El Cuyo apartment rental - Hacienda Antigua Villa at night
Hacienda Antigua Villa at night
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

El Cuyo Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Suite, 300ft ,2 dbl beds, Shower, Villa 800ft2, Kitchen , Bathroom, Shower, Wc

*NEW* 360 Virtual Tour of El Cuyo and Homes available, ask us for the link* German Owner lives in Yucatan, Landlord of the Year 2012

Vw Bugs for 219 usd for 4 days. The Hacienda Antigua Villa and Antigua Lodge is a cosy hideaway for everybody budget orientet that enjoys the real Mexico without the tourists. Hidden under coconut palm trees, you may relax in your hammock, watch the birds during the day and the stars at night, take a swim in the ocean that you have practically by yourself, or take mile long beach walks and collect seashells that have been washed up by the ocean current over night, or simply do nothing.

The House is fully furnished and ready to be moved in at any time. The 800ft2 Villa has a Masterbedroom with a Kingsize Bed, fully equipped kitchen, terrace, bathroom and livingroom. The 300ft2 Lodge has 2 more dbl beds in one room, small kitchenette, bathroom with shower and its own seperate entrance.

You may rent the Villa together or separate from the Suite, or vice versa. Prices shown are for the Suite.

Service of chef and fishing or snorkel tours could be provided by the caretaker Remigia

Vw Bug Rental for just 219 Usd for 4 Days: Starting now you can rent a Vw Bug with our Condos.

incl Insurance and Local Cel phone

Pick up and drop off are flexible

(Cancun and or El Cuyo)

Vw Bug for just 149 usd for 4 Days: Starting Nov 2009 you can book a Vw Bug for 149 Usd incl Tax, Km, Insurance and Cel Phone , 5 days

for details pls inquire

Service upon arrival: The Caretaker will receive you in the Villa and hand you over the keys.

Please leave a 100 Usd deposit, that you will be refunded when you return them upon departure and when the house is left in the same conditions as you received it.

On the first morning after arrival, we will serve you a Mexican Welcome Breakfast in your Villa.

After that, join us on a 1 Hour Orientation Tour by Golf Cart in El Cuyo, its fun and you get to know where all the important things are that you need to know while you are vacationing in El Cuyo.

More Details
Hide Details

The best career decision I've made in my life was to come to this beautiful country,....Mexico.

I love the country and its people, but their slowness, tardiness and informality in some cases still bothers me, even after 20 years I now live here. You just have to put everything into the balance ... it's a bit hard to explain .... but it's something like if you want a fruit that has no shell or skin, is something ... thats not possible.

I was born and educated in Bamberg, Germany and finished my career there. After that, I went to work for the Mouse in Disney World in Orlando Florida and have worked in the German Pavilion at Epcot , .. followed by 2 years at Lufthansa in Frankfurt. Driven by wanderlust ... I then followed the call Mexico's in 1993.

I lived for 20 years in Cancun, Mexico, ... and still work part time in 5 star hotels. 12 years ago I started with the first Vacation apartment. We now have 7 and also rent you our Vw Beetle to our guests. We are the owners of these houses and can be reached anytime personally, by phone or by email. In the Competition of the Landlord of the Year in 2011, we made the 3 place, and in 2012 we reached the 1st place. It's a lot of fun with guests, and we are always passing along our longtime experience in Mexico . We look forward hosting you ...

Mattias Doehling purchased this apartment in 2001

Who do we recommend to rent a vacation home in Yucatan?

If you are interested in getting to know the mexican culture, its people the hospitality and its food , is flexible and willing to learn more about the 'Mexican way of Life'and wants to experience more 'Local Flavour'... away from the beaten Tourist path and 5 Star Hotels ..you will enjoy it..come and stay with us.

Who should reconsider it?

If you are looking to be pampered in a 5 Star All inclusive Hotel and Buffett style meals , having an English speaking concierge 24 hours a day...then do yourself a favor..and dont renta a vacation home.

Hacienda del Cuyo:

Working in Cancun´s Hotel Business during the week , on days off, we enjoy travelling in the Yucatan with its fabled culture, away from the city .. and mass tourism. In February 2000, we have come by accident to El Cuyo ... the drive threre was overwhelming ... over a reddish pink lagoon with flamingos, the road led to the village .. further to a Mayan pyramid with a lighthouse built on top of it. The roads in El Cuyo are made of sand and coconut palm trees everywhere in the quaint Village. Miles of fine white sand beach with no tourists but lots of seashells.. as far as the eye can see. We were delighted, and then spent every free weekend in El Cuyo. One day, someone offered us a small house for sale. There was at that time only a ground floor. We immediately fell in love with this 'rough diamond' and have restored it with much passion. we didnt think of it as a rental business at that time. After some time, we have added the 2nd floor Penthouse and te Rustic Casa Maya Lodge.

We still spend every free weekend in El Cuyo ... now with our 2 young Kids...

Hacienda Antigua

We acquired it in 2002 and 2012, lovingly converted it to the Hacienda Antigua. Outside walls are handmade of a natural stone facade by Mayan Craftsmanship. Inside a Mayan artist from Izamal Hand-painted colonial decorations on the Walls .Lots of heavy wrought iron was used inside the Hacienda. The Beach terrace covers a big Pyramid shaped palapa , so our guests can always hide in the cooling shade of this palm thatched masterpiece.

37 Reviews of Property 32714 in El Cuyo, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 37 reviews
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
3

Two and a half months in El Cuyo.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was not the original plan, 6 weeks if I remember correctly. But if you need a place just to be, this is the place. The beach stretches for miles, the people are friendly and El Cuyo in general is a place to unwind. Remigia (the caretaker) has made our stay even better and our Spanish gets better with her help.

We have the small studio at the rear of the main house, the space serves our purpose as a couple. We have taken to cooking, eating and relaxing in the enclosed palapa. It really is a godsend! Many other visitors (from the other apartments) have joined us in the cool of the evening relaxing and enjoying in our mosquito proof enclosure.

Food shopping is limited in El Cuyo, small items can be purchased in town; bread, beer, some vegetables, some meats etc. For larger shops we head to Tizimin, it is about 80km away. There are 2 supermarkets there, we now check both of them as depending on the day each has different items. As our time here progressed our want to go to Tizimin declined, relaxing is what we wanted not traveling to shop! To do this we needed a larger fridge, Mathais was very responsive to the request and a larger fridge was dragged in the very next day... I had never known how good ice was ;-)

Don't expect a Cancun experience here, expect a simple relaxed vacation in a safe friendly Yucatan town.
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
5

Nice Getaway at the Hacienda Antigua

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We wanted to just get away fro a week,..and found this Hideaway online.
We had a wonderful , relaxing time to clear mour heads and spent some time together.
the Hacienda was clean , well equipped and the caretaker Remigia welcomed us upon arrival and offered her services for us during our stay.
El Cuyo is a nice, quiet, safe and laidback Beachtown in the Yucatan with lots of Coconut palmtrees.
The locals were mnice, friendly and we found them very helpful.
Would recommend this to anyone that looks for an original place with Nature without lots of Tourists around
Owner's Response: Hola from the Yucatan,

thanks for having stayed with us in both of our rentals in El Cuyo and in Cancun.
Come back again , and
Hasta Luego Mattias
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
5

Relaxing week with the Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
After one week of Cancunin Villa Maya de Cancun,...we have decided to go and relax a bit into a small Beach Village....This was our 3rd trip to El Cuyo,..before we spent a really nice time in the Hacienda del Cuyo,..and now we have chosen the other Property and enjoyed that one as well.the Kids ( 4 and 8) had a blast,..we used the Kayaks and Bycicles, played Soccer on the sandy Beach,..collected seashells and ate delicous, fresh and inexpensive seafood.
The House was clean, the caretakers friendly and helpful.
we did some excursions with Juan and Ramiro to Rio Lagartos, Ek Balam and did a snorkeling trip thru them...Awesome!

We definitely will be back,...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola Joseph and Family,

thanks for having stayed a 3rd time with us,..and thanks for the positive Review..hope we can welcome you next year a 4th time in one of our Vacation homes. Sunny Regards Mattias
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
London, England
5

Fantastically....really can recommend it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Thanks Mattias and Crew for a great relaxing week week in Puerto del Cuyo.
Away from the crowds! It really was a real Mexican experience mixed with adventure, a treat for all of our senses!
We practically had the beach for ourselves and only had to share it with your other guests in your beautiful Lighthouse.
We even became friends with the Family from Germany... The Villa was wonderful and clean, the beaches great, the food fresh and tasty, your caretaker and his family couldn't have been more helpful.
We just relaxed on the beautiful white sandy beach, swam in the warm ocean, ate coconuts and drank the fresh coconut milk, then the Caretaker came and prepared baked fish...absolutely wonderful.

The pictures on your website don' t do it justice and have been accurate, thanks for all your help, as well as the easy and honesty throughout the reservation process. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Usa
5

Adventure in El Cuyo's Lighthouse

Adventure in El Cuyo's Lighthouse
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The adventure begins. I am in Tizimin (south of El Cuyo) and happen into meeting and negotiating with a local property manager who handles property in El Cuyo. Deal done. WeI head to El Cuyo (a small fishing village with wonderful local charm) I am booked into Margaritaville's Caribbean Lighthouse Villa--- sight unseen. I was hoping for quaint, comfortable, and tranquil - and received more. I am guided by the local manager, who lives a short distance away with his family, to a home that is styled with a lighthouse turret. The accommodation fit my needs perfectly: two comfortable beds (I only needed one), refrigerator, microwave, hot plate, and utensils, and not surprising (but you can read about other places to stay that offer outdoor showers) an indoor shower. Across a sand road, between neighbors' homes, lay the Gulf of Mexico, all of maybe 50 yards. No noise, save one or two cars. I spot a few local beachcombers who are looking for wonderful shell treasures. I am wishing I was in turtle season, but the birdlife abounds. And, like the name says, I am enjoying my homemade margarita. (Don't forget to bring tequila, you can buy the rest - fresh limes and cane sugar, salt if needed, and time to make ice) El Cuyo is special, the people are helpful, and the tranquility marvelous.. I am going back next month, spending an extra day, going beachcombing, dining at a local restaurant (seafood, you think?), hit the beach including the lounges, and what ever else comes to mind - but not a lot. Of course, I will be staying at Margaritaville's Caribbean Lighthouse Villa. The Matthias family is wonderful in providing help and guidance for guests like myself. It is such a pleasure to have a place to stay where you feel like family before you arrive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola from the Yucatan!

Thanks for staying with us in the Lighthouse Suite,and for the detailed Review...

We have made upgrades to the bigger Villa Section of the Lighthouse, and the smaller Section of the Suite as well.


Come Back soon,...Sunny Regards from Yucatan


Mattias and Family
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Kamloops BC Canada
2

The Lighthouse # 32714

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
WE rented the villa suite for the two months of Dec 09 and Jan 10 and were very disappointed . The advertisement was not clear at all so we spent our time in one room without many comforts and only 0ne-burner to cook on Since we had paid before arriving we didn't have a choice of moving somewhere else
The village of El Cuyo was wonderful The cafes and grocery stores were good and the people were very friendly and helpful The beach was left in its natural state Sometimes not very clean depending on the tides or storms but with a lot of shells and birds. Most of the time it was deserted so had a lot of nice walks
My advise to anyone going to El Cuyo is to rent short term then if needed you can move Be very careful reading the ads
There are many places to rent here
Owner's Response: Hola from the Yucatan,

thanks for your comments, we always want to improve.
I am very happy that you stayed in the Lighthouse Suite, the small Apartment ( 26m2) for 2 months and enjoyed the Village , the People and Mexico.
I have recommended the Larger section but you were on a very tight budget,... you only paid 29 Usd per night during Christmas and New Years...nothing to complain about there i guess...even the small Hotelrooms in town are more exensive..with noplace to cook, etc...
I made the Ad now clearer ( m2 and ft2), so when somebody requests the bigger Villa section versus the smaller Suite section you know what you are getting.
Eventhough that was explained in the contract from Homeaway that was signed by You...but again i know from Juan, Remi, Magally,Cristian, Gemi and Ramiro that you felt very safe in El Cuyo and in the 2 Months you made many friends.
Hope we can welcome you in the Villa section the next Year
Helpful votes: 7/10
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Mexico City
5

One of a Kind, Naturally Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Me and my Family spent a relaxing and exciting Vacation at this rental.
The Villa was clean, the seafood frsh and the area very natural, untouched by the Tourists, a real find actually.
The Owner was very helpful throughout the reservation process, sent us the driving directions and other hints and advice that was very useful for our Vacation
We were gretted by the Caretaker cristian and his wife and shown where everything was in the house.
The day after our arrival, he fixed a Mexican Welcome Breakfast with delicous Jamaica ( a natural Mexiacn Softdrink), afterwards he gave us a 1 hour Tour on a rented Golf Cart thru the Village.
He pointed out the Lighthouse ( built on an ancient Mayan Pyramid) in the Towncenter, the Church, Restaurants, Internetcafe,Bakery, Grocery Stores, Gasstation ets...which was really helpful and it made us "feel at home" and welcome right away.
The Locals are friendly and helpful, not just in Puerto del Cuyo, but in the whole Yucatan Peninsula.
The whole Swinflue frenzy in the Us ( CNN) didn't keep us from exploring and enjoying our Vacation.
You shouldn't miss the Mayan Ruins of Chichen Itza, Ek Balam..and we also recommend the Tour to Rio Lagartos, where you can admire Seaturtles, Flamingos, Crocodiles, Albatros and other Wildlife.
Juan and Johnny ( work at the Iguana Factory Restaurant in El Cuyo with great Food and prices) organized that wonderful Tour.
Overall we all loved it and would want to return again on our next Vacation.
Thanks for everything again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola!
I am happy that you enjoyed the stay in my house so much, and thanks for the recommendations of the different trips.
i especially liked that you didnt pay attention to what the News Media is saying about the swineflu and not travelling, and so on...
And you are right, it has been blown out of proportions, but thats what they do i guess.
Its good to see bookings up again an people are travelling to the Yucatan again.
Thanks again for sharing your experiences with others.
Hope to see you again in one of my rentals in the future.
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan, Mexico
5

just right

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Hi Mattias, Villa del Faro was so great, with its nautical theme. When I was there a couple drove up to the house and excitedly asked to see it--he was a ship's captain from Cancun and the lighthouse drew him in. I felt very comfortable and liked that the house was clean and homey, with all the things I needed for cooking and eating (and wine drinking!). Its proximity to the beach--just a moment's walk down the sandy access road across from the house--was super. And it was a real treat to find reading lamps in the bedroom. Thanks very much, I'll be back for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola Tey!

Thanks for the nice comment.
I am glad that you had a great time in both of my homes in Puerto del Cuyo.
It is always good to have you as a guest, come back soon!
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
denver, Colorado
5

A relaxing week in El Cuyo at The Lighthouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
Thanks for a great relaxing week week in Puerto del Cuyo. Away from the crowds!
It really was a real mexican experience mixed with adventure, a treat for all of our senses! We practically had the beach for ourselves and met up it with your other guests in your beautiful Lighthouse. We even became friends with the Family from Germany...
The Villa was wonderful and clean, the beaches great, the food fresh and tasty, your caretaker and his family couldnt have been more helpful.
We just relaxed on the beautiful white sandy beach, swam in the warm ocean, ate coconuts and drank the fresh coconut milk, then Christian came and prepared baked fish....absolutely wonderful.
The pictures on your website dont do it justice and have been accurate, thanks for all your help, as well as the easy and honesty thruout reservation process.
We will be back
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Beach Hacienda Antigua Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p32714
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Deutschland
5

Mit Käfer durch Yukatan, wunderbares Abenteuer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Hola!

Wir sind gut und gesund wieder in Deutschland angekommen.

Dein Service den du uns geboten hast war wirklich einwandfrei.

Dein Leuchturm ist eine sehr schöne Ferienwohnung wo man mal so richtig entspannen kann.

Ich werde dich weiter empfehlen weil Yukatan immer wieder eine Reise wert ist.

Für meine Frau und Mich war es wirklich ein schöner Urlaub!

Mit eurem roten Vw Käfer durch das Land zu Reisen ist alleine schon ein Abenteuer für sich.
Wer in Mexico durch das Land fährt der wird natürlich keine Europäischen verhälltnisse vorfinden wer das nicht aktzeptieren
kann oder will der solle lieber zu Hause in der warmen Stube bleiben.

Ein schöneres Reisen ist natürlich wenn man der Spanischen spache mächtig ist.
Aber auch ohne diese Spachkenntisse kommt man gefahrenlos durch ganz Yukatan.
Die Mexicaner haben sich immer als Hilfsbereit erwiesen.

Das Geld für einen Reiseführer ist gut angelegt. Da man sonst an vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten vorbeifahren würde.

Trotzdem muss man schon ein besonderer Typ von Urlauber sein( kein all Inclusive Urlauber).
An sonsten hat man bestimmt keine Freude dran.
Ein bisschen Abenteuerlust, Entdenkungsfreue und keine Berührungsängste mit den Einwohnern gehört dazu!

Nochmal besten Dank für alles! Viele Grüße an deine Familie und Ramiro in elCuyo!

In der nächsten Mail noch ein Paar Fotos. Welche du natürlich Frei verwenden kannst!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola aus Yukatan,

super das euch das Vw Kaefer Abenteuer so gut gefallen hat.
Ihr habt ja allerhand gesehen in den 3000 km die ihr in den 3 Wochen gefahren seid...bei Wind , Sonne und Regen durch die Maya Doerfer, Ruinen und Koloniale Staedte vorbei an freundlichen und winkenden Einwohnern....
wir kennens, wir machens ja auch oft genug,..
waere toll wenn ihr noch einige fotos vom Leuchtturm und mit dem Vw kaefer senden koenntet....saludos und kommt mal wieder und empfehlt uns weiter.
Helpful votes: 11/15