Ocean Grove house rental - The Chelsea HomeFront
The Chelsea HomeFront
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Ocean Grove House Rental Photos and Description
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14 in beds

Our Nine-Bedroom Beach House (sleeps 15 people) has been redecorated to capture the refined style of colonial West Indies and offers a fully equipped kitchen for ''at home'' convenience as well as a washer/dryer, flat screen televisions in multiple locations, a game and crafts closet, kites, four full bathrooms, and two porches to relax, read a book or have a meal.

Guests of our Chelsea House can also enjoy the Ocean, tennis courts, 2 playgrounds, 2 miniature golf locations and a hundred Restaurants within walking distance. Also available are several Ice cream parlors and cafes. Our local grocery store offers quick pickups, and several full size grocers are within a few miles. You'll find additional shops, galleries, and restaurants nearby. The best is you can get here WITHOUT a car from NYC.

Linens Included: We offer sheets and towels for your use. Upon completetion of your stay, we ask you to strip the beds and leave all dirty towels in front of the Washer.

Home Style: We leave spices, salt and pepper and utensils of all sorts in the kitchen so you don't have to worry whether you have it. Some refrigerated spices and sauces. We do not leave olive oil (it can go bad without the cooks knowledge.)

Tools inlcude an electric can opener, crock pot, microwave oven, toaster oven, coffee machine, espresso machine, popcorn maker, wall oven, stove top, beverage refrigerator.

Soaps, Shampoos, Laundry: We do leave a starter of toilet paper, but you should pack. We do have sevaral baskets of hotel samples throughout the house in case you need a shower before you shop. There is always at least one washload serving of detergent for both the dishwasher and the washing machine and dryer.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 328388 in Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 14 reviews
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
MA
5

Perfect location for a beach vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We rented the Chelsea for a long weekend. We were 10 plus kids and had a wonderful stay. The house has enough space, and the beach, although the boardwalk is under repair, is so close you can see the ocean from the house.

The kitchen is large and open so we could prepare meals while socializing. And the refrigerator holds enough for everyone. A smaller beverage refrigerator is perfect for the kids to access easily for juice boxes. Games stacked and stocked were a lifesaver for us. we had a day where we stayed inside, and the kids just played games. There are so many that we didn't even make a dent. We also used the crayon bin which was a plus since we hadn't prepared for an inside day for the kids.

The town is sweet. The candy store wasn't open when we got there, but the kids ogled the window much like the adults did at the bake shoppe. We found a wide selection of beer and wine near a Neptune grocery store, and many of the restaurants were byob, so we enjoyed walking to dinners. Everything is walking distance. We even found a place called Citrico's in Bradley. Yummmm! Mediteranean italian. Moonstruck is also walking distance in Asbury on the lake, but with the kids we thought was too fancy for this trip. The Brick Wall in Asbury was also REALLY good with kids, and very reasonable, but they have a bar. We ordered a bottle of wine, and our bill was still low. They have salads, and hot meals for the guys, and smaller plates of most items. There was a sushi place nearby, but we didn't eat there.

The best part of the trip was the house. There are three floors. The master is big with a balcony and has complete views of the water. The flower room on the third room has views and two beds where most of the girls spent their time talking, doing what girls do. There is a tv up there and we put our two youngest for a nap in that room and a blue room with lower twin beds so the kids could get on the bed by themselves. The men spent most of the time around an island in the kitchen close to the beer. big surprise?! The front yard is sweet and has enough space for a game with the kids or a small kiddie pool, if it had been warmer. We spent the majority of our time on the porch which has a view of the beach. And it sits up higher so the breeze is perfect, though it did get chilly when the sun went down.

One of our better vacations. We found the house to be just what was advertised, and well supplied for making meals and enjoying friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Bergen County, NJ
1

Disappointed Renter

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Very disappointed in the cleanliness of this house. Rugs were filthy, bathrooms had former leaks in them and the floors were stained. They stated there was air conditioning on the first floor it didn't work! All they had was a floor fan that just waved around all the hot humid air. The washer and dryer were not functioning properly the entire time we stayed there. Also, the owner has an apartment in the basement and has access to the house at anytime. This was never disclosed to us before renting. It was a very uncomfortable feeling. I would never return to this home ever again.!!!! Would not recommend to anyone!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Central New Jersey
5

A Lovely House for a Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed at The Chelsea in November for a weekend reunion of several families. The house is beautiful and it is apparent that it has been lovingly decorated and cared-for. It has lots of bedrooms, lots of bathrooms, a large kitchen/dining area, and a warm and cozy family room. We took a stroll on the beach, which is just steps away, and enjoyed walking through town and seeing all the quaint shops and eateries. We all had a marvelous weekend! The owners were a pleasure to deal with, and were most accommodating. We would definitely recommend this house for a vacation or a weekend away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Glen Ridge, NJ
4

Really fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a great two weeks at the house. Seven of us stayed the the entire two weeks and we had various friends and family coming and going. Space was never an issue as everyone was more than comfortable. The kitchen also was more than spacious and we cooked in every night for at least ten with no issues at all. I also gave the grill on the porch a good workout. We also loved the proximity to the beach as everyone could sort of come and go as they pleased with the house being about a two minute walk of the beach. Would definitely recommend for anyone with a large-ish group. Our pug Bella was very comfortable as well.
Dennis and Mary(Northern New Jersey)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Blainville,Quebec,Canada
5

Best place for family and friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We were a party of 14 , with 7 teennagers ( from 13 to 18 years old) , two kids and 5 adults! This house was just perfect us and veryclose to the beach. There was plenty of rooms for everybody and nobody was complaining of a lack of space. The kitchen is huge and you have a large space to prepare meals with a lot of people helping you if you want. The dinner table can sit 12 people but there was no ploblem to site 14. You will enjoy sitting outside on the front porch where you can read or relax with a view on the beach. You will enjoy the central a/c in the summer time but keep all the windows closed to be sure that the kitchen will be cool as well. Each stares as a bathroom with a shower, even on the main floor. Don't forget to choose the master bedroom on the fisrt floor.It's the biggest room ( out of 9 rooms) with a king size bed and a private bathroom and your own balcony with french doors! All you need is your swimmsuit and your thootbrush! Kids can go the the beach when the want but you need beach batch that the owner will provided to you.If you need more batch, you can purchase them at the beach pier just at the end of the street and there's kids or teenages batch that cost less. We went to New york city as well to Philidelphia, and in about 80 minutes you will be downtown of those cities.You can take the train to those cities as well and the train station is less then 2 minutes by car.This is a very quiet and beautiful town , but a dry town, so no alcool in restaurants, but there is no problem to buy alcool at the liquors stores near by and enjoy a good meal with wine at home. If you want more nigth life, you can walk on the boardwalk to Asbury Park where there is bars and more action. Along the beach tou can walk miles to the north or the south day and night.The owner, Miss Lark and her husband, are just wonderful people and can be reach easily when needed. We really enjoy our stay and be sure to reserve it for your next beach family ( and friends) vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Pierre,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you got a chance to see Philly and NYC. To clarify for next time, all the restaurants in town are BYOB (Bring Your Own Bottle.) This means you can bring wine or liquor, just buy the mixers from the restaurant. This is a great way to have a wonderful meal and save a few dollars by bringing the wine with you if the restaurant doesn't have a bar.
Until next time,
Lark
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Princeton NJ
5

A Great Vacation House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband, our kids, my brother,his wife, their kids arrived to find a house with everything and were overwhelmed by the charm. The owners were really nice, and very accomodating. We even got a welcome call to confirm we had everything we needed. We spent a luxurious week a step from the beach. And we spent our evenings on the porch with the view. Delightful!

We will be back next Summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, thank you. We love to hear what people enjoy, and we are taking 2012 reservations currently...at 2011 pricing if completed by September 15, 2011. (Thank for the lovely note left in the kitchen!)
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Long Island
2

Take pictures . . . and not just of the ocean.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Our group rented this cute and well-reviewed house and all was well for our stay. The terms of our agreement, however, seemed to change over time, and we were gradually asked to clean (original email agreement had been to waive cleaning). Clean we did (the house was clearly not professionally cleaned for us either), and still $125 of our security deposit was garnished without receipt or explanation other than " . . . there was hair in the downstairs drain." We had a great time, broke nothing, and left this house clean. Watch your agreement and make sure you take pictures upon move-in. We enjoyed the house, but the process of getting the security deposit back from the owner soured things.
Owner's Response: We were emailed by the above person and told we should return all monies or expect a bad review. We chose not to pay for a good review.

In May, we had a group of families looking for a bargain weekend. They asked us to discount the discount and waive the cleaning so they could save money. When they left, they left the refrigerator dirty, dirty diapers thrown in a corner, and body hair in the drains, it didn’t appear they had vaccuumed. We rewashed the linens just to be sure our next guests received everything fresh. We have kids, so we get that sometimes things get overlooked.

But when they left a scratch across the brand new refrigerator, scratches across the wood floor, and a plantation shutter broken, we held a portion of their security, not the complete costs. We thought about not charging, but when we spoke with the signer of the contract, we were met with contradictions in statements all disclaiming responsibility.

If you come to our home, enjoy yourself and treat it as you would your home, there will be no reason to garnish your security. If you tell us the damage, we might even have an inexpensive fix.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
NYC
5

Awesome vacation spot!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This house is so nice compared to what we expected! TThe colors are really warm and inviting, and the Master bedroom is great, even in the Winter. What a view! We arrived to find most of the beds made for us. This has not been our experience ANYWHERE we've rented previously. The kitchen is very roomy. My sisters and I all cooked without bumping into each other - - the kitchen has more space than my house. Unlike other houses we've rented, this has a nice long table to fit the whole family. We were a small group, but we left our projects on the table, and moved to the other end for meals. Thanks for a great weekend. We can't wait to come back in Summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Cape May, NJ USA
5

Charming place by the shore!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
I rented this house for a weekend retreat. The owners were more than gracious. We found the place beyond our expectations in terms of comfort and the price was well worth it. I would definitely rent it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely 9 BR/4 BA Victorian 6 houses to the Beach in Ocean Grove Nj
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328388
+001 732 685-4639
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Pleasanton, CA
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had a great time in this house. It held my whole family plus everyone who visited for overnight stays. My mom, who had just had back surgery, loved the proximity to the beach. We all did. it was nice to send the kids down to get our beach spots and then come back to the house for lunch. We to, hit a few of the HOT days and survived with the window AC units. We pretty muched lived on the porch and had a great time with all the space in the kitchen. Great job on all the updates and love the w/d right outside the master....Would love to come back!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the note! We are thrilled when others find our place enjoyable! The idea about the hooks for robes on the doors, is already in place! And the recipes started me thinking about putting together a book of recipes that can be slow cooking while you are at the beach. Thanks for sharing!
Helpful votes: 2/2