Oakland studio rental
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Oakland Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Cute studio, very convenient to Children's Hospital, Kaiser Hospital, UC Berkeley and downtown Oakland. Easy access to all freeways

Keywords: short term, vacation rental, studio, furnished

21 Reviews of Property 326815 in Oakland, California

Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
average rating of 4.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
4

Visiting family who are renovating

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Nice accommodation. No folks upstairs so it was very pleasant:) Convenient to College Avenue and parking was not an issue which is always a plus.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
Washington, DC
5

Very nice, roomy, afordable studio in Rockridge with great hostess

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful experience from start-to-finish. Judy's communication was excellent; she was very responsive and left very detailed instructions about the rental.

The space was the perfect size for us. It was simple, but clean and modestly decorated.

The location was great and we took advantage of the walking distance to Starbucks, Safeway, and CVS.

My only complaint (though Judy disclosed it in the room description) was the noise from the house above. The footsteps and voices were very loud and continued to a late time each evening. That said, we remedied it by running the fan in the bathroom (the white noise drowned out the noise from above).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
Washington, DC
5

Very nice, roomy, afordable studio in Rockridge with great hostess

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful experience from start-to-finish. Judy's communication was excellent; she was very responsive and left very detailed instructions about the rental.

The space was the perfect size for us. It was simple, but clean and modestly decorated.

The location was great and we took advantage of the walking distance to Starbucks, Safeway, and CVS.

My only complaint (though Judy disclosed it in the room description) was the noise from the house above. The footsteps and voices were very loud and continued to a late time each evening. That said, we remedied it by running the fan in the bathroom (the white noise drowned out the noise from above).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
Melbourne, Vic. , Australia
5

Convenient, comfortable and well-equipped

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I very much enjoyed my stay in this comfortable and well set-up studio apartment whilst visiting family in the neighbourhood. My grand children loved coming to see me there, and the garden was a perfect space for them. It is in a very good location: there's a bus nearby linking you to Oakland, Rockridge (with a very easy connection on to UC Berkeley) and the Bart and a good supermarket at the top of the street, and it's just a short walk to the amazing Chapel of the Chimes and Piedmont Ave. Durring my stay I enjoyed peace and quiet, though I suspect that it may have been less quiet if a family group had been occupying the upstairs house. I would happily return and can cheerfully recommend this to friends visiting the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
NC
2

Not able to stay there

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
When we arrived the apartment had a damp, basement-type smell (which might have been some cleaning product). In any case it bothered my wife's breathing.

I know it's not a true basement apartment, but I believe it is street level only on 2 sides. In any case we ended up not staying there but at a hotel.

On the plus side the owner did refund the cleaning fee, although no partial refund for unused nights.
Owner's Response: I was sorry that your wife had a reaction to something in the apartment but I think it was perhaps the cleaning products used by the cleaning service. I am going to look into different products. I just wanted to mention that the apartment is not at all damp
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
Fullerton, California
4

Cute Space

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a cute space and is exactly as advertised. I enjoyed my stay here. The place had everything that I needed. Has a small flat screen TV and wifi all a plus for me. The neighborhood is very nice which can be an issue in Oakland. I felt safe here. A walk away is Safeway, CVS and Starbucks. The bathroom is huge and has a closet inside to hang up your clothes. The garden is pretty outside the door. I will stay here again that is for sure. The only drawback was the family upstairs sometime sounded like they were running a marathon, but since I live in a two story house I know the creeks and noise that people upstairs can make.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Thanks Lila for being such a great guest!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
Hollywood, SC
2

A bit disppointed

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a very small rental, but was generally comfortable except for the fact that the family upstairs made a lot of noise, as early as 5:30 AM and as late as midnight. The rental must have been under their kitchen. I could even hear them shutting cabinets.

Also, there was no oven or toaster, only a tiny toaster oven, and the coffee maker only made 5 cups. The rental is in a very nice area, good for walking and shopping.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: I am so sorry the vacation rental guests upstairs were so noisy.
Although the toaster oven works well as a toaster , we have purchased a toaster as well for the studio.
The large microwave is also a convection oven which bakes and broils just like a regular oven. The instructions are in the House Notes
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
Rome, Italy
5

All I needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I've now stayed here twice, and will look for this place first if I'm in the area again. Comfortable, good location both food-wise and freeway wise. No complaints.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: thank you Daniel,
I enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
Loveland, Ohio, USA
5

Grandparents Visiting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We are returning for the second time to this apt rental (first visit Thanksgiving week 2011). It is a very convenient location for us when we visit family. The apt is clean and comfortable. It's also located within easy walking distance to grocery, pharmacy, Starbucks, and restaurants. We would recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio with Garden Walk to Piedmont & College Avenues
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326815vbi
+1 510 652 4218
Oakland The Bay Area
East Coast, USA
4

Basement Room in Great Location, Good Value for Money

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Location and price are positive assets for this basement apartment. The neighborhood is quiet, charming and an easy walk to the supermarket and Piedmont Avenue with its great shopping and eating. Parking is available on the street--a big plus for Oakland. The apartment is clean, the bed comfortable with nice linens. There are some lovely "extras" included: fresh flowers, and a basket of delicious breakfast things in the frig. There is also a pleasant garden space outside the door.

On the negative side, the place is quite dark so if you are claustrophobic that might be a problem. We were there during beautiful weather, so I left the door to the garden space open all the time during the day to brighten the indoors. There a some minor inconveniences as well--no closets, no hangers, only hooks on the wall. No kettle for boiling water if you are a tea drinker. Plates for 4 but only 2 cups (so you have to keep washing out your cup if you want afternoon tea). You can also hear the people upstairs quite clearly when they talk or walk around(in our case at 5 am on a Sunday am!)

The instructions for usage of the place should also be updated. The information about WIFI was out-of-date and we had to call to get the correct access information. The instructions about entry were a bit confusing because of references to a lock box which turned out not to work.
But, despite these drawbacks, this is a pleasant place offered at a fair price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review. We reviewed the overhead light bulbs and are increasing the wattage.
There actually is a wide closet just inside the bathroom, about 5.5 feet wide with many hangers. I am sorry you missed it. We purchased another tea kettle and there are 4 glass coffee cups in the cupboard.
We also just recently installed a floor upstairs which has cut down on the noise level ,especially talking!
Helpful votes: 1/1