Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) apartment rental - Second Bedroom or Sitting Room
Second Bedroom or Sitting Room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 5

Beautiful, light & airy, high-ceiling 3 room apartment in the charming and historic Old Town of Nice, France. Unlike many old town apartments which are quite dark due to narrow pedestrian alleys, tall French windows and 2nd floor location provide for light. Parquet floors, well-equipped kitchen, well-lighted bathroom. The apartment is decorated in modern clean design with original art work.

Please contact me regarding rates; instant quote is not always correct!

Four minute walk to the famous Saleya Market (daily markets flowers, antiques, fruits and vegetables, spices), restaurants, cafés, bakeries, pubs, shops, Promenande des Anglais, beach. On the way to the Saleya market you will pass through the Place de Palais de Justice, a large sunny square with fountain and lined with cafés.

Please contact me for rates! (best per e-mail!) Instant quote is not always correct. Weekly rates kick in at six nights.

The neighborhood: The apartment is a 5 minute walk (or 1 tram stop) to Place Massena and then another 5 minutes to the Galleries Lafayette department store on Jean Medecin, a central shopping and transportation axis leading to main train station. In the other direction, you can walk to Place Garibaldi, the Art Museum (gratis admission!) or Old Port in less than 10 minutes.

Nice is second to Paris in number of museums in France. There is much to do and see within the city, including the Musée Matisse, Musée Chagall and many others.

Côte d'Azur: One can easily explore the Coôe d'Azur by train or bus all the way to Italy in one direction, Marseille in the other. The train station is a few tram stops (ca 10 minutes) from the apartment. Nearest Tram Stop: Opera / Vielle Ville. A car is absolutely not necessary!

Please note: This is a non-smoking apartment!

More Details
Hide Details

I am an artist and teacher. I live in Zurich but am originally from Florida. I hope to move to Nice one day! When in Nice, I love just being in the old town, enjoying local cuisine, lingering in cafés, strolling over to Place Garibaldi (5 minutes) and then taking the street which runs along the hill to the old port. There are many interesting shops along that way, with antiques, baskets, other stuff. Right at Garibaldi is MAMAC, the modern art museum, which I take a turn through every trip. The admission is free, as it is in many of the public museums. It is also worth taking a bus up to Cimiez to visit the Chagall Museum and then still further up to the Matisse Museum which adjoins an archaeological site and museum , and lovely gardens with view over the city!

There is an antique and knick knack market every Monday at Cours Saleya which is just two minutes away. Also a huge flea / antique market at Place Garibaldi one saturday per month.

Just off Cours Saleya is an exhibition space for architecture, run by the city - and the building it's in is worth noticing in itself!

And of course, there is the sea, three minutes across the Place de Palais and under the arches.

Janine Hudson purchased this apartment in 2010

I was born and raised in Miami, Florida, have lived in Zurich for many years. Here, I miss the proximity to the sea. Nice is for me, a way of returning to my roots, without having to go so far. Perhaps it is my French version of Miami Beach plus longer history, rich art history, beautiful weather, great architecture, great food.

I visited Nice first in 2000, returned, and then returned in 2010 to look for an apartment. Many of the apartments were renovated and chopped up older buildings, loft beds inserted which created rooms with low ceilings. When I entered this apartment, I breathed a deep sigh of relief, and fell instantly in love. The ceilings are high, the windows are tall and the location is great!

light and airy, very close to beach, good connections to everywhere in Nice and French Riviera.

8 Reviews of Property 326281 in Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice), France

Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326281
+41 79 858 78 60
Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Nice
5

Lovely Apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Janine's holiday apartment in Nice is very sweet and so centrally located. It's situated in the old town with lots of great restaurants nearby. Tram stop, airport bus and the beach are almost right next door! Me and my friend manged to visit Cannes, Monaco, Antibes and St Tropez during our stay. We had a wonderful time staying and thank you very much!
business
Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326281
+41 79 858 78 60
Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Nice
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lovely Stay

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a lovely stay here! the apartment will easily accommodate 2 couples comfortably and its very close to shops/market and the beach. The food is amazing, the weather is amazing and the beach is just 5 mins walk. Apartment has everything you need and is very accommodating with breakfast area, beach chairs/umbrellas and plenty of towels too! There was so much to explore around the area. Don't forget to go in the specialist chocolate shop just across the way - its amazing and so is the lady that runs it! Port is just 15 min walk where they run regular snorkeling trips which we enjoyed very much, then we headed back for a few beers on the beach. This place was exactly what we expected plus more. I miss Nice already! The weather in the UK is not the same.
business
Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326281
+41 79 858 78 60
Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Nice
5

wonderful apartment close to the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Imagine a charming apartment in the historical centre of Nice where you can be a few steps from wonderful dining options, yet only minutes from the beaches and the excitement that they offer. I took a couple of summer classes at the Nice law school and it was a nice 25-30 minute walk each direction to the campus. It isn't often that you happen across a clean, tastefully renovated apartment in a historical building that is at the center of the excitement and it is even rarer when the unit is an affordable alternative to spartan hotels or overpriced beachfront units. We spent a month in landlord's lovely apartment and it was a wonderful holiday for us. The location was central to everything - we walked pretty much everywhere, but there were also bus and tram stops quite close. There are a ton of merchants operating on the streets of Old Nice, but there were also several groceries within a few minute walk. The unit was well-furnished with a bed in the bedroom, a fold out bed in the front room, and a futon in the sitting room. The kitchen was well-stocked for us to prepare gourmet meals at home, but we still ended up checking out the many culinary options in the neighborhood. The apartment included a nice high speed internet which was useful for planning weekend excursions and taking care of business. The boulangerie located right outside the building was delicious, there are several glace shops nearby (Fenocchio is recommended), and there are culinary tastes to suit any budget and any preference (avoid the church square though - overpriced and pretty bad food). Our favorite nearby dinner spot was Casa Mia - look out the sitting room window and you can't miss it. Landlord was extremely helpful and very friendly over the course of our stay, the time leading up to it, and long after we left.

For those with a car, we found parking in garages nearby and also parked at the airport long-term lot and took the bus to/from the apartment.

I would definitely recommend this apartment to my friends/relatives.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326281
+41 79 858 78 60
Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Nice
Staten Island, New York
5

A Little bit of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I stayed in this charming apartment for 5 days in May on my first visit to Nice. I was impressed with the homey feel of this sunny apartment right in the middle of the historic district. The apartment was beautifully decorated, spotless, and included all the amenities. My favorite local attractions were the lovely flower, vegetable, and flea market, the Matisse Museum and the Museum of Contemporary Art. The labrynth of local streets were filled with restaurants and lovely shops. I hope to come again soon and would certainly recommend it to family and friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326281
+41 79 858 78 60
Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Nice
5

Old Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My husband and I rented this beautiful apartment for 6 months. Our overall experience was great. The apartment is bright and very charming. The apartment is roomy with high ceilings and had all amenities we needed. The location is central, close to the beach, and markets. We recommend this apartment for those who want to feel and experience the old world of France.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326281
+41 79 858 78 60
Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Nice
5

Great value for money

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We stayed in this lovely flat for two weeks in Sept. We particularly enjoyed the proximity to the beach and the neighborhood restaurants. The Lebanese restaurant on the corner was our regular hangout. The flat was very well furnished with new dishes and nice bedding. We would recommend it without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326281
+41 79 858 78 60
Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Nice
Zurich
5

Love the flowers on the wall.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I had a wonderful time staying in this apartment. The whole interior is fresh and clean, with many tasteful features. I love the high ceilings and the shutters that lean out over the old city street. Everything one needs is there, nice kitchen, nice bathroom and two comfortable bedrooms. It's great to be right there in the old city with access to shops, restaurants and evening entertainment. The beach just a short walk away and so is the main shopping street of the city. Easy to get to from the airport too. Just one bus no changes. I can't wait to come back here. Love the flowers on the wall. /Ingrid
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Great Nice Apartment - In Historic Old Town. Vieux Nice, Vielle VIlle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326281
+41 79 858 78 60
Nice Old Town (Vieux Nice) Nice
USA
5

Fall in authentic Nice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We stayed in this apartment in September. The weather was perfect! Not too hot, but still warm enough to go swimming. The location of the apartment couldn’t be better – in the heart of the old town. You hear people passing below in the alley, but it is a pedestrian zone, no traffic noises, and it is walking distance from the *new town” - the main shopping drag, and a short walk to the beach, art museum, Place Garibaldi, etc. The apartment is simply and tastefully furnished and has tall windows, which provide plenty of light. The kitchen area is small, not recommended for those who want to spend their time whipping up gourmet meals, but we were not interested in this, as there are so many great restaurants in the neighborhood, as well as take-out. I would highly recommend this apartment for a stay in the “authentic” Nice.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8