Shenandoah house rental - The House
The House
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Shenandoah House Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms, 4.5 baths, sleeps 12 comfortably

This exceptional, elegant Southern Living home is situated on the Shenandoah River backing up to the George Washington National Forest. It is perfect for a business retreat or a family reunion. Gourmet kitchen with 6-burner Viking Stove, 2 ovens, & sub-zero refrigerator. Large deck with superb views of the mountains and river. Have a sing-a-long in the Music Room which has a beautiful grand piano. Walk to the river on a beautiful private road, enjoy the views of the Stable, Barn, Spring and Farm Houses. Explore endless hiking trails. Go fishing, kayaking, canoeing, or tubing. Mountain biking, Sking close by. Riverside picnic table where you can relax in the hammock. Visit nearby wineries, Luray Caverns, civil war sites, or go antiquing in the lovely small surrounding towns. Charlottesville, Monticello, Montpelier, and Washington, D.C. are all within driving distance for a day trip. Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown are 3 hours away. TV, Internet, and Wi-Fi available.

18 Reviews of Property 328368 in Shenandoah, Virginia

Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
Lake Forest, Illinois
5

Thanksgiving on the River

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a wonderful Thanksgiving and the house made it all possible. We had 6 adults and 1 toddler and it was fantastic!
The layout of the house made it possible for everyone to have their space, but we were also able to gather in the family room for movies, coffee or to enjoy the view of the river and mountains. We cooked our Thanksgiving dinner at the house
and we had everything we needed to prepare for the feast!!
One of our favorites parts of the property was walking down to the river and then returning up the HILL! What a great workout at the end of the day. We went into Winchester one day to shop. It was only 30 minutes away and a very charming town.
Kathleen was so pleasant to work with. She called right before we left and went over any questions we might have. She left us a welcome bag full of goodies for the week. What a treat!
We are already talking about going back in the near future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
Gaithersburg, MD
5

Cannot Wait to Return

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Cannot Wait to Return

Nine of us, including two kids, stayed here for a week in July, and I think by day 2 we were already talking about how we had to come back. To repeat what Brad said in his review: the photos don’t convey how spacious and lovely the house is. When we first arrived we were joking that we might have to make maps to find our way back to our rooms.

I want to mention a few of the things that aren’t in the photos: The master suite bathroom, with a beautiful soaking tub and separate shower. (All of the bathrooms are spacious and lovely, but that one is a show-stopper.) The huge gas grill out on the back deck. The fact that when we arrived, the house was not just spotless but well-stocked with necessities: coffee, paper towels, spices & oils, laundry detergent, soap & shampoo, etc. The amazing butcher shop just down the road. The night sky in an area with so little light pollution -- my main regret is not bringing a telescope. If you want to chill out and watch a movie, there are big TVs in the living room and basement, and smaller ones in all of the bedrooms, and I believe they all have DVD players. There are also ceiling fans in every bedroom, although the AC system kept us quite comfortable. There’s a big landing with a reading nook that overlooks the living room -- the kids did some plays for us up there as we watched from downstairs.

Kathleen could not be nicer; she cheerfully answered the big list of questions we came up when planning our visit, mentioned things that we hadn't even thought of, and made sure we were comfortable. There’s also a notebook in the living room with information on the best places to go tubing in the river, and brochures for nearby outings and local restaurants.

We are all from the DC area so we didn't do anything too tourist-y but there were regular excursions down to the river, and both the kayaks and the tubes got some use. I actually spent a lot of time on the deck just reading, relaxing and enjoying the view. I think the only complaint I have is how sad we were when it was finally time to leave!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
Boca Raton, Florida
5

Highly recommend the home and the owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We are frequent travelers and have rented several homes for vacation. We traveled with 3 children and 4 adults and there ended up being so much extra room that we even invited two more family members to come spend the last week with us.
First, let me say that the pictures do not do this home justice. When you pull up to the home, it is a breathtaking view. This property is huge and extremely well maintained. We found a 4 passenger golf cart charged and waiting for us in front of the house. The interior of the home was immaculate. As soon as you walk in you are captivated by the wall of windows at the back of the house that overlooks the valley below (which is a part of this property) with the river and stables. There are expansive patios both on the main level and on the basement level. The basement is massive. It has a theater area for movies, and air hockey table, a pool table, a sitting area and a separate room with a ping pong table.
Every detail seemed to be covered and the house lacked nothing. We especially appreciated the welcome basket with wine. We spent several days down at the river and caught over 30 fish while we were there (we released them all so you can catch them too). The river was nice and refreshing and the kid's loved spending time by the water. We also had the opportunity to visit the stables several times and the kids loved feeding and riding the horses. We saw many deer all over the property as well as other animals.
My brother in law and I trailered our Harleys up there and we spent many days riding all over Northern Virginia and West Virginia. It was some of the best riding either of us had ever done. We also spent some time touring Washington, DC which was less than 90 minutes away. The highlight for the kids was the trip to Hershey Park in PA which also was only a couple of hours away. The location of the property was ideal because we had privacy, yet we were centrally located.
We had the opportunity to speak with the owners several times and they were always gracious and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We even brought several guns with us and they let us take advantage of their huge property by designating an area we could use for target practice. We spent 2 weeks in this home and we wanted to stay longer. Usually, we are more than ready to go home after a 2 week vacation, but not in this case. Do not hesitate for a second to rent this house. I know we will definitely be back again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our group of 5 couples stayed at this home for 4 days/ 3 nights over New Years 2013. Our stay was absolutely amazing. The house is huge but presents a very welcome lived in feel. Though we had 5 couples this home could easily accommodate more people. It is HUGE! We planned to indulge in several outdoor activities but we did not want to leave the house. One trip to the local grocer (food lion) was all we needed. We cooked, baked, played pool, ping pong, air hockey, played cards, watched movies, & set up a formal dinner in the dining room for New Years Eve. As several of the reviews states, this house has absolutely EVERYTHING you need. The outside scenery was so picturesque as snow had fallen the day before we arrived. We cannot wait to go back as I think we all fell in love a little more on this much needed couples vacation.
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
5

AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
New Years Eve at this property was amazing! We checked in Saturday afternoon and did not leave until our check out date (Tuesday). The property and its views were breathtaking and Kathleen provided everything needed to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The house was modern... think huge bedrooms and bathrooms, fun game room(s), a sitting room with a piano, living room with a fireplace, and a spectacular kitchen. If you enjoy cooking, this kitchen is perfect! There was enough of everything to accommodate a huge party. We spent our days cooking and relaxing and our evenings playing games. Our group consisted of 5 couples (all in our 30s), but the property would suit guests of all ages. Young children had a huge basement to explore complete with ping pong, pool, or air hockey. All ages would feel comfortable in the 6 bedrooms, sitting room with fireplace, and huge patio and deck. Although it had just finished snowing, we cooked on the gas grill and opened windows to let in the fresh mountain air. This by far was the best rental property that I have experienced and would love to revisit it in the near future. Thanks again Kathleen!
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
5

My favorite Rental property thus far!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Just returned from a three night/four day trip and I must say this house is Fabulous. We loved everything about this place and could not stop talking about how nice it was.

The house is very spacious and clean. The kitchen is huge and fully equipped. The dining room was perfect for our formal N.Y.E Dinner. The game room/basement is every man's dream. The spacious bedrooms and bathrooms were great and the beds were very comfortable. (Oh and I loved waking everyone up to the sound of the Piano)!

This house made us feel as if we were at home and not at a rental property. The view from the deck is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who is looking to have a great time.

Thank you so much Kathleen for making our stay fun and memorable. We will be returning soon.

PS: The welcome gift was very much needed :)
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
5

Fantastic Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a wonderful stay. The home and property are so picturesque. Kathleen was an extremly gracious host from the gift awaiting us when we arrived, to having everything our group needed to move right in, to the delivery of some firewood for an outdoor fire. Our group of 12 was extremely comfortable and ahd more than enough room. There was something for everyone(ages 6-65). This was our 4th home away/VRBO and this was the nicest by far. Thank you so much and we look forward to renting the house again.
Owner's Response: David, Thank You for the wonderfull review. I'm so glad your family enjoyed your stay at Riverview Farm. I would like to offer your family a warm weather place in Key West Florida. Our HomeAway # 3005929 is available to our guests at a discounted rate since you have stayed with us at Riverview. Again Thank You for that Great review, Kathleen
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
5

Wonderful fall vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a wonderful time at this amazing home. The owners are wonderful people to deal with. The location is fabulous ...surrounded by the fall colors at this time of the year. We used the river-side to pitch tents for the kids and camped. Had a great campfire. The house is beautiful, and very comfortable and can easily accommodate 4 families. There are beautiful hiking routes around.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
California
4

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time in Tom's Brook at the Riverview Farm home. Everyone had their own room, the kids enjoyed playing pool and air hockey. We spent time floating on the river and had Smores by a toasty fire. We fed the horses, but unfortuntely couldn't ride them. The home was lovely overall, the view from the back deck breathtaking. You really had to watch for the spiders, though. My husband is a music composer and enjoyed playing on the baby grand, although it needs tuning. My only issue was the smell of the water. It was pretty foul and we had to purchase bottled water for drinking, brushing our teeth, cooking and coffee. I would recommend providing guests more information about local events, attractions, recreation and shopping. A lot of things found online no longer exist. Kathleen was a pleasure to work with and very helpful. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Catherine,
We are sorry you experienced a problem with the water while you were staying
at Riverview Farm. We found that the water system had malfunctioned causing a breaker to trip which, in turn, caused the water to have an oder. We apologize and want you to know that if we had known about the problem, we would have fixed immediately. Hopefully, the beauty of the house and property more than compensated for this problem and we hope to see you again at Riverview Farm.
Sincerely,
Kathleen
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 200 acre Farm with 1/2 Mile of Riverfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p328368
+1 7576302003
Shenandoah Shenandoah Valley
5

Fantastic family get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our large family truly enjoyed our stay in Toms Brook. The house is comfortabally furnished, bedrooms were beautiful and the spacious kitchen was very well equipped...everything you could need was there with duplicates! My four daughters and I could all be working in it and not bump into each other! The house had beautiful views, and the yard was lovely. The owners set up a bonfire for us, had chairs, picnic tables and kayaks and tubes there so the river was enjoyed by all - especially the 5 grand children! I would definitely go back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1