Vergennes farmhouse rental - Vermont Farmhouse
Vermont Farmhouse
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Vergennes Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Our antique farmhouse (Circa 1830) sits directly on the Otter Creek River for a perfect Vermont getaway with all the outdoor space you could need. Whether you like to be in a boat or simply enjoy watching them go by, our house on the river offers unprecedented opportunities to relax! Bring your own boat (or use our canoe and kayaks) and put it in right from the house to enjoy a quiet paddle down the river, or motor to the Vergennes waterfalls or right out to Lake Champlain. Both the river and the lake offer terrific fishing.

You will see beautiful sunrises over the Green Mountains from the River Room, and sunsets over the Adirondacks. Lake Champlain is a 5 minute drive as is the lovely city of Vergennes, where you can enjoy shopping and restaurants. A 20 minute trip in the car will bring you to Middlebury to the South or Shelburne to the North, and Burlington is waiting just beyond. Other nearby attractions include: Basin Harbor Club (golf, restaurants), Button Bay State Park, Maritime Museum, Shelburne Museum, Rokeby Museum, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and within 45 minutes you can be skiing at Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, or Middlebury College's Snow Bowl.

The house is very comfortable with a well-equipped, modern kitchen and plenty of room. The master bedroom has a queen bed and beautiful river views. Another bedroom has a double bed, the third has two twins, and the fourth has bunk beds as well as a trundle bed. There are two large living rooms, a breakfast nook, formal dining room, and a screened porch. We provide plenty of board games, puzzles, a DVD player and WiFi to enjoy during your stay. Gather around the wood stove in the winter or build a campfire in the fire-pit outside in any season.

This house offers a unique getaway in all four seasons, taking advantage of all Vermont has to offer. Come and enjoy our wonderful home with your family.

Attending a wedding at the Basin Harbor Club?

We're only 3 miles away.

Keywords: Farmhouse, Antique, Riverfront, Mountain Views, Champlain Valley

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 327931 in Vergennes, Vermont

Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327931vbi
(617) 620-0762
Vergennes Lake Champlain Valley
New York
5

Lovely Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We spent a long fall weekend at this house and would love to come back. The house is much larger and spacious than the impression I had from the pictures, and the two large living rooms meant there was plenty of room for our group to spread out. In addition, we were pleasantly surprised at how well stocked the kitchen and pantry were. The property is beautiful and very private without feeling isolated, and the river location was serene. I highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327931vbi
(617) 620-0762
Vergennes Lake Champlain Valley
Vernon, CT
5

If you're looking for peace and quiet - even with a crowd of people - this is the place to go!!

If you're looking for peace and quiet - even with a crowd of people - this is the place to go!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family needed down time, and this was the perfect retreat! Relaxing, peaceful & comfortable are only a few words that describe our family vacation at this lovely home. The kitchen, linens, games & movie selections are well stocked. The common rooms are comfortable & spacious. Use of the outdoor grill, fire pit, dock, boat launch & kayaks were terrific. Having Tom's Marina, down the road, was also extremely helpful. The children's favorite part was the swing in the apple tree (& eating the apples!). There are plenty of nearby activities, and a 20 minute ride up the river took us right into Lake Champlain. We can't wait to return next year!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327931vbi
(617) 620-0762
Vergennes Lake Champlain Valley
Brookline, MA
5

beautiful weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My family stayed at this property for the weekend of my graduation from UVM. The house had everything we needed for a much needed escape. We enjoyed going down the creek with the kayaks and the canoe and had a great cookout on the grill. The house was immaculate and the property was quiet and secluded. We fully recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327931vbi
(617) 620-0762
Vergennes Lake Champlain Valley
Austin, TX
4

FIADL4U@aol.com

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We enjoyed 9 nights at this house in the fall of 2011. Loved having the kayaks readily available and the owners were pretty easy to work with. Kitchen, living areas and bedrooms as described and the house was clean.

There is no description of the two bathrooms which is unfortunate. I was very glad that we were only three people as there is a shower in the upstairs bath where the bedrooms are but only a tiny claw footed tub with a sprayer and no shower curtain downstairs. Functionally, the downstairs bathroom is more of a half bath.

The other item that was missing in the description is that only half of the house is heated by heaters. The front half of the house that includes a living room, dining room and three bedrooms is all heated by a wood stove. This did work fine during our stay but it makes it trickier to regulate the temperature. Of course this would not be any issue during the summer. Also, the owner had space heaters for those rooms which I suspect they use if the stove is not enough.

It would be nice to see photos of all the bedrooms and the bathrooms before renting to help with clarity.
Owner's Response: We have added a shower and curtain to the tub in the 2nd bath for larger groups. While the woodstove does provide ample heat in the winter,we do have electric heaters in the bedrooms for added comfort.
business
Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327931vbi
(617) 620-0762
Vergennes Lake Champlain Valley
Lincoln, Nebraska
5

Beautiful Vermont Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We spent 4 delightful days here last July. This historic house has all modern amenities, lots of room, and a beautiful location. There is a sun room overlooking the yard, down to the river, where you can watch the boats go by. This is a great place for birdwatching. It's quiet, quaint and well-maintained. Be sure to visit the Shelburne Museum in Shelburne!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327931vbi
(617) 620-0762
Vergennes Lake Champlain Valley
New Jersey
5

relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The listing description is extremely accurate. The property is beautiful with plenty of room to run or just relax and enjoy the view and the boats passing by. The farmhouse is really lovely.The whole house feels cozy and comfortable. The house was very clean and well maintained. We didn't want to leave. This was a great place to spend quality time with my family. We really had a lot of fun and are looking forward to getting back there as soon as possible!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327931vbi
(617) 620-0762
Vergennes Lake Champlain Valley
Jupiter, FL
5

Amazing Get -Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We spent 2 nights at this beautiful house last summer. The house is great: Many rooms of all sizes and shapes, 2 staircases, large, open downstairs areas for eating, socializing. We were there with 8 people and there was loads of room! The back living room has a huge window that looks out onto the yard. The furniture is comfy, not cluttered. The owners have recently done a lot of painting and fixing up, so the place is bright and clean. Owners are easy to work with, love their home and wanted us to have a great experience. The house has an expansive yard, gorgeous view and 30 second walk to the dock and water-access. We really felt like we had had a restful mini-vacation after our weekend at this house.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1