Bar Harbor house rental - Little Red House from the Blackberry Hedge
Little Red House from the Blackberry Hedge
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bathroom

A guest house to a gorgeous 4 story modern shingle style home offers a drive in garage, a large deck facing the ocean that is great for evening breezes and cocktails, modern appliances. Perfect for a couples or small families.

Kid Friendly: We've got a yard and a swing set and 2 kids on the property. Toys, bikes, books, pack and play, strollers, car seat are all available and more.

Local Knowledge: My husband wrote a local guidebook about Acadia National Park. It's been a best seller for over 15 years. We have information if you need it.

Jack Russell's Steakhouse: We also own Jack Russell's Steakhouse and can offer you a 10% discount if you choose to dine with us !!

9 Reviews of Property 328540 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great retreat for hardworking people

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I stayed with my brother and a friend of his for a middle-aged guy's week away from work and home. What a great location. We stayed extremely busy with our landscape photography, kayaking, biking the carriage trails and hiking the mountains of Acadia. We were up every morning shooting sunrises of coastal cliffs, mountaintops and lighthouses. Our active days were followed by dinners out in Bar Harbor with drinks and an easy walk or drive back to Devon Cottage.

Devon Cottage was perfectly located just outside the bustle of downtown Bar Harbor. Easy to get to and from. The separate house from the owner's home provided privacy but also with a chance to get to know the owners who were very friendly and accommodating. They also own Jack Russell's Steak House...so if you're a good guest they may offer you desert and coffee on the house like they did us. The house was clean and had everything as advertised. I hope to return some time in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great location! Great vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of four stayed in this lovely vacation rental for 3 nights and 4 days. It was a perfect getaway! When we arrived the cottage was clean. The owner, Nina, lives next door and came to greet us and suggested a few ideas for activities. We cooked most of the time and there is a grocery store 0.6 miles from the cottage! It doesn't getter more convenient than that! We were also walking distance to downtown and the local restaurants, pubs, shops, and pier. Acadia National Park was the highlight of the trip, but there are lots of things to do for the outdoorsy types. The cottage was perfect for 4 people size-wise and very cozy. Nina was great to do business with and make herself available to us when we arrived. I highly recommend this cottage to anyone staying in Bar Harbor!
Owner's Response: Thanks you R Family! You were great guests! I think you can guess where I put a hide-a-key :) I appreciate you choosing Devon and hope you think of us again! Nina
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Vienna, Virginia
5

Great home, great location, great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This home was absolutely perfect for our family of four - two adults, two kids ages 5 and 8. The location can't be beat with super easy access to Acadia and a nice walk into town. The kitchen is very well appointed and easy to prepare meals in. We cooked almost each night we were there and I found the kitchen easy to use. The beds were very comfortable with nice linens. The shower was great and the towels were quite plush. We really enjoyed our time in this cottage and look forward to visiting again soon!
Owner's Response: Erica!
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate the support.
Nina & Tom
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

perfect for us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This cottage fit our needs perfectly. The kitchen is well equipped, the beds were comfortable and clean, floors clean and the layout is efficient. The garage protected our bikes and vehicle and protected us from the rain. Access to downtown Bar Harbor is a comfortable 10 minute walk and a left onto Eagle Lake Road took you to Acadia National Park...an easy bike ride (or a run!). Hurricane Sandy reared her ugly head on Ct shores during our stay. Nina, the owner was very accommodating and allowed us to extend our stay (as we had no power at home).

Just a note: If stairs are physically challenging for any in your party be aware that the only access to the main floor is a flight of stairs to the main living area through the garage. My step father had had knee surgery and was difficult for him. Stairs not at all a challenge for the healthy.

In closing, I would recommend this cottage to friends and family. We really enjoyed the cottage and it's location.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

perfect vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
great set up for family of 4. kids had separate room. snug and warm home, garaged parking, washer dryer for us to use, full kitchen, linens included. very clean home with everything you'd need for a quick getaway or a week or more

great views from porch, walking distance to town and just outside acadia park entrances (driving distance).

would definitely recommend.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great place to stay with a small family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We really enjoyed our stay here. The cottage is great, well appointed, comfortable and tastefully decorated. We loved the setup of the King bed & two singles. The main room & kitchen & deck were great. If we come back to Bar Harbor we will definitely stay here again. Walking to town is not a problem at all, very close. But yet a quiet location. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Thanks very much for a great stay!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
4

The "little" red house on the right

The "little" red house on the right
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful guest house. It is anything but little – a large, spacious house with plenty of room to relax after a long day of hiking or bicycling. We particularly enjoyed having a garage and all the amenities of home away from home. It was the perfect walking distance from the town and only a short bike ride or drive into the park. You should definitely consider this house if you are planning a visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park!
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Outer Banks, North Carolina
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My family spent a great week in this house. The location was perfect - easy access to Acadia and a quick walk to town. I think the house was much cuter than the pictures in the listing. The house was very clean, and had everything our family of 3 needed. I thought the house was set up perfectly for simple vacation living - open shelving in the kitchen made everything easy to find, there were plenty of towels and hooks for jackets and bags were right where we wanted them. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed meeting the owners and the rental process was very simple. We would return to this property and reccommend it to a friend.
While in Bar Harbor we enjoyed many walks and hikes around Acadia (found the owners guidebook quite useful!) and Diver Ed's Dive in Theater was a big hit.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful ocean view shingle style home close to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328540
+1 2072667321
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Westfield, Massachusetts
5

Awesome, We are coming back.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
What a great little house and perfect for walking into town with my little ones. It is close to everything we wanted; food, ocean, biking, hiking, shopping. It also has the prettiest light fixtures inside, I love them: Craftsman style white glass.
We had everything we needed, even a brownie pan and a neat kitchen to cook in. And that TV! My husband was delighted to watch the Tour de France in HD. He said it was better than being there.
The owners just built a gorgeous house next door so the shared landscaping still has minimal signs of construction, but for the great price it is easily forgivable. (I wasn't there for the yard anyway.) I've stayed in other rentals and this really is a great price for the house.
Also the owners were super helpful about where to hike (he wrote a guide book for the area so we felt like we hit the jackpot) and they have little kids so they were able to tell us what we could do with them (always a struggle). Great Vacation Spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3