, produce or totally delicious sandwiches and pizzas. The house was clean, airy, private and safe. It had all the amenities needed for daily life. The owner was 100% available at all times. We totally appreciated our month of July at this house. We would highly recommend this house for a lovely vacation of rest, relaxation, fun and adventure.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Music Street

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Bob's place is a gemstone: a beautiful place with a gorgeous garden and fabulous furniture and knick-knacks and the best plates I've ever seen in a kitchen! As a photographer, Bob has filled his house up with wonderful pieces and books and keeps the place meticulously neat and clean. I came with my 2 small dogs and he couldn't have been more accommodating and sweet. You will love it here. It's peaceful and comfortable. On the weekend you can literally fall out of bed into the farmer's market and there's a strawberry festival in the church. The West Tisbury beach is also to-die-for. Rent this place!
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
5

Beautiful home in the center of West Tisbury

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This wonderful home in the center of West Tisbury was everything we were seeking this summer and more. The house is so spacious, we spent different times of the day in different rooms. The kitchen, with washer and dryer included, is a perfectly working kitchen to whip up any meal, and then enjoy it on the totally awesome screened in porch. As a family we spent most mornings and evenings sitting on this porch. A private back yard garden provided a place for us to play, and the outdoor shower was perfect when returning from the beach. Sitting in the center of West Tisbury we were a direct shot to all of our favorite destinations - Edgartown, South Beach and Menemsha. The street is walkable and bikeable, and the offerings of the various daily markets across the street made life even better. Alley's General Store and the bakery 7a behind us, as well as the library and art galleries, playground and an island bus stop and gas station, provided for everything we needed. The buzz of this local town was so fun to be a part of on a daily basis. Wonderful yoga studios are near by, as well as some relaxing drives to pick up some local honey, produce or totally delicious sandwiches and pizzas. The house was clean, airy, private and safe. It had all the amenities needed for daily life. The owner was 100% available at all times. We totally appreciated our month of July at this house. We would highly recommend this house for a lovely vacation of rest, relaxation, fun and adventure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Historic Sea Captains House in the Heart of West Tisbury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329587vb
(305) 439-1383 (Florida, USA)
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
5

Beautiful home in the center of West Tisbury

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This wonderful home in the center of West Tisbury was everything we were seeking this summer and more. The house is so spacious, we spent different times of the day in different rooms. The kitchen, with washer and dryer included, is a perfectly working kitchen to whip up any meal, and then enjoy it on the totally awesome screened in porch. As a family we spent most mornings and evenings sitting on this porch. A private back yard garden provided a place for us to play, and the outdoor shower was perfect when returning from the beach. Sitting in the center of West Tisbury we were a direct shot to all of our favorite destinations - Edgartown, South Beach and Menemsha. The street is walkable and bikeable, and the offerings of the various daily markets across the street made life even better. Alley's General Store and the bakery 7a behind us, as well as the library and art galleries, playground and an island bus stop and gas station, provided for everything we needed. The buzz of this local town was so fun to be a part of on a daily basis. Wonderful yoga studios are near by, as well as some relaxing drives to pick up some local honey, produce or totally delicious sandwiches and pizzas. The house was clean, airy, private and safe. It had all the amenities needed for daily life. The owner was 100% available at all times. We totally appreciated our month of July at this house. We would highly recommend this house for a lovely vacation of rest, relaxation, fun and adventure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Wonderful tenants and adorable children. Such a pleasure for them to stay in my historic house.