Union Pier cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Union Pier Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Load up the red wagon and walk just a block and half to the beach and beautiful Lake Michigan. Swim, sunbathe, and enjoy endless walks along Michigan’s clean beaches. Don’t miss the incredible sunsets and hang out at a bonfire, make s'mores and gaze at the stars. Walk three blocks to downtown for shopping , cafes, restaurants, art galleries, gourmet foods and Ramberg’s famous bakery. That’s just the beginning because there is so much to do and it is all very close by. (Look at the list at activities below) Enjoy a quintessential classic Union Pier Cottage with all the modern updates to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. HDTV, Broadband Wi-Fi Internet, DVD/CD Player, Sound system with I-POD dock. X-Box 360 Video Games, Microwave, Dishwasher, Washer/Dryer, Jacuzzi bathtub, walk-in shower, Espresso maker, Weber gas grill, hammock, outdoor heated shower, large dining area with deck, great for parties. Comfortable furnishings and beds. Three bedrooms, sleeps 6-8, 2 bathrooms, laundry room.

Why the Owner Chose Union Pier: We wanted a relaxing fun place so we could get away from our everyday surroundings yet still be close to Chicago. Very clean and safe area for our children. Great uncrowded beaches. Many things to see and do and all close by. Great galleries and restaurants. Could easily commute to Chicago if needed.

More Details
Hide Details

We purchased our property so our family and friends could enjoy a great place to vacation with lots of things to see and do. Real easy to get to and only about an hour from Chicago. Our cottage has been updated and is perfect for vacationers who want to enjoy just about every aspect of their time in Union Pier. We can't say enough about how much you and your family and friends will enjoy the experience and develop great memories. We are dedicated owners who will do everything we can to make your stay totally enjoyable. We solicit suggestions from our renters so we can continually improve the experience.

Howard Hirsch purchased this cottage in 1996

We wanted a relaxing fun place so we could get away from our everyday surroundings yet still be close to Chicago. Very clean and safe area for our children. Great uncrowded beaches. Many things to see and do and all close by. Great galleries and restaurants. Could commute to Chicago if needed.

19 Reviews of Property 326835 in Union Pier, Michigan

Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 19 reviews
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Streamwood
5

Charming and quiet---just what we wanted!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This wonderful cottage had everything we wanted. It was close to the beach and ample beach supplies were provided including towels, chairs, toys, coolers and a wagon. The cottage itself was open and very comfortable. The master suite was lovely, especially the jacuzzi tub! The large deck included enough space for everyone to spread out, as well as, a clean grill for use. Also, the outdoor warm shower was very nice after a day getting sandy at the beach. The kitchen was clean and provided more than enough dishes and other necessary kitchen tools. The Nespresso coffee machine was a delight to use! Lastly, Union Pier is a quaint town and is close to several other lovely areas including St. Joseph which was a fun shopping experience. Also, very close-by was a blueberry farm for picking which was fun for the whole family. All in all, it was a relaxing and lovely vacation. Thank you, Howard for making us feel so welcome.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

The perfect cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Quintessential Classic Cottage was the perfect place for our family vacation! Our family of four (two adults, two young children) felt perfectly at home. It would work for larger families, as well. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and short walk to the beach. Even our 2.5 year old could walk to and from the beach with us (it's that close). The house is decorated nicely and was supplied with all the basics and then some. The owner went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We would definitely visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

Comfortable and well-stocked, close to beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great time in this well-stocked house. It was quiet, comfortable, and very close to the beach. We enjoyed walking to Red Arrow Roadhouse, grocery stores, and Nani's. Everything else we needed was a short drive away. The house has a nice master suite and two other comfortable bedrooms. This house provided us with the relaxing beach vacation we were looking for!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

Great time at the cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The cottage is in a great location. Close to the beach, biking trails, a restaurant or 2 and a couple of small markets. We used the beach chairs, cooler and wagon to go the beach. We used the deck everyday for morning coffee, grilling, etc. There is plenty of seating inside and out for dining. The washer and dryer came in handy as well. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. We had a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm happy to know you and your friends from childhood were able to share some reunion time and birthdays together. It is great know that you all took advantage of the Union Pier area and the cottage. You are all welcome back, anytime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Valparaiso, IN
4

The "quintessential classic cottage" heading says it all

The "quintessential classic cottage" heading says it all
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The information about and pictures of this cottage are all accurate. In fact, there is more offered in terms of beach needs than is stated in the description. The cottage is very comfortable. We had eight adults and two babies and there was plenty of room. The cottage is a guaranteed easy walk to Miller Beach which is wide and wonderful. Even on Sunday, the most crowded day, we felt we had enough room to spread out. The cottage is an easy walk to "downtown" Union Pier and The Roadhouse restaurant which is one of our favorites. One of the best assets of this cottage is its owner who is very accommodating. He answered all of our questions in a timely and professional manner. The frog faucets are priceless! Memories are indeed made at this charming cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so happy you had a great time at the cottage. We never stop trying to improve and fine tune the overall experience for our guests so your suggestions have been very helpful. You are always welcomed back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
United States
5

Cottage on Center Avenue

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Despite the weather we had a great time. The property was everything described and appearance and amenities was very nice. Would recommend this property to anyone who would just like to stay at the house or have a great time on the nice beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Indianapolis, IN
5

Quintessential Classic Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a fabulous home to vacation in with your entire family! We had a total of 9 on one night and there was more than enough room!! Large rooms with plenty of lounging space, comfy chairs with reading lights, large indoor tub, comfy mattresses that made for a peaceful night's sleep. The large dining room was adequate to seat everyone for a meal or play games at night AND the home is professionally decorated. And should I mention the large outdoor deck with hammock? We also enjoyed having a washer and dryer at our disposal. The walk to the beach was quick! Our family is already talking about coming back for next year. The owner was very accommodating and even used green products after I told him I had an asthma attack prior to vacation. Oh yes one more thing, I was able to bring my dog on vacation, that made me very happy :) The listing description was accurate, photos were current, property was clean and maintained. We had much fun exploring towns located on Lake Michigan.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI
5

Ahhhhhh

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cottage is just like what's represented in the photos ... fantastic!. Appreciated the blend of period charm updated with just the right amount of the modern comforts: WiFi is speedy, more than enough supplied in the way of cable channels, games, ipod docking ...etc.

Neighborhood was always quiet and felt very, very safe. Little in the way of traffic during the day and none at night. The property was well maintained and clean, and so is the neighborhood. Union Pier itself is a great place to stay. No large condo developments or roudy crowds - just small-town friendliness and a relaxing atmosphere. Beach is close by - everyone from toddlers to seniors and in between should be able to feel comfortable on it. We prefer to walk to restaurants while on vacation; there were a couple within 5 minutes walk that we enjoyed. Finally, working with the owner was stress free; no problems or surprises. Had the good fortune to chat a bit when checking in - he's a swell person. I highly recommend Quintessential Classic Cottage as a vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Germantown, Ohio
5

A long time coming !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Well the kids have grown up and went their separate ways and for the last several years we have made half hearted attempts at everyone getting together for vacation. This year we finally did it ! We have never been to this part of Michigan and didn't know what to expect weather wise. We looked into it and it looked like it was perfect for us.It was also decided that it would work perfectly coming from Dayton, Ohio, and St. Louis.
Upon arrival at cottage we were immediately impressed with our home away from home for the coming week. The house is kept in very nice condition and is equipped with everything needed for the home away from home. The kitchen has everything you will ever need and the bed linens was clean and plenty of them. This house is well equipped with cable tv and xbox 360, dish washer, and washer and dryer.
There is a very clean Weber gas grill and a cozy hammock on the deck. Owner has also supplied chairs, a wagon, and kids toys for the beach.The weather was perfect and a great time was had by all.

About the only negative I can think of is that parking is a little tight for 3 vehicles, but it worked out with no problems.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you all stay at our cottage and glad you could all get together. Over the years, the cottage has been an enjoyable place to connect with friends and our family. It is really great when schedules can work out. We remain committed to make every stay as great as it could possibly be and hope to see you and your family again, soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quintessential Classic Cottage - Memories Are Made Here!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326835
+1 630 621-0122
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Indianapolis, IN
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My family stayed here last year and we immediately signed up again for our third year in a row. Close to the beach, plenty of room for my adult children and my grandsons, nice layout. We enjoyed eating out on the porch, the hammock and the added outdoor cedar shower was a hit, too! Thanks for the personal touch and the way you helped make our vacation enjoyable. See you in a few months!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway