Sayulita villa rental - Outdoor shower for when you get back from the beach.
Outdoor shower for when you get back from the beach.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
 

Sayulita Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3 full ensuite bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Hidden among mature trees and tropical gardens is this oasis in Sayulita: Casa Duende.

Each of the three well-appointed bedrooms at Casa Duende have their own private en-suite bathrooms. A high, decorative wall blocks the view into the Casa from passersby street side, and the walls surrounding the side and back of the house ensure that the grounds are totally private. Guests can relax on the large, ground-level patio, equipped with a stainless-steel BBQ, sink and bar/counter - plus make use of the built-in wood smoker for the fresh fish you'll get from the local fishermen.

The two upper level bedrooms have a palapa-covered living room, and overlook the gardens and neighboring trees. The doors to the kitchen and living room are completely screened and open up onto the patio for a view of the bouganvillas, banana trees, cactus plants and gardens. Casa Duende is a quick, level, 3-minute walk to the plaza and to Sayulita beach.

There are no hills to walk, making this ideally accessible for all ages. There are stores nearby for purchasing groceries or other necessities. While there is no need for a car at Casa Duende, there is street parking should you require it.

Sit outside and listen to the birds while you have your morning coffee or a dinner of fresh fish that you just smoked and BBQ'd outside.

Life doesn't get better than Casa Duende.

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 327070 in Sayulita, Mexican Riviera

Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 12 reviews
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
5

An Outstanding Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We're a retired couple, in our mid-60's, who spent six weeks at Casa Duende this winter. We've traveled to places in North America and Europe as well as Asia, and Casa Duende is right at the top of the list. The premises were spotless, and housekeepers visit during the week to keep it that way. It's exceptionally safe, quiet, and cool with a wonderful garden setting. It was great at the end of each day to come back to the quiet coolness of our patio and balcony at Casa Duende. With three bedrooms and three baths, we were able to invite our adult kids to come down and visit, as well. Virginia and the staff at Primavera Properties were friendly and prompt whenever questions came up, and there were no problems whatsoever for us to deal with. The beach is five minutes' walk away, as is the downtown area. Sayulita is a friendly, accommodating town, and we actually got to know some of the local residents. If you want to experience "genuine" Mexico without the resort bubble around you, this is the place. Casa Duende was a wonderful warm weather escape for us this year. We have nothing but good things to say about it. It's a beautiful destination.
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
Portland, Oregon
5

Wonderful stay at Casa Duende

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a charming house. Its location is about two blocks from either the main plaza or the beach, so it is very convenient to both, and there's a little tienda just a few doors down to buy groceries and a sweet little restaurant--Antonia's--also a few doors down with good food but slow service (on our second visit we took a deck of cards). You enter Casa Duende through a gate on the street and go down some steps through a lovely garden. There is no view of the ocean or the town but the view of the garden is delightful. After being out in the hot sun, it always was a relief to return to our shady sanctuary. The house is not large but was perfect for my wife and I, my son, and my nephew. Each of the boys had his own room with bath upstairs and my wife and I shared a bedroom and bath on the main level. The kitchen was well supplied with utensils and such, and we mostly cooked and ate at home, grilling fish and shrimp on the large outdoor grill, and whipping up papaya and mango smoothies in the blender. In the evenings we played cards on the patio. We were there during Semana Santa, when the town is inundated with Mexican tourists and the plaza sometimes has two bands battling at the same time. We were glad to be a couple of blocks from the plaza where all the noise and commotion was distant and barely audible from the house. We heard roosters and in the mornings the noisy chachalaca birds. If you hike up the road rather than down to the plaza and main beach, you can get to Los Muertos beach, which is in a cove with low surf, and Caricitos beach, which had high surf. The property managers--Virginia and Elsa at Primavera--were very helpful and their office was nearby. They met us at the plaza, accompanied us to the house, and showed us how everything worked. The owner, Joe, also was very helpful, answering a number of questions I had by email prior to our stay. The listing was very accurate. Overall, I'd say that Casa Duende is not opulent but is very charming and peaceful and well-maintained. I hated to leave and I look forward to my next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
Vancouver, British Columbia
4

clean and comfortable, beautiful gardens

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed at Casa Duende for two weeks and it was absolutely perfect. All was as expected from the listing - there were no nasty surprises or disappointments.

The location was excellent, in town without being in the middle of the hubbub. It was fast and easy to come back home to rest or grab something we forgot and then head out the door and a block later we're back in the middle of things. And even though it was close to the action, we rarely heard sound from the bars, at least not anything we noticed.

The garden was so beautiful. One of the bedrooms faces it and it was so amazing waking up to it every morning. There is tonnes of outdoor seating, including a little table on the covered upper deck, so it was really easy to be outside most of the time.

The house was very clean, very well-maintained, as were the gardens.

The property managers provided excellent customer service. They were very responsive whenever we had a question.

We would definitely recommend this property and hope to be able to return and stay there again. It seems particularly well-suited for a group of friends or large family as each bedroom has its own bathroom and the two upper bedrooms have separate entrances. Plus there is lots of room to spread out outside, with the 2 decks and many tables.

Overall, Casa Duende was a huge part of what was an amazing and very relaxing stay in Sayulita!
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
Canada
5

Better than the photos

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Just spent a week at Casa Duende and it was great. You walk through the gate in the an oasis of a yard which is private and has lots of shade from the trees. The house was great, nice to have an ensuite with each room and locks on each door. Our only problem was that we spent too much time at the beach and never got a chance to use the BBQ! We will be coming back to Sayulita for sure, the locals were great and we felt safe the whole time. Very short walk to the beach and such but never heard any noise from the festival.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
Orilllia, Ontario
5

Casa Duende: A Garden Paradise in Mexico's Hidden Jem

Casa Duende: A Garden Paradise in Mexico's Hidden Jem
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My girlfriend and I traveled to Sayulita for the first time in April and had an incredible experience at Casa Duende. From the very start our trip was easy to put together. The owners and management company were incredibly helpful, offering us a great rate, a ton of information about the town and even arranged our airport transportation.

Once we landed in Puerto Vallarta we were immediately greeted by our driver Lois and his cooler of cold beer, which is always a great start for any vacation. On the way to Sayulita we stopped at the grocery store to grab snacks and drinks. The prices were great!! Fresh fruit, vegetables and meat were 50% to 60% cheaper than in Ontario, but the experience of grocery shopping in Mexico was priceless.

After traveling winding jungle roads for about a half hour we arrived in Sayulita; a serene and beautiful ocean front hidden gem, far from the heavy traffic and large resorts of Puerto Vallarta. We then met with the property management people who led us to Casa Duende about a block away.

From the outside Casa Duende doesn't look like much more than a door in a wall. Opening the door reveals a absolutely stunning tiered garden walkway, full of banana and palm trees. The stairs lead to good size open patio, complete with a giant outdoor BBQ, fish smoker and of course the house.

The house itself was beautiful and spotless! The kitchen was stocked with all the cooking essentials and the living room had a fair sized T.V and DVD player, both opened onto the patio. The master bedroom was large and had a fair sized full bathroom and a safe. Upstairs was a smaller patio with a thatched roof, a small bar and two more separate bedrooms each with a full bathroom. The front room on the second floor has a really nice open shower and sliding glass windows which offer a full view of the property. A lot of room for the two of us, but you could easily have 5 or 6 comfortably.

Exploring the town was fun and easy. Casa Duende is located a block away from the center of town and 3 minutes from the beach. The town has a very relaxed, laid back feel, like time sort of stops. Full of surf shops, restaurants, taco stands and tequila bars. So you will never be far from the water and you will never starve. Whether its $2.00 tacos with free tequila or wine and steak overlooking the plaza, there is something for everyone and its all reasonably priced.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
Salem, OR
5

An Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed for a week and I don't really want to post how terrific it was for fear that when I am able to return, the house will be booked. Everything was perfect and I highly recommended this property, the in-town property managers, who were extremely helpful, the location, etc. etc. There were 4 in our party - a middle-aged mom and her grown up children and it was our best vacation yet. Thank you, Ilsa, Virginina and of course the owners for sharing this special place with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
Chicago, IL
4

Great Place to Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Excellent communication with owners and property managers. Great location. Very close to everything, including el espresso and choco-banana! Yum! Also, close to the beach and town center. The house is beautiful! There were clean towels, blankets, etc. and the space was very clean and convenient. We had a hard time getting the oven and bbq to work, but we didn't follow up with the managers - I'm sure they would have fixed it for us! All and all a great place to stay!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for your great comments. We will definately leave more detailed instructions for the bbq and oven.
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Great Location

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Hey Joe,
Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay in Casa Duende. It’s an incredible spot you have there, we loved the court yard!

Hope to stay again sometime, thanks!

shane
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
West Vancouver, BC
4

Spring Break in Sayulita

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Casa Duende was everything we thought it would be, and a little bit more. Upon arrival, we met up with our mascot for the week, "Iggy", a rather large but friendly iguana who watched over the pathway between the gate and house 24/7. The 3 bedrooms certainly met our expectations...especially the outdoor shower for one of the 2 upstairs rooms...and the house and grounds were well maintained during our stay.

The town of Sayulita offers up several good restaurants, which ended up keeping us out of the kitchen & patio BBQ for the most part, although the amenities provided would have done the trick had we been so inclined.

Life on the beach was good apart from the many vendors coming by trying to sell their goods...if you prefer not being bothered by the constant barrage take a small hike to Playa dos Muertos (beach of the dead) which takes you past Villa Amor and the town graveyard to a smaller, quieter beach experience (with smaller waves to boot).

Overall, I'd go back in a heartbeat...it's what you want if you can't stand the idea of going to Cancun, etc. for a week in Mexico...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Short walk to beach and town square, completely walled in, private and quiet.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327070
+1 647 361 7171
Sayulita Nayarit
San Carlos, Sonora, Mexico
5

Wonderful Time at Casa Duende

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed at Casa Duende for four nights and it was delightful. The Casa is located just a block from downtown Sayulita and it is an easy walk. It is a totally private villa and when you open the front gate you are at the edge of a beautiful garden filled with palms and beautiful flowers. We were oohing and ahhing all the way to the house. There is a lot of wonderful outdoor space and we spent most of our time in the garden relaxing. Each bedroom in this wonderful home has its own bath which is a real plus. The owners really do have Egyptian cotton 1,000 count sheets and I have to admit I am a sheet snob! What a treat. During the time that we were there a surf competition was happening and the town was mobbed so we were happy that we had a very private and lovely home to get away from it all. I brought my border collie, Teddy, and he loved it too. It's perfect for people with dogs as there is so much outdoor space. I would highly recommend staying at Casa Duende and I will go there again as soon as I get a chance. Thanks to the owners. They have done a fabulous job making this a home away from home. They have managed to have a tasteful and fabulous villa but it feels like a home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway