Carmel cottage rental - Front entry and courtyard to private, gated property.
Front entry and courtyard to private, gated property.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Carmel Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, Sleeping Nook, 2 Bathrooms. Sleeps 5. In heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea

Nestled in a canopy of Monterey oaks and pines, Dove Cottage provides a tranquil environment ideally located in the heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea. The craftsman cottage was built in 1931 as Carmel was becoming a popular destination for artists and writers from San Francisco, who spent their summers here. Upon entering you will be welcomed with a sophisticated but relaxed European ambiance. This is my second home, which is reflected in the fine furniture, French antiques and quality design throughout. Located within the desirable 'golden rectangle', it's only a short walk to shops, restaurants, art galleries and Carmel's silky white, sandy beaches.

Book now to get the standard rental rate for these upcoming events:

AT&T Pro Am at Pebble Beach

Carmel Bach Festival

Concours d' Elegance

As a designer I renovated Dove Cottage to offer all the modern amenities, while retaining the integrity of this historic artist's cottage which was built in 1931. At that time Carmel-By-The-Sea was frequented by writers and painters from San Francisco who spent their summers here. Dove Cottage is my second home and it retains a wonderful 'spirit of place'. I welcome you to my home and hope that your stay in Carmel is memorable.

More Details
Hide Details

52 Reviews of Property 329395 in Carmel, California

Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
average rating of 4.96875 based on 52 reviews
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

Charming Dove Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a gem! Dove Cottage is charming, comfortable and exquisitely decorated. We appreciated the quiet neighborhood and sense of privacy. It is a pleasant walk to the restaurants, shops and beach.
We will be returning... next time for a longer visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Connecticut
5

Sanctuary!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
In looking for a place to stay for a month in order to escape the severe winter on the east coast, I couldn't have made a better choice. What I was looking for was a quaint cottage, and what I got was MAGICAL. The cottage's decor is perfectly chosen to exude warmth and quality and while it's situated to handle up to five guests, it doesn't seem lonely when it's just one, or crowded when at capacity. The back deck is a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine, and whether alone or with company, you have a sense of being in your own little world due to the privacy that the landscaping affords. I had a few guests during my stay, and every one of them immediately commented on how special the vibe is in this property. I LOVED my stay here.
Favorite dining: Mission Ranch, The Grill, and 400. I enjoyed daily walks to town, using Junipero and Third as my path (some streets' hills can be vicious on the legs and the lungs!). For photos: Point Lobos (go all the way to the end for the best views) & Point Pinos.
Everything that was promised was delivered; the one small problem that I had was immediately resolved (and it was due to user error). I highly recommend this place, although it's against my better judgement-you know what happens when word gets out...
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. I hope you can come back again soon or stay at my other home in Santa Barbara 'Maison Provence' ,if you get out that way.

Amy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

What a lovely visit!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our visit to Carmel was wonderful and we couldn't have found a better place to stay. Dove Cottage was perfect. It is beautifully decorated and very warm and inviting. An easy walk to all the shops and restaurants, the location is great. We hope we can return again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Wilmington, North Carolina
5

Dove Cottage is just the BEST!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
How many great things can I say about Dove Cottage? I saw many lovely homes but the interiors were dated. As an interior designer I found Amy's home to be beautifully decorated and wonderfully equipped.
The location was extremely convenient to everything. It was as much of a pleasure to come "home" in the afternoon as it was to do the many wonderful things that we found to do. Amy was great to work with and we found all of her recommendations to be excellent.
We enjoyed Demetra restaurant, Porta Bella restaurant. and the brunch at Mission Ranch was awesome.
Monterey Bay Aquarium was well worth the 1/2 day spent there and if you have children....do not miss it.
Big Sur was very much my favorite and a great lunch at a small Lucia Lodge restaurant where you felt you were hanging on the cliff over the ocean! Amy's recommendation of Chateau Julien was a beautiful spot and we took the private tour and tasting. The Carmel Walking Tour was a last minute idea and we would have missed a lot of the local lore and meeting some of the local people where we were welcomed into their galleries, restaurants and shops. It was a well spent $25.00 per person.
I hope to be able to visit again and would definitely stay at Dove Cottage. Just wish I lived closer so I could come more often.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Naples, FL
5

Just beautiful...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I stayed in Dove Cottage for ten days in June. We absolutely loved everything! The cottage is exquisitely furnished and the the beds in the two bedrooms very comfortable. The appliances and accommodations were top and we would come again any time. The owner was very helpful answering all our questions and we also received our security deposit back within a week. We highly recommend Dove Cottage to all our family and friends!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Woodinville, WA
5

Wish it was ours

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The only disappointment we had with Dove Cottage is that we don't own it. It was even more spectacular than advertised. The minute you enter the property you can sense the owner wants you to enjoy yourself. Every room is tastefully decorated, welcoming and comfortable. We were looking to get away to some peace and quiet and it was easy to do in the charming neighborhood. Great shopping and restaurants are easy to get to. We highly recommend the 17-mile drive which begins a few blocks away and for brunch or dinner Cassanova's...great atmosphere, service and menu. Recommend? In a heart beat!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

So beautiful with an amazing location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My boyfriend and I celebrated his birthday during our stay at Dove Cottage. It was such an amazing trip, and we loved our accommodations! The home is so private yet in such a great location, convenient to all of the shops, restaurants and especially the gorgeous beaches of Carmel! The cottage is beautifully appointed and we fell in love with the back deck! It is so serene that it is hard to believe that you are just blocks from Ocean Avenue and all that it has to offer. We usually drove to Carmel beach as there is abundant free parking but we could have walked it as well. We walked the course at Pebble Beach (my boyfriend's dream), took a day trip to Big Sur (a great option to have lunch at one of the amazing resort's without the hassle and steep prices of checking in), and enjoyed 17 mile drive. Loved Em Le's french toast, Tommy's Wok for quick Chinese, Bicyclette for dinner, Carmel Coffee and Lula's chocolate and sea salt caramel...(stay away from Grasing's!). The master shower is a dream and we loved the fireplace in the living room. We will definitely return to Carmel and to Dove Cottage! Highly recommend! Great service from Amy (deposit promptly returned)...home as good if not better than described. Continue to love Home Away!! Thanks Amy!!
Owner's Response: Thanks Micheau for the lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you'll be able
to come back soon.

Amy
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Fresno,Ca,USA
5

Charming, Relaxing and Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our week spent at Dove Cottage was the best ever! The home offers privacy, tranquility and all the comforts. We love the decor and the setting. Being able to walk to town and the beach was wonderful. We will continue to stay at Dove Cottage every chance we get to visit Carmel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Baton Rouge, La., USA
5

Cozy and comfortable Dove Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I recently completeted a 2 week stay at Dove Cottage in Carmel by the Sea. We both highly recommend Dove Cottage to those looking for charm, as well as the ultimate comforts in a place to stay in wonderful Carmel. We were very pleased with how clean and well cared for the cottage was. We were so thrilled to meet the owner, Amy, when she came to town to check on things. We would go to town each morning and walk along the beach front enjoying the views, then return to the cottage to snuggle up in front of the fireplace to eat our breakfast. The back deck was perfect for lunch or dinner or just sitting with a glass of wine and reading a book. We both look forward to returning and hopefully that will be soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

Elegance and comfort in blissful Carmel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband, son, his girlfriend, my daughter and I stayed in this stunning cottage in July 2012. The furniture and style was very Provencal - you can tell Amy is a superb interior designer - and she had thought of everything to ensure we had a perfect time in Carmel. The beds were supremely comfortable, kitchen fully equipped and bathrooms divine. It was gorgeous having breakfast every day out on the deck and watching the woodpecker and squirrels. The house is a 20 minute walk from the beach with perfect white sand, sea otters, dolphins and pelicans. Carmel is full of gorgeous restaurants, quirky shops as well as several designer names. 17 mile drive was heavenly - every turn in the road leads to a magnificent and unforgettable view. We also drove down to Big Sur and visited Hearst Castle as well as the Monterey Aquarium on this trip. We returned home to UK refreshed after a fantastic holiday - thank you so much Amy!
Helpful votes: 1/1