Tarcoles house rental - Pool & Deck
Pool & Deck
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Tarcoles House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 4.25 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Casa de e'Smith is an open floor plan home amidst the rain-forest adjacent to Carara National Park. Views of the ocean from most rooms. There is a small river below at the bottom of the property. Poolside deck and terrace offers views of the rain-forest flora, fauna and of course the spectacular sunsets that will amaze you. Macaws fly over daily, Toucans stopping by on occasion, the butterflies... just try and count them! You can see it all from your fabulous private deck that wraps around the back of the house. Keep your camera close by and don't forget your binoculars! Casa de e'Smith's is a nature lovers paradise. Again, don't go without your camera, and binoculars there is always, always something to see.

Jaco Beach is a short 20 min. drive to the South, all the night life you can ask for, during the day a surfer's paradise zip lines, ATV's and nature tours. In between lots of great restaurants with fresh seafood and local fare. Bill-fishing on the 'blue' out of Los Suenos is one of best deep sea fishing spots on the planet. There is something for everyone.

Keywords: Vacation at a custom home in the rain forest of the Central Pacific Coast, with views of the ever-changing ocean, colorful butterflies, birds with breathtaking beauty.... it is, a nature lovers paradise.

More Details
Hide Details

Ron and Vicki Smith, Ron is from the U.K and Vicki is from Australia, residing in Southern California. We have 4 pawed children, 2 dogs, Lola, and Sydney, and a cat, Mango. We love to travel, cook and entertain friends and family.

Ron Smith purchased this house in 2008

'Pura Vida' mingling with the nicest people on earth!

We fell in love with the locals, the area. Decided on this house for its unique design and location close to so many fun and adventurous things to do! All of which can be shared with you.

How can you combine vacationing next to nature, in the forest/jungle/trees, seeing the ocean and hearing the river and not being totally awed by 'Mother Nature'! No better experience!

12 Reviews of Property 326590 in Tarcoles, Costa Rica

Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
Cornwall, NY
5

Amazing trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Recently returned from our visit to Ron and Vicki's wonderful home. Our stay there was truly a dream, home is beautiful, comfortable and nestled in lush forest surroundings.
Waking up each morning to the sounds of the forrest was wonderful. Ron was so helpful with planing our trip before hand and David, the house manager, could not do more for us to help our family have a wonderful first visit to Costa Rica. We walked through Carrera National Park, did zip-line canopy tour in Los Suenos, spent the day at Manuel Antonio National Park, took an ATV tour into mountains, a boat trip to Isla Torguga and still had time for some relaxation at the beach and an afternoon sunning around the pool at home. Sunset dinner at Villa Calleta is not to be missed. We found the home perfectly located for all our adventures and travel was trouble free. We can't thank Ron enough for helping our family have such a wonderful vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
Norman, Oklahoma
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We were so fortunate to spend eight days in Ron and Vickie's home in Costa Rica only a mile or two from Carara National Park. All I can say is it couldn't have been better. Ron was so helpful for advice about activities.....best beaches, restaurants, croc tours, and national park hikes with monkeys and sloths. And the home is amazing with almost total privacy, yet in a gated development. The closest neighbor was several hundred feet away and a hundred vertical feet below you with beautiful jungle in between. The house itself was beautiful with virtually as much floor to ceiling glass as solid wall and sits up high on the side of a hill for watching the sunset over the ocean. The pool and deck were perfect for relaxing...a dip in the pool to get nice and cool and then sit back with a drink and some conversation and wait for the beautiful birds to come to you. Too many times you see homes with high ratings and they usually turn out to be nice places to stay, but only once in maybe 10 or 15 homes fit the vacation so well you need a rating above excellent. You don't feel like you're in a gated community, you realize your in the jungle... with amenities! Anyway what can I say...we've probably rented 30+ homes over the last 10 years and I can honestly say this ranks up there with the absolute best of them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola Denny & Family,
We really appreciate your very kind testimonial....thank you so much.
As we discussed, when you are ready we will treat you not only to a discount as a returning guest but also a special tour.
Thanks so much again, take call all of you.
Ron & Vicki Smith
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
Burbank, CA
5

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
A fully furnished house with all the amenities, plopped in the middle of a rain forest, and conveniently located to all points on the West Central coast of Costa Rica? Sounds too good to be true? It's true and it's great. This home in Tarcoles is phenomenal. My family and I were able to use it as a base to explore all the attractions of the Puntarenas area and a place to luxuriously unwind. Staying there is an adventure in itself as you will probably see all kinds of wildlife and stunning scenery just sitting on the deck by the beautiful swimming pool. A washer and dryer, a top-notch kitchen, and cable and internet, all combine to provide a unique and comfortable travel and adventure experience. Everything about this beautiful home beats the hotel experience by a mile. I would go back in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It has been a real pleasure to receive you and your family as guests, we invite you to return and we assure you that a special discount will be applied to your next visit.....thanks so much for your kind testimonial.

Ron & Vicki
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
Longmont, co
5

Beware you won't want to leave

Beware you won't want to leave
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I have never been on a vacation before and not wanted to go home. Costa Rica is beautiful but Casa de e smith is outstanding. Watch a rain storm from the big open windows by the staircase. Wake up early to sit on the patio and listen to the birds. Sit outside during a rain storm and listen to the rain hit the tropical foliage. Swim all morning in the private pool and spend the afternoon reading a book in the beautiful master suite. The bathroom in the master suite has this really unique feature. They used sandblasted windows and at night the foliage projects an image on the windows it's stunning. The kitchen has this great island so you can cook while your guest sit and talk to you. I found the kitchen well stocked with everything we needed to cook with. Consider yourself very lucky if you can stay here while in costa rica.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Steve,
Your kind review is most appreciated. It's a real pleasure to have you and your family enjoy our piece of paradise. We also sincerely hope that this trip, being the first of many more. Please do stay in touch as we welcome you back. Wishing you and your's all the very best. Ron & Vicki Smith
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
Mississippi
5

What a Wonderful Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Our trip to Cas de e Smith was absolutely wonderful! ! ! On Feb 11, six of us had the best vacation ever staying at Ron and Vicky's house. The pictures on the internet are not nearly as pretty as the house itself. We enjoyed having a swim each morning in the magnificent pool, and watching the birds while we had our morning coffee. The house had a beautiful view - the ocean and rainforest. Ron was super! ! ! ! He helped us so much with our plans, and he stayed in touch to be sure that all was going well. The girls, Vivian and Sharon, in the front office couldn't have been nicer. They set up our tours and fishing trip where, by the way, we caught a 13 ft blue marlin. What more could you ask for in a trip! The people are courteous, friendly, and ever so helpful. If you are looking for peace and serenity in a more than beautiful setting, I would definitely recommend this house. We are already planning our next trip to Casa de e Smith in 2012. . . . .Thank you, Ron, Vicky, Vivian, Sharon, and all the others for making our trip so special. We'll never forget you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Sandy,

It has been a real pleasure to have you and your family as guests at our home.
We appreciate your kindness and sincerely hope that your next trip will be even
more memorable. With so much to do and see in this wonderful country it is
hard to leave....we know only too well every time we head back to Calif.
Finally, we have to tell you that the big 'Blue Marlin' catch has got a lot of attention.
So much so, jealousy is rampant.........CONGRATULATIONS, first time 'Bill-Fishers!"

Pura Vida,

Ron & Vicki Smith
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
Iowa
5

Relaxing place to stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
My husband, son and I stayed at Casa De E'Smith for 4 nights in early January 2011. It's a nicely decorated and very well maintained property. The pictures on the website don't really do the house justice. There is a great kitchen to cook in and a private bath attached to each of the 3 bedrooms. The house is set on the side of a mountain overlooking a rain forest. Large windows in the common rooms overlook the rain forest. It was great fun staying there and I would recommend this property to a friend. The management team was friendly and helpful. We had contact with the owner and he was friendly and sincere. He answered questions about the property and gave advice for nearby restaurants and activities. We hiked up a waterfall nearby and swam in the pools at the bottom of the waterfall. We took a guided tour at Carara National Park which is also close to the house. Both were great adventures and the guided tour was especially worthwhile. We rented a 4WD vehicle while staying in Costa Rica. There are steep roads everywhere in Costa Rica and the road leading to the house is no exception. We did not take advantage of the pool at the house but maybe next time! Our favorite activity was sitting out on the deck watching and listening to the creatures in the forest. We heard and saw macaws flying overhead. A coatimundi climbed a tree in the backyard and knocked down a piece of fruit growing on the tree. He climbed down head first and ate the piece of fruit that had rolled down the hillside. Great memories!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Mary & George,
Thank so very much for your written testimonial of your experiences at Casa e'Smith.
We hope that you will return and catch the Toucan's eating the Papaya's for breakfast,
the same tree right by the deck. I just returned a couple a days ago and still could not
tell that you guy's were there after being there 3 weeks! We welcome you back anytime
and will offer a special for your returning. 'Pura Vida'
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
La Crescenta, California
5

Our best family vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
After four days of outdoor adventure and grueling hikes in the northern part of Costa Rica, we needed some serious pampering. Casa De E'Smith gave us just that - a tropical oasis to revive our achy feet and tired minds. The houses there are security-protected with guards that know everyone by name, and they are terraced in the hills amidst lush trees and exotic flowering plants. The house is exquisitely beautiful and airy, with every detail in mind. We "oooo'd" and "ahhh'd" upon entry and this continued after peeking in each room. This place truly is custom-designed and built with lots of love.
Although the house is tucked away and private, it is conveniently located: a few minute drive from local restaurants where seafood cuisine is fresh and irresistible; less than 5 Min. From Carara N.P. and the Tarcoles River where the crocodile river tour is exciting and a must-do; supermarket in Jaco where you will find almost everything in a U.S. market as well as some of the most delicious tropical fruits you will never find here in the States, which makes food-preparation for our picnics convenient. Also, it is only a short distance from beautiful Playa Hermosa Beach where we went horseback riding during sunset....a scene we'll never forget. We all highly recommend staying here - you won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Vicki and I thank you and your family so much for the very kind testimonial you gave us. We look forward to your return in the not too distant future....again muchas gracias...y Pura Vida from Costa Rica!
Ron & Vicki
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
Las Vegas, Nevada / USA
5

This home and property is a must to see and enjoy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2009
The listing and photos understates the amenities and appearance of the property and home. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Casa De E'Smith from the unexpected wildlife that visits the secluded backyard (macaws, toucans, iguana, and a variety of birds and butterflies) to the furnishings of the home that provide a relaxing setting, to the hike down to the river relaxing in the hammock listening to the rushing water from the river to the views from this beautiful home. I plan to visit again real soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Tom,

Thank you so much for your very kind testimonial. We welcome you back whenever you are ready. Now that the Papaya tree has matured to a good 30' with an abundance of fruit the Toucans now hang-out in pairs right by the pool!

Thanks again,

Ron & Vicki
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
costa rica
5

precious way to spend the last days of the year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I have spent the last days of this year in this spectacular place with my girlfriend & friends.
Great weather, starry nights, and abundant fauna surround us all the time. Amazing group of red macaws visit us at the property, even been a Costa Rican this was spectacular the red burning over the eternal green was poetic.
The house has great services and every thing work just fine.
Hope I can visit again whit my family such a nice place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Enjoy the 'Pura Vida' Lifestyle at, Casa de e'Smith
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326590vbi
(818) 203-8563 (California, USA)
Tarcoles Puntarenas
Huntington Beach
5

Vacation home that equals paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We stayed here last year and we felt like we were in pure paradise....the stunning views of the forest, the sparkling pool, and the immaculate, spacious rooms made me want to stay here even longer! So much detail was made in designing the house....beautiful, modern decor, lots of areas to lounge, a huge kitchen, a dining room enclosed by large glass panels lending great views of the wildlife. There even is a little courtyard with a bubbling fountain... a perfect place where I would read a book and relax! The house was very private; we felt like we were the only ones on the mountain. Closeby is the Tarcoles bridge where you can see huge crocodiles up close-there is a boat tour where we watched locals feed and wrestle with them... a scene I'll never forget. I highly recommend staying here; I would come back in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway