New Town apartment rental - Lounge
Lounge
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

New Town Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)

Elegant and spacious second floor apartment very close to Princes Street and the National Gallery of Scotland. Magnificent view of Edinburgh Castle from both the lounge and kitchen. There is a spacious lounge, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and large fully equipped dining kitchen. Everything is provided to ensure a comfortable stay in the city. Egyptian cotton towels, high quality linens and hairdryers are provided in each bedroom. Rated five star by Visit Scotland.

Great shopping and excellent restaurants are right on your doorstep from the boutiques of George Street to the department stores in Princes Street.

This is an ideal location for those who want to be close to the main city attractions and well placed for exploring Scotland.

There is a three night minimum stay throughout most of the year. During August and over the Christmas and New Year period there is a four night minimum stay. The apartment is strictly non smoking and is not suitable for children under ten years old.

20 Reviews of Property 328779 in New Town, United Kingdom

Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
Ross, California
5

Lovely flat in a wonderful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The flat had everything we needed after a VERY long flight from the US. Susan is a gracious hostess who provided lots of info about Edinburgh. The four of us were very comfortable, the description doesn't do it justice! As a VRBO owner I really appreciated all of the thoughtful touches. Highly recommended!!
Owner's Response: Dear Tori
So sorry to take so long to respond to your review - somehow the notification landed in my spam box and I've just fished it out! Many thanks indeed for your kind words - we were delighted that you were comfortable in the apartment and enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Hope it's been a good start to the New Year for you and we wish you enjoyable travels in 2014. Thanks again. Best regards Susan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
Wisconsin
5

Definitely a 5 Star Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I can't come up with enough superlatives to describe this apartment. It's even better than described. The location would be virtually impossible to beat in terms of access to historical sites, restaurants, shopping, public transportation, etc. It was easy to walk back to the apartment for an afternoon break prior to heading back out in the evening to enjoy more of the wonderful city of Edinburgh.The views of the castle from the apartment are a definite plus. The apartment is spacious, comfortable, and incredibly clean. Susan was absolutely delightful to work with. If we're ever fortunate enough to return to Edinburgh we will definitely stay here again if Susan has a vacancy.
Owner's Response: It was our great pleasure having such lovely guests stay in our apartment. We were delighted that the apartment met your expectations and really thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh so much. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and if you are ever back in the city, we would love to welcome you back. Our very best wishes Susan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
Seattle, WA, USA
5

Luxury in the heart of Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our family of three spent 6 days in this wonderful flat. Everything was as advertised and worked properly. The owner was easy to work with. We easily walked from the flat into Old Town and founds lots of great food options in New Town. In fact we packed lightly so we walked from the train station to the flat when we arrived. My wife enjoyed strolling the Royal Mile. We took a day trip to St. Andrews by walking to the train station and taking an hour long journey.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review so soon after your vacation. It sounds like you made the most of the central location and got out and about around the city. I am very pleased that you were comfortable in the apartment and that it met your expectations. It's always a great pleasure when guests enjoy the apartment and we try to make sure that it has everything one would need to ensure that they do. Thank you again for the booking and we hope to see you back at some time in the future. Best wishes Susan
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
5

Excellent in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This property was exactly as advertised, which is to say well-appointed and excellently located. Can't imagine that there is a better base for exploring Edinburgh and all its wonders. Susan was professional and approachable in all dealings. There were two couples in this rental and we were all four very happy. We would love to return to Edinburgh and to this great apartment. Thanks, Susan!
Owner's Response: Dear Susan

How kind of you to write such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and were happy with the apartment as your base whilst in the city. It's great that you made the most of the central location and got out and about so much. It was a pleasure corresponding with you whilst making the booking, and we would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some time in the future. We very much hope that the rest of your trip through the UK went well. Many thanks again. Best regards Susan
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
Highland, New York, USA
5

Luxury Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My family including 3 adults and 2 children stayed at this apartment for 5 days in May. The property was exactly what we were looking for in self-catering and it's location in Edinburgh could not have been better. The description of location is accurate. You would not require personal transportation if only visiting sites in Edinburgh. Most sites are within walking distance. Bus stops are located at the front door and within a block. Money exchange or bank sites are within a block. I am gluten free and was delighted to have a full grocery store within a block and a half. The apartment is beautiful, spacious and well-maintained. It is always nice to look out the kitchen window and see Edinburgh Castle. We recommend visiting the Castle, the Scotch Whiskey Experience, the galleries and the stores. Find time to take in a golf experience. The restaurants were all excellent and quickly understood my gluten free needs. This flat permitted us to breakfast in, pack lunches for the day out and rest well at the end of the day. The owner was always available by phone and very helpful. We wished we could have stayed longer and hope to return.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
5

Great location, super clean, excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We recently concluded our vacation with a three day stop in Edinburgh and thoroughly enjoyed this rental. The unit is very modern, clean, well maintained, and provided more than adequate room for our family of four. From the kitchen and livingroom there are great views of Edinburgh castle, the main railroad station and launch point for all tour buses is 10 minute walk (this is also the launch point for the bus going to/from Edinburgh airport), and the surrounding neighborhood is safe, lively, and has great shopping. The gentleman who manages the building, Dave, was charming and very helpful in getting us both situated with our car (nearest carpark is ~ 1 mile away and there is very little street parking - we ditched our rental car 2 hours after arriving - come in on the train or bus!) and directing us on how to catch the bus to the airport (which is a breeze and there is a ticket office two doors down from the flat). There is a full grocery store a five minute walk away, Hard Rock Cafe a 7 minute walk, classic Scottish pubs only a few minute walk away, and a cab stop directly across the street from the pub to get quick transportaion anywhere in the city (not to mention a bus stop ten steps from the front door). The rooms were imaculate, towels lush, appliances clean and operating - plenty of hot water in the showers - accommodations were first rate. In our flat there was also an extenisve library of pamphlets on local activities, books on Edinburgh, as well as, lots of novels and general interest books one could peruse. I can't say enough about this flat - we really enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to anyone.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so pleased that your time in Edinburgh was a good way to end your vacation and delighted that you were happy with the apartment. We look forward to welcoming you back should you come to Edinburgh again. Thank you again. Best regards Susan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
Owatonna, Minnesota
5

Hated to leave!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This apartment was the absolute best find! It is beautiful, immaculate, functional, well equipped, and in the very best location imaginable. We loved Edinburgh, it's a beautiful city. Staring out the apartment and seeing the castle atop the hill is quite a sight. I can't say enough about the apartment itself or the ease of working with Susan. She was professional, easy to deal with and answered all of our inquiries right away. We hope to travel to beautiful Scotland again some day and if so, we will definitely stay in this apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Kristin thank you so much for your kind words and also for taking such good care of our apartment! We are so pleased that you were happy with everything and enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back some time soon. We hope you have a great summer. Best regards Susan
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
Cary, NC
5

Unbelievable apartment in Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Fabulous location, spacious, linens and towels very plush, a very clean apartment. Absolutely one of our favorite places we stayed during our trip around the UK. You can dine in the kitchen every morning gazing out at the castle and castel rock. Very convienent for new town and old town manuevering. More than represented. Susan is very easy to work with and very informative in helping us plan our time in the grand city. You will not be disappointed. Thanks Susan for everying...TJ from NC, USA.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure corresponding with you and we are just so pleased that you enjoyed your time in the apartment. It's great that you found the location ideal for all of your exploring of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next adventure to Scotland! Best wishes Susan
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
5

The highlight of our trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
It is always risky to rent a place "sight unseen", but we struck a jackpot with this rental. The pictures do not do it justice. Not only is it tastefully decorated, but clean and shows pride of ownship. Working with Susan on this rental was effortless. She answered emails promptly, gave me suggestions for golfing, and provided contact information "just in case".
The flat is in the perfect location. We could walk from the train station. There were many excellent restaurants within 3 blocks. A grocery store was just around the corner. We could walk and see all the sights without taking a tour bus (the castle, Arthurs Seat, the University, etc). The kitchen was well equiped and we cooked breakfast each morning before heading out to explore. Thank you Susan!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such kind words. We are delighted to receive such a lovely review. It's great that you found the flat to be in a good location and had everything that you needed whilst you were staying there. It gives me great satisfaction when guests enjoy the experience of staying in our property as we try and make it as comfortable as possible. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some time in the future. Thanks again. Best wishes Susan
business
Luxury Apartment with Wonderful Castle View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328779
New Town Edinburgh
Griffin, Georgia USA
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We spent 11 nights in the wonderful apartment in November. Our whole experience was wonderful. Susan made us feel very welcome! There were 2 couples and our 21 year old son. Plenty of room. The kitchen was wonderfully equipped. I enjoyed the french press so much I came home and bought one. The grocery is just around the corner. The bathrooms are well equipped also. We could not have asked for a better place and more gracious host. It truly felt like a home away from home. Thank you Susan!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to meet you whilst you were in Edinburgh and we were so happy that the trip to visit your son proved a success for all of you. Thank you so much for your comments about the apartment - it is always wonderful to hear that it proves to be a good base for a trip to Edinburgh. We very much hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some time in the future. Thanks again. Best wishes Susan