Keaau house rental - View of Front Lawn From Wicker Rocking Chair in Living Room
View of Front Lawn From Wicker Rocking Chair in Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Other (See Description), Sleeps 10

We are located on a one acre lot in the private neighborhood of Hawaiian Paradise Park. During your stay in our home you will enjoy the sounds of nature; birds, frogs and an occasional pig or goat. You will also experience the pleasure and softness of fresh caught rain water. While strolling the grounds you may find fresh fruit such as guava, mulberries or tangerines. Feel free to pick and eat while staying in our home.

In the Area: You will be conveniently located to shopping, site seeing, swimming and a wide array of other activities. In Hilo you will find museums, beaches, gardens, and shopping. North of Hilo there is numerous waterfalls and a terrific botanical garden. As you travel south (Hwy 130) you will find the unique town of Pahoa. It is an old 'Hippie' town that has been rejuvenated in recent years. Pahoa boast the best restaurants in east Hawaii. There are terrific Thai, Mexican and Italian restaurants. Past Pahoa you find tide pools, natural hot tubs, beaches and the Kilauea volcano viewing area. You can reach the town of Volcano by traveling through the town of Kea'au and up Hwy 11. Here you will find Volcanoes National Park where you can see old craters and a new vent. There are hikes, both short and long that persons of all ages and ability may enjoy. The opportunities for playing and site seeing are unlimited.

The House: Inside the home you will find everything you need for a relaxing vacation. The huge kitchen is fully equipped with a variety of small appliances and tools as well as a new range and refrigerator. The beds have good mattresses and bedding. The rooms are quite large with room for additional sleeping areas if needed. There are quality air mattresses and bedding for additional guests. There is a third 'bedroom' with a queen bed and freestanding wardrobe with hanging and shelf space. The television in the living room has cable service provided by Time Warner. Internet service is available through cable or wireless. There is a library of books for all ages and many jig-saw puzzles. The perfect place to relax after a busy day.

The rental unit is the upper level of the house accessed by an outside stairs leading to the lanai and entry. The lower level of the house is occupied by the on-site caretaker, Jonathan, and his faithful canine companion King.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 326192 in Keaau, Hawaii

3 BR 2300 Sq Foot Home in Hawaiian Paradise Park
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
business
3 BR 2300 Sq Foot Home in Hawaiian Paradise Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326192
714 3341547
Keaau Puna District
5

Comfortable, Spacious, and Worth it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This home exceeded my expectations! You have the entire top floor of the home to yourself. 3 LARGE bedrooms, a main Bath with stand up shower and tub, and double sink, 1/2 bath in one of the bedrooms. Everything about this home was Very Spacious. Large living area with 2 separate seating areas. They even have a small selection of movies and board games. We played Skip-Bo for the first time, and there is a DVD player as well if you want to rent something at Redbox. Large dining room table for 6, and Large kitchen well stocked with appliances and essentials.

Keep in mind, it is outside of Hilo so give yourself about 10-15 minutes to get to town. Though it is probably about 30 minutes or so from Volcanoes National park. You're not going to hear any road/city noise, only the Coqui frogs and there arent many lights to the property so driving to it at night can make it a bit difficult to find! We passed it a few times.

I had seen mention about the dog on property. At first, he can be intimidating, but he means no harm. He does bark when you pull into the driveway or leave, but he's a good guard dog and is also tied up. My family and I are animal people so we didn't mind.


Overall it was a great stay, and very comfortable!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 BR 2300 Sq Foot Home in Hawaiian Paradise Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326192
714 3341547
Keaau Puna District
Chicago
5

Spacious house in a nice quiet area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This house is very spacious and close to all sightseeing areas. Beautiful waterfalls, volcanos, the Black Sand Beach, Mauna Loa Faciltiy (for the Macadamia nuts lovers), Grocery stores everywhere (including Walmart). Great scenic routes, Hilo airport close by for your helicopter tours. Everyone is friendly and there is not a lot of traffic. We were very relaxed in this house. Once we were done with our busy day we get "home" and relax. You can here all the wildlife which is wonderful. The famous puertorican Coqui is here which took me back to my childhood memories in the Island of Puerto Rico. I suffer from chronic insomnia but I had the best 4 nights sleep here. If you want a spacious home in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood, this is your place. Away from the craziness but close to everything.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 BR 2300 Sq Foot Home in Hawaiian Paradise Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326192
714 3341547
Keaau Puna District
Chicago
5

Conveniently located to Everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This house is very spacious and close to all sightseeing areas. Beautiful waterfalls, volcanos, the Black Sand Beach, Mauna Loa Faciltiy (for the Macadamia nuts lovers), Grocery stores everywhere (including Walmart). Great scenic routes, Hilo airport close by for your helicopter tours. Everyone is friendly and there is not a lot of traffic. We were very relaxed in this house. Once we were done with our busy day we get "home" and relax. You can here all the wildlife which is wonderful. The famous puertorican Coqui is here which took me back to my childhood memories in the Island of Puerto Rico. I suffer from chronic insomnia but I had the best 4 nights sleep here. If you want a spacious home in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood, this is your place. Away from the craziness but close to everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 BR 2300 Sq Foot Home in Hawaiian Paradise Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326192
714 3341547
Keaau Puna District
Vancouver, B.C.
2

Scout Camplike Experience

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We stayed 2 nights, paid for 3, at this large rural home in late October. It is not fancy but certainly accommodated the 4 adults and 2 young children In our group. Unfortunately the main washroom was out of commission one of the days but was attended to by the owner's son Jonathon and his barking dog who live downstairs.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I have a three night minimum rental period which is clearly stated on my site and was understood by this renter. Any guest choosing to stay less than three days would be required to pay the minimum rate.
It is always an unfortuately and often an inconvenient situation when there is a problem at a rental location. This problem was attended to and completely repaired within a few hours, by removing disposible diapers from the sewer lines, while the family was out during the day.
There is a dog in residence which is stated in my house discription. King usually takes note of guests as they arrive and depart. Although he is not usually over zealous he will get a little excitted if a guest invites himself into the caretaker's home as this guest did.
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
3 BR 2300 Sq Foot Home in Hawaiian Paradise Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326192
714 3341547
Keaau Puna District
Nine Mile Falls, WA
5

Paradise House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Seven of us (4 adults & 3 kids) stayed at the hoiuse for 6 days in March 2010. The house was clean and well maintained. It was convenient having the caretaker living on site and he was very helpfull.

The house is centrally located to see all the sights on the east side of the island with only a short drive I would recommend it to anyone that wants a well located. clean and well furnished house to stay in while visiting the east side of the island.

The only complaint was that there was no BBQ grill and no end tables by the beds.

We had a great time and were able to see nearly all the sights on the east side of the island during our stay
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Serveral guests have commented that they would have used a grill if it had been available. In response to those comments we have purchased a grill that our guests may use on the front patio.

There are bedside tables in two bedrooms and a shelving unit beside the bed in the other bedroom.
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
3 BR 2300 Sq Foot Home in Hawaiian Paradise Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326192
714 3341547
Keaau Puna District
oahu
5

Everything I thought it would be.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
I enjoyed this vacation rental very much. It was located in a safe and private location making our experience very relaxing. The attendent their was very considerate and took care of us to his best abilities. This rental is very spacious and clean. I almost wished it was my own home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
3 BR 2300 Sq Foot Home in Hawaiian Paradise Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326192
714 3341547
Keaau Puna District
Dillon, CO
4

Hilo stay Feb 14-16, 2010

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
Hi Sharri- I'm sorry I didn't put in this note sooner. I loved staying at your place. Jonathan was lovely and considerate. The pig and I became fast friends after I gave him the remains of my baby romaine lettuce. He wagged his little tail every time I came out of the house. The house was truly comfortable, breezy and full of light. In the evening, Loved listening to the bird chorus at sunset and the bugs and frogs chirping and busing into the night. Having the bottled water available was convenient and thoughtful. You're within driving distance to a stunningly beautiful coast! I dream about that place. Thank you again for your hospitality. Regards, Julie
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/4