Bridgton estate rental - Nawandyn Estate's private, long sandy beach abuts the estate's boathouse.
Nawandyn Estate's private, long sandy beach abuts the estate's boathouse.
 
  • Bedrooms13
  • Sleeps32
  • 8 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 9 nights
 

Bridgton Estate Rental Photos and Description
3 homes combine to sleep 32; or rent individually to sleep 6, 12, & 14

This spectacular, 41-acre Maine estate draws guests from around the world to its peaceful, private, park-like setting on clear, warm Highland Lake with comfortably elegant, newly refurbished homes and various resort facilities. Begun as the dream home of an opera superstar, the Main House was designed by a prominent architect at the behest of Norway's King to provide amble space for entertaining and perfect acoustics for gatherings of world renown musicians. The estate was purchased and expanded by a shipping and banking magnate who added resort facilities and additional buildings to create a family compound complete with 2 sandy beaches, part of an island, a giant, overwater boathouse (with ballroom), clay tennis court, pier, acres of gardens, sports fields, and woods. Guests may golf across the street. More information is available at www.MaineLakeEstate.com.

This is where those who really know Maine choose to go. Bridgton is a peaceful, scenic, small town with authentic Maine flavor. Yet, it offers the amenities of a much larger metropolitan area including a state-of-the-art hospital and top notch grocery store. Unlike other towns in Maine's Lake Region, Bridgton has a sense of community and genuinely welcomes visitors as well as new residents. It is centrally located between the ocean and mountains and continues to be a hub for artists and musicians. Nawandyn is situated in the area's premier location on Highland Ridge near the country club and semi-public golf course, with panoramic western views of mountains and sunsets.

16 Reviews of Property 328745 in Bridgton, Maine

41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
5

Breathtaking grounds, wonderful home, quaint town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our very large family vacations in Maine every year and have enjoyed many lakeside rentals. Nawandyn definitely earns top marks! Diane, the owner and caretaker, is lovely and accommodating. Her love for the estate and passion for planting is obvious as the property is home to several stunning (and enormous) English gardens. The beautifully manicured pine stands house countless birds and provide cool relief on the hottest of days. (We experienced this first hand - 95 all week!) The views are spectacular from each of the buildings we occupied during our weeklong stay.

The beach is found downhill from the houses - a 3-4 minute walk through the woods. There are kayaks to explore Highland Lake, a BBQ, picnic table, deep sand and a great dock for fishing. Really comfy lounge chairs and floats, too. The boat house is to die for. I walked in and squealed. It feels antique and magical and crafted. Just right. Diane stocked the boat house with toys, boats and even beach towels. Very easy to spend all day down there.

The homes are well equipped with kitchenware, games and books. We had everything we needed. The views from the houses are gorgeous. The rooms have a vintage feel and are well appointed. The dining room is arranged for 30 or so diners but there are more intimate spaces around the property to have a bite. A favorite spot for me was the back deck overlooking the gardens and mountain.

Bridgton is a great little town with an organized shopping center. There are some great shops, movie theatre, good restaurants and a great little playground downtown. The center is just down the street - maybe 2 miles from Nawandyn. The area in general is terrific for antiquing and bike riding.

This is a wonderful property in a gorgeous part of New England. A real gem.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
5

The perfect place for a family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our group of 5 families just returned from a fabulous family reunion vacation at Nawandyn Estates.

The 1st thing that attracted me to Nawandyn Estates was the flexibility in the number of people that can be accommodated. We ended up with 25 in our group but we could have had up to 32.

A 2nd thing that attracted me was that the estate feels very private. It was a great treat to have the beach area to ourselves.

The estate has 3 beautiful houses. The main house is where we would gather in the evening to prepare meals and enjoy each others company. It is a mix of early 20th century charm and modern conveniences. The kitchen has 2 large refrigerators, 2 stoves, and 2 sink areas which make preparing meals easy. One very nice feature of the main house is the large dining room with enough space for everyone to eat together.

The estate has a remarkable variety of landscape environments. You enter the estate through a long hedge lined driveway. Before you get to the houses there is a huge lawn, a formal garden, a stand of giant trees and a tennis court. Below the main house is a steep hill with a very large flower garden. On the hill sloping down to the lake is a forest. And on the lake is a sandy beach.

The estate is on a 4 miles long lake. The beach was the main focus of our daily activities. On one side of the beach is a boat house containing 3 kayaks and a row boat. We took full advantage of these as well as the floating swimming dock. We also had our own dock to park a rented motor boat. We used the motor boat for water skiing. For those of us that do not water ski we had a large inflatable float which we pulled behind the boat. This gave and exciting ride for people clinging to it.

Bridgton Highland Country Club is one-quarter mile away and some of our group played golf and tennis there. Bridgton Main Street is just a 5 minute drive. It has lots of charming stores and it is a nice place to spend a few hours wandering and shopping. More important for me was the two grocery stores which makes shopping for groceries quick and easy.

Our family holds a reunion vacation every two years. What made our vacation at Nawandyn stand out from the others is that there is so much available to do on the estate that family members chose to spend more time together than in previous vacations.

Diane, the owner of the estate, and here son Bob were very friendly and helpful. In all I would highly recommend Nawandyn Estates.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
5

Fantastic Fall Getaway with Friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Just spent a fabulous weekend at Nawandyn Estate with good friends! The Carriage House was perfect for our small group! I loved being able to step out of my bedroom onto the balcony and look out over the lake! There’s also plenty of room if you have a larger group, family get-together, or business retreat with the additional residences on the property.

We had a great time exploring the beautiful gardens, hiking the path through the woods down to the Boathouse, and simply enjoying the peace and quiet. Lucky for us the lake water was still warm so we took the kayaks out daily – what better way to see everything come alive than from the water early in the morning?! And the food!! The first night we wanted the Maine lobster experience and the owner, Diane, suggested a great little place in town where all we had to do was pick up our made-to-order lobster dinners! The next two nights she suggested two absolutely wonderful local gourmet restaurants in nearby towns (76 Pleasant St in Norway and Oxford House Inn in Fryeburg) – creative choices for a deliciously unique dining experience!

Overall, a truly fantastic experience! If you are looking for an ideal place to get away, I highly recommend Nawandyn Estate! Definitely hope to visit again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
5

Perfect Family Reunion Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
In celebration of our parents' 50th wedding anniversary, we traveled to Nawandyn for a family reunion this past August -- all 23 of us (with ages ranging from 7 to 76). It would not be an exaggeration to say that it was the perfect place for such a celebration. The property has lots of space for people to rest and relax, as well as many wonderful gathering areas. The kitchen and dining room are well suited for a crowd, the living room is perfect for game nights or family talent shows, and the private beach is absolutely spectacular. Everyone in our group enjoyed the kayacs and dock and simply romping on the lake, and we rented a motor boat for the week (which the owners of Nawandyn helped us find) and spent a considerable amount of time waterskiing, tubing, and wake boarding. In addition to water activities, the area is also wonderful for cycling and hiking -- a real outdoor treasure. We truly loved our time at Nawandyn and hope to be able to return either next summer or the following!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
Charlotte, NC
5

Gorgeous estate with abundant flowers.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My extended family stayed at Nawandyn for a family reunion and couldn't have been more pleased (in fact we are coming back next year). The lake is pristine and we enjoyed paddling, swimming, fishing and tubing. The grounds are sprawling with beautiful gardens and many acres of natural woods. There is a wide range of available activities in the surrounding area: in addition to the water fun, members of my group enjoyed hiking, birding, golf, photography, and shopping in town. The buildings on the estate were quite charming and comfortable with plenty of space to accommodate our large group. The grand piano in the living room was put to good use by the musicians in my group and the acoustics were wonderful. The kitchen was quite well equipped and we were able to prepare meals for 35+ people (with a great deal of planning on our part!). I highly recommend Nawandyn!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
5

Beautiful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The Nawandyn Estate is gorgeous. Situated on the Highland Lake, it was warm enough to go swimming even at the end of September. Our reason for booking the estate was for a group retreat of 30 people, mostly graduate students. The property handled all of us just fine, and we rarely felt cramped as there are 3 different houses with full amenities to hang out in. They even made special accommodations by adding double beds in place of queens and kings where requested, as well as additional tables so all 30 of us could eat in the same room. The one downside to 30 people was that we had to split the cooking up into two of the houses as the main kitchen was just not quite big enough for all the cooks/dishes. However, everything that is presented in the pictures and description of this estate lived up to the expectation, and at times exceeded it. The actual property is large enough that you feel quite segregated from any neighbors and also beautiful enough to enjoy a morning jog within its boundaries. The owners were very accommodating at all times and always answered my phone calls if I had questions or needed help. Everything was very clean, well kept, and comfortable. There were kayaks available for our use, as well as ping-pong, tennis, and a floating dock about 100 feet offshore for relaxing in the sun. I really enjoyed my stay at the Nawandyn Estate and felt very welcome at all times.
Owner's Response: The large kitchen and pantry in the Main House have been used to prepare elaborate, multi-course, meals for 40 - 50 people. However, they are not large enough to accommodate 30 people preparing separate dishes. We are glad that we were able to accommodate such a desire with the combined facilities of the property.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
Hampton NH
5

Great Family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family celebrates our children's 40th birthdays by renting a beach house for a week. This was our third turning 40 . Our family consisted of 13: my husband and myself, 4 children and their spouses ,two grandchildren and an uncle .We travelled from MA, ME, NH & CA..We rented the Guest House and the Carriage House.The estate was beautiful and we were impressed right away by the trees lining the driveway and all the beautiful flowers. The houses were clean, comfortable and roomy. There were activities for all ages,On the grounds, everyone enjoyed the beach, boats and fishing. The children played frisbee, tennis and made sand castles The men appreciated the nearby golf course, the women loved the shopping and the children had fun at Storyland in No.Conway.. We also enjoyed a delicious meal at the Black Lantern Tavern in Bridgton . Andrew & Diane were very accomodating hosts and made us feel right at home. We were happy to have WiFi in the house for those of us that had to do a little computer work Three people in our group climbed Mt.Washington..It was a great week and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, peacefull vacation.Thank you Diane & Andrew for sharing your family estate with us.
Joe & Sue
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
Maryland
5

Nearly Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our extended family of 12 had an absolutely wonderful time in the Main House. The grounds are impeccably maintained and house is elegant yet comfortable. The porches were especially popular with our group. Diane recommended a wonderful private chef who cooked a fantastic dinner for us to celebrate an anniversary. But the highlight is certainly the large sandy beach, boathouse and swim dock. We canoed, fished and rented a boat for a few days of tubing. Gorgeous views. We hope to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
5

Memorable Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family is scattered over the country and each member with a busy schedule. Reunions are rare... and a precious time! Nawandyn provided the perfect location and facility for our family group of 11 (5 children ranging in age from 2 to 13 and 6 adults ranging in age from late thirties to mid-sixties) to make wonderful memories. The description of the facility was right on and the best part was that Diane and Andrew made us feel like family with personal attention; providing excellent recommendations for local services and anticipating and looking out for our needs. We would highly recommend Nawandyn for the perfect family vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
41-Acre Lakefront, Luxury Estate Built for Music Superstar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328745
+1 240-687-4080
Bridgton Western Maine
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

July Holidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Three generations of our family, 19 guests in all were housed in the main and carriage houses, spent a week at Nawandyn. It was a wonderful hot July week in Maine. Tennis early in the morning, followed by swimming and canoeing on the lake. Late afternoon cocktails on the porch, and never-ending dinners in the spacious dining room. Our hosts were always prepared to answer our needs with a smile.

We simply had a wonderful time at Nawandyn, and recommend the estate especially for large family gatherings.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children