Grand Valley lodge rental - Autumn view of lodge
Autumn view of lodge
 
  • Bedrooms16
  • Sleeps40
  • 9 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Grand Valley Lodge Rental Photos and Description
16 Bedroom, 9 Bathroom, Sleeps up to 35+ - 2 hr driving fr.Pittsburgh Clevelan

A delightful and authentic visit to the Pennsylvania Wilds! The secluded large rustic lodge consists of two side by side wings (buildings) connected by a deck walkway. Each wing has three levels. There are 28 rooms in all, each having lovely views of the surrounding forest. Multiple living room areas accommodate comfortable reading and relaxation spaces as well as venues for crafts, cards, board games and group exchanges. Libraries invite browsing. Expansive decks at the second level of each wing encourage similar activities outside.

There is a fully-equipped large kitchen with an adjacent large dining area; a kitchenette is also available for additional food preparation. Many cooks can comfortably work together without concern for “spoiling the broth.” (Guests are, of course, responsible for their own food. Recommendations for catering services and local restaurants will be available. (It should be noted, however, that restaurants and grocery stores are at least nine miles away.)

Although the lodge is rustic it is well-appointed with comfort features such as hot water baseboard heat fueled by natural gas from wells on the property. Some floors are oak hardwood; others are carpeted. Creative touches introduced by the owner-builder throughout the buildings surprise and delight guests.

A large barn (unheated) is available for indoor activities such as active game playing, dancing, dramatic performances, presentations to groups, yoga, tai chi, or whatever activity requires a large open space. The barn, like the lodge, has large decks for enjoying the woodland landscape.

There is a pond on the property and trails for walking through the 150 acres of fields and forests. Guests particularly enjoy the photographic opportunities and nature study. Outdoor activities are available including campfires and games such as croquet and volleyball.

The setting is suitable for gatherings, parties, retreats, reunions, weddings, workshops, receptions, and all kinds of music and social events. There is plenty of parking space for large events.

International guests are welcome. Rides from and to Erie or Franklin, PA airports can be arranged.

Keywords: Lodge Retreat

More Details
Hide Details

Margaret retired from a long career in education in 1992. She is a professor emerita from Syracuse University and served there in many capacities, including Associate Dean of the School of Education. Her doctorate in educational psychology was awarded by the University of Florida. She and husband John co-authored a widely- used college textbook, Becoming a Teacher of Young Children. She was a primary teacher early in her career in the schools of Jamestown, New York and a faculty member and teacher at Antioch College in their experimental elementary school. In her retirement Margaret enjoys photography, pastel drawing, cartooning, memoir writing. She especially enjoys photographing the many native wild flowers found in the Pennsylvania woods and fields. John’s background includes growing up in Oregon; Air Force years; college at Reed in Portland, OR; teaching and administrative posts at Syracuse University, Penn State, and Pacific Oaks College in Pasadena CA., and earning a Ph.D. in psychology and education from Syracuse University. His career focused heavily on evaluation research in education, business, and organizational settings and on management consulting. He has also been very involved in developing museum exhibits featuring his father’s invention, the DOBRO guitar. In their retirement, John and Margaret traveled to Slovakia several times and throughout Europe. John continues to write (plays, poetry, and memoir stories) and to develop and deliver a variety of personal development workshops. John had done many things of interest across his career; however, it was somewhat of a surprise when his previously underused talent for conceptualizing space and creating functional and appealing buildings blossomed in his retirement and resulted in the construction of the large lodge now being offered for vacation rentals.

John and Margaret Dopyera built their large retirement home in northwestern Pennsylvania during the early 1990s on land they had owned for many years. Margaret purchased the 150 acres from an uncle in 1970. Her ancestors were early settlers in the Grand Valley area. Margaret’s great-grandfather, Orange Robinson, had given the land the Dopyeras now own to Margaret’s grandmother, Cassie, at the occasion of her marriage to Archie Smith in 1900. Since the 1920s when the original family home burned there had been no dwelling. Only an apple tree and hearty daffodils continued to mark the spot where the Smith family had lived. The Dopyera’s newly-constructed home, listed herein for vacation rentals, is on another portion of the property. Margaret grew up on a nearby farm in this area, still very rural. She attended the neighborhood one room school and the consolidated high school in Youngsville, fifteen miles away. Part of the reason for buying and building on property in northwestern Pennsylvania had to do with the appeal of maintaining Margaret’s family roots. That, however, is just a small part of the story. The major reason was the quiet beauty of the land with its tall, majestic deciduous and hemlock trees, the wonderful freshness of the air and the abundance of clean water.

The Dopyera property offers the now-rare opportunity to vacation in a beautiful natural setting, remote from traffic, fast food, and the 'hurry' of modern life. It has the positive features of a camping trip yet the rustic accommodations are comfortable and well-appointed.

13 Reviews of Property 288167 in Grand Valley, Pennsylvania

NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
Nebraska
5

The Marvel of Mother Nature With All the Comforts of Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had 23 people in our party; 14 adults, 9 kids (two of which were 2 or under). Margaret went above and beyond to answer the multiple questions I had prior to our visit. I was very satisfied with her honest answers and descriptions. The lodge itself is totally amazing!
The main kitchen is well supplied for groups and there’s enough room for several cooks and helpers to work at various stations to prepare the meals or to cleanup.
Many bedrooms have adjoining baths while others are nearby. The bedrooms are virtually sound proof when the doors are closed.
We took advantage of all the sizable and comfortable gathering spaces on all floors in both wings. We also enjoyed the tables and chairs on the huge deck where we felt a strong connection with the peace nature offers.
The roof is built such that it provides shade on the deck when the sun is out and shelter if it’s raining. Under normal rainy conditions we could have windows opened and no rain came into the rooms. The exhaust fans in both wings works great to keep the temperature comfortable on hot days.
We built a fire in the fire pit nearly every evening using the firewood that was provided and gathered around it to visit and tell stories. We were pleasantly surprised at all the options for recreation that are provided for all ages.
The fields had lots of wildflowers and we picked a small bouquet for our dining table which lasted the whole week. We walked the trails and enjoyed photographing.
Nearly every room has bookcases of books filed by category; many interesting topics.
We were settled for a couple of days before anyone found and turned on a TV. Most of the time we were too busy being together, playing games, and making our own fun that we didn’t consider the need for TV. Mobile phones are iffy at best on the property. Those who needed to participate in a conference call or make a call drove to Titusville to get better reception. This also gave them an opportunity to buy gas, groceries, or other supplies.
The “barn” is a fun place. It has toilet facilities and a refrigerator/freezer available. There are many tables and chairs set up, a stage and mic. Honestly, when John built these fabulous structures he thought of everything! It’s a wonderful place for anyone who likes comfort and nature.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
Portersville, PA
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My family stayed the weekend for a "family reunion". There were 18 of us ranging in age from 5 - 65. The weather was awful, but we were still able to be together and have a great time. The barn was perfect for games, music and just bonding. There were also plenty of places inside to be together and still have fun. Margaret and John are very accomodating and are there if you need anything. The place is well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Had a great time and will be returning for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
Midland, MI
5

Fantastic Thanksgiving for family of 20!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
First I must say that dealing with Margaret (owner) by email to set up our Thanksgiving rental for family members coming from Eastern and Western NY State, VA, DC, MI was so pleasant. Margaret was very organized and efficient; she answered our many questions promptly and sent several attachements which helped with our planning, including a bedroom/bathroom list, Q&A facts, directions, etc. Woodland Lodge was absolutely the perfect place for our gathering and every one of our family members was extremely impressed.

We were thrilled to find how spacious and well equipped the lodge was. We wanted for nothing! All bedding, towels, toilet paper, paper towels, facial tissues, soap were plentiful. The lodges were spotless and very comfortable. We were able to seat our entire family of 20 at the same table for dinner. While both wings of the lodge had three levels, there were 2 bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, right off the main kitchen and great room that comfortably accommodated a physically challenged brother and 84-year old mom for the entire weekend. In fact they also had access to the other wing that was also on the same level.

We got lucky and had 50? weather for the first few days. We enjoyed the two indoor wood stoves as well as the outdoor fire pit. Chopped wood was in abundance. The snow on Saturday made the drive through hilly PA on Sunday a little challenging, but not for long before reaching the highway.

At the end of our perfect weekend, all we had to do was leave the beds unmade (not even stripped), towels over towel bars, garbage out to cans on the deck, pull the door shut, and leave.

We have just returned from our 4-day holiday weekend and I have been receiving emails from family members wanting to share pictures and memories and thanks. We were able to create a Thanksgiving memory to last us all a lifetime! We are most grateful to Margaret and Amy (inn keeper) for their warm hospitality, attention to detail, and concern for our comfort. We could not have asked for more!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
Western, Pa
5

SOLITUDE AS WE ARE TOGETHER

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Since we first stayed at the Dopyera Lodge, a few years ago, my wife and I have stayed there many times since. One thing that continues to surprise us is the huge helping of "solitude"...solitude not as a negative experience (of isolation, etc.) but an experience of "togetherness". As we are all "of" and "from" 'Nature', in our beginnings, we are "together" with Her while we are with ourselves & others we Love. Yesterday, as I was walking through a Cemetery, I noticed headstone after headstone, each with religious inscription, (or depiction). It occurred to me, the similarity between the worship of 'God' (in this cemetery, probably all christian) and 'Nature'.... in the presence ourselves & of those we Love
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
harrisburg pa usa
5

hard to describe, wonderful to experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
we stayed here as part of a sustainable (restorative) forestry conference based at Allegheny College in Meadville Pa. The accomodations were clean, very comfortable, and also unusual and interesting. The owners / hosts were wonderful; i would definitely look forward to another stay if I ever have the opportunity to travel to this part of the state.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
Greene, Ohio
5

Peaceful & Comforting. Couldn't have been happier!

Peaceful & Comforting. Couldn't have been happier!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
It couldn't have been better!!! This is the 2nd time I have stayed here......warm cozy and inviting! The owners are very pleasant and superb to deal with. We had no problems what so ever. Can't wait till we can make it back. We had 14 people in our group and everyone was pleasantly pleased. Had beautiful weather and was even able to relax at the bonfire. Lovely place.
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
Pittsburgh, PA
5

We'll be back!!

We'll be back!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I took my department team (13 staff members) to the lodge for a work retreat for 3 days and 2 nights. We had a wonderful time. The lodge itself was spotless! (And I'm a neat-freak!) We all had our own rooms and some had their own bathrooms. Everyone was impressed with the very well-equipped kitchen with a huge island, plenty of dishes, silverware, glasses, pots, pans, etc. There are many areas throughout the lodge that are set up as conversation areas which gave us the space for smaller groups of us to work on strategic planning. We used the larger room for full staff meetings. The owner contacted me immediately after my request for information through VRBO and was a delight to work with. Although she was out of town, she was prompt with her responses to any question I had. Her property manager met us as we arrived, as planned, and toured us around. Everything was exactly as promised. At the end of our retreat, the staff, so happy with their time at the lodge, suggested that we return in the fall. Our reservation is already in place.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
Watkins Glen NY
4

Pleased the entire family!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We booked the lodge for my family of 22 for the long memorial day weekend. I wasn't sure I could please everyone but the only complaints I got where from 2 women who thought the bull frogs were too loud in the morning (they are used to traffic and sirens not nature). We loved cooking in the kitchen and seemed to spend tons of time!
You may wonder what you got yourself into as you drive up to it since it's really remote and in the woods. Once inside it's wonderful. Clean and well appointed. It rained the first night we were there and we didn't feel cramped in side at all. Lots of room to spread out. I didn't notice alot of bugs which i would have thought would be a problem with the rain and the woods.
the "barn" is great for kids if the weather is questionable since it's hardly a barn. Huge space to run and have fun, the guys loved the dart board!
Really bad cell coverage but I loved to not have to answer the phone all the time. There is wireless in the one wing so those addicted just have to settle in there.
There is even wood for the campfires and that was great for the kids. All the things you love about camping but you don't have to rough it!!
Definitely recommend to anyone looking to get away in the woods with out giving up the luxury of home!!
If you want to take a ride, enjoy the trip to the Sprague Farm Brewery!! Great beer, music and the place has a lot of history. Great afternoon outing and you can see the country side on the way there
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
Ohio
5

More Than We Expected!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
The pictures on this site do not do this place justice! It was clean and well maintained and was the perfect setting for our weekend away. Amy was always available if we had any questions and walked through the house with us to show us where everything was. Our group had a great time and made some wonderful memories! We can't wait to go back in March!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
NW Pennsylvania - LARGE GROUPS; REUNIONS; WORKSHOPS; MUSIC EVENTS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288167vbi
+1 8144367798
Grand Valley Pennsylvania Wilds
New York city
5

Great Thanksgiving!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My cousin found and booked this place for the long Thanksgiving weekend as a place that we could all meet...coming from NY, CT, OH, and WV and about 25 of us (of all ages from baby to senior citizen) spent the holiday weekend together. It's probably a testament to the comforts of this lodge that we all had a good time, and went home happy. We've stayed in many B&B's and home away-type vacation rentals, and this one was definitely among the best experiences we've had. Spacious, well-equipped kitchen (where many cooking cousins turned out gorgeous pies, cookies, turkeys and all the Tgiving staples!); plenty of room for the children to run, hide, play games, read books, explore, etc.; clean bathrooms, with plenty of soaps, sheets and towels. The hosts were generous and sensitive and a pleasure to chat with...we met them briefly when they dropped in to say hello and see that we had all that we needed. The barn on the property became yet another place for the kids to bowl and swing; and climb! I recommend this place highly...I imagine spring and summer will be even prettier...though we had campfires and even a snowfall for outdoor fun. Be aware that wi-fi and cell phone service have very patchy connectivity...but there are plenty of books around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1